Lexus ES facelift order books open – from RM259k

Lexus ES Luxury 1

Just yesterday, we brought you news of the Lexus ES facelift going on sale in Thailand in sole 300h trim. Now, Lexus Malaysia has announced that the order books for the rejuvenated Toyota Avalon-based full-size sedan is open – three variants of the refreshed ES feature with the range kicking off with the Lexus ES 250 Premium, followed by the ES 250 Luxury and the ES 300h.

The Lexus ES 250 Premium is priced from RM259,200 (up from the pre-facelift’s RM257,318) while the Luxury variant will require potential owners to fork out more as that one goes for RM278,600 (an increase from RM276,690). At the very top of the range sits the Lexus ES 300h, priced from RM355,100 (pre-facelift, RM353,201). All prices quoted are on-the-road without insurance.

So, what exactly is new on the facelifted Lexus ES? For starters, the front end receives a reworked fascia with an updated take on the marque’s trademark ‘Spindle Grille’ – said grille design has been reworked to feature a larger assembly framed by a thicker chrome surround. Elsewhere, the headlights sport redesigned L-shaped LED daytime running lights while the fog lamp surrounds get a more stylised outlook.

2015_ShanghaiMotorShow_2016_Lexus_ES_300h_005

In profile, the Lexus ES facelift receives new 17-inch wheels – the hybrid model comes equipped with 10-spoke designs while non-hybrids receive 20-spoke units. Moving on to the rear, the Lexus ES facelift features redesigned tail lamp assemblies with L-shaped graphics while a X-shaped chrome detail pulls said rear lamps and number plate recess together for a more cohesive finish.

As for the technical bits, Lexus has claimed that a reengineered structure has resulted in improved ride quality and handling while extra sound-deadening material has been added behind the dashboard to further cancel out noise. As for the powertrains, the Lexus ES facelift range soldiers on with the same engine/gearbox combination.

The ES 250 Premium and Luxury variants are motivated by a 2.5 litre 2AR-FE four-cylinder engine with 181 hp at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm – transmission is a six-speed Super ECT auto transmission. The ES 300h, on the other hand, is powered by a 2.5 litre 2AR-FXE Atkinson cycle four-cylinder mill paired to a 105 kW electric motor juiced up by a 650V nickel-metal hydride battery.

2015_ShanghaiMotorShow_2016_Lexus_ES_200_006

Total power output is rated at 202 hp while a P314 eCVT setup puts power to the road. An all-new 2.0 litre direct-injection 6AR-FSE mill currently employed in the facelifted Toyota Camry 2.0 is only available on ES models destined for Russia, China and Taiwan.

Inside, the facelifted Lexus ES features a new three-spoke steering wheel, a new gear selector design with leather boot and a 4.2-inch TFT LCD colour multi-info display, embossed seat upholstery and a new “Enter” button to complement the mouse-like Remote Touch Interface (RTI).

The new ES premiered with the Lexus Safety System+ platform which features vehicle- and pedestrian-detecting Pre-Collision System (PCS) emergency braking, Lane Departure Alert, auto high beam and radar cruise control. Also, the usual suite includes Rear Cross Traffic Alert, ABS with EBD, Brake Assist and Lane Change Assist with blind spot assistance – whether or not the bulk of it makes it here, we’ll find out soon.

GALLERY: Lexus ES facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• is Jonathan James Tan still working with paultan? haven’t seem him posting since mid June

• Areyousure on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:24 am

Lexus never move-up to the game don’t they? So stuck with the success in the past. Old Lexus owner must be so happy as their old ride never gets outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • They have, only idiots living under the rock keep on denying their effort.

• kington on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:26 am

I hate the price, but i kinda liked it after i test drove it 2 years back.

But UMW, stop ripping us with your exhorbitant prices!

• kzm (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 2:52 pm

u pay about RM25k more in Thai…boleh ES300h start from RM355k, Thai start from RM380k..so this oso might be toyota japan ripping ASEAN pipu not just umw.

• Thailand have different tax structure.
        thier luxury car, not cheap.

try look at other brand too, then the tax structure comparison.

then, u get urself a solid conclusion.

• DPCraft on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:29 am

Would be better if offer more engine variety.

• Alifzz on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:32 am

Looks like the 300h price in Malaysia is much cheapar than Thailand..I wonder why.

• kapchai on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:27 am

Imported cars in Thailand more expensive in Thailand than in Malaysia? That’s a plus point for M’sia

• cendol (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:03 am

Not bad pricing even in the environment of ridiculous car prices in Malaysia.
    A 3-series price for a 5-series features.

• howling on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:45 am

not bad but reading the low spec of the ES really sounds like camry 2.5…? is it worth the premium?

• 259k will go for c200, who gonna buy this crap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • start a fight on Jul 31, 2015 at 12:05 pm

people who want a bigger car and wont spend 5-er or E-er price..

• flipper2uman (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 12:17 pm

You are not comparing apples to apples. People who buy this car have different requirements and needs vs a c class owner.

• Stupid Malaysian always compare prices vs prices not apples to apples

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Stupid Axxx on Jul 31, 2015 at 1:27 pm

What else can you do except bashing? Can you afford the c200? The only crap that Malaysia has is you, always talk big like Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • flipper2uman (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Slide increase in the price of this car compared to a year ago. I think this is attributed to the slide in the MYR. At the rate that the MYR is going one can only afford to buy a bullock cart if lucky.

• Jimmy on Jul 31, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Are you ‘membangkitkat huru-hara masyarkat’ and waiting to be berkas and sent to Jupiter? Becareful ya you Proton, take good care of yourself, I wish you all the bests. Have good support, and Proton get good sales.

Bersama-sama kita majukan negara Malaysia. Don’t move backwards.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 3:23 pm

@Jimmy

I am not to sure what are you going about with what you have just wrote. Maybe I need the enigma machine to decode. I am just stating a fact with with regarding the MYR. I think most people cannot substantiate their argument with facts and data in this forum. That is the sad case and the product of our esteem quality education.

• Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:26 pm

People who buy this car . Wanna ask if you’re buying to seat in the rear or buying this car to be the driver. I mean CEO sure seat in the rear and let his driver drive around mah. I am no CEO so cannot afford it.

• das auto on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Most of the ppl buy this car no money one cannot afford driver so surely they drive own self la. Which is a pity since this car is only good at the rear seats and the maid will get to enjoy the most.

• Captur on Aug 01, 2015 at 4:01 pm

More like the husband is the driver while the wife is CEO. Wife enjoys all the benefit of this car. Wife is king la.

• WooGoo on Jul 31, 2015 at 9:46 pm

the fog lamp surrounds get a more stylised outlook.

“Stylised outlook” ?? Do you want to check dictionary for those words??

• idealtech on Aug 01, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Gregory, i think it is best to write with a writing style that is closer to the readers’ hearts. We don’t have the time to goole for fancy word such as “fascia” eventhough we can just predict its usage. “More specialised”? help us here bro, just don’t. We enjoy our reading here is purely due to Paultan.com’s write up is somewhat “Malaysian”.

• APKing on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:26 am

Only tai lan ngong will buy this junk. Better get the camry hybrid.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:32 am

This car is really leng chai leh. But I am still looking for a used Hyundai Genesis.

Unfortunately, none was sold in Bolehland, eventhough SD brought in 5 units.

• Hybrid theory on Aug 01, 2015 at 8:25 pm

No new 2.0t engine option?