Ford Mustang waiting list extends to 2017 in Australia

2015_Ford_Mustang_Malaysia_ 009

When it comes to the Ford Mustang, there’s always a special place for it in the heart of every driving enthusiast. As we reported earlier, nearly 2,000 orders have been registered for the latest Mustang in the UK, and now we have news from the land Down Under too.

According to Ford Australia’s president and CEO Graeme Whickman, who was speaking to CarAdvice, pre-orders of the car have now stretched to almost a year long.

“We have quite a long waiting list now,” Whickman said. “At this rate we’re out to October/November of next year in terms of the wait list, which is positive to have a wait list for a Ford product, but it does present a determined effort to make sure we don’t anger anybody by having a waiting list,” he added.

The publication states that in May, Ford had confirmed that 2,000 Australian customers laid down a deposit for a Mustang, and surprisingly, another 1,000 orders have been chalked up in the past three months, which is truly staggering.

2015_Ford_Mustang_Malaysia_ 015

“We’re around the 3,000 mark at the moment. I don’t know where that will go. We haven’t advertised the vehicle, nobody’s driven the vehicle, we are months away from actually having the thing in the market, so who knows where it goes?” said Whickman.

It seems that in Australia, the 5.0 litre V8 model is more popular than the 2.3 litre four-cylinder EcoBoost, while the automatic transmission is preferred over the manual. Also, Fastback coupe orders outnumber that for the convertible.

In Australia, the Ford Mustang Fastback EcoBoost six-speed manual starts off at AUD$44,990 (RM133,388), while the V8 starts from AUD$54,990 (RM162,788). The six-speed automatic gearbox adds another AUD$2,500 (RM 7,394) to both variants, while the convertible body style will cost another AUD$6,500 (RM19,240). So basically, The flagship V8 convertible will cost you AUD$63,990 (RM 189,448).

Here in Malaysia, meanwhile, the Mustang is open for booking, priced between RM435k-RM450k (EcoBoost) and RM550k-RM600k (V8). Makes you just want to ditch everything and move to Australia, right? Well, anyway, Whickman told the publication that demand for the EcoBoost variants should pick up when customers get to drive the car.

S550 Ford Mustang 5.0L GT Fastback – Premium spec, Performance/Equipment Group 401A pack

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:51 pm

with that kind of price you could buy the Mustang in Australia, plus a garage for it and some money leftover to go on a cross country road trip in Australia for a few months.

• satekj38 on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:59 pm

always sad whenever comparing car prices oversea and in Malaysia…

thanks to our G!!! if our G really taking care of the rakyat, this will never happen!!!

• mustang on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Thanks to Proton, even Ford is overpriced here!

• ecoboost on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Just close down Proton lah, syok sendiri and menyusahkan rakyat only

• Gargantia on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:35 pm

That’s why Malaysia will never and ever be Automotive hub in ASEAN… if Rakyat don’t change or abolish AP system and taxes… We will only suffer expensive products and Goods.
            When will Rakyat wake up???

• jeafe on Sep 02, 2015 at 7:05 pm

In Thai no p1 but CBU cars are still expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Can I close the company and the industry you work for? Hanya syok sendri dan menyusahkan rakyat je.

• Lintah on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Obviously someone works for poton here. He got nothing to do except defend proton in paultan

• toyotmacai on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:08 am

So you macai bashers also working?

• Ford 3 MONTH wait on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:14 am

Imagine if normal Fiesta and Focus, AutoKONEKsion takes 3 months to bring any pat in to replace your damage part, this Ford will take 9 months.

You got money, never mind. Accident time, you got to wait 9 months for any part to come in

• You know what I find funny? Car prices in Malaysia is more expensive than in Australia, but property in Australia is the same price as buying a Mustang here. Better off buying a property in Australia.

• Tengku Djan on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:15 pm

My Iriz R3 can easily smoke this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • DonkeyKong on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Only a fool will buy a Mustang through original channels in Malaysia. I bet there’ll be a big market for grey imports at this rate

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:37 pm

The Aussies love their V8s. Vroom vroom

• SAM VHL Loo on Sep 02, 2015 at 6:33 pm

If not because of our prohibitive road tax for cars above 3000cc (5.0 V8 road tax costs roughly RM11 thousands per annum compared with roughly RM700 per annum for 2.3 inline-4 turbo), we also love to have V8 engine car compared with 2.3L turbocharged engine.

• George Abdul on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Now wondering how much do AP system and Govt taxes took place??? This’s indeed outrageous expensive… Malaysia can be rank most expensive car(Ford) to purchase in the world !!!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 02, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Never buy American except for burgers and fries.

Want a sport car just get our 86. As I always said, you will never go wrong with sushi cars.

Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 29
    • Mamasan on Sep 02, 2015 at 6:59 pm

You are just a kampung boy who only knows about Japanese cars. Just compare the outputs of the Toyota 86 and the Mustang and you would find even the base Ecoboost model would smoke the sushi anytime of the day. The Mustang has been a legend for decades in America. Please show some respect by not mentioning any crap Japanese or rubbish Proton in the same breath.

• RV=regret value

• jc ker on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:25 pm

I was looking forward to the arrival of Mustang in Malaysia since last year….until I was totally disappointed with the pricing here…it is totally unrealistic! In overseas Mustang is in the same class of affordable sports car like Toyota 86,Mazda MX5… With that price I would rather get a Mercedes or BMW. My bet is very few people (only the die hard Mustang fans) will buy it. Good luck Ford Malaysia

• winwin on Sep 03, 2015 at 2:13 am

Australia’s 5.0 V8 version is selling cheaper than our Malaysia’s Honda CRZ with a puny 1.5L . What a joke…

• Nurul on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Thanks to Dr M who started Proton and makes the rakyats suffer!!!!!