VW faces US criminal probe over diesel emissions cheating – EPA to test BMW, Merc, FCA, GM, JLR cars

Volkswagen Polo Facelift 14

Things are not really looking up for Volkswagen in the US right now, as according to Bloomberg, the US Justice Department is conducting a criminal investigation of VW’s admission to cheating on federal air pollution tests. Adding to woes, the German carmaker’s share price plunged about 23% on Monday, wiping out at least 15.6 billion euros (RM74.8 billion) of its market value after the ‘defeat device’ scandal emerged.

The publication opines criminal enquiries could take months or years and lead to charges against individuals and companies. VW CEO Martin Winterkorn had already issued a public apology for this unmitigated PR disaster. Nonetheless, the news agency does believe that the final penalty for VW could be far less than the initial $18 billion figure that was stated based on the cost per violation and the number of cars.

But it’s time for other carmakers like BMW, Daimler, Fiat-Chrysler, GM and Jaguar Land Rover to get a bit apprehensive too. According to Reuters, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and officials in California will be testing other diesel vehicles for possible ‘defeat devices’, after it announced last Friday that VW uses software that functions only during emissions tests. EPA is now investigating other VW Group diesel cars such as the Audi A6/Q5 and Porsche Cayenne.

BMW and Daimler have issued statements to Automotive News Europe saying that their diesel-powered vehicles comply with US clean air rules. “There are clear laws and guidelines governing this and we adhere to them. Everything else is manipulation and deception and we don’t commit such fraud,” a BMW spokesman said. “We heard of the EPA’s accusations against VW from the press, the issue described by the press does not apply to Mercedes-Benz Cars,” Daimler said.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Captain Slow on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:15 am

Shame on you VW.

• r.i.p Volkswagen.

• VW Salesman Crying on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:48 am

Now, not only VW salesman crying. I heard even management also crying like baby. Time to stop buying pampers for the UMW showrooms and send all pampers to VGM showrooms.

• Who to Protect Malaysians? on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:00 pm

I hope the US also investigate also Malaysia and the lemons that were sold to us.

• Mari Mari Mari Boikott on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Cannot trust anything they say. The whole group ie Bentley, Audi, Porsche, Lamborghini etc

Once you are a liar, you will always lie and cheat

• Gargantia on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:12 pm

1st world country protect consumers, 3rd world country like Malaysia protect AP system owners and “cronies right dignity” companies !!! Law of abuse using power !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Compulsive Liars - VW on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:01 pm

So shy, pay so much, over RM200k for their cars, and now we get this. what a big fat lie.

DSG also lie
            Service also lie
            Warranty also lie
            Now Emissions also Lie

• Fanboys VW Mana? on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Where are all the VW fanboys now hiding? Last time come here brag about how smooth their DSG and how happening their cars….

• Mari Mari Mari Boikott on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:06 pm

I don’t know what else they lie. DSG they lie for 7 or 8 years. This also they lie so much until 1 year they deny to US EPA

• George Abdul on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Even worst Malaysian customers pay even higher price RM for the car and don’t even get any justices. US still get justice even the car at affordable price !!! Bolehland policy to protect cronies? ??

• Where to Hide Face??? on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:05 pm

The VW owners in msia so arrogant. Always look down on us non VW buyers. Always call us poor and jealous.

Now you have bought a lemon…who is really poor my VW brothers??

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:07 pm

That’s why I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Think conti cars are more advanced and more environmental friendly? Think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Sam Loo supporter on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Yes you are right all along. US$20k we pay RM180k. That also CKD. overpriced so much. Now, we pay to be cheated.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 22, 2015 at 6:22 pm

You think only Toyota in Malaysia is much more expensive than Toyota in US? Go check out Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Mercedes, BMW etc lah. None of them are cheaper than their US counterpart.

Back into the same topic: Why foreign cars so expensive in Malayisa? THanks to Proton and its protection!

• taknaktoyota on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Picanto is.much cheaper than your so called “safe” car prius C. Only can brag about fuel but why cannot get cheaper? Thanks to toyota?

• Pass The Word Around on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Already used car dealers stay away from VW cause of the DSG, now, with this Emission fraud, No way can owners sell their VW

• camtakpro on Sep 22, 2015 at 2:16 pm

More advance so can detect whether EPA agents are testing or not.

More environmental friendly, hmm… I believe the environment impact on fixing DSG is even worse than manufacturing hybrid cars. lol

• Autobot on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:59 pm

When Toyota hit by accl. pedal problem few years ago, the world dumped the brand to red. That issue was a simple design issue. Now, come VW with this seemingly cheating issue, the amount of impact would be much bigger.

• nosushi on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:49 pm

That was related to safety. You can go into drain even ravine and die. No wonder toyota is moving coffin

• So when are they gonna face criminal probe for cheating their DSG customers and almost cheated Suzuki and Proton?

• So wen Proton gonna face criminal probe for cheating Malaysians for more than 30 years by charging expensive rates for milo tin junks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • Please Close Shop VGM on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:10 pm

I suggest VGM do lelong this weekend. I don’t mind buying a Passat for RM20k for my maid to go to market and back

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 22, 2015 at 2:07 pm

For me, even RM200 is too expensive for a Proton.
          Junk definition in dictionary: give out free also no one bother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • payyourtax on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:51 pm

You dun know anything about tax bcoz you dun even pay 1 cent. Not worthy to live in bolehland

• camtakpro on Sep 22, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Sorry bro. Your maid might need to take teksi due to DSG problems.

Oh wait, before DSG have to wait for the engine check light to disappear 1st.

• Who to Protect Malaysians? on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:59 am

In the US, at least this body protect consumers. In Malaysia, nobody to protect us cause VW and DRB hicom sama gang and part of Government.

Who to protect us Malaysians who bought lemons from VGM?

• George Abdul on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Government only protect cronies and AP owners, Rakyat die or be cheated act normal. Most Kampung people never reads world news !!!

• Real Fraud on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Pay RM200k fo a junk that breaksdown so often and from a company that lies about their emissions. Fraud. Real fraud

• Mari Mari Mari Boikott on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Let us all boycott Audi and VW for the next 20 years. Even Porsche too unless its the 997 that was truly built by Porsche AG

• Josh Ling on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:21 am

there goes the dream of becoming world’s biggest car manufacturer……VW cars in the US could almost “tapao” and ship to other markets to sell already. It’s gonna be a long journey this one, and could potentially jeopardize or destroy everything VW had built. who knows what else they are hiding and trying to cheat?

• Sam Loo 2nd Hand on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:51 am

Even 3rd world countries also dont want la. Even Mugabe also say VW always breakdown, better he use Toyota

• Peter YIP on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:28 am

Shocking! Unbelievable! Damnation to mass cheaters!
    We try hard to be fair & objective, but time and again some of these “stereotyping” is correct. These Huns cannot be trusted…clearly one of the most educated, cultured society doesn’t translate to a society of honest, fair minded people..

• VW Salesman Crying on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:52 am

Europe soon to sue. They say Blue Motion is the best. All tipu la dei

• BeAnIndustryLeader on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:29 am

Honestly, In the motorvehicles industry, there are no good guys. Everyone has made mistakes before. GM, Toyota, Ford, Peugeot, Renault, Nissan – everybody has cheated in one way or another and paid penalties for it. However, hope it doesn’t happen again, for the sake of the consumer.

• Sam Loo 2nd Hand on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:56 am

Nobody has cheated lah. Not like VW. DSG and now this.

• there is a difference between mistake and cheating.

mistake = not intentionally.

cheating = intentiaonally, against the rule, illegally.

• Josh Ling on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:18 pm

ya agree. some of the cases were mistakes in the past, or at least you can dismiss them as mistakes. they were unintentional or overlooked sometimes. but this is different, alongside with the DSG issues. this is they know it is wrong and will cause troubles, and yet they do it anyway for the sake of boosting sales volumes and profit.

• All of them are guilty to some degree of falsification.
    Unachievable mileage claims, warranty issues, faulty components etc etc.
    My frens Prius was so tinny, its unbelievable, shut the door hard and whole car shakes. Made extra light just to achieve low consumption. Bahhh

• Please Close Shop VGM on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:44 am

After this news, better for VGM to just close shop. DSG denial was one we could tolerate but cheating in emissions, that is already melampau.

• Sam Loo 2nd Hand on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:47 am

hello VGM, I offer to buy 20 sen to the dollar all your cars. Every Rm100k, I pay Rm20k. Please take my offer. It is very good you know

• Sam ur 20 cents on today currency market worth less than trash plastic in dump from Toyota. No point show off to everybody

• Hai lat!

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:54 am

Shit has hit the fan for Volkswagen USA. If you think about it, every product they have is not as good as the ones you can get in Europe. The new Passat is so-so, the Jetta has been cheapened out from the previous generation, and the Tiguan is meh. The Golf/Golf SportWagen is the only thing besides the GTI that VW USA got right.

VW should be pretty ashamed though of doing such a thing.

• Kiara Tan on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:55 am

This is worse than shame. It is like murder or rape. People buy because they say clean engines. But their engines are worse than even a Vios

• VW is worse than Proton.

• Real Fraud on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:28 pm

It is worse because VW is committing fraud and trying to cheat. Proton is just low quality. they don’t cheat nor do they charge BMW prices

• LOLOL on Sep 22, 2015 at 11:58 am

Lol. Kantoi… seems that VW has a culture of lying… started with lying to customers on DSG fault… then DSG fixes….. then service center satisfaction levels then now emission….

How to trust a serial liar?????

• Real Fraud on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:27 pm

They keyword is serial. Real serial liar. How to pay RM200k and over for lies?

• dinayam on Sep 22, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Its easy, were malaysian, we tend to forgive cheater like najib mahathir and like

• camtakpro on Sep 22, 2015 at 2:22 pm

How to fix DSG issue?
      VW Spokesman declare: DSG finally fixed!

How to fix customer service center satisfaction?
      VW Spokesperson declare: customer service satisfaction improved.

How to fix emission fraud?
      VW Spokesman declare: firmware issue. Fixed.

• methodology on Sep 22, 2015 at 1:22 pm

So how they do the emission test now? emission test while Dyno ing?

• Bring it to Malaysia and sell to us without tax…I believe proton emission is way far worst then vw cars

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Sep 22, 2015 at 3:21 pm

RIP VW !

• Superglue on Sep 22, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Nazi car bites the dust…..

NExt, will be Proton