Top tether fitment omission – Proton issues statement

Top tether

Following ASEAN NCAP’s discovery that a Malaysian carmaker had removed the top tether fitment in a previously tested and rated vehicle, Perodua issued a statement on the matter earlier today, and now, Proton has done the same, doing so via an announcement through its official Facebook page.

The following is the automaker’s statement, in verbatim:

Proton Holdings Berhad (“Proton” or “the Company”) would like to issue a statement in relation to the statement released by ASEAN NCAP on 13 October 2015.

Proton has been testing many of its cars worldwide such as Australia and previously in Europe. The Company has also sought the service of world-class agencies and test labs to ensure stringent tests and outcomes.

From the experience of dealing with leading and world-class agencies, the normal procedures of these agencies would be to thoroughly inform and notify the Company in the event of discrepancy, defects or faulty elements, before any public statements are issued regarding the tested cars.

In this instance, we will consult ASEAN NCAP on the matter as we have not been notified officially. Hence, we are unable to confirm or deny the matter.

We wish to assure the public that all Proton cars meet the regulatory safety standards in all markets that we are operating in, especially in Malaysia. We will continuously pursue to enhance our products and services as well as make improvements where necessary.

Earlier, it was reported that ASEAN NCAP received complaints from consumers over a removal of a safety specification in a previously tested vehicle. It has been reported to the agency that the top tether fitment, vital in improving the level of child protection, has been removed from the Malaysian-made model.

top tether attachment

In a press statement, ASEAN NCAP secretary-general Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim stated that the action of removing the particular fitment will undoubtedly have a severe impact on the result of the Child Occupant Protection (COP) rating in the car’s ASEAN NCAP test. He added that the variation or exclusion of such a specification is not allowed.

The agency did not reveal the automaker or the model, but said that the removal of the fitment is an irresponsible act by the manufacturer. Khairil said the fact needs to be made public in order to demonstrate that any compromise to safety is not tolerable.

He added that the results from an ASEAN NCAP rating is a “promise” between manufacturers and NCAP, especially on the safety fitment installed inside their respective vehicles, and thus the manufacturer had broken its promise.

The agency said that it will be sending a show cause letter to the said manufacturer with demands on a plan to recover the situation. The result from the discussion will be that either the car will need to be retested as a lower specification variant or have its total rating suspended. The overall finding will be made public, and ASEAN NCAP said it is also investigating another model from the brand that has been assessed by the agency.

The full story and an explanation of what the top tether does here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• i didnt suspect this 2 at the first place.
    maybe the Diesel Cheater..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Tommy abd Gina on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:38 pm

VW is Malaysian? Such is the standard of our country’s education.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
      • the assembler is Malaysian?
        DRB-Hicom?

• Tommy and Gina on Oct 16, 2015 at 6:40 am

There’s a difference between ‘car maker’ and ‘assembler’. If they’re the same you should also suspect BMW and Mercedes.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:13 am

ANCAP should continue investigate thoroughly. The car maker should have reason on why they did at first place. So far I see all Proton cars comply with ANCAP requirement with respect to their star rating.

• Potato13 on Oct 16, 2015 at 5:54 pm

VW cheated emissions test, don’t be so quick to absolve them of possible wrong doing just because you think a “Malaysian brand” is more likely to cut corners.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:46 am

if not p1 or p2 i think it either honda (city, civic, crv, hrv, jazz), toyota (vios), gwm (m4), subaru (xv), nissan (almari), kia (picanto), hyundai (i10), VW (polo) or peug (208) because all of them make car in boleh n have model with ASEANNCAP rating…ford, chery, mazda n mitsu dont have model built in boleh that have ASEAN NCAP..same to most conti car except peug n vw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
      • Lance on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:38 am

Can’t you read. Clearly it was Proton as the categorically stated they can’t deny or admit. Still trying to twist the fact exact like Najib’s ‘i didn’t use the money for personal gain’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • VW lie or bijan lie = sis ros more powerful on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:50 am

At least the ex chairman resign from the duty and allow enforcement to make investigation. Our country leader make whole world know about what he done but still in his position without any feelings for guilty or embarrassed. Only in Malaysia

• Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:43 am

Yup, i think also others brand like honda nissan vw ford and especially toyota..their lousy salesman Same Lorrr like to cheat people a lot so there is possibility they remove the top tether in Vios..

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 16, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Why I need to cheat ppl?
          No VSC in Vios means no VSC in vios, I admit straight.
          Ppl buy Toyota not because of me, but because they knew they get comfort, fuel saving, reliability and good RV with RV.
          I don’t have come out flowery bullshit like “Betul2 Onz”, “Already improve a lot”, “Lotus seed handling” to con them.
          That’s why you see Toyota drivers usually go back to buy second, third, forth Toyota. They knew they won’t go wrong with sushi car. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Tommy and Gina on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Unknowingly installing defective airbags is bad. KNOWINGLY removing child safety features is downright evil and shameful. Makes you wonder what other hidden surprises does this brand ‘offer’?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
  • Same L0rrrr on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Even VW cheat, what could you expect from the junk class Proton?
    World class? For them, puchong is the world, Malaysia is the galaxy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 90
  • Selespeed on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:45 pm

That press statement was issued by john’s department. Notice how he’s been inactive today?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • So now that Perodua has said no, and Proton has said no, so how now brown cow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Spin and more spin by Proton on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Utter bullshit. This statement is not a reply, but a deliberate word spinning aimed to bewildered us even further. If you haven’t done it, just deny, why all these meaningless spin? I thought Proton is very good in making lousy quality cars, seems that they’re even more capable in equally lousy spinning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 28
    • spider spinneret on Oct 16, 2015 at 7:41 am

Nanti kalau deny awal2 kang depa kata “mana i kata u yang salah. Orang salah selalu deny awal2”. Nowadays people are forced to be very particular to their words.

• Surely Korean car.
    Pricing high, looks good, but safety last.
    Even the latest kid that killed in the accident in Malaysia was also caused by the defunct airbag in Korean made Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Anti Fur on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:41 pm

sorry to disappoint you but it’s not Korean. FYI some Kia entry level comes with 6 airbags and host of safety features which is uncommon for other makes. If you think Japanese cars are cheap did you look at the safety specs? And where is the link on the report that killed the kid ? Are you sure it’s a Korean car?

• Aero (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:28 am

Both Perodua’s and Proton’s statements are useless and inconclusive. Both are denying fault and reassuring that their cars are ‘perfect’.

We want answers, stop beating around the bush.

Tell us who and what car is guilty. REVOKE the ASEAN NCAP rating for that car until further notice. Recall all affected vehicles and refit the seats with ISOFIX + top tether.

What’s so hard about that ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • Because playing around the bush is safest way here.. hehe..

• Turandot on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:00 am

Lets recall proton cars and resolve this safety issue. Said no proton exec ever.

• Observer on Oct 16, 2015 at 11:06 am

Why need recall?
      Removing the top tether does not not violates any law or regulation set by JPJ or govt on what safety items is compulsory in a car to able to sell in Malaysia like dual airbags… it might violates ASEAN NCAP rating but not the law and regulations…

Additionally if the car without top tether is a new low end variant introduced by the manufacturer (obviously some accs will be gone) how on earth it violates ASEAN NCAP rating? because the rating are for the variants that exists at the time of NCAP test were conducted…. Unless the top tether was removed from the variant that already exist, I don’t think any rule has been violated…

For new variant introduced, it’s ASEAN NCAP responsibility to get the car and test it if they want to rate it…

Well not like we can trust ASEAN NCAP rating lols… how to trust when a car with deformed passenger cabin gets 4 star rating… lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:58 am

Woot Proton has been caught with its pants down and now they want to spin the story like our federal government did with the 1MDB issue. I guess the same kind of blood flows through their veins eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 26
    • Gargantia on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:41 am

Like father like son… same same… spin statement and even promise can be spin… wonder “dignity” policy of spinning???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Their blood is red, just like yours and mine. What are you trying to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Nasi Lemak on Oct 16, 2015 at 4:04 am

Milotin pakai apa2 technology masih milotin.. Tak payah la nak wayang! Lagi perodua ni suka tipu orang! Penipu! My fren booked a car few months ago but the car not delivered in time… And now they ask my fren to pay extra RM990 because car price increased after 1 october. What kind of pratice is that? Buts its normal since this country managed by nasi lemak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • Susukotak on Oct 16, 2015 at 6:25 am

How much it save to omit this?

• Between both statements released by Perodua and proton, I now believe it is the latter that is the guilty party.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:39 am

The statement neither denies nor does it admit anything directly to the ASEAN NCAP comments yesterday. Maybe they need more time to check. But wouldn’t ASEAN NCAP have informed them first, before going public – thus giving Proton ample time to check? Or did ASEAN NCAP not inform Proton earlier?

• theanswer on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:09 am

what’s wrong with make it public first? better than make it discreet and give the manufacturer an opportunity to sweep it under the rug and keep it silent.

• the standard way is to ask the car manufacturer for explanation first,.u cant just simply corner someone or anyone by a public statement.

• Why should ncap inform proton first? So that proton can prepare another car for retesting like how they did in saga flx+++?

• Face palm. on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:43 am

The answer is simple. Yes or No. Don’t make it so complicated by spinning & beat around the bush.

• the answer is saga…hence proton beating around the lalang

• goldie on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:58 am

silence is golden. sounds like a ‘sabo’ case,.. looking at events unfolding in our country at the moment,hmm

• Sabo? You mean someone planted a mole in proton to remove the feature quietly with the mgt knowledge?

• asean ncap going public b4 informing the car company? aiyooo so teruk la this asean ncap.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:21 am

Wa…blame Asean NCAP..it really shows whos at fault here..integrity? Bullshit

• Azhar on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:50 am

Just go to the nearest showroom and check on the said item yourselves. Then you will surely know the truth. Rather than wait for them to issue report.

• wow sent a super safety packed car for ncap test…but consumer version is barebone feature ^^ nice1…

• najibest on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:47 am

non issue really. most cars in europe does not come with the top tether but isofix only.

top tether is a standard in Australia as isofix is actually illegal (yes you heard that right, illegal) there up until late 2014. make sense that previously proton cars had top tethers since Australia is basically their only main market overseas.

furthermore most of the car seats sold in Malaysia originated from Europe and therefore has no top tether straps. most are either isofix only or seatbelts only.

in isofix, the function of ensuring that the seat doesn’t move forward during an accident is handled by the leg on the isofix base that extends to the car’s floor. top tether does the same function but by anchoring the seats to the top tether instead.

• najibest on Oct 16, 2015 at 11:18 am

I stand corrected. newer cars in europe (post 2013) are required to come with the top tether. however, most of the seats are indeed still do not come with top tether but with anchor leg instead as both the top tether and anchor leg have the same function. top tether would be essential in a car with storage compartment under the floor since anchor leg would fail for such cars

• clutch_plate on Oct 16, 2015 at 11:40 am

ASEAN NCAP is playing a game with this statement.. If they’re sincere, why they don’t just reveal the brand if this case is true, rather than ‘ugut’ like this? Don’t make it so complicated by spinning & beat around the bush.

• Idaho on Oct 16, 2015 at 1:19 pm

This more like a political game to corner the company chairman. If ANCAP is sincere, they should have contacted the manufacturer directly before issuing any public statements.

• MentalKar on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Benda besi tuh untuk ikat belt kerusi baby kan? Berapa ramai kreta yg dah ada benda tuh? Kalau memang sangat penting untuk keselamatan eloklah semua kreta kat Malaysia nie patut WAJIB pasang. Barulah tak da crita baby terpelanting keluar kreta klu accident.