ASEAN NCAP issues show cause letter to a Malaysian carmaker for removing top tether fitment in tested car

Top tether

The New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) has announced that it has received complaints from consumers over a removal of a safety specification in a previously tested vehicle. It has been reported to the agency that the top tether fitment, vital in improving the level of child protection inside the vehicle, has been removed from the vehicle, which is a Malaysian-made model.

In a press statement, ASEAN NCAP Secretary-General Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim stated that the action of removing the particular fitment will undoubtedly have a severe impact on the result of the Child Occupant Protection (COP) rating in the car’s ASEAN NCAP test. He added that the variation or exclusion of such a specification is not allowed.

The agency did not reveal the automaker or the model, but said that the removal of the fitment is an irresponsible act by the manufacturer. Khairil said the fact needs to be made public in order to demonstrate that any compromise to safety is not tolerable.

He added that the results from an ASEAN NCAP rating is a “promise” between manufacturers and NCAP, especially on the safety fitment installed inside their respective vehicles, and thus the manufacturer had broken its promise.

top tether attachment

The agency will be sending a show cause letter to the said manufacturer with demands on a plan to recover the situation. The result from the discussion will be that either the car will need to be retested as a lower specification variant or have its total rating suspended.

The overall finding will be made public, Khairil said. He added that due to this complaint, ASEAN NCAP is also investigating another model from the brand that has been assessed by the agency.

A top tether is an additional attachment strap for child car seats – attached by the upper part to a vehicle-specific anchor, it is meant to reduce forward movement for extra safety in the event of an accident. The attachment points are usually placed in specific locations, either on the vehicle roof in the rear, behind the rear seat backs, under the rear seats or in the trunk.

As part of an Isofix system, the use of a top tether defines a car’s attachment system as being universal in relation to the use of child car seats. Removing or omitting the top tether in a vehicle would then change the attachment type ability to being vehicle-specific – with usage of the Isofix anchorage without the top tether – or semi-universal, where a car seat uses a support leg instead of the top tether.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Cheating is VERY NORMAL on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:55 am

This is very normal for a Malaysian company. Cheating is 2nd nature. Look at the elections also, cheating is very normal. It is our culture, cheating, stealing, corruption and just want everything free.

What is so shocking about this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 24
    • Mugabejib on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:26 am

If Mugabejib can songlap Rm2.6 billion and get away with it, this car manufacturer also know, such deviant actions can easily get away scott free.

Leaders must show by example. If leaders show crook ways, everyone also will follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
    • mr1031 on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:37 am

yeah, agree bro..just like VW diesel scandal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • George Abdul on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:46 am

Some supporters always say ASEAN NCAP Malaysia car makers “Never cheat” and as safety as VOLVO and BMW !!!
      Where are the people’s now??? Those ministers that say same quality??? Cronies liar !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • maybe some things are not what it seems,..maybe it s a conspiracy by some parties, who knows

• Low Taek Idong on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Betul-betul. Cheating, stealing, corruption.
      But don’t be too hard on yourself and blame your culture just because of Casey Tang, Jasmine Loo, Low Taek Jho.

• true. who owns the majority if Malaysian companies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • u are simply dumb! managing and owning an organizations are actually two separate groups. even though both are responsible on their act.

• WTF –> normal and ur culture!. not mine and definitely not the rest of a good citizen.

• Harris on Oct 15, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Did a quick check on Proton’s website and Perodua’s website. Proton Preve have omitted top thether anchor for the executive model but isofix anchor is still available across the range. Read the last paragraph of the article. What a shame.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:15 am

Thats a really poor showing for whichever manufacturer that was. How much money could they have possibly saved by omitting it.

The top tether is crucial in securing a child seat properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • Mugabejib on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:35 am

UMW omit VSC also our Government say okey. How?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • No Datukship for You! on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:43 am

Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim, there goes your Datukship. But thank you for standing up for what is right. But you will soon be removed unfortunately. That is Malaysian style. If AG also can kena pecat, your job sure gone la bro.

Anyway Thank you bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • nabill (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:21 pm

let me guess their answer , its will be like ‘in our own laboratory testing we concluded it wasnt necessary n had no role in securing the seat into place’

• kington on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:26 am

Good move ASEAN NCAP.

• intermilan on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:30 am

just name and shame the company.
    its either sang harimau or sang kancil, right?

• demokrasi on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:42 am

Perodua… dah la airbag ada 2 sahaja… lepas tu tak deploy pulak.. now this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • You sure it is not any Korean cars? They cheat a lot.

• tol mahal on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:03 pm

perodua alza n axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • kereta_lembu on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:03 pm

How can these people approve such things and yet can sleep soundly at night? Safety is just as important as performance in any car. Maybe they think that most Malaysians don’t even use child seats and that’s why they can get away with it. Lucky thing this time, there is no cover up like we normally see.

• Why must they keep quiet about who did this? Just name and shame them like VW. If its Proton, kena hentam kau-kau jangan maafkan. Proton is shit quality.

If its Toyota/Perodua, then boleh dimaafkan. Not their problem cuz instructions from nippon overlords. If they dun listen, they will kena samurai. Sam Loo sudah dihalalkan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
    • Yellow Bee on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:52 pm

myvi and alza also shitty,..takkan bodoh2 ambik instruction kalau no safety.
      if want standard, then all car must have la

• Amelia on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:55 pm

So it’s OK for the Japanese to kill Malaysian children but it’s not OK for Malaysians to kill Malaysian children? Is this 1941 again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • RBA john has spoken for the rakyat. And the rakyat verdict is foreigners cannot be persoal cuz they are more superior than us. As compared to local company ie P1, you must bash kau-kau, dun care true or not, cuz it belong to BN. If you dun bash, means you are BN lapdog.

• Low Budget on Oct 15, 2015 at 1:10 pm

It is not our culture, remember a couple of days back when they said they are investigating a very top gun for corruption without naming?

• maxwell on Oct 15, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Doesn’t matter if it’s Honda or Toyota or Perodua or whatever car model you’re a fanboy of. Compromising safety falls in the category of “tidak boleh dimaafkan”. Bloody biased comment.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Now I am seriously curious as to which manufacturer did this.

Frankly they should be ashamed of themselves.

• BanyakMasyukWang on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:13 pm

They save RM2 per car, but lost 500 car sales per month for doing so, and that’s what they’ve chosen. Good business sense?

• Captain Slow on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Who is the culprit???

• theanswer on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:28 pm

should reveal the brand if they found guilty!

• Dancing cat on Oct 15, 2015 at 5:51 pm

One of it will is Proton inspira. No top tether. Shame!

• Contender on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:30 pm

C’mon WTF is NCAP not revealing which irresponsible local car maker is that ?

This local car manufacturer/local assemble should be highlighted for trying to cheat their rating, it is possible their test car for NCAP is even built stronger/reinforced for better rating but the real production car is bare minimum.

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:32 pm

If money is the reason for removing that thing, then it underlines the sad nature facing our society now.

Please be honest. You will be much happier.

• Black Dog on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:49 pm

just name and shame!

• Just go to showroom n confirm on Oct 15, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Since ANCAP doesn’t want to announce the culprit’s name, a visit to P1 or P2 showroom will confirm this in no time. Just walk in, check out their baseline, budget model on display, open the rear bonnet or back door, look for the tether. Viola! culprit caught red handed!

• FIST (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 2:10 pm

They should be punished or slap with a lawsuit

• Rashid Not the proton musa on Oct 15, 2015 at 2:44 pm

i saw oledi the sun paper said it score 58% for COP if u check the saga same.Culprit is proton.Bladi crony cheating us the rakyat . They dun deserv national car. Ppl must suffer so that they can sambung tipu us. Tun M should worry. He has no clue how proton and his crony continue to tipu us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Err, Saga dun have ISOFIX. So how can it omit something it dun originally have, genius?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Rashid Not the proton musa on Oct 15, 2015 at 4:22 pm

xactly what the news about…no isofix but when submit for testing claim got. we both genius. the star is wrong must be less mah.im not auto genius. just concern like u.

• Cartz on Oct 15, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Smells like another VW type scandal in the making. Test and actual specs are different. Agree with another commentator, why bother to hide the maker’s name? They did it, be prepared to face bad publicity.

• Question; the tested model, randomly pick up from the show room unit or been delivered by the manufacturer to Asean NCAP for testing? Lots of differents can be capture by considering those scenarios.

• top tether scandal on Oct 15, 2015 at 4:21 pm

The mentioned brand is Ford. The model is 2012 Fiesta. The instruction manual clearly stated the top tether is available for Malaysian model. But the actual car don’t have this!

• Aero (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Are these guys daft or what ? What’s the point of announcing if you’re not going to tell us what car or company is at fault ?

Is this supposed to be some sick guessing game ? There could be more models affected out there, and peoples’ lives are at risk.

Don’t sweep this under the rug. Let it be known which so-called Malaysian-made car and company it is.

ASEAN NCAP, if you guys plan to cover up this issue, then do Malaysia a favour and shut yourself down. Your job is to protect and uphold the standards and requirements you set. If you can’t even do a simple thing like that, then forget your ambitions of joining the ranks of EuroNCAP or ANCAP. You can join the useless Latin NCAP and Bharat NCAP instead.

Also, I have a strong feeling about which car it is… but I don’t want to speculate and I’ll keep my thoughts to myself.

30 million Malaysians are waiting for the guilty to come clean.

• Usana on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Oh nevermind lor. They use better airbags than takata. Purposely remove child safety features is ok better than unknowingly using defective airbags. No need recall. This brand super perfect never recall one. Only lousy brands are forced to do recall.

• Main Game on Oct 16, 2015 at 7:55 am

This is conspiracy by opposition to bring down the country and economics. They have to be arrested under SOSMA.