VIDEO: Nissan GT-R undecorates a Christmas tree

Christmas is over, and that can mean only one thing, it’s time to take down the tree. For some, this represents an opportunity for the family to have another group activity together as they undecorate it. On the other hand, this is just another time-consuming chore that you wish can be over with quickly. Fortunately, Nissan USA has the solution to the latter’s woes, and it’ll only take 2.7 seconds, apparently.

Of course, there is some preparation involved before you remove the decorations on a Christmas tree that quickly. First up, you’ll need a decorated Christmas tree (obviously). Next, you’ll need a 2016 Nissan GT-R Nismo and its 3.8 litre twin-turbo V6 engine and its 600 hp, where you’ll tie the Christmas tree lights’ power cord to the rear tow hook of the car.

After that, step into the car and fire up the GT-R’s VR38DETT. Nissan’s video doesn’t provide a definitive answer if the car’s launch control function should be engaged while attempting this endeavour. We presume that you should engage it for the best results.

Finally, floor the accelerator pedal and in just 2.7 seconds (claimed), your Christmas tree will be deprived of all its decorations. However, there are two things to keep in mind if you follow Nissan USA’s “tip”. Firstly, you should do this in an open space because a GT-R would likely not fit in your house. Secondly, there’s no guarantee the decorations will come out unscathed, ready for use next year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• fed up fella on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Don’t try this at home,unless you own a Nissan GT-R, celebrate Christmas and don’t have time to undecorate the tree

• Kancil Hybrid on Dec 30, 2015 at 7:49 pm

U can bukak lemang with Wira GSR.