2016 Nissan GT-R gets more power and new wheels

2016 Nissan GT-R 45th Anniversary Gold Edition

The 2016 Nissan GT-R for the United States has been announced. It carries over all of the significant under-the-skin upgrades introduced on the 2015 JDM model, while adding on a few additions, including a more powerful VR38DETT engine, new 20-inch wheels and a special 45th anniversary Gold Edition.

Based on the standard Premium variant, the special commemorative edition gets unique Silica Brass paintwork to match the colour offered on the 2001 R34 Skyline GT-R M-Spec. A gold VIN plate in the engine compartment and an interior plaque are also included. Less than 30 units will make its way to the US.

Both the GT-R Premium and Black Edition receive an updated 3.8 litre twin-turbo V6 engine, now with 550 hp instead of 545 hp in last year’s model. Torque stays the same at 630 Nm.

2016 Nissan GT-R NISMO

Also new on the Premium model are 20-spoke RAYS alloys wrapped in Dunlop Sport Maxx GT 600 DSST CTT run-flat tyres (standard fit since 2014 in place of the older Bridgestone Potenza RE070R units), replacing the 10-spoke design used before. This isn’t the first time we’re seeing this design, of course, as it had been sold in Japan since 2013. The Black Edition continues on with its lightweight six-spoke forged wheels.

Unchanged for 2016 is the range-topping GT-R Nismo. The factory-tuned model soldiers on with the same uprated GT3-grade 600 hp and 652 Nm engine, along with specially tuned aerodynamics, chassis (with bespoke springs and Bilstein DampTronic dampers) and interior.

In the US of A, the 2016 Nissan GT-R is priced at US$101,770 (RM376,560 at current exchange rates) for the base Premium, on to US$149,990 (RM554,980) for the Nismo.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• spongewai on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:40 am

what are you waiting for, ETCM??!
    bring Godzilla here for sale la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 17, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Again, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Toyota or Nissan, LFA or GTR, they are all great cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Avalanche on Mar 17, 2015 at 6:12 pm

You know what,Same Lorr..you got a point there..but,guess what?UMW-Toyota Malaysia cars is freaking expensive!

With the price of the lowest-spec Camry 2.0, I can get myself a Full-Spec Toyota Avalon 3.5 V6 in Middle East! Bloodsucking UMW..and Sam Loo!

http://toyota.com.sa/en/modelsprices.asp?model_id=6

• Suggestion on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:53 am

just wondering.. Why not ETC stop bringing in 370z and replace it with GTR with that kind of price rm370k-590K
    370z is small and underpower compared to the big brother
    Even though same engine CC(for road tax purposes)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • hondalover on Mar 17, 2015 at 10:54 am

nahh..not interested

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • So Hai on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:11 am

I would sleep with this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • If I suddenly have the money, I would buy one, and when I park it at home bring my comforter and sleep in it for a week. No joke.

I am so into this GT-R….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • BLUR SOTONG on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:22 am

This car is in its 8th year. Doesn’t feel dated cos the performances is mindblowing, wait till Honda NSX arrive, GTR is still the King of JDM. LONG Hailed the King

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • most if not all other supercars have more bhp than this gtr.
      911, r8, 488, longtail, huracan all have more bhp than gtr.

• but the exotics would be triple the price of the GTR… it’s all about how deep your pockets are in the end.. and a standard GTR can shame some exotics around bends, imagine a tuned one with 800bhp and above hehe

• just eat ikan kering on Mar 17, 2015 at 12:33 pm

ETCM bring here , sure price rm 900k ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • i want

• daeng abu bakar on Mar 17, 2015 at 4:21 pm

i hope Kazutoshi Mizuno (Chief Engineer, Nissan)
    (The Godfather of GTR) already achieved 100% performance of this monster that he’s created.

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 17, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Only 550bhp only? How can GTR catch up with the latest supercars from Europe? At least 600 bhp, should be sufficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • wajib on Mar 17, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Compared the Price Bro..

• blaster88 on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:14 am

I agree. For example the GTB 488 is hitting 670 hp, not to mention the new Lambos, Mclarens etc. Unfortunately this category is all about power and performance…

• In Malaysia the used with new name RECONDITIONED already RM300K plus with 4 year of age.

Crazy is not a right word foe this

• Teoh Wei Yang on May 29, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Hope that GT-R will arrive in Malaysia
    We will see on our roads.

• csteoh7828 on Jun 18, 2015 at 9:46 pm

I like this car.
    Loved it.

• fadafaka on Aug 24, 2015 at 6:06 am

./.

• BTW, who are the so called “official dealers” (since ETCM is useless) for this here in MY?

• Stanley on Mar 16, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Just got a GTR R35 -2011, wanna buy ins for the windscreen but dunno the price for the windscreen.

• Brother just wan to know whether in Malaysia r35 gtr 2016 model launch?