Proton GDI and TGDI engines detailed – timing chain, start/stop, new CVT transmission, max 180 hp/250 Nm

Proton new engine testing

Following the announcement that Proton will be building a new range of engines to replace its current crop, the national carmaker has provided some details of its new powerplants, which is a joint effort with UK-based engine developer, Ricardo.

Firstly, a short recap on the list of all the petrol engines that Proton is currently developing:

• 1.0 litre three-cylinder VVT (Variable Valve Timing)
  • 1.2 litre three-cylinder VVT
  • 1.3 litre four-cylinder GDI (gasoline direct injection)
  • 1.3 litre four-cylinder TGDI (turbocharged gasoline direct injection)
  • 1.5 litre four-cylinder GDI
  • 1.5 litre four-cylinder TGDI

As you can tell, that is quite a number of engines that will go into Protons of the future, and its announcement marks a historic event in Proton’s path to achieve the next level of competitiveness.

Proton new engine tests-1

According to Abdul Rashid Musa, Proton’s chief technical officer, over 200 engineers were involved in the new engines’ development, including those from Proton themselves. He said that the engines will also undergo a comprehensive round of testing at Lotus and Ricardo, vendors for calibration and local Proton engineers.

Collectively, the engines will be tested at 25 dyno test centres, encompassing around 250,000 hours of testing. That roughly translates to 4.8 million km on the road, to ensure the engine are stressed to their limits. The engine development project has a capital expenditure amounting to RM600 million alone.

From the six engines presented, the 1.5 litre TGDI is stated as the most powerful of the bunch, with around 180 hp and 250 Nm on tap. No numbers were provided for the other engines presented, although they are claimed to offer 20% higher performance compared to previous Proton engines.

Alternatively, we were told that the engines require at least RON95 fuel to function, and will be paired with a new torque converter CVT transmission as well. Proton say that the new transmission (said to be from Jatco) will be more efficient than what is currently offered, and they are in the final process of packaging the powertrains for future models.

Both the GDI and TGDI engines are said to have a modular architecture, consisting of a cast iron block. “The engines have a modular design, so we can chop off one cylinder (from the four-cylinder engine) to make it a three-cylinder engine,” said Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah.

Proton is currently in the midst of optimising its current facilities, so the new engine family will stick to a cast iron block. “When the time is right, we will introduce a new aluminium block, which will reduce the weight of the engine,” said Proton vehicle development and engineering head, Amrizal Abd Majid.

Proton engine test

“As it is, the new family already utilises aluminium cylinder heads,” he added. Harith chimed in, saying that it is normal to pay a little bit more for new tech, but Proton will continue to manage its costs to stay very competitive in the market.

The Euro 6C-compliant engines are said to feature a belt-driven starter generator, start/stop functionality, integrated exhaust manifold, Dual VVT and a timing chain. They’re said to have longer service intervals too. On the efficiency side of things, Proton is targeting a CO2 emissions level below 99 g/km. For the 1.0 litre, a fuel economy rating of 5.0 litres/100 km was cited, with 4.0 litres/100 km on the cards with some add-on tech.

This is certainly an exciting time for Proton as its upcoming engine line-up will find its way into its new models. However, don’t expect that to happen anytime soon, as the engine’s development will only make its way to Malaysia in September 2016. Therefore, end application of the new engines are said to include end-2017 Proton models.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Samm Lorh on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:33 pm

I believe it when i see it… But the future looks bright for a new satria with 180hp

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 8
    • Hope they introduce new Putra with 180hp as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
      • MCPet on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Kesian Tun… bosan… kena duduk dengar semua ni .. umur 80+++

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
        • mr1031 on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:49 pm

he’s a man who love knowledges..not a typical Malaysian politician..have some respect to him bro

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Year 2016 new version of Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Just another fuel hunger, no power and break down often engines. Pity the people who kena conned in the future. Proton is most reliable when the part isn’t from proton. Wira’s Mitsubishi engine is the best history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 47
    • Fat hope on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Bright future, good move, let’s hope, move forward.

Macai too lazy typing new phrase again.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:41 pm

I want to see Iriz with 180 hp and 6 MT.

• Captain Obvious on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:07 pm

180hp then use crap CVT gearbox on it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • tokmoh. on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:37 pm

*breathing intensifies*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Kipidap on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Greatest discovery since man landed on the Moon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Congratulations, Good for Proton, hope with this new engine, the car can be market to a country with strict regulation. I also hope the exterior design language could change to consumer satisfaction in the future. One word for Proton “Quality” meet this and u could go far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Please proton, don’t left out good ol’ manual transmission too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:44 am

Getrag 6-speed manual hnnngh

As for auto, Jatco should provide satisfying experience for normal people

Finally Proton addresses the elephant in the room, iriz’s single archille’s heel : a competent powertrain that’s fuel efficient and easy to utilize.

Cuz campro was too rev happy, n punch cvt too pundee to use, only manual suits it n for people that wanna drive quick, to hell with fc.

This time around, the GDI/TGDI + Jatco cvt/getrag 6sp mt have the potential of a competent powertrain against the likes of Conti’s latest n finest.

• You think people will “shut up and give you their hard earned money” on your junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 61
  • sewel on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Sooo..where proton basher now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • W204 C63 AMG on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:28 pm

They will come out in full force when Proton’s sales drop further in 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • pontiac on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:00 pm

where is the video for that PC. can i have a look???

• kapchai on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:04 pm

why is the 1.0 and 1.2 litre engines not turbocharged? Is it a mistake or is it meant for a kancil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • winwin on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:09 pm

I am more concerned on the 3 cylinder part rather than turbocharged or not. At least a 4 cylinder for a proper car. 3 cylinder engine characteristics just vibrates too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Mimau on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:36 am

Proton may use asymmetric flywheel just like Ford’s 3-cyl Ecoboost. Runs as smooth as a 4-cyl.

• Faizah on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:14 pm

New engines more shit. Please potong for the sake of 32 million people just close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 53
  • panjang on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Dear Proton,
    why dont you install some of the new engine into some of the Protons i have at homw.I promise to do the test for you foc,but u have to bear the fuel cost lh.Can ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Meng meng on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:18 pm

I dont like proton…
    But for this time i want to say is well done proton.
    Keep improve and move forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • Fat hope on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Well done, keep hoping, move forward. Lazy macai recycling same phrase again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • proton user on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Wonder what happened to proton hybrid engine . remember in 2012 proton develop hybrid using govement fund rm100 million. that was a good time

• alldisc on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:02 pm

U R right. The range extender electric vehicle saga and Exora (REEV).

It won awards in the london-brighton race.

Ever wonder why not produced? Too much saving on petrol.

Petronas and government not ready to loose revenue.

The concept is similar to Vauxhall ampera and Chevrolet volt, better savings than Prius.

• superman on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:39 am

money gone to Frazer nash and flushed in toilet….

• olio benzina on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Syabas Proton! Iron block at first also no problem. Berat tak apa, its better for managing temperature and damping vibrations. No mean feat developing own engine.and something Malaysia has to be proud of. Building own cars, not a just sweatshop of foreign auto companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Some pipu say 300,000 monkeys are better than 1,000 engineers

• Leilong on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Wonder where Proton get big funds so suddenly? Is it from bank loans, sukuk bonds or land mortgage?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:24 am

i do think their cost building 6 engines with RM600 million is rather small

• intermilan on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:42 am

Apa barang cast iron block…. sekarang da tahun 2016 la…

• bluemoon on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:35 pm

i need a new car this year, how???

hopefully they will changed their mind to use aluminium block for the new engine. otherwise quite hard to have good fc… (don’t tell me they want to follow vw in dieselgate)

• Absolute Rider on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Do it well and

please: No Delay.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Wow… Recardo.. Thats a big name in racing engines… They are a specialist n it takes balls for them to go mainstream n volume brand…
    Exciting… Bt hopefully a new initiative will take place for brand new interiors, fit and finish, materials used n so on…

• I can see PUTRA or NEO with 180hp cruising on our hiway ….shut up and take ma money

• policeman on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:47 pm

I can see tow trucks waiting by the highways.

I can see owners transplanting Mitsubishi engines once the Proton one conks out.

I can see how gullible people are, only looking at numbers and history teaches them nothing.

I can see for miles and miles and miles and miles and miles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • dugongx on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:32 am

I can see policeman only busy makan duit kopi

Now get back and do your job properly. So many kes ragut and rompak nowadays!!

• Maruah melayu on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:22 pm

maruah melayu mana??….why relying on Lotus and Ricardo and the mat salleh??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • Then you posted comments by your home made device? Where is your maruah?

• mr1031 on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:53 pm

baru keluar dari gua ke bro??

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:17 am

Dah zaman google dan wiki kenapa masih lagi cetek pengetahuan? Ricardo perunding dan penasihat automotive tersohor. Malahan Ferrari dan McLaren menggunakan khidmat mereka. Kalau bodoh jangan pulak sombong. Pilih satu saja, jangan tamak.

• Fanofthisite on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Thats plain dumb comment when we own Lotus and have advantages of working with experienced partners to access tech.

• azermalak on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:21 pm

in a global world theres no need for patriotism. in the end is about saleability and how it can contribute to our economy. being too patriotic what make proton as it is.

• Gaviny on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:23 pm

For those in the know the campro was also designed by Ricardo , lotus had no involvement

• megavalve on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Yes Toyota involved as Lotus engine supplier so they don’t bother whatever crap from Campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • horrayooi on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:51 pm

At last Proton listen to Paultan readers . They are dumping the timing belt campro engines. They are also going to use Jatco torque converter cvt.That is the way to progress. Their sales will improve with these new range of engines. Future looks bright 2017 onwards. Hope they test these engines properly before production.

• Timing chain? I thought they have been poking fun at timing chain all these while. Makan ludah sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • No name on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:06 pm

I think that u r eating your own puke…

• Depends on design team. No right no wrong. 2015 Engine of the Year oso is timing belt. U say leh?

• Ford 1.0l Ecoboost engine is also using timing belt and never needed replacement.

Your views are dogmatic as it is lame and irrelevant.

• winwin on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:11 pm

All gasoline engine, then how are you going to export your cars to Europe without a frugal diesel engine ? Is it for local use only ?

• Ford Power on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Time to revisit Proton cars soon!! Hopefully they can get the local vendors to also improve their technology..

• Petrodollar on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:43 am

Pokpek2..ckp gempak psl engine br tp xde plan utk hybrid atau full electric ke? Nk kena tinggal di belakang oleh other competitors in term of technology? Iriz hybrid/electric langsung xnmpk bayang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Andas on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Kalo ade jual mcm ko nk bli.. bile p1 launch ko kondem benda lain plak.. tak nk bli baik duduk diam2 je la bai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Petrodollar on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Ms awal mmg ada minat nk beli iriz.. Pergi test drive tp at the end disappointed sb produk mcm half-baked.. Noisy cvt, small speedometer rs mcm pkai swimming goggles, lack of soft touch materials etc..initial impression always counts so at the end angkat mazda3 la.. Kalau iriz launched with hybrid/full electric and proton do address these concerns I’d buy it in a heartbeat.

• wonggeyy on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:32 pm

then kereta apa u beli..? axia..? pasal itu saja kereta bileh lepas loan

• Kopisusu on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Mazda 3? Sempit, tak selesa, absorber dan drive shaft bunyi bising macam tikus.
          Air-con tak sejuk, indah khabar dari rupa. Harapkan rupa, tapi tak ada keselesaan langsung.
          Erti kata lain, memang tiada kereta yang sangat sempurna.

• Honda
    “The 1.5 litre turbocharged unit, meanwhile, puts out 174 hp at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm”
    Proton
    “the 1.5 litre TGDI is stated as the most powerful of the bunch, with around 180 hp and 250 Nm on tap”

On paper. But for the actual will be much more to go.

• superman on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:53 am

IT WILL NEVER WORK. as long as DRB is in charge… this looks like family Y engines during DSSZ which was cancelled by drb upon take over. whatever they do proton is proton… drb is the problem.

• this engine program was paid and done at least 6 years ago during DSSZ time. drb cancelled it and since they have nothing else to come up an no OEM is willing to sell them engines they want to revive it in order to suck money from MITI. it will not happen. the tech used is outdated already. even if they put ferrari engines in their cars Proton will always be proton it is people perception as they know their money goes t cronies and wasted. proton needs to be sold to a professional OEM and re invent itself but NOT UNDER DRB Cartel…

• roger on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:12 am

Mati lagilah Proton. Sekarang dgn lotus buat engine high rpm utk kereta penumpang. masalahnya ialah engine lebih panas & makan petrol. Sekarang dgn hard core mc laren direct injection adakah kesan panas & minum petrol berganda. (masih peminat proton).

• Hentamajela on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Banyak betul hati org yg busuk mcm bankai komen kat sini….dah la komen mcm cibai….kalau suruh buat kereta mesti jadi kereta cibai punya….ni kata malaysia nak maju kalau perangai mcm cibai….puiiiiii….

• azermalak on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:17 pm

no aluminium engine please……………all new cars are lights and lost it luxury driving quality due to the need to make cars light for better fuel consumptions. even honda accord feels terrible to drive. my 10 years old accord drives nicer than the current one.