Proton new GDI and TGDI engines announced – 1.0L and 1.2L 3-cyl, 1.3L and 1.5L 4-cyl, coming end-2017

Proton new engine first firing

Proton has officially announced that it will be building a new range of engines to replace the ageing CamPro mills it has used since 2004. The new powertrains, as confirmed by chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa last year, will include direct injection and will be offered in both naturally-aspirated (GDI) and turbocharged (TGDI) forms, and is slated to enter production by the end of 2017.

The engines – costing a total of RM600 million to engineer – have been in development since last year, with engineers having been dispatched to the United Kingdom and engineering partners Ricardo and Lotus since March. In total, there are four different engine series being developed by Proton, with two three-cylinder engines and two four-cylinder mills.

The three-pots with variable valve timing (VVT) displace 1.0 litres and 1.2 litres respectively, while the inline-fours with direct injection (GDI/TGDI) are 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre units. The engines will come with Dual VVT, a timing chain, an integrated exhaust manifold and longer service intervals. In total, there will be six different engine variants which are:

• 1.0 litre three-cylinder VVT
  • 1.2 litre three-cylinder VVT
  • 1.3 litre four-cylinder GDI
  • 1.5 litre four-cylinder GDI
  • 1.3 litre four-cylinder TGDI (turbo)
  • 1.5 litre four-cylinder TGDI (turbo)

Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah claims that the most powerful of them, the 1.5 TGDI, will produce as much as 180 hp and 250 Nm, while fuel savings are quoted at around 25% over the IrizVVT engines, themselves 15% more frugal than older CamPro engines.

The performance and fuel efficiency will be coupled to a new torque converter CVT automatic developed in parallel – rumours indicate that the transmission will be sourced by Jatco, after a booth belonging to the Japanese CVT specialist was spotted at the Alami Proton open day last year.

In total, the engines will cover the equivalent of 4.8 million km in testing. After that, the engines will make the trek back to Malaysia in September, where integration will take place before the end-2017 on-sale date. The engines are said to meet the most stringent emissions requirements in the world – including the upcoming Euro 6c regulations – and Proton hopes they will continue to be used well beyond 2020.

Why the UK? Well, the procurement of Petronas’ NE01 engine technology, including GDI and TGDI systems (remember, Proton procured the technology from Petronas in 2012), was shared between Petronas and Ricardo, so it makes sense for the national carmaker to continue with the arrangement.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 250
    • Kau ni memang celaka la. Spam tak habis.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 22
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:15 pm

New engine only after 13 years, some more is 3 cylinders. Why bother waste the effort and time for Syok Sendiri? End up just new piece of crap, while Hyundai already doing hybrid cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
        • Bcos Proton previos didn’t make much profit, they used 13 years collecting the fund for develop new lo, hahaha…
          Not like P2 can make 50% profit for each car and only involve design bumper only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
        • Syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:34 am

Even mirage use 3 cylinder. It’s for fuel saving. Are you by chance retarded? If more cylinder is always better in all way, every manufacturer will already use v12 for city car. Geez.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
        • New Hype on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:33 am

This hype same with Campro hype. We wait few more years. Same story will happen. Same leaks. Same door handles breaking, same absorber failing. And same RV issues. Buy RM100k today, tomorrow sell, to get RM60k also lucky

Malaysians just don’t learn their lesson. Every 7 years Proton got hype lah for the past 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:39 am

Agree. Sendiri cakap Sendiri Syok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • what does the door handles and absorber have to do with the engines?

• Aikon on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:30 am

Even BMW makes a 3-cylinder. What’s wrong with that?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Still talking about songlap and your long list of bullshit? Haven’t been in touch with reality?

By the way I think Tony Pua is looking for you in his toilet for the usual service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 74
      • Masitah Gadam on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Oh how did you know Tony is in the toilet? Were you and ahmad maslan playing ‘enjet enjet semut’ in one of the stalls again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
        • Cuz PuaKa updated his FB: Hes having constipation due to 1Mdb alredi resolved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
        • Educate Donkey on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:13 am

Again, pls donkey, don’t be racist. Dont attack Tony Pua. He is not even here in the comments section. Try to keep this blog free from racist comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Tony Pua on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:30 am

Pls Mr Donkey Kong, it is about time you stop racist comments against another person who himself has never been into this blog.

Bad upbringing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Bodoh Keldai on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:58 am

Typical immature form 5 boy here bashing DAP and Tony Pua. Own eyes cannot see how many billions stolen infront of him. Either that or he is a crony benefitting from the UMNO system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Mario on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:12 am

Crony or employee la. Biasa. These sound more employee material.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:20 am

+1

• Educate Donkey on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:09 am

Donkey, pls be more educated. In your previous posts, you keep on bashing DAP and Tony Pua. What have they got to do with this blog?

Pls try to educate yourself and try not to be racist.

• Educate Donkey on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:11 am

It would be good if Donkey, you can keep this blog racist free. Don’t hurt people’s feeling and cause incitement

You keep on bashing DAP and Tony Pua. What have they got to do with this blog?

Pls try to educate yourself and try not to be racist.

• So bashing Najib & co is considered fair comment but doing the same to tokong and PuaKa is considered racist?
          I guess this is what being taught nowadays by Democrazy And Politiking, huh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
          • Respect Please on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:35 am

Pls respect. Tokong is God. Please respect others

• Hormat Orang Lain on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:38 am

Mr Songlap and Mr Pua are 2 different people. Mr Songlap has bashed Najib BUT Mr Pua has not done anything here. So why be so immature and hit Mr Pua here? Is this how you think??

• johan on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:46 am

DonkeyKong and john are the SAME person

• Stern Warning on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:49 am

This john guy is always bashing tokong. You don’t cause problems brader

• Mario on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:15 am

Yeah john and donkey are the same poster. Thats why john never has an avatar. Its too much trouble logging in and out to post under different names. Kantoi besar.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:27 pm

LOL! I laughed so hard!! This just proves what low IQ most of these commenters have.. people having the same opinion that are not aligned with yours are the same person?? Damn, no wonder Malaysia is a failed state..

• kapchai on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Hope they sort out all the teething problems before launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Sembang Nato on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:32 pm

7 engines? Must be aiming to sell 1 million cars globally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Open Letter to Mahathir and Harith on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 140
    • theanswer on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:39 pm

apa kau mencarut dowh… skyactive, ecoboost, prince thp all gdi meh…been around at least a year. no problem running ron95.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 6
    • bodoh sangat on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:57 pm

hyundai did not bring in GDi engines because MITI said so?… terlajak bodoh mamat ni

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
    • tok ayah on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:29 pm

terlajak bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Terlajak Pandai on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:20 pm

“Open Letter” is right..

Yg len sume terlajak bodoh..

euro rating same dgn ron rating ke? 2-2 tu lain…

tu la berlagak pandai, tp sebenarny bodoh…

• MiaoMiao on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:52 pm

I hate to say this, but Proton has an image issue. The only way to save it is to relocate to Singapore and offer them a 50% partnership.

Image as a whole is important, nobody says Japan produce junks, but go to daisho and you will find endless of junk products made in China for a Japanese company.

Proton needs to ride on a successful country where people trust the quality and brand of the country – Singapore.

Unless Najib and UMNO does the right thing and open up our country to talented people regardless of race and religion, Malaysia will never be developed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 60
    • Kimi_ on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Hmm, new engine from proton…who dare to be early adopter unless proton gives 10 years warranty for the engine!!!!!!

Don’t dare to take the risks….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
      • karam singh on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Include some Conti cars in the list ,
        especially the VW …
        too many people bashing Proton, some Conti car also suffer same problem in the engine & drivetrain department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:29 pm

From what I can see, the IAFM/IAFM+ engines were pretty much faultless.. the Campro CPS is bulletproof and still regularly pepped up to over 300hp for race applications.. as for the CFE, they seem to be pretty reliable as well. The major sticking point for Proton has always been the transmission. With race outfits prepping CFE mills with over 350 horses in combination with manual gearboxes and stronger clutches, I’m inclined to believe that Proton engines are pretty hardy and robust, but they’ve been let down by poor transmissions over the years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 40
        • Kucau on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Cfe is reliable? Bullshitm i have 2 cfes parking in front of my home. Its a time bomb waiting for the oil cooler hose to burst or leak. Go to any cfe owner group in fb and ask them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
          • Miji CPS on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Agreed… even accord also have some hoses issues.. but always.. they hide it… for proton.. they also had mitigation plan for this cfe issues…

• azure on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:26 pm

and please please please hire a renown car designer. Look what Peter Schreyer did to the koreans. Despite their engine and transmission still need refinement but their designs were enough for people to deem them worthy of their hard earn money.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:53 pm

New engine new engine new engine…

Break down break down break down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 86
    • karam singh on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Increase the safety level of Overprice Toyota 1st.
      also, still using old dinosaur engine 4 speeder ?
      Honda City got more power yet better FC than Vios, compete that 1st. They don’t need showing off rubbish drift act to sell their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Ur dinosar engine can now be fossil fuel to power these new P1 engines

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:45 am

You talking our 2ZR-FXE I4 engine? Oh, i know you always pretend the model/engine not existed when you can’t afford it. Work harder pls

• Currently i saw more breakdown cars at highway especially Perodua Kancil, Viva, Axia, Myvi. No Alza and Nautica.
      Toyota Vios and Altis (previos version).
      Proton Savvy, 90’s Saga, Waja.
      BMW E90
      Kia Forte

• DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:54 pm

This is great news and a good step forward for Proton to develop actual competitive world-class platforms that can be exported to various international markets that has now been facilitated by the TPPA.

However, people who hate Proton and hate the government will still bash this latest development. Nothing that Proton does is good enough for haters. The excellent Petronas engines have finally been adapted for production, and are Euro 6 compliant on top of that.. an achievement that most Japanese- and Korean-branded ASEAN car models can’t comply with.

Proton is on track to have totally up-to-date globally competitive platforms soon that can deliver 5-star safety ratings while having modern efficient powertrains that comply with new emission standards. Good job!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 147 Thumb down 165
    • Mario on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:25 pm

It must be sweet living in an imaginary world where umno leaders and things they touch are world class everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:31 pm

And it must be sweet living in your world where your racial prejudices and government-hating teaches you to oppose for the sake of opposing and never giving credit where it’s due.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
  • DPCraft on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Wow the 1.5t improved 42hp and 10Nm of torque compare to current 1.6t !! 180 hp from 1.5t is impressive, compare to merc base 2.0t with only 184hp!!(but of course way more torque)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • Norman on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Bro,The 1.5T produce 180hp/250nm and what ive heard the 1.3T churns out 140hp/215nm..Proton probably will turbocharged the 1.0/1.2 also..Keep fingers crossed

• Close Down Proton on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Proton sales are so bad. In actual fact, 90% of sales went to Spanco, Bomba, Tentera, TUDM TLDM, PDRM, JKR, every kementerian in Putrajaya etc etc. Spanco alone buys berpuluh ribu to lease back to the Government. With all this help, still Proton cannot survive.

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
    Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
    Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 124
    • These kind of comments have been recycled for so many times, I think they are lame.

No more ideas to critisized PROTON eh? cat got your tounge? surprised PROTON came back fighting?

Now new engine line-up looks promising to couple with class leading 5-Star ANCAP rating body, superb handling, I think they are ready for TPPA and the Global market. Insya’allah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
    • portobello on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Are you writing dissertations or something? Almost every post there are bound to have essays like this.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Nothing new to say? Still wanna recycle your pile of nonsense, lies and half-truths? I think DAP has a position for you, now that Tony Pua might be on his way out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • you think without proton car prices will go down? lol why would car makers reduce the price?

• kimochidesuneh on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:57 pm

proton go to UK, it is still proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • Scirwode on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:58 pm

For what it’s worth, this is a positive move by Proton and they should be commended for the job they are doing.

The focus now is on ensuring they have done the requirement amount of tests and ensure QC is well managed during that period.

Good luck, Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • Advice for Proton - Ask Tun M do FREE on Jan 18, 2016 at 4:59 pm

If Proton is bleeding so much of money, why pay Mahathir Millions in remuneration just to be figurehead Chairman? I hear it runs to over Rm1 million plus per month a fancy office, plus unlimited entertainment allowance, plus driver, plus car etc. Even in this launch, just for protocol for Mahathir alone cost hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Proton should show their sincereity by asking Mahathir to do free work with no remuneration. After all, Proton was Mahathir’s baby and he should be doing it for free.
    Also, tell Malaysians how much CEO is also earning. He should be taking a pay cut instead of enjoying 6 figure salary per month and fancy company car. He should be given a Wira as company car to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 91
  • Now we know whats the purpose of P1 buying E01. All thats left is to license small diesel engine from Maruti-Suzuki to bring the fight to the world. Kipidap P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Horizon Sailor on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Tahniah Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • hantu on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:06 pm

They should concentrate on diesel engine rather than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • Rashid on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Wahhhh!!!! I will wait for this. 1.5 turbo 180hp??? Who need 2.0 skyactive when u can churn out 180hp on 1.5 engine!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Still want to develop own engines?

In the era where car makers merge and build engines together with transfer technology, a small car maker proton wants to build its own.

Why so many engines? Look at Volvo, they only have one engine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 113
    • Ollie on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Spot on. And 90% downvoted you. Brain capacity of Malaysians…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:09 pm

That shows how stupid most Malaysians are. Don’t have a business mind set. All this jaguh kampung mentality.
        Why create own OS to compete with other phones when you can just get Android?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Typical Made-in-China low-quality mentality spotted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • Mampos la on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Proud to bash all proton haters ka? I macam saw u on every comment that’s negative to proton. Go and lick Tun M’s chicken la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Mr Fakta on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:04 pm

I bet the device you use to write this comment is made in the same country you mentioned as low quality. In fact, Volvo is doing the right thing by keeping the engine lineup slim which reduce waste. But proton can always goes to papa and ask papa to rob from us to give them the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Mario on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Made in china better than made in Donkeykong 2 ringgit company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Cantona on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:35 am

Donkey Kong the big hypocrite and his better than thou and holier than thou attitude.
            Keep your politic inclinations and racist comments out of a car blog as you are always the first to bring such topics in your comments.
            You complain about people complaining so it basically puts you into the same category as the nonsense you are spouting. Get a life and stop being an internet troll/keyboard warrior.

• theanswer on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:41 pm

susah nak puaskan hati rakyat malaysia. JV dengan honda..dia kata copycat. Buat engine sendiri, die suruh JV pulak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 1
    • Jonn Dol on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Basically there are two base engine blocks for these new Proton engines, the 4 cyl & the 2 cyl. The heads are different/unique. Other parts are commonized as much as possible.

• Syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:48 am

When proton use Accord platform, you said copy only tau, rebadge etc. When new engine also condemn say why not copy. You guys ah. Politician ka? Pusing2 banyak.

• tokmoh. on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:07 am

To be fair, u have a point, which made me wonder just how much resource Proton can deploy.

Volvo’s Drive-e is a very clever, thought out design, just one engine, yet flexible to be turbo, twincharge, triple turbo. Then swap out partially can become petrol or diesel, or pair with electric motor to become T8 twin engine

Next, they’re chopping off a cylinder for 1.5L 3-cylinder Drive-e, can meet future Euro 7 standard.

And Volvo gets generous Chinese money from their parent Geely. That makes it intriguing to see how far Proton can go without such resource advantage.

Realistically, Proton may not be able to put in production all 7 engines, but i don’t have beef against them R&D to eventually come with great engine. Kipidap

• Aero (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:01 am

What do you mean by “so many engines” ? There are only two core Proton engines being developed for 2017/2018, both of which can be easily modified for higher displacement or be turbocharged.

The first core engine is the economy 3-cylinder VVT, the second is the modern 4-cylinder GDI. The 3-cyl engine can be produced in either 1.0-litre or 1.2-litre guises, with minimal differences in parts/ components. Similarly, the 4-cyl block can be produced in 1.3 and 1.5 guises. To achieve 1.8 and 2.0-litre levels of power, Proton has simply chosen to bolt on a soft-turbo to the 1.3 and 1.5 units, not unlike many established car producers today. This saves Proton the cost of developing a third core engine. Thus, Proton will have 6 different engines by 2018, which will serve ALL their models, from the RM30k A-segment models to their RM100k+ D-segment models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Ollie on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:25 am

Hey dungu. Bankrupt by Oct 2017 based on current cash flow and reducing sales numbers. What future models??

Go comment on the articles where proton TIV is at 15%, sold just 100k cars, and Perodua outselling Proton by double.

Why don’t see your comments there? Anything to do with Proton you are there, but news about Proton’s debauchery and failure you are missing?

Proven that you are a blind low-life Proton licker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Tebocor on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Sounds promising…should invest in diesel engines too since euro5 is here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Nieko on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Hum just in time for these engine’s to be used in the next generation Preve & Suprima models …hum so a 1.0L & 1.2L so these units might be for the face lifted Saga3 & Persona……hu hu I am very proud of you Proton . …cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • nabil on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Well, I dont want to say proton couldn’t make it work.. Hopefully they will make it work. Please make it work because if finally proton can make a good car with good engines, then only malaysian would be really proud of our national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • SkullJuJu on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Inilah bangga Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Azrul on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Hopefully a good gearbox to match

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • amry83 on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:30 pm

heard that Proton has an agreement with a japanese CVT gearbox maker and this time with torque converter. Seems that they are going fully towards CVT and not automatic gearboxes.

• Lookman on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Wait for these engines coming out next year, then I’ll buy proton for sure..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Norman on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Me too,Wanna trade in my Exora bold and Vios for 1.3T/1.5T(Saga T and Exora T)

• jinggo on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Perodua bila mau bikin enjin? Profit sudah banyak.. jilaka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Norman on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Nanti Toyota dan Daihatsu potong kepara dorang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • neckotynne on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:20 pm

perodua buat enjin buat apa boss??? perodua tu mmg Daihatsu / Toyota punye kot… share brand jepun tu over than 50% kot… ko igt dorg senang2 nk bagi org Malaysia wat part2 penting tu ke??? in dreams la bro… Perodua gain profit, masuk kat akaun Daihatsu / Toyota gak derrr… sbb tu kalo perodua masuk indon logo jadi Daihatsu…! jangan harap la perodua dpt wat kete design sndri… bumper kete boleh la… cmon la… hahahahaha…!

• To all proton vendor pls wake up… its you who spoilt proton name with substandard product…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • Mario on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:10 am

Hushhhh a few of them are regularly posting here

• Bristol on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:08 am

Last time my proton car facing power window problem, i take out the power window switch and open the case ( case was sealed with void warranty sticker). I found inside used spoiled item so believe that proton’s vendor supplied the lousy product to proton.

• Norman on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:28 pm

1.5T 180hp/250nm bukan 215nm,1.3T 140hp/200nm

• sounds interesting! too bad new models to be launched this year can’t get this new engines…

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Thats more like it.

• What happened to the hooha Petronas engine?
    http://www.mai.org.my/ver1/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=3677:petronas-engines-for-proton-cars-from-q1&catid=3:newsflash&Itemid=161

• bodoh sangat on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:55 pm

in the conference the was mentioned about petronas engine. Proton is still developing for 2.0 engine

• kipid on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:42 pm

I still don’t trust proton, after suffer from unreliable, noise, high fc and gutless campro. will I buy proton, hell no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
    • amry83 on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:01 pm

dude, the engine is co-developed with RICARDO.. heard of them before.. those are the guys who developed the maclaren 12c engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • The current campro engine is using MPFI. For sure it will consume much more fuel than other brand which alrdy using gdi. But right now the new engine will come with gdi. I’m pretty sure the fuel consumption will be lower with higher power. 140hp with 200Nm is quite awesome for 1.3 production engine. Lets give em a chance.

• New product new experience, human habits cannot change in 10 years, but a product and quality can change in a year by putting more efforts to rectify previos faulty.

• Equal Too on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:03 am

A car juz a thing, use new design n concept can be totally different from previous. Past already past, reliable or not reliable is not judge by previous product. Anything new juz review by now instead of previous review.

• Ollie on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:47 pm

When Audi/BMW/Merc launch anything, does Angela Merkel come launch it? Only in this country for low-life Proton does it happen. Is Mahathir their god? Better tell them its unIslamic.

Whats the point of these new engines? Give up before its too late. Thousands of workers, dealers, distributors, spare parts traders are going to lose their jobs when Proton collapses.

Stop the nonsense, stop wasting our time and money, and make plans to help those who are going to lose their jobs.

Proton and its low-life minions and their god, Madey, dont you ever think about all the workers and their families? Do you know how it will affect them when all this nonsense dreamland that you have built for failure is going to affect them? If not for Proton we’d have a thriving manufacturing scene with tens of thousands of jobs. But with Proton we just have around 5,000. Deluded low-life no-ambition losers – made by Proton for Proton losers. Unfortunate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:06 pm

You’re also a deluded small-minded zero-ambition loser, might as well move to China and join the drones of assemblers and copiers without striving higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • amry83 on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:30 pm

even that, the China´s economy is collapsing. The problem is that the just know how to copy and not try to learn. Just for quick buck and then close the firm. The care less about their workers and surrounding and for them MONEY is god…

• DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:36 pm

But that’s what a majority of anti-government anti-Proton Malaysians want to be.. just assemble, copy, build foreign products.. that’s the type of economy that they want.. and produce cheap, disposable, low quality crap for the masses.. cheap cars, cheap electronics, etc.

But these ignorant morons fail to realize.. in most of the earlier Malaysia Plans, in which foreign factories have been set up by our drive to industrialize, e.g. Western Digital, Seagate, Freescale, Panasonic, etc. all over Selangor, Penang and elsewhere.. what have these factories contributed now? Are our locals even seeking jobs at these factories? A lot of the workers are foreigners.

If we’re just a vehicle assembler instead of a vehicle producer that requires local R&D and engineering talents, the same thing will happen. We’ll just have Vietnamese, Bangladeshis and Indonesians working at these car assembly plants and contribute zero benefit to our economy.

Do you think those ignorant idiots care? Of course they don’t. They have no idea how the economy works. They think that without a local car industry, and if cars have to be imported, they’ll be cheap. If all our stuff are imported, they don’t want them taxed. They want Malaysian industries to shut down, but want foreign companies to set up shop over here and offer jobs to millions more foreigners. They think this is what the country needs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
          • in b4 self-declared uber economic geniuses George & Albert come spam ur comment

• Mario on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:12 am

Lol and who’s been running the federal govt all this while?

• Ollie on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:28 am

There’s a book by Ben Bernanke, former Fed chairman, available in bookstores: Basic Macroeconomics. Please go read. I would ignore your ignorance, but you are affecting the other readers with your stupidity.

• Patutla on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:14 am

‘john’ and DonkeyKong are the same person.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Wow.. so in the US, there are only two people in existence because there are Republicans and Democrats? You can’t accept the fact that there are people with opposing opinions as yours, so those with different opinions must be dopplegangers of just one guy? What low IQ you have..

• I’m waiting for 2.0 TGDi engine. :3

• That’s if the dying company can sustain until 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • sepul on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Be sure to improve the level of service quality of Proton’s service centers and their technicians. Modern Protons are more complicated and full of gizmos, unlike the rebadged eras of Protons, so the care and handling of sch complicated cars are much more delicate. Owners also need to be more educated with what their own cars can or cannot do since many who can afford Proton are either ahbeng wannabes or complete noobs on cars, they think maintaining a Preve is the same as a Wira. Reliability is another issue as more components are on board, they are much more prone to damage if not being taken care of properly.

As an IT person, I see modern cars as computers on wheels. And those who use computers (smart phones and gadgets alike) are not entirely a smart bunch of people.

• Curious, the engine should be developed to run Ron 91 or 89 where it is the common Ron number being used in the states, and thus would enable Proton to tap into more markets

• Please do not mistake RON with AKI. In US they use AKI for fuel rating instead of RON. Please google about it for more info. Or u can just watch it in youtube, by Engineering Explain. He explain the different and how to calculate quite detail

• Aiman Hakim on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Wow ,this is so fantastic!.this engine is targeting for global markets.i hope the engine is powerful and not lagging.

• shawal on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:18 pm

600 million dollars to develop….
    and 2 videos of driven and walk-around from paultan.org to seal the deal for potential consumers…

we shall wait and see….

• Unknown on Jan 18, 2016 at 6:45 pm

No turbocharged version of the 3-pot engine to compete with Ford’s 1.0 ecoboost?

• Absolute Rider on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Do it well and most importantly,

no delay please!

• lcmbryan on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:15 pm

With new proton lineup model and new engine you deserve to change your logo as well. Tell people you are new proton instead of using that old out date logo design. Hope and pray people mindset will change.

• Maruah melayu on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Cannot rely on Lotus and Ricardo and other mat salleh….becoz it will jatuhkan maruah orang melayu. right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Maruah melayu on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:42 pm

maruah melayu tergadai….if working with mat salleh. Where are the champions of the Malays???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Potenza on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:45 pm

I would still choose a Jap or Conti car over this lousy Proton. Their build quality is cheap and low class. After-sales is darn poor if not worse. Everything “ciplak” here and there. There is no true innovation and creation from this automaker. Even though they are coming up with 7 new engines, but for sure they are not as reliable & good compared to the rest. There’s no way they can ever make a come back in the autoworld, not globally and soon not locally either once TPPA begins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Consumer on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:53 pm

with this range of engines, expect to see Proton is back to stage of world with larger build volume and become very competence to any other brands out there. By the time, hopefully Malaysia will come ‘more’ open market with low excise duty to mainly benefit its’ beloved Malaysian. Even though this range of new engines simply cost higher to any ageing CamPro, but with the high volume and low excise duty(hope gov reduce it in future), hopefully(again) the retails price for Malaysian is affordable than the existing one!

• Aero (Member) on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Congratulations to all at Proton, Lotus and Ricardo on this fantastic development !

180hp and 250Nm from a 1.5 is very impressive ! Proton had originally planned to introduce direct injection (GDI) in the CamPro family as early as the Waja and Gen-2 days, and yes Proton might be late to the GDI party… but better late than never I’d say. Many Chinese car companies still can’t make a proper engine, they license engines from others like Mitsubishi, Toyota and Cummins… but they are learning fast. Engine design is one of the most challenging, if not the most, in a car. So for a small (and struggling) company like Proton to build a genuinely competitive (at least on paper) range of modern engines is no small feat.

I’m happy to hear that Proton is sparing no expense with reliability and endurance testing, 4.8 million km no less. The CamPro engines weren’t perfect, but I do believe that they’re mechanically reliable as I’ve never heard stories of CamPro engine failure, if so, it could be isolated cases. Some of the Saga BLM taxis on our roads have done hundreds of thousands of kms, and they’re still running fine.

I’m also glad to see that Proton has aimed for Euro 6 compliant emissions, and most crucially, under the 100 g/km mark. In the UK, if your car emits less than 100 g/km, you do not have to pay any emissions road tax. High C02 emissions is the biggest reason why Proton couldn’t sell the Prevé and Suprima in the UK as originally planned. It’s sad, because they did indeed ship a few units all the way to England, and if the CamPro CFE emissions (205 g/km) was a bit lower, they would have definitely proceeded with the launch. Some countries like Singapore even provided rebates for cars with low C02 emissions. In Singapore, the government will give a $20,000 rebate for cars that emit less than 100 g/km… that alone could make or break the pricing of any car. Turbocharging and direct injection will no doubt cut down C02 emissions significantly in future Protons.

Once more, I wish Proton all the best and congratulate them on their new developments. However, I hope they will continue to work hard and persevere with their turn-around plan, if history has taught us anything, it’s that complacency is the silent killer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:40 pm

Excellent summary. I totally agree with your point of view. Credit where it’s due, I do believe that the time is ripe for Proton to regain its competitiveness in the fast-changing motor industry. Better late than never. They’ve been having excellent piecemeal solutions all across the board but haven’t executed the correct gameplan to bring it all together for a homerun yet. This is yet another correct move on their part, and let’s hope they don’t falter before the finishing line. After all, sadly, Proton has a track record of fumbling a few feet away from the finishing line and stealing defeat from the jaws of victory. Let’s hope they play it right this time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Fat hope on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:00 pm

So many macai typing word ‘hope’ today for Proton.

You guys really easy to be duped is it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • Psychologists says that humans are easier being negative than being positive, but its always the positive pipu that are more successful.

• Smart Buyer on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Yes successful people will avoid buying Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • If u measure someones success by the cars he owns, let me intro u to the future worlds richest man, Zhang Jian. He will oso help make u rich.

• Kassim on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:38 am

Smart Buyer – pedas nya!!

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Smart buyer & friends – I take it you guys do not personally know any multi-millionaires? I mean REAL self-made multi-millionaires, not those politicians and stars and stuff..

See the house they live in vs the car they drive and the lifestyle they have, then you will know the difference between people who have it all but choose not to show, vs. people who have just enough to show off and can’t stop showing off what they have.

• Bruise on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:25 am

We juz want our son can succeed in future and dun let any foreigners bully our son. So what u thinking of?

• Aero (Member) on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:07 am

@DonkeyKong

Cheers man, and thanks ! I too agree with what you highlighted; Proton has a habit of promising big things, but they don’t always deliver on their promises. Lately, I’ve noticed that under DRB-HICOM, they have ‘toned down’ their promises, instead letting their actions speak for themselves. This is VERY different from the Tengku Mahaleel era (a.k.a the ‘ambitious, but rubbish’ era). I don’t expect Proton to do the unimaginable, I just hope that they will remain modest, committed and sure-footed in their headings and goals. I’m sure their new engines will put them back on track, and hopefully, they will remain on track for the foreseeable future.

• tokmoh. on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:26 am

Well some people are adamant Volvo is Chinese, so that’s a tall order to benchmark.

I’m honestly excited to see this Drive-E of Asia against the real Drive-E fufufufu

• Raptor951007 on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:07 am

My proton gen 2 2006 s4ph model still running good till today. Although it’s a heavy drinker but still never had any problem and any leaks even though i rev it like hell almost everyday

• Iskandar Wee on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:26 am

Johnathan,
    Do you have further details on ancillary parts/system of the engine? Is there any enhancement features such as start&stop,cylinder deactivation,active balancing…

• camtakpro on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:51 am

New engines are out. Now when is the first car to use them?

So Iriz engine EOL?

• Mohd Nor on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Why u all bising about proton.. U don’t like don’t buy.. Habis cerita.. I bough ford.. But I don’t condemproton

• thinkb4talking on Jul 11, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Agreed ..me too, own an Aprilia ..but I never condemn Modenas..who knows one day one of my childrens can only afford to buy a Modenas. I’ve driven a Proton car for so many years with 6 of my kids packed inside (2 front passanger seat with my wife., 4 at the back).. b4 I can afford to own a BMW beside a luxury Vellfire.. teach me to be more humble by not easily bashing people who driving a Proton ..

• Mohd Nor on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Why u all bising about proton.. U don’t like don’t buy.. Habis cerita.. I bough ford.. But I don’t condem proton

• Mohd Nor on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Why u all bising about proton.. U don’t like don’t buy.. Habis cerita.. I bough ford.. But I don’t condemn proton

• Ricado has design supercar engines for Lotus but yet to see on their designed car engine for mass market. Proton should has done this 20 years ago after they exit agreement with Japanese. All because of Proton pride for being able to design their own engine and rakyat suffer because Govt spend millions for Proton R&D.

What the cost of each engine and ROI?

• lawson on Jul 16, 2017 at 7:41 pm

please programmed the ECU to detetmine emgine oil change interval like what being done for cars in USA. Good also to program ECU to detect any wheel which is spinning faster to alert driver on possible deflating tyre or deflated tyre. I personally hancur a few tyres over the years and would appreciate thus simple tech.

• john proton on Nov 26, 2017 at 2:18 pm

What happens to this project? it’s almost the end of 2017. Paultan do you have any news?