Direct injection and turbo direct injection among the Petronas engine technologies acquired by Proton

petronas e01e

You may recall that in 2012, Proton acquired all of Petronas’ engine technologies and the associated patents at a cost of RM63 million, with the deal comprising seven engine technologies and 117 technology patents.

Well, Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa revealed to us at the Proton Iriz press drive event that direct injection and turbo direct injection are among the Petronas-acquired technologies, and that they “can be applied to all engines.”

He did not however divulge which engines, or which Proton model, would first receive the treatments and when. Direct injection and turbo direct injection would aid Proton’s charge into overseas markets, particularly Europe with its ever-tightening emissions regulations.

In the case of the Proton Iriz, direct-injected versions of the 1.3 and 1.6 VVT motors (designed to Euro 5 standards, detuned to Euro 4 for Malaysia due to our lower fuel quality) would certainly go hand-in-hand with its borrowed diesel engine towards meeting the upcoming Euro 6 standards. Could other Proton models follow suit in the future?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Buying 2012 technology at RM 63 Million and now only considering to put into use ? Probably we can see the results in 2016 ? What crap is this ? 5 years behind time ! Get a Life !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 125
    • Sawwy on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:08 pm

And then what? Claim back RM1 billion from MITI? Loser!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 82
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:51 pm

HB & Sawwy,

Developing an engines are not easy like shaking your balls. It requires a lot of testing and follow hundreds of requirement according to each country and nation. In this case, PROTON can easily get grant or refund from MITI for sake of R&D E01 progress..Don’t reveal your STUPIDITY when commenting because RAKYAT smart oledi to judge your monotonous comment..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 229 Thumb down 28
        • JAFPresident on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Indeed Sir

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
          • eims perfume on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:51 pm

proton please apply direct injection & turbo direct injection as soon as possible please…

nowadays people don’t care wether the technology is stable or not. when they hear TFSI/FSI , etc.. they just want it so badly anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Proton 5S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Semakin Mahal

Now you know why they need RM1600mils. RM63mil for the engine/technology purchase, RM630mil for the transaction admin fees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 107
        • Dont be stupid by assuming people’s comment means engine design is as easy as shaking balls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 59
    • frossonice on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:21 pm

You should know that engines do not evolve as fast as car design. Some engines last more than 50 years with multiple variants evolving from it.

Most current major engines are old tech. If you want real new engine, look at Koenigsegg camless engine. Now, that is the future. But then again, camless engine too not really a new tech.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
      • Lotus already has a camless design. Not that easy to put into mass production cars like Protons scale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:31 pm

If camless applied into production, of course PROTON need to develop/upgrade its current production line in ETM Shah Alam and will requires a lot money. The camless engine car price will hike and its a risky investment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • even giant toyota have their D4S direct injection, but not all of their cars get it. cost of putting those technologies into a mass production car will increased cost overall.. by then not everyone can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • In 30 years of existence since 1984 , Proton would have the means and expertise to develop their own engines , no ? Yet still need to pay external sources to buy some other engine technologies ? Me thinks the advisor , the ceo , the directors , the management and the staff are all over-hyped to still be sitting there !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
      • blahblah on Oct 22, 2014 at 10:33 am

KIa/Hyundai took more than 50 years to develop their own engine.. Back in the 80s and 90s, they tend to use 4Gxx engine sourced from Mitsubishi.

• Shane on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:19 am

Can’t you just take the whole engine n put it into the car? I heard it has got the power so good..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Is not easy like that bro. But what I heard, yes it got more power that resembles like a F1 car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • power and carbon emission don’t come well together.. look at and old 1.6 vtec… alot of power, but u don’t see it in production now right?

• Works on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:36 am

unleashed all the technology to the production., then we talk….public got tired with cakap kosong….especially with our current goverment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 42
  • Chai Brothers on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:46 am

I love campro engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
  • mayonis on Oct 20, 2014 at 11:49 am

i remember one of previous paultan article regarding proton buying petronas blue print engine pattern in 2012. if i’m not mistaken, proton will develop 1.2 cc, 1.3 cc, 1.6 cc, 1.8 cc, 2.0 cc 2.2 cc and 2.4cc using this blueprint for their engine range.

however since the engine concept technology was design back to year 1998. proton might need to re-tune/re design the engine prototype to follow the current global standard.

http://paultan.org/2005/07/08/the-petronas-e01/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • JB_KIA on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Though I am not highly educated but I know what are cc & L…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • consrito on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Proton develop engine for RC cars? 1.2 – 2.4cc???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • pirlo on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:10 pm

1 Liter = 1000 cc
      hence, 2.4L = 2400 cc
      not 2.4 cc, 1.2 cc, 1.3 cc etc.
      i thought every keyboard warrior in paultan is automotive expert..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
      • forest the tree on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:20 pm

mostly talk cock expert

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • mayonis on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:50 pm

LOL…ok my bad. but i think you know what i try to say.
        or should i rewrite back

1.2L, 1.3L, 1.6L, 1.8L, 2.0L, 2.2L and 2.4L.

• pirlo on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

no need lorr. it’s just a knowledge sharing. at least, we here in Paultan learn something today, right?
          rather than blindly bashing without facts and figures, contributed from ‘malaysian automotive experts’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • zamzama on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:48 am

previously pirlo, now mayonis…
          hurmmm… same person diff. name…
          basher type ni…

• Sagia86 on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

What the point do they develop 1.2cc – 2.4cc . Even yamaha scooter lc got 125cc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • nearlee on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:12 pm

wow i can bet with JJTan english writing style will make ppl think Iriz engine already equipped with direct injection..

• Kamarulzaman on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:09 pm

The E01 shall be the engine for the Proton Perdana which intially would use the Honda Powertrain. Perhaps, the high-end variants of Preve, Suprima and Exora may also utilize the E01. The Iriz, highly unlikely.

• Lemer on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:32 pm

We shall see Exora and D-segment Perdans utilize this direct injection. Next perhaps Proton SUV.

• Now, with the new E01, how much will it effect to the OTR price?

• Nieko on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Well the problem with this is that Proton can make a V6 engine if their interested ,but there will still be someone who would say the prices for newer Proton cars would go skyrocketing! ! Well if every one of you guys wants new technology in your car’s than don’t expect it to come with a cheap ass price……

As the saying goes “you don’t pay for peanuts while your are expecting dimonds”

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:24 pm

So what on earth is taking Proton so long to come up with a DI engine?

The DI engine has been around since 1997. They could very easily have licensed the technology from anyone.

Seriously, if there is an engine that needs to be reserched a bit more, is a lightweight 2 stroke Direct injection engine. Perfect for range-extender powerunits. I’m wondering why no one has made that leap yet.

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:26 am

DI injection not suitable to petrol with high sulphur content.

i worked with VW some 4 years ago, this we found out occured to some golf GTis… with a very difficult symptoms to trace. in the end, found injectors clogged with carbon.

VW not alone though, more than a decade ago, many grey importers brought in Toyota Nadia D4, along with Camry D4 and Wish D4. lessons learnt not long after, they never brought in direct injections any more.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:23 am

Same goes for Mitsubishi GDI halfcut engines with our crappy high-sulphur fuel in Malaysia.. even the valvetrain gets gummed up pretty soon by the residue that’s left behind by poor-quality fuel that’s been injected at extremely high pressures and ignited at high compression ratios.

• Rakyat Kurang Cerdik on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Hahaha Detuned because Msia has lower fuel quality.

nice one P1, ini semua salah Petronas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
  • David Tan on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:31 pm

MY question

1. Does Petronas engine really a working production engine?

2. 63 Mil That’s quite a lot of money for almost unknown engine & how well it perform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 21, 2014 at 3:25 am

The Petronas engines were used in a bunch of limited-edition Satria GTIs, weren’t they? And also a number of test mules which included a Perdana if I’m not mistaken.. and they’ve been test-driven in excess of 100,000km or so back in those days.

• where got satria gti limited edition? no la.. if there is yes, but those are prototype car.. not for the masses..

• shawal on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Hopefully once the pangeran pegroleum complex comes online, we would get to produce our own euro quality fuel and diesels, then hopefully by then proton would start producing even better cars,

That has always being the long term goal, we are getting there, the key is sustainability, its been a long time coming but be patient..
    Foreign car prices arent coming down, excise tax will continue to live on…. its a very lucrative income for th government

• Nieko on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Hum what I am more interested in is which one of Proton’s car will receive the New Engine .My hope is that the 1.8L variant of the EO1 will be given to the Proton Preve and the 2.0Liter Turbocharged unit will be dropped in the Proton Suprima and while we are add it let’s than put the rumoured CFE 1.0 Liter engine darling of the moment the Proton Iriz…….

Hum after Tun Ms arrival at Proton , The company seems to have finely gained some speed….

I know some of you Hates the guy but at least he is in Proton kicking some executives rite in groin……Cheerss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • ayamxxx on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:46 pm

its better if proton just concentrate on its car quality, reduce the gap on its interior, putting better after sales service..

now the demands are for Fuel efficient engine, whereas it Proton Achilles Weakness for its Campro Engine. doesnt matter they put CVT GB, its still not there yet.

to cut shorts, since its now the final life for campro, just outsource a better efficient engine from market and put in their car. do not practice like Mitsu era, when Proton only purchased an older, non-technology engine for its car model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • ikansepat on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:49 pm

In the case of the Proton Iriz, direct-injected versions of the 1.3 and 1.6 VVT motors (designed to Euro 5 standards, detuned to Euro 4 for Malaysia due to our lower fuel quality)

what the hell is this?? lower fuel quality? we are cruel oil country dude!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • ayamitik on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm

dude, it is crude oil producer. Not cruel oil country. Imagine how cruel is an oil country could be. NAsty..

our petrol and diesel are still at euro 2 standard. Problem with direct injection technology, you need to have at least euro 4 or 5 standard of petrol and diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Veneno on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:24 am

yeah, we’re the fuel producer but we still stuck with the fucking Euro 2 fuel.. bloody hell.. other countries already using the Euro 4, 5, 6 fuel.. cock..

• blahblah on Oct 22, 2014 at 10:47 am

Those countries sell their fuel at almost RM4 onwards per litre.. Even at RM2.30 per litre, a lot of people already complaining..

• Aero (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:08 pm

The faster Proton can bring out these Petronas engines, the better. Hopefully, sooner than later. I’m guessing that the Petronas engines will be unveiled along with the upcoming Perdana… maybe the new Saga.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 6:04 pm

i dont know what to make of this actually , all i think i know is that the perdana replacement model (apparently its called perdana phase 2) is the next new proton model , so i guess someone has to take a pop inside the bonnet n see whats inside…

• Sir Slave Tuan Hamba on Oct 21, 2014 at 12:40 am

Unlike Proton engines, it looks like Petronas engine not using timing belt.

• kamal ngah on Oct 21, 2014 at 1:34 am

PETRONAS ditched R&D effords cos they didn’t have the expertise nor the interest to carry-on due to a waste of its resources when TM was then the advisor.
    In comes Proton with TM as the new chairman, cash rich after being taken over by DRB takes over this pet project at a premium.
    And Paul was spot on , P1 should have just borrowed an engine instead.

• iloveprotons on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:15 am

Licensed it cheap (like android) for the Chinese car makers to buy and use the engine technology, use China as your test bed. That is the only way to go – you may not even have to build your future engine.

• Lets wait and see how much power and torque it can produce…….

• ahmad hadi on Oct 23, 2014 at 2:57 pm

PETRONAS engines are already outdated. It was never in mass production.
    What about gearbox? proton has 400+ engineers in powertrain and they can’t even design a gear, not to mention about gearbox design

• blahblah on Oct 23, 2014 at 11:58 pm

The engine can be updated with some tweaks.. Toyota engine such as MZ and 5A were developed back in the 80s and used for quite some time until recently..

• pirlo on Oct 24, 2014 at 12:37 am

bodoh gila statement. 400++ powertrain engineers? jangan la kencing orang sangat bang..