Proton Iriz – foreign engine being considered is diesel

Proton_Iriz_fuel_economy_ 004

You may recall that during the launch event of the Proton Iriz last month, Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad revealed that although the hatchback’s new VVT engines meet Euro 4 emissions regulations, the company is considering acquiring engines from other manufacturers for export markets that require Euro 5 standards and above.

As such, European markets are in focus here, with Euro 6 standards on the brink of coming into force for the approval of new vehicles. Now Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa has revealed to us at the Proton Iriz press drive event that the foreign powerplant under consideration for these markets is a diesel engine.

This would make sense, as Europe has an overwhelming preference for oil burners, and if Proton wants its Iriz to stand a fighting chance on the Continent, it absolutely needs to offer a diesel option there. If indeed such an Iriz is conceived, it will be the second diesel-engined Proton after the Wira 2.0D of the 1990s.

Rashid also said that the Iriz’s new VVT engines are in fact designed to Euro 5 standards, but have been tuned and calibrated to Euro 4 for Malaysia, because of our fuel. The differences between the Euro 5 and Euro 4 engines are a catalytic converter and minor calibration, he said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Eterna on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Proton can buy eco green diesel engine from Honda or Volkswagen. Or from Toyota, just like Perodua. Nothing to be ashamed off. Cheers!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
    • eimsperfume on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Since proton still in collaboration with Honda.. iDtec would be good.

Personally I’m hoping for hyundai 2.2 crdi vgt just like the one in Santa fe and proton put that in exora bold… 430nm torque..nyum nyum..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Sawwy on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:41 am

Finally Proton admit defeat and no choice but buy diesel engine from Toyota.

Shame on you lah Proton. Campro VVT? Joke of the century.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
        • farghmee on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:59 am

kalu give-up setelah cuba, itu bagus.
          sbbnye dia dh cuba.

kalu blum cuba sudah kata “x boleh”, itu xboleh diterima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Tell you what… End of the day Proton Iriz won’t have diesel engine and never get imported to Europe…

Global Small Car, Euro 5 compliant bla bla bla are all Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok things. Nothing will come out one in real.

See the Proton Hybrid then you already know. You can quote my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
        • What is the joke all about? I dont understand.

• Proton can start recall after selling Iriz with Toyota engine…money in their pocket…SHAME ON YOU!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Toyota buys it’s diesel engines for Europe from Peugeot and BMW?

• I have only one thing to say:

“Don’t use French engines, don’t use French engines, don’t use French engines.”

On the other hand, there are not many Euro6 diesels out there. German diesels are the best, but I suspect proton might be using Hondas earth dream diesels. Jeremy clarkson reviews them as “economical but unrefined”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • sudonano (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Actually, you’d be surprised, the French diesels are actually not too bad. I was sceptical of the french diesel too here, but after going for a trip in the 508 GT, I am truly amazed. While say a TDI may be sensible, TDI engines are also not that reliable, with some cases of cylinder cracks….

But right now, I’m voting on a Honda diesel engine. Maybe the 1.6 iDTEC in the Euro Civic, considering that Proton seems to have some relations with Honda now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Proton build quality already so bad, the noise isolation is poorly done. Put in a diesel engine is like driving in construction yard.

Proton Iriz diesel should free with ear plugs as their free gift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Proton38 on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Please use French engine,
      German car maker Mercedes-Benz is using the 1.5 and 1.6 dCi Renault engine in A-Class, B-Class, CLA, C-Class, Citan and now in the new Vito and Vito Tourer.
      Ford has used a Peugeot-Citroen 1.6 HDi, and Volvo, too.

In 2004 was a promise from Proton to create his own diesel engine! But now we see, its gone to nothing!

Hopefully this time they can do it with foreign support.

• charpiq on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:07 am

please don’t use conti engine..remember savvy??..parts are expensive due to currency rate exchange and hard to get..afraid the same thing happen again..better go for sushi engine..parts are cheaper and maintenance cost also low compare to the European counterpart..huhu..

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:21 pm

The biggest lesson learnt from Savvy is “don’t use an automated manual transmission (AMT) for a normal passenger car”. That was the biggest problem for Savvy.

• panjang on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Great news..
    For oversea market that is.
    For our stone age diesel fuel,this news will be just a novel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • vincent on Oct 17, 2014 at 7:09 am

No worries. Proton will bring back all the unsold diesel model to Malaysian market. However, it’s not usable in Malaysia because our diesel is tak boleh pakai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • gonggok on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Stone age diesel? Doesn’t stop BMW and Mercedes bringing in their diesels and selling them with full warranty in Malaysia…
    Car companies sell globally, not every country has euro 6 diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • isuzuki on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:33 pm

How long you need to consider diesel? Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • badgeforall on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Honda 1.6L i-DTEC!

• maran on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:43 pm

They can consider multijet engine supplied by fiat. Use widely in India and they are one of the biggest engine maker. Proven technology.

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:47 pm

after an improvement made to first gen campro engines, it is saddening to learn it still cant meet euro 5 legislation.

on the other hand, cant proton engineer convert the old campro petrol engine into a diesel? provided of course it is able to withstand the high compression of diesel ignition. perhaps change the cylinder head first.

then remove the ignition system. change the fuel system from petrol to diesel. yes, i may make it sounds easy but proton has a team of talented engineers, right? what abut lotus engineering division, they know nothing about diesel?

this may take another 3-4 years though. i mentioned this since the past 5 years for many times. and i tot proton was listening. apparently they dont read paultan.org.

perhaps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • skidezourus on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Your suggestion made me wonder… can it be done? (Change petrol to diesel using the same engine design)

1. Higher compression also means longer stroke. Which i doubt that the current engine could use the same conrod. so is the crankshaft.
      2. cylinder block should be different as well.. due to the conrod length.
      3. combustion chamber is not acting along to withstand the high compression and the explosion (Diesel got more calories compared to gasoline). more things need to be done..

Basically.. you need a new engine..

note: diesel engine operates at (14-25:1) compared to campro (10:1) compression ratio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • alldisc on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:24 am

friend, i guess u dont read much. go google the followings as i response to your reply.

1. Peugoet 1.6 HDI 1560cc bore x stroke 75mm x 88.3mm
        Proton S4PH 1597cc bore x stroke 76mm x 88mm

– tell me why peugoet can make 1.6 diesel using a similar stroke. and why proton cannot?

– do you know peugoet had a 1 litre diesel engine, with bore/stroke of 70mm x 62mm? that is even shorter stroke. so, your denial doesnt make any commonsense.

2. refer to the above, saying the block can be use only some strengthtening is required, perhaps change the liner.

3. you just want to add more points. but the simple fact is that, diesel engine runs at lower max revs. minimal things needed to be changes, except those facing with high compression.

p/s – u just finished automotive school, right?

• skide on Oct 17, 2014 at 2:25 pm

skidezourus

Dear alldisc,

you are right to point at the similarities.

however, i believe that the rotary parts also need to be redesign to suit the high compression. not a minimal work..in my pov.

i am trained as a mechanical engineer. my fyp was about determination of theoretical air-fuel ratio using SPC method on a GCMS (Gas Chromatography & Mass Spectrometer).. that was 4 years ago.

Now I’m with a national car maker…but… I’m doing construction works :p

• TheStigMalaysia on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Engine is never Lotus pioneer technology. Their car now uses Toyota’s engine and their F1 is powered by Renault engine and will be switched to Mercedes soon.

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:39 am

true, lotus never make base engine.

its expertise is in tuning. thats what they did. but they also helped with:-

– Lotus Talbot Sunbeam—Talbot’s hot-hatch rally car of the early ’80s.
        – DeLorean DMC-12. Changes to the original concept led to considerable schedule pressures. The car was deemed to require almost complete re-engineering, which was turned over to engineer Colin Chapman, founder of Lotus. Lotus replaced most of the unproven material and manufacturing techniques with those then employed by Lotus in the Lotus Esprit.
        – Vauxhall Lotus Carlton (also Opel Lotus Omega, internal name Lotus Type 104) – At the time (early 1990s) this was the fastest saloon car available, with a top speed of over 175 mph (280 km/h).
        – The 1991 Dodge Spirit R/T with a version of the 2.2 L K-car engine with a 16-valve DOHC head designed by Lotus with over 220 hp (160 kW).
        – Vauxhall VX220 (badged Opel Speedster outside of the UK) – Lotus produced and based upon the same aluminium chassis design as the Lotus Elise. Production of these models ended in 2005.

– Lotus styled and assisted with the engineering of the Tesla Roadster, an electric sports car based on the Elise, as well as licensing some technologies to Tesla Motors and constructing the Roadster at their plant in Hethel.[29]
        – The Aston Martin DB9 chassis was developed with the help of Lotus Engineering.
        – Lotus was responsible for most of the design, development, and testing, of the LT5 DOHC V8 powerplant for the Chevrolet Corvette C4 ZR-1.
        Lotus designed, developed and tested the GM Ecotec engine and its variants.
        – Lotus was responsible for various aspects of the Sinclair C5 electric tricycle.
        – Lotus was responsible for the suspension calibration of the Toyota MR2 Mk. I, the Toyota Supra Mk. II and Mk. III, the Isuzu Piazza, the Isuzu Impulse as well as newer Proton models.
        – Lotus Engineered PROTON Satria GTi model.
        – Lotus was responsible for the development of the Campro engine together with Proton,[30] as well as its variable valve timing system, the Cam Profile Switching (CPS). Currently available in the 1.6-litre and 1.3-litre variants, the Campro engine now powers most of Proton’s newer models.
        – Lotus has worked on the suspension of the Mahindra Scorpio to make it more stable at high speeds.
        – Lotus produced the revised Chassis of the Isuzu Piazza
        – Lotus has worked on the suspension and handling of the Volvo 480
        – The Dodge EV concept electric vehicle from Chrysler is based on a Lotus Europa S.
        – Lotus has worked on the suspension and handling of the Nissan GT-R [31]
        – Lotus rebuilt, modified, and tuned a Lada Riva on Top Gear season 1, episode 8. 1 of 1 ever made.
        2006 Volkswagen GX3, Lotus develop chassis for VW.
        2009 Kia Soul gets Lotus tuned suspension(UK only).
        2010: Limo-Green project with Jaguar Cars. Lotus provided the Range Extender engine for a prototype XJ series-hybrid car. The car returned 58 mpg (imperial) running off the range extender alone.[32]
        2010 Jaguar CX-75, Lotus are partner with Jaguar for developing chassis system and engine management. Powering the engine is a supercharged 1.6 turbo petro engine with 500bhp. With 175 bhp electric motor, power output of 313bhp/litre compare to Bugatti Veyron of 125bhp/litre.
        The 2015 Hyundai Genesis, Lotus has worked on handling and steering.
        2015 Spyker B6 Venator to use a Lotus-built engine that made from a Toyota-sourced block.
        GM-built Baojun 730 Is a Chinese Minivan with Lotus-tuned Suspension

yes, i admit i copied this infos from wikipedia. i read, and i just want to share since many of us dont read much.

• CelicAZZ on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:20 pm

u dont Understand economy of scales do you ?

• Rashuk Khan2 on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Regrat Alldisc should join Proton team last 5 years….

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:50 am

looking at proton history of making money for the past 5 years, i would not.

but you can. go on.

• I dont care about their global plans as long as they dont bring a diesel engine here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • why? a modern diesel will be frugal & more powerful torque wise compared to a same displacement petrol…hopefully wt the intro of a proton euro 6 diesel car will accelerate the intro of euro6 diesel in msia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Please enlighten me if i have a grammar mistake.
      Id like to see the diesel engine here rather than any country. That was what i meant to say.

• same lorr on Oct 16, 2014 at 6:51 pm

oh proton, you laugh my vios still.using old kampung 4AT…now you want play diesel engine…
    COME JILAT MY SHOES, my friend shoe also, nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 58
    • you dont make sense, as usual

• bius dogong on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Same looser.. u r talking shit, kiasu..

• Observer on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:57 am

you sir… are full of dung…

What does mocking ur vios old kampung 4AT and using diesel engine have anything to do with each other?

another 3000k booking legend on the making eh?

• Seriously thinking of it if greener turbo diesel is available… Please make it available in m’sia market as well…

But please use those engine from the well known brands with more affordable spared parts price… Don’t use continental engine which is expensive to maintain… especially french engine…

• And what diesel engines they have to use, if not continental?

Toyota is using Peugeot diesels in their european line-up too?

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:05 pm

nope. u are wrong.

toyota only use PSA 1.4 diesel engine in the Toyota Aygo. its a car developed together with Peugoet and Citroen (107 and C1).

in return, Peugoet and Citroen uses Toyota’s 3 cylinder engine 1.0 petrol engine in the 107 and C1.

go read laa… alamak. Toyota is not strange to diesel engines. they are not the best but they are just as capable and reliable. never heard anything by the name of D4D?

the corolla, avensis, land cruiser prado and colorado all using toyota’s own diesel.

• skidezourus on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Apparently, this is not just the place for car enthusiast..

Seems that there are many people who still think that diesel is only for lorry…

• Bring in any Diesel engine but also change our diesel quality to Euro 4/5 at least

• ManoCB on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:57 pm

A day 3 article about high risk (iriz) so boring….i think proton pay lot of money to paultan is it ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • they collaborate with China lately… so… what does this means….

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 10:28 pm

With Geely. Potential Volvo D2/D3 engine inside?

Sadly, we won’t get it. Takpe, syukur negara aman…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • sepul85 on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:51 pm

A Honda i-Dtec engine is not a bad choice, given their current relation with them at the moment.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:23 am

Great news ! Glad to hear Proton is considering a turbodiesel as well. If it’s just the U.K., a turbodiesel in a B-segment car like this is not a must have, a low displacement turbopetrol would do just fine. But if Proton wants to seriously compete in Continental Europe, then a turbodiesel option in any car is a must.

I personally think it’s very reassuring that Proton wants to prove itself in highly competitive Europe (again), even when the Wira / Satria / Putra didn’t meet much success there in the 1990s. Proton knows that the only way to shut ‘haters’ and bigots up for good is to populate European streets with their cars… because nothing else can make the average Malaysian more proud than seeing a Mat Salleh driving our own Proton car… am I right ?

But for me, I’d prefer that Proton started exporting the Iriz to high volume markets like China and India first. They desperately need the economies of scale, and these two markets are nowhere near as competitive as Europe.

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:06 am

you do know how strict it is to sell cars in china, right?
      proton had to have a JV with youngman in order to do so. that did not work. proton did sell a a lot of gen2 and persona (rebadged of course) in china.

india is very protective of its market. they also have their own national car interests to take care off. maruti, tata, mahindra. among others. besides, the govt agencies are just as corrupt. that will increase the car prices and proton will not sell in india because of that

• Aero (Member) on Oct 18, 2014 at 3:31 am

The only way for third world or emerging markets to protect their own car industries is to impose tax restrictions on imported foreign cars. Some countries impose lower taxes on foreign car companies if they assemble their cars in the host country. This is exactly the case for Malaysia, China, Iran, India, South Korea etc..

This makes it a lot harder for foreign companies to sell their cars in these ‘protected’ countries. But that doesn’t mean these countries are competitive.

When I said competitive, I meant in standards and regulations. In European (specifically Western Europe) markets and North America, heavy emphasis is placed on;

1) Emissions standards
        2) Fuel quality standards
        3) Safety standards
        4) Renewable / alternative energy
        5) Public transport
        6) Environmental sustainability
        7) Next generation transportation

All these factors make it very hard to produce, sell and buy cars in Europe. Unlike the other countries I mentioned above, most European countries don’t impose a tax restriction just because a car is from a foreign country. They have far more legitimate means to achieve high competitiveness. Even today, many Chinese car companies have entered Europe but struggle to compete in Western Europe where standards are extremely high.

In China, you’ll see that most ‘people cars’ don’t even get airbags. Fuel quality and standards are also poor, and emission standards are not strict enough. The pollution is extreme, in some cities, you’ll need a mask or you’ll get a headache. Fortunately, the Chinese government is trying to combat the issues, but their solutions are very short term; they are trying to bring in a scrapping programme, and impose a COE-like tax on Shanghai-registered vehicles. The only genuine effort from China is their new green electric vehicles, but sadly, most people can’t afford them.

India’s automotive industry is by far and wide worse than China in almost all aspects. In the last 5 years, I’ve seen much improvement in China’s auto industry, but very little in India’s. At this rate, India will face exactly what China is facing today, but 2 or 3 times worse due to their larger population in the near future. Both China and India need to work on their issues fast, because their actions will have consequences for the whole world, not just themselves.

• latacc (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:33 am

New engine

New powertrain development (gearbox, mount, exhaust, emission, calibration etc)
    also need rework on crash, ESC, suspension tuning, electrical integration, manufacturing, serviceability, homologating, etc.
    All these probably another 1.5 to 2 yrs for realization.

Better plan for more markets, not just Europe. Otherwise it’s just burning fingers and money.

• onlyLan on Oct 17, 2014 at 8:12 am

Personally, i feel the Korean have better diesel tech compared to the Japs.
    Just check out Hyundai.
    Of course, Euro diesel engines are the best.
    There are many Euro models here which run on our diesel…anyone knows of any long-term negative effects? Performance n savings no doubt…whatabout maintenance n engine life?
    Pls get new diesel tech engine Proton…not some obscure cheap one…

• Bevzer on Oct 17, 2014 at 8:20 am

Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad revealed that although the hatchback’s new VVT engines meet Euro 4 emissions regulations, the company is considering acquiring engines from other manufacturers for export markets that require Euro 5 standards and above.
    As such, European markets are in focus here, with Euro 6 standards having recently come into force for the approval of new vehicles.

Proton needs to acquire Euro 6 compliant engines as it is pointless to get Euro 5 compliant engines as they will be obsolete in Europe and soon after everywhere else. Proton is playing catch-up and forced by regulations to install up to date technology. Australia for instance forced the fitment of Electronic Stability Program (ESP) as a requirement for new cars with the state of Victoria introduced it a year earlier. This forced a number of makes and models obsolete and Proton was forced to install ESP for its models. Now, the local road safety watchdog is advising buyers to look for cars with side and curtain airbags in their next car. Proton Exora has been marked down for lack of curtain bags. When it becomes compulsory for airbags, wonder if the Exora can be re-engineered to have curtain bags.
    Now new cars here have safety gadgets even down to supermini class with lane departure warning, blind spot warning etc.

• alldisc on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:08 pm

euro 6 for petrol is still being studied so, at the moment it is still same with euro 5.

the changes involving only diesel.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 8:58 am

It’s too late for Proton to export to China. Their cars are already ahead with cheaper pricing. For Iriz to compete in China, it will have to sell its 1.6L premium spec at below RMB40,000 (RM20K). Compete only…selling in volume is another matter.

• areos on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:00 am

well..i just wonder if Proton is serious to export cars to Europe why opts for Iriz and not Suprima (should use other name as suprima sounds rather negative in Spanish)..if Proton employ right stategies..it could be well accepted as hatchback is much popular in Europe than sedan (to a certain extend) such as peugot, seat, Fiat, chevy etc

• jimmy on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:06 am

why always good thing for export and malaysian is geting lower spec , and selling high price in malaysia….. and foreign buyer can get cheaper price……

• Wee fuk yew on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:08 am

The Mazda skyactive Diesel engine which has a comparatively lower compression ratio should be another option for proton- that is if Mazda is interested to sell the engine at all

• shawal on Oct 17, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Just waiting for the Petronas’s pangeran plant to come online, then (hopefully, …..miraculously) we will start to enjoy euro quality diesels….

Honda i-Dtec FTW….