Proton Compact Car – new 1.3 and 1.6 VVT engines, new platform can support hybrid, electric powertrains

iriz-engine

Proton Compact Car coming out of your ears? Well… here’s more! The spiritual successor to the Proton Savvy will be powered by new four-cylinder VVT engines – a 1.3 litre unit producing 94 hp at 5,500 rpm and 120 Nm of torque just below 4,000 rpm, and a 1.6 litre unit developing 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 3,750 rpm.

Both engines will be mated to five-speed manual and CVT gearboxes. Each variant (1.3 Standard, 1.3 Executive, 1.6 Executive, 1.6 Premium) will have a choice of both gearboxes, making it eight variants in all.

We only have details on the bigger engine for now – claimed fuel consumption figures for the 1.6 litre are 6.6 (manual) and 7.4 (CVT) litres per 100 km on a combined NEDC cycle and 5.5 litres per 100 km at a constant 90 km/h. The VVT (variable valve timing, effectively supersedes the Campro CPS‘ two-stage cam profile switching) is only on the intake side.

Other features of the engines include a Smart Alternator and a maniverter (integrated exhaust manifold and catalytic converter).

The car also has a horizontally-mounted CVT cooler (Suprima S‘ CVT cooler is vertically-mounted). Suspension is handled by MacPherson struts up front and a torsion beam out back, and there’s electric power steering.

According to Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa, the new platform on which the Proton Compact Car sits on has been designed to support hybrid and electric powertrains – something to expect for the future, then?

Over RM500 million and four years in development, the PCC is shaping up to be quite promising, eh?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:42 pm

500 million. Platform + New engine. Usually Proton new car is around 300 million.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • From Penang on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Consider naming it “Compact”

• Sammy Vellluu on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:47 pm

But they are still using back the CVT.. It’s quite a letdown actually.. Proton owners surely knows how the CVT performs.. Lags + jerky + slow etc etc.. If I had a choice, I will rather choose some old 4 speed AT compared to this CVT..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
        • ahpeck on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:05 pm

i’ve used both normal AT and CVT. i prefer cvt over the normal at.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Chyan on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:16 pm

4AT and 1.3L isn’t a good combo to be honest. Look at the Kia Rio in our market, only mated with 1.4 and 4AT gearbox. Owners reports a less than satisfactory fuel consumption. If only NAZA could offer 1.6 and 6AT but you know how they work lah.

• unofficial price for Proton Iriz
        Executive
        1.3 M Solid – RM42,800
        1.3 M Metallic – RM43,300
        1.3 CVT Solid – RM46,800
        1.3 CVT Metallic – RM47,300
        1.6 M Solid – RM46,800
        1.6 M Metallic – RM47,300
        1.6 CVT Solid – RM50,800
        1.6 CVT Metallic – RM51,300

Premium
        1.6 CVT Solid – RM54,800
        1.6 CVT Metallic – RM55,300

• Howling on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:20 pm

oh.. don’t forget they used 250million for the failed and non-existence cow farm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 94
      • well the car has good torque, good for city driving
        can carry cows for your non-existence farm.
        no proof, and so typical proton basher..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
      • of course, because every failure in this country is salah proton kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • KepalaOtak on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:24 pm

If Proton netts 5k for every unit sold… they need to sell 100,000 units to recoup the 500m. Someone forgot about KPi in Proton, again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Albert lee on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Kepala otak,Protong needs to sell 1 million Iriz to break even cos the gross profit is only RM500 per car,since most of the Development Cost of rm 500 million is channelled to cronies.
        In the past they spent billions of Ringgit of Gomen grants and come out with the Campro engine and noisy CVT(sourced from Punch powertrain).
        Don’t be fooled easily.Cronies are having all night long parties for getting easy contracts.
        VVT has been around for a decade now.
        It may be a copy and paste job after all.
        If these new engines are formidable,install them in all proton cars and dump the problematic Campros.
        Time will tell whether Proton can live up to all this hype.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 131
        • sandman on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:21 pm

cronies !! which wikileaks report did u get ur source from..? cronies having all night long parties ? again, do you have pics of these so called parties ? what an idiot..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 18
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:27 am

You are right, Albert. Proton fanboys really think NAP is to protect Proton for Rakyat, actually it is for the cronies.

Mari mari come come, the cronies’ S class, Lambo, Maserati are depending on this Iriz. Come buy more to support them… If they can’t get good cars, you don’t dream of getting good quality from Proton too. Simple logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:51 pm

if u notice p2 n umw salesman trying so hard to convince rakyat that CVT iriz is not good

why??

coz they know 4AT is their weakness compared to other mskers honda, nissan already moved to cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
          • Sammy Vellluu on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:51 pm

They have moved to the CVT, but a different CVT compared to proton.. I bet you’ve never driven a proton car with CVT before.. Go test drive one yourself and see how it lags and jerks.. Or you can continue being happy driving your EX5 around and dream of owning a laggy and jerky CVT one day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
          • Which CVT u experienced? VT2 or VT3? mine never lag, never jerked. super smooth. know your car first then you’ll experience it better :)

• Terminator on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:12 pm

Hahaha! 128 dislikes!

• kzm (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:38 pm

don’t u guy think it kinda low..”RM500 million” for “4 yrs” R&D..others at least USD300 million per year. eg toyota spend last year alone USD860 million…hyundai-kia spend USD2.97 billion for 2013 alone…want to become global player just with RM500 million for 4yrs? its a jokes rite..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
      • rally_fan (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:10 am

its just for “1” car. and even if you want to be a global player.. proton is a tiny ant compared to those companies you just mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:50 am

You gotta start somewhere, amirite? They chose to not grow for so long and wasted a lot of time. Only in recent years they try to catch up.

• Proton is old but still a baby boy automotive brand… they still learning how to walk by them self and please do not compared to any established brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • redcolor on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:45 pm

WOW!

• ProtonGSC on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:58 pm

500 million.
      Omg cost of developing a D-segment.

New engine? or same engine?
      Still a LOUSY Campro.
      This cost can develop a new engine, Why just focus on outlook design only?
      Tun really love spyshot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 77
      • Idiot Haters on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Its B segment hatchback not D segment..
        Before bashing, please go study a bit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 42
        • ProtonGSC on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:38 am

Idiots that’s don’t read and study English.
          Go back to school and learn more.

500 million Proton can develop a D-segment car instant a B-segment car deh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • Garfield on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Sorry, just want to clarify, did u intend to say instead or instant? If typo, then u must have accepted the input by the autocorrect indiscriminately. If not, then u should take up an English class urself friend. Forgive my English also.

• protonistillacrap on Sep 14, 2014 at 1:49 pm

that fella said cost of developing that shitty lousy car could actually develop a D-segment car. read properly before criticizing someone you imbecile kid.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:46 pm

7.4l/100km for a 1.6L engine on the combined NEDC cycle. That’s about 13.5km/l. Definitely not the best but the constant 90km/h test makes it a slight improvement over the Saga 1.6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Just a thought: The Saga was never tested under the NEDC, to my knowledge. The NEDC is slightly closer to real world conditions than other tests. So we can expect maybe 10-11km/l on pure city driving with stop and go traffic.

• My 1998 Mitsu Lancer CE (AKA CK)1.8L consumes around 7 to 7.5L per 100km on “RON 91” Fuel…This 1.6 consumes 7.4? lol

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:53 am

Objectively speaking, it’s impossible to make a fair comparison like that. Your driving style and conditions and the testing parameters are different.

You need to take this car as a daily driver for a few fuel-ups on the same routes you take in your Lancer before you can announce a credible comparison.

Not flaming or anything.

• Garfield on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:47 pm

While kudos is due to Proton on this PCC, I hope that next Proton shall carry out extensive facelift to the Preve and Suprima. Products that could be “there” but sadly never reached its destination. Then in one swoop Proton could really regain their market share back from P2 and Toyoltak. While u r there Proton, please also revamp the service and support (it’s not so hard to emulate P2, and something that anyone can agree u copy).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Under powered la wei…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
    • GT3 (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Want more power? Buy a Ferrari F12 Berlinetta or Merc SLS AMG Black Series. Talking about power output…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • Mat Terap on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:44 am

..and then..meletup tgh highway sbb power sgt.dah menyusahkan org ramai.

• Wat Lar on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm

come on…B16 yang dah tahap datuk nenek pun produced more power output kot…no need 2.0 above to achive 100hp above larr…u igt B16 tu 2.0 meh?

• clutch_plate on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:00 am

Under power? How about Myvi…?? How much power do u need to move this so called Compact Car?? Be realistic la weiii..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Hhmmm. 1.6 liter engine with only 105 bhp. Continental engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • Reminds me of the old Mazda 3’s 1.6 L4 unit. Same output as well, interestingly.

• bawang on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Setup For better fuel consumption maybe..

• oldpie on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Torque is more important nowadays, for acceleration and fuel saving, not top speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • ambia on Sep 12, 2014 at 8:39 am

105hp should ÷ with gross weight = max speed. It a compact car bro.. not sedan or saloon. Most car range from 60hp – 90hp only for compact.. try to install after market Turbo Kit or NOS if u want higher HP to graveyard.

• Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:48 pm

If less than 60k then good price

• Sayur tak laku on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Less than 60K? Even 50k I consider expensive since need to fight with Myvi x best around the price region.

If need 60k I just go buy Axia cheapest spec take extra money go enjoy and pump petrol free for life with 35k savings.

PCC offers nothing special just point A to B car just like all other cars. Not to say it’s fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 42
      • Much safer than maiwee and asiah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • Nieko on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:41 pm

hak Another Full Who Thinks Perodua Is GOD ,huh the only thing Perodua is good at is Making Tons of money and that’s it …..

Proton on the other hand is doing something that has never been done by any Japanese Auto Brand ie The Stupid Vios and Mitsubishi Attrage both very useless cars …..
        Proton, Kia ,Nissan ,VW ,Ford, Peugeot and Citroen are the only brands that offer cars that are equipped with 6airbags ,ESC,TC, Hill Assit ,ABS,EBD and BA ….. while other fucking Jap brands are resting on their arss .

Kudos Tho Proton For The very cute and sassy Iriz……Rock On baby ..

• ahpeck on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:09 pm

up to u. duit u. ada i kesahhh?

• alahai on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Ready your popcorn in 1..2..3..

• what ?7.4 l/100 km? even 6.6 l /100 km not fuel efficient enough..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • mim (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:22 pm

For a 1.6L MPI, 6.6-7+L/100km on NEDC cycle, 5.5L/100km on hway.. Pretty good la.. sounds like on par with Saga 1.3FLX..

I think 1.3VVT one much better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • ProtonGSC on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:52 pm

500 million????
    Omg that can built cost development of a new D-segment car.

New engine? or same engine? Seem need review until we make conclusion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • NSern on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:45 pm

That’s why proton is expensive,proton is getting better is a truth,but wasting too much money in R&D is also a truth..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • messo on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Wasting ?New engine should be at least 1 billion, get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • Chong on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:15 pm

new engine, my ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
          • megss on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:24 pm

When Vios uses same engine for 3 generations you dun say Vios my ass, why? Because it’s a toyoltak?

Shame on you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
          • Mat Terap on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:47 am

..dan sekarang..toyota pun dah bumbung daripada atap zink rumah.

• Chong on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:38 pm

That’s why I don’t like vios too.
          Shame on you to bring up the vios to counter me that doesn’t hurt me either.

Still, shame on you when you keep on defending something doesn’t make sense after poured 500Mil.

Come on, try to bash me harder again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:52 am

RM500 million is simply not enough..to make it worst it was spread for 4 yrs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Vader (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Come on??? RM500 million still consider not enugh? Then how much you expecting?

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:11 am

so you’ve built a D segment car before with RM500million?

• ProtonGSC on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:49 am

Please Google others brand, u know what I mean.
        Lazy to example to Proton fanboys.
        U love Tun so much, later he hired u as his driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Syazwan007 on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Correct me if im wrong, but the power output seemed to be the same as that of the old campro iafm engines.

• mim (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:18 pm

I think these engines will have much better powerband and response compared to old IAFM

• casio edifice on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:01 pm

“150 Nm of torque at 3750rpm”. Max torque at low rpm is good coz no need to rev high or downshift to accelerate, thus will improve fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Chong on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:19 pm

max torque @ 3.7krpm is too late for city driving. Who the hell rev to 3.7krpm during daily drive? Been excited for months about the new engine and the beautified outlook announced, end up disappointed after reading the figured in this post.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:56 am

Dude…most NA cars have their max torque coming in at 4k rpm. Most cars with max torque coming in around 2k are turbocharged.

And these figures don’t mean much. You have to look at the torque curve to know when most of that usable torque comes in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Chong,

it is MAX tprque. doesnt mean u need to rev it until 3.7k rpm every time u drive just to move it right? so u expecting it to be at 2k rpm? get a turbo then

• NO!!! Not that fuel wasting CVT! Damn it Proton, you just failed yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • iiioo on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Even higher segment Cars use CVT, so what? Only cheapo vios and myvi use old auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:42 am

nowadays.. cvt is a trend
      no matter its bad or not.. it’s still better than 4AT

honda nissan proton n all big players already shifted to cvt

only perodua n UMW still using 4AT

even daihatsu japan use CVT

u r trying to saya cvt japan better than cvt punch???

then i can say… timing chain bmw better than timing chain perodua n umw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:06 am

Yup…CVT is the trend.

As for whether the CVT will be well-accepted or not, it really depends on how Proton implements their CVT. Many of the Japanese companies (Nissan, Honda, Mitsubishi, not sure about Toyota but it’s reasonable to assume that they do too) have gone the torque converter CVT route as this increases refinement at lower speeds and at higher speeds, torque converters can lock up for better efficiency. In the Saga and Preve/SuprimaS, Proton uses an electronically controlled clutch to couple the transmission to the engine and some have complained about the jerkiness during stop-go traffic. I think they will still continue with the clutch coupling but I believe they can work on the refinement of that system.

• pxp154 on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:19 pm

no there’s a direct competition with myvi! wish proton had a 1.0 engine, it may just compete with axia… :)

good luck to the battle of myvi vs iriz !!!!

• Albert lee on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Proton,to stop wastage in developing Saga,Persona ,Satria replacements, just produce Iriz 1.0,Iriz 1.3,Iriz 1.6.
      Just give consumers different engine sizes.
      Remember your Wira 1.3,1.5 and 1.6?They are volume sellers those days.
      Your replacement Saga’s pricing will encroach into this Iriz territory next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:07 pm

No need la..for wat? U want p1 to close shop. Why u give them idea to survive? Crony summore don’t u remember..albert

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:01 am

???

Encroach? A sedan based on the hatchback would always be priced very closely. There’s no problem with that…people would have a choice to pick the hatch or the sedan.

Proton would also need more money to develop the 1.0 engine, which would probably be a 3-cyl engine. It’s harder to pull off well in terms of refinement and Proton never had a 3-cyl engine.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:37 pm

The Wira was a good seller only because anything else is 20K more. There were no other options for Malaysians.

the old iswara was 37K, the 1.3 Wira was 42K, the 1.5 was 50-55K, and the 1.6 was a mind numbing 62K. The Honda Civic EG was hovering about 80-90k at the same period.

• Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:28 am

The battle between MyVi and PCC won’t last long, P2 will introduce a MyVi replacement model to fight with PCC next year.

• Come on guys.P1 is trying hard to gain acceptance for this Iriz.I certainly wont buy one as already a fan of Kia Picanto,but to be honest this is one of P1’s best efforts.The design is already nice (except for the rear..but only in my opinion la.).Engine and transmission wise,will become better.perhaps via body weight ratio the output will suffice.My father owns a Saga,and I think it has a nice continental feel.Now this PCC is meant for global market,so I think it will be ok.You get some you lose some.Go Iriz!!(still figuring what’s the name stands for.I know iris is the fibromuscular and pigmented part of the eye.Perhaps its meant to be a vision?or named after a person?i-Riz?or something?and i think a special plate is coming out.IRIZ2222 anyone?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:55 pm

I think there’s no doubt that Proton has poured all their experience and effort into this. Honestly, it looks promising, especially from the safety front. As long as they improve their quality and get their fuel efficiency to within reasonable levels, then I think they have a winner here. The fuel efficiency is not too good but not too bad either. Plus, fuel efficiency should not be at the top of the list of concerns when buying a car in Malaysia since fuel prices here aren’t cutthroat…yet. The safety is a concern, however. With more cars and madmen on the road nowadays, you can’t be too safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • 7.4 L/ 100km for CVT on combined cycle. . wat a joke
    As I said before.. proton still in jurassic period when it comes to fuel efficiency..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:12 pm

For a 105 bhp, 1.6L engine, 7.6L/100 km is not that bad on combined cycle. I doubt even a Vios/City can get similar combined fuel economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • The official FC is always better than real life driving.. my Polo Tsi official FC is 5.3L/ 100km, real life 6 to 6.5L/100km, 1.2 turbocharge n my car weight 1100kg with 17inch boavista wheels

If the official FC for Iriz Cvt is 7.4L/100km, I think real life will b 8.4L/100km, just add 1liter more on top of the official figure.. get what I mean?

In short, if the official figure also not impressive enough, real life FC will b even worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • That TSI official FC is measure through NEDC cycle?

• Low Budget on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:33 am

Agree, because the manufacturers in Malaysia can ‘kelentong’ the purchasers without being sued for giving false information unlike in US where Hyundai ‘kena’ sue kau-kau for giving false F.C figures on their car.

• The new City 118 bhp, 1.5L engine is getting 8.0L/100km in KL traffic conditions while 5.5L/100km highway at 110km/h speeds. So i would say City can easily achieve a similar or better combined FC.

It’s good to know that the new Proton engine is more efficient than the Campro mill.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Jonathan, care to shed some light on the significance of the CVT cooler’s different mounting style compared to the Suprima’s?

• kakkaw on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Clever Proton, the engine hp and torque for Proton 1.3L is slightly better than MYVI 1.3L and the fuel consumption of Proton 1.6L is even better than MYVI 1.5L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • kakkaw on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Clever Proton, the engine hp and torque for Proton 1.3L is slightly better than MYVI 1.3L and the fuel consumption of Proton 1.6L is even better than MYVI 1.5L.

• Usually cvt would yield better FC compared to five speed manual. What happen here lah?

• Annoynimouse on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Is there a start-stop technology?

• Marieta on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Don’t think that feasible yet for Proton..not in another 3 or 4 years time

• I drove Odyssey 2.4 CVT, still get 13.5KM/L, considering that is a big car, 5 years old engine and big CC. Iriz 1.6, small car but the FC is quite the same. Proton should be better in this section. However, I nice effort by P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • That’s on highway, try drive in traffic jam in 3 hours everyday, you got what in a month?

• NVM i got it here :
      Fuel Economy: 8.5 km/litre (11.8 L/100 km)
      http://www.carbase.my/honda/odyssey

So poor FC!!!!!

• Cantona on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:38 am

Comparing a 2.4L engine with a 1.6L engine of course la. Odyssey weight is so much more than Iris.

However if based on CarBase user reviews, the Preve 1.6Turbo does 6.0 km/litre!! That’s worse!!

• honda jazz on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Jazz still the better choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • bawang on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Timing chain or still stick with belt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • tommy on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:37 pm

The leather seats looks better than Myvi Extreme.

• TheDean on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:00 am

Engine specs are still disappointingly outdated IMO. Should have incorporated light turbo technology to further save fuel consumption, and better driving experience. Wished they had come up with a 800cc to 1.2L turbo variants instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • gaviny on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:05 am

it’s a campro engine, i don’t know why they keep harping it’s brand new

• mmaker on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:12 am

150Nm at 3750rpm this car will be much more fun than toyota vios

• proton ventures into compact car segment from the tiara and savvy has been a failure, i hope this one can take the fight to p2. it took 4 years to develop unfortunately the design also looks almost 5 yrs old. same with the preve and suprima, the designs seems aged in my personal point of view.

• panjang on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:55 pm

The 1.6 variant has engine character similar to my 1.8 waja.torque is below 4k rpm.its goint to be fun to drive.

i hope the vvt function in the same state as the 1.8 engine or revving the engine will be a dull affair unlike the current campro.

on the fc..i never trust whatever any manufacturer claim.a friend of mine whom own both an old 1.6 wira and a rn5 stream will drive his wira anyday if he is going to work and only drives the stream for long distance.
    get the picture?

• Winwin on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:19 pm

I wish they have developed at least 1 turbo diesel variant.1.2 or 1.3 also good enough. Diesels are more fuel efficient and have much more low-end torque than petrol engines. Plus there is a demand in Europe for diesel vehicles.

• I think all Proton cars are nice to look at. Korean cars over do it while VW too bland. No need turbo diesel, korean and Japanese don’t have it either. Preve Light turbo is the way to go. Preve turbo is fun to drive and save petrol on long jouneys.

• freetaker (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:53 pm

VW too bland?? what do you means? if you referring on Performance or what? If you refers on VW Performance, then I am for sure you never drive a VW Polo or Golf b4.. If you say Preve Turbo is save petrol, then Tsi will be GOD Engine to you!
      If you refers over the design, interior or exterior of VW。 Well.. I do believe on Practical.

• Alson P on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:53 pm

PCC = proton Compact Car….

A compact car, or small family car in British acceptation, is a classification of cars that are larger than a subcompact(B-segment) car but smaller than a mid-size car, equating roughly to the C-segment in Europe….

Current compact car size, as defined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), for the US and for international models respectively, is approximately 4,100 mm (161 in) and 4,450 mm (175 in) long for hatchbacks, or 4,400 mm (173 in) and 4,750 mm (187 in) long for convertibles, sedans (saloon) or station wagons (estate car). Multi-purpose vehicles and sport utility vehicles based on small family cars (often called compact MPVs and compact SUVs) have similar sizes, ranging from 4,200 mm (165 in) to 4,500 mm (177 in) in the U.S., and from 4,400 mm (173 in) to 4,700 mm (185 in) in international-based models.

In Japan, any vehicle that is over 3.4 m (11.2 ft) long, 1.48 m (4.9 ft) wide, 2 m (6.6 ft) high and with an engine over 660 cc (40 cu in) but is under 4.7 m (15.4 ft) long, 1.7 m (5.6 ft) wide, 2 m (6.6 ft) high and with engines at or under 2,000 cc (120 cu in) is considered a compact vehicle. The dimension standards are absolute, meaning special consideration is not made for SUVs, CUVs, minivans, station wagons or hatchbacks.

http://paultan.org/2014/09/09/proton-compact-car-dimensions-compared/

p/s: Compact car = bigger than Kei car/A-segment and bigger than subcompact/B-segment

• jojiboy on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:02 am

aku baca terlalu banyak rasis dalam comment box ni, ramai yang bukan bumi akan kutuk kereta proton,aku ada wira dan exora tiada masalah pun, dan kembara dan myvi pun sama ja…tengok cara kita pandu la bro…tak payah nak proton bash sangat…kereta conti pun ada masalah dengan gear box, VW pun ada tersadai tepi jalan, honda city juga sama tetapi kenapa tak ada yang buat bising satu dunia???…dah la masa aku tengok wayang ramai bukan bumi tidak bediri dan menyanyikan lagu NEGARAKU…

• dimes on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:50 pm

not bad, actually great come up from proton team. can match mainstream japanese, korean and other foreign cars. The front end and the overall stance (wider profile) makes this a capable contender, especially the 1.6 equipped variant.. need to further see the performance of new VVT engines, most likely it will be tuner friendly. Kudos to Proton!

• my people on Oct 25, 2014 at 9:39 am

Still stick to timing belt ?

• proton support on Jan 31, 2015 at 3:56 pm

to you those comment proton problem , if never buy proton , never give comment , continue buy import because it for rice man, if you think toyota is batter support it .did’nt comment proton not good due already use saga flx 4 year no problem .