REVIEW: 2022 Proton Persona, Iriz facelift – fr RM40k

The year’s biggest launch is undoubtedly the 2022 Perodua Myvi facelift. But here to give the King a run for its money are the latest Proton Iriz and Persona facelift, both of which were launched in August.

Prices for the Iriz start from RM40,300 for the base Standard, rising up to RM47,100 for the Executive and topping out at RM54,000 for the Active. The Persona, meanwhile, starts from RM45,800 for the 1.6 Standard, RM50,800 for the 1.6 Executive, to RM55,800 for the 1.6 Premium variant.

The hatch soldiers on with the same two VVT engines as before. Base models get a 1.3 litre four-pot that makes 95 PS at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while the 1.6 litre mill continues to serve out 109 PS at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. A revised Punch CVT is standard – the manual is no longer available, just like the Myvi. The Persona, on the other hand, is only available with the 1.6 litre mill.

Watch our video to find out what we think of the updated pair. You can also browse CarBase.my to check out their equipment and specifications in greater detail, or even compare them against the Myvi. You may also click here to see the hatch and sedan compared side by side.

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Iriz Active

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Persona Premium

Learn more: ,

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Newme on Nov 25, 2021 at 6:59 am

Wow, i know proton is bad but didnt know they are that bad after watching the video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 48
    • Troll Hunter on Nov 25, 2021 at 10:02 am

To each their own you automotive noob

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Raja Kamarul on Nov 25, 2021 at 10:26 am

Clearly you have not driven newer P1s lah. They’re not perfect – who is, really – but they’re a decent carmaker. And still the only true-blue OEM in south east Asia. No, Vinfast do not have their own engines or platforms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • newme on Nov 25, 2021 at 1:05 pm

Newer P1? Why am I not surprised? P1 always hoping people renewing trust after they screwed-up every time.
        If P1 is really good, you won’t have to convince people to try newer model released when people had bad experience with all older models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
        • Celup King on Nov 25, 2021 at 4:52 pm

If you really think like that, then no need to convince us P2 is better. I recall P2 started had worse quality than P1 and still the only manufacturer with an airbag problem which they never did recall. Then no need buy P2 lah!

• Ya, the 1st impression is very important.
          My experience with the old Perodua model is very poor, which is why I never choose this brand.

• Logical Deduction on Nov 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

What a coincidence.. I also had poor experience with old Proton models, which is why I now avoid this brand.

• Engineer on Nov 26, 2021 at 12:01 am

Kaizen – a Japanese term meaning “change for the better” or “continuous improvement.”

Something Perodua had forgotten but still in practice by Proton.

• Haduyai mentality on Nov 26, 2021 at 8:48 am

What kind of low iq comment is this?
          If a new product is indeed better than before then convincing people is one way of marketing it.

• Raja Celup on Nov 25, 2021 at 2:27 pm

More like true-blue serial clone artist.

• PT visitor on Nov 25, 2021 at 12:15 pm

Hafriz did mention that the CVT in the Iriz & the Persona is not like the current modern CVTs.

• Family Guy on Nov 26, 2021 at 12:03 am

Proton is the clear answers for family guys. The perception of:
      1.Good value for money
      2.Solid Proton engineered product
      3. Local smell/Malaysia’s pride
      4. Easy to repair even bengkel bawah pokok pomen can do
      5. Family legacy – father bought a Proton and grown up with a Proton constantly in the family
      6. FC
      7. Kedai potong got cheap & plenty quallitier part for my P1
      8. Cheap roadtax
      9. It is the clear our own Kegemaran Malaysia
      10. Sturdy & tough HPF body, even if got whack by some idiot I know we will be safe inside
      11. Ligthweight car
      12. Got big boot, so as a man it is very versatile and easy to haul lots of things
      13. Very reliable, constantly being refined and updated.
      14. Proven Campro tech
      15. Bullet prove
      16. Internationally collaborating refined CVT
      17. No start stop, save battery, save environment compared to other car
      18. More planted drive on road, it won’t fly and do some acrobatic manouvres into longkang (unlike TheKing especially)
      19. No teh tarik hook, dissuade using plastic bags. Saving the earth for future generations
      20. Nice and comfy seats for long distance drives
      21. Plenty of aftermarket part from abang to layang2
      22. A few make up can unmistakabaly convert it to R3 Limited Edition hnnnggg version
      23. Proton superb ride & handling yet improved NVH
      24. Nice meter display cluster, more higher end than some rm100k car
      25. Last but not least, using timing belt maa, no worries on timing chain will snap. Just only need to spend rm200 on the average lifetime of this car and drive worryfree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Grateful reader on Nov 25, 2021 at 10:23 am

Thank u, PT motoring journalists, for this review. Now waiting for the facelifted D-CVT MyVi review.

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 25, 2021 at 11:08 am

Say what you may, I am proud of Proton. No, they are far from the best but they keep plugging away.

People criticise about badge engineering as if Proton is the only one doing it. Fact is, all carmakers do it. It just makes sense. If you don’t have a specific model in a segment in country A, but you are already in that market, badge engineering makes sense for both parties as well as the consumer.

People say their cars are crap, but any motoring journalist review of recent models would agree that Geely has given a new dimension to their cars. No, their cars are not world class at the moment to be sure. But you get there in paces. They were bogged down in government directives previously and it is refreshing to see they did not bow down to pressure to build a D-segment just because some ministers needed them… of course, it ended up with Vellfires for our TBs but that’s a different issue altogether.

Still, their customer service leave A LOT to be desired. I hope they address this seriously.

Good luck, Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
  • newuser on Nov 25, 2021 at 12:00 pm

what?55k car still dont have ADAS??Lemah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • Celup King on Nov 25, 2021 at 4:49 pm

Learn to drive properly and not rely on technology to save your lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • ill_logic_all on Nov 25, 2021 at 5:06 pm

So, based on your logic every 55k car and above should have ADAS, otherwise it’s lemah, right? I see.. looks like there are a lot of them lemah cars around then. Better start complaining to those as well.

• A long time ago, 55k Perodua without ABS was also bought by many people, so it is not a big problem.

• dream125 on Nov 25, 2021 at 12:07 pm

Wouldn’t it be cheaper for Proton to use the 1.6 engine only?

• Avg Malaysian on Nov 25, 2021 at 12:36 pm

Good review.
    Perhaps the editorial team can benchmarks the Persona vs 2022 Myvi AV vs Ativa AV (as the price difference is only rm~14k for the Ativa AV vs Myvi AV which translates to <RM200/mth over a 9 yr loan). Thanks

• Celup on Nov 25, 2021 at 1:49 pm

If you see clearly, can see ikan keli big mouth opening?

• r15 v4 on Nov 25, 2021 at 5:43 pm

Persona change timing chain engine and 4at gearbox please, and add rear headrest support. Others unnecessary fancy specs no need lah, give back all black or dark grey full leather seat.
    Still prefer persona over myvi for price under 50k, myvi lose no bigger boot only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Idealist on Dec 08, 2021 at 7:04 pm

If they put x50 mpi engine and gearbox + adas level 2, auto wiper,auto highbeam, auto aircon and price at 65-70k, I will surely auto-buy this car.

• RAJ SARNA on Feb 19, 2022 at 10:29 pm

Tq SO much for the Unbiased review. I’m planning a first car for my Daughter n I had narrowed my choice to the Iriz n Myvi..Viewed both your reviews and have made a decision based on your review.
    Tq again n Stay Safe.