2022 Proton Iriz vs Perodua Myvi – we compare the maintenance costs of both over five years/100,000 km

We recently covered the maintenance cost of the new 2022 Proton Iriz facelift, which has increased compared to the outgoing 2019 model. Over five years or 100,000 km, it will now cost you RM3,583.17 if you keep to Proton’s official service schedule, which is RM531.37 more than before.

So, how does the new total compare to the other B-segment hatchback that Malaysians are fond of, the Perodua Myvi? Well, we pulled data on the official service schedule of the Myvi and laid out all the figures so you can see the differences for yourself.

Before proceeding further, it should be noted that the 2019 Iriz was slightly cheaper to maintain compared to the Myvi, costing RM3,051.80 instead of RM3,163.31 over five years. With the new model, this is no longer the case, with the gap between the two now being RM419.86.

As we discovered previously, the main reasons for the increased maintenance cost of the Iriz are the more frequent N95 cabin filter and radiator coolant changes, along with their respective labour charges, with everything else remaining pretty much unchanged from before.

The Myvi doesn’t have a N95 cabin filter, and it uses a regular cabin filter that is changed thrice over five years. Moreover, the Perodua hatchback only gets its radiator coolant changed twice compared to the three times needed for the Iriz. The less-frequent service items contribute to the lower maintenance cost, as do a few items that are cheaper in terms of parts.

On the flipside, the Myvi requires fully-synthetic engine oil and iridium spark plugs for its engine, both of which cost more over five years compared to the Iriz. The Myvi’s four-speed automatic transmission also needs more frequent oil changes when compared to the Iriz’s CVT, which only requires one at 60,000 km.

2022 Proton Iriz service schedule (top), 2019 Iriz (bottom); click to enlarge

It should also be noted that while some service items like the engine air filter are changed less frequently with the Myvi, Perodua does recommend replacements to be made every 20,000 km under its optional Pro Care programme.

Other service items listed in Pro Care include brake fluid changes, tyre servicing (alignment, balancing and rotation), spark plug changes and air-con major service. If you factor in all the Pro Care options on top of the standard scheduled service items, the total is noticeably more.

As always, overall running costs go beyond more than just what you pay at the service centre. You also need to consider fuel consumption that can differ based on driving style and consumables, with the latter being things like tyres.

Perodua Myvi service schedule with Pro Care options; click to enlarge

The round, rubber doughnuts should cost more for the Iriz, as its wheel sizes have gone up gone up from 15 to 16 inches for Executive and Premium variants, while the Myvi maxes out at 15 inches. Other consumables include brake pads, shock absorbers and batteries are also factors in overall running costs.

So, there you have it. The Myvi is cheaper to maintain over five years compared to the Iriz, but keep in mind that if you spread the difference over five years, it’s only about RM84 more per year for the latter, so it’s not that much more yearly.

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Willie on Aug 17, 2021 at 6:55 pm

Your heading need to change PERODUA IRIZ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Dylan on Aug 17, 2021 at 7:20 pm

From my prospective, Perodua excels in the fundamentals, for example, fuel efficient powertrains and larger interior volume. However Proton excels in the extras, for example, more comfortable seats and better speaker quality.

Extras are aspects of a car which are hard to market and hard to define in a specification sheet.

In Malaysia, because petrol is affordable I would have prioritised extras over fundamentals. However nowadays the environmental impact has hit me. Yes, in terms of monetary, the fuel efficiency differences between the 2 is not big. However you fundamentally is burning more fuel and thus causing a larger environmental impact with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Western Star on Aug 18, 2021 at 5:15 pm

It is NOT Perodua, please. Give all credits to Daihatsu & Toyota. It is their products you are commending not Perodua, and for a giant conglomerate like Toyota it would be shameful of them if it were any lesser and yet Proton can nearly go toe to toe with such a giant so commendations should be given to Proton for fighting up there amongst the biggest in the ring, nay, in fact against the biggest giant there. Kudos to Proton!

• Sulaiman akhlaken on Aug 23, 2021 at 7:51 am

Im glad that someone bring up the comfortable seat. Bigger leg room doesn’t equal comfort. Youre more likely to feel less fatigue during long travel in Iriz due to its more comfortable seat, especially its back seat

• Fuad M Noor on Jun 10, 2022 at 6:37 am

I do agree with your thoughts. I also agree on Sulaiman akhlaken’s views. Yes, it is Daihatsu that deserves the big pat on the back. Nevertheless, if I were to choose between the two, I would go for Iriz for its comfort and excellent handling.

• Josh C on Aug 17, 2021 at 7:58 pm

My choice : Myvi of course. The Campro is overdue and the engine is rough (in long term). Every 80k, you need to replace the timing belt in the Campro. Timing chain is already the better choice (cost saving in long run).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Celup King on Aug 18, 2021 at 10:15 am

My choice and also Hafriz choice is Iriz. The Campro is like fine wine and have been refined over time. The kick & power delivery overwhelms whatever Myvi can output. Servicing cost difference is negligible and for P2 is questionable as it is cheaper than smaller bezza/axia. Proper change of timing belt ensures the engine would continue running properly and does not cost much more for the car lifetime use. It is a myth that timing chain does not need servicing or replacement. Low tech chains like on P2 cars needs overhaul at 200k and the servicing cost is far more than 2x replacement of timing belt on Campro. P2 & toyota simply do not tell you that.

• Panjang on Aug 19, 2021 at 5:17 pm

Agree with u on this.
        Timing chain and its accessories (guide+tensioner+sometimes gears)cost more than timing belt when its time to change. People have been brainwashed into thinking its a maintenance free part. Engine not running at the correct timing due to worn out chain or chain guide or chain tensioner can cost lot of other problem. Even a steel chain will wear, imagine what happen to plastic chain guide and tensioner.

Most of the time owners just dont notice the symptom such as hard starting, loss of power, bad fc, abnormal engine behavior and so on. BTW on the box of an original Daihatsu timing chain is written 100,000km. Dont tell me thats just some random numbers.

I will only go for timing chain engine if i’m not planning to keep the car forever.

• If looking for transport take you from point A to point B, Myvi is the choice.
      If looking for a car and loves driving, Iriz’s driving dynamics is the best.

• From my experience with toyota innova, you still need to service the timing chain after certain kilometers (around 50k km if I was not mistaken). And it is not cheap either…around rm350.

• Cila vs jebun on Aug 17, 2021 at 8:00 pm

Geelin and hrv? Jebun for sure baik banyak

• george on Aug 18, 2021 at 10:37 am

This is what Malaysians used to say in the 70’s. Continental is better than Jepunis.

• 3k over 5yrs is such a small price to pay. Bcuz my latest smartphone cost 3 times more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • putun on Aug 18, 2021 at 4:05 am

Why not include iriz timing belt cost change every 80k km? LoL comparison

• Aduyai on Aug 19, 2021 at 4:55 pm

Comparison is made using what manufacturer recommend.
      LoL at yourself brother.

• Myvi kena pakai fully sintetik ker? Betul ker? Check balik bro? Memang SC kaki sembelih kalau betul.

• Why isn’t the Campro timing belt change part of the maintenance schedule?

• Because its not in the schedule maintenance.
      If not mistalen its scheduled at 110k or 120k.

• Kapchai on Aug 18, 2021 at 8:40 am

Campro timing belt need to change? What’s the cost?

• Celup King on Aug 18, 2021 at 9:59 am

Is this really Myvi servicing cost? I doubt as the smaller Bezza servicing is a lot more expensive (a lot as in RM4,287.71), how can a bigger capacity Myvi be cheaper?
    https://paultan.org/2019/03/11/2019-proton-persona-facelift-32-lower-maintenance-cost-compared-to-perodua-bezza-and-honda-city/

• jinggo on Aug 18, 2021 at 11:35 am

The Iriz comes with superb ride & handling, solid chasis based on HPF, better safety and more comfortable for long distance journey.
    The Myvi is fuel save but bad ride & handling like sampan. For long distance drive, u will fell really tired.

• Sulaiman akhlaken on Aug 23, 2021 at 7:57 am

Yes, especially on the back seat. Tbf, I dont think Myvi ride like a sampan as Bezza, it is a lot more comfortable, but the back seat wasnt as good as Iriz. Bigger leg room doesn’t equal to more comfort.

• Practical Car Lover on Aug 18, 2021 at 11:36 am

I think the myvi service cost are misleading. Coz why did they put the spark plus change at 50k km as optional? you dont need to change spark plugs in a myvi? so whats the recommended change interval then? when you feel like it?

Ive never seen a manufacturer puts spark plug change as ‘optional’. if thats the case might as well say myvi spark plugs are lifetime use. lol.

Also its crazy that air filter change are also considered optional. this are small things that for me are A MUST to change periodically to maintain the condition of the car.

So i guess if people follow only the recommended service table by perodua, we can expect that their car are not really taken care off. Expect super dirty & and rough engine if you dont change the air filter & spark plugs periodically.

• Western Star on Aug 18, 2021 at 5:22 pm

Perodua would tell customers on paper these are OPTIONAL but go to service centers they will say these MANDATORY OR ELSE VOID WARRANTY. See how they bait and switch their customers? Will PaulTan do a writeup on how truthful are the service centers or perhaps these brands they represent are not telling the truth to potential buyers?

• Same L0rr on Aug 18, 2021 at 11:48 am

Buy Toyoa better. Buy myvi get new dual vvti engine, get ASA 2.0. Good RV too

• Proton just worse,avoid it at any cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Battery not included? Myvi variant using ISS battery cost higher than normal battery.