ASEAN NCAP: Four stars for the Nissan Grand Livina; Hyundai i10 manages only one star in second test

2016-asean-ncap-Nissan-Grand-Livina-1

More results from the ASEAN NCAP, this time for the Nissan Grand Livina MPV and the Hyundai i10 compact car, released together with five-star results for the upcoming Ford Everest, Toyota Innova and Toyota Fortuner.

The Nissan Grand Livina, locally assembled and facelifted in 2013, scored 12.50 out of a maximum 16 points for a four-star rating in Adult Occupant Protection (AOP). As for Child Occupant Protection, the three-row MPV scored 41% for just two stars. No seatbelt reminders or Electronic Stability Control available, even on the highest-spec variant, ASEAN NCAP notes.

Hyundai-i10-Asean-NCAP

The Hyundai i10 fared poorly in ASEAN NCAP’s December 2015 tests, achieving just one-star with 4.40 points out of 16 in the AOP. This is actually a deterioration from the hatchback’s score of 7.31 points (two stars) in ASEAN NCAP’s first phase of tests back in 2013.

The i10, which has been replaced by a new model in most markets, fared a lot better in the COP test, with 79% compliance for a four-star rating. This marks a significant improvement from the locally assembled model’s previous two-star/48% score. Check out the PDF scorecards below for more details.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Hyundai scam ppl, say 4 star ncap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • hopless on Feb 15, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Wowww i10 only managed to get 1 star, but still people bashing 5 star Proton Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • tinmilo on Feb 15, 2016 at 2:10 pm

I am a little suprised by the 1 star for the i10.
    I believe it shares the same platform as the highly rated Kia Picanto… Granted, the specs are different, but the underlying structure design should at least help? We are only talking Asean NCAP guys, 1 star is super poor.

• Leafable on Feb 15, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Because the Hyundai i10 is still an old model. Thats a new one the whole globe is selling at the moment. Which been launch since 2013 Face palm for Hyundai Malaysia.

• According to macais, dun belip ASEANCAP ratings cuz its crony, kopi, corup. So if its 1 star means it shud be 5 star. Just like Preve & Iriz & Innova & Fortuner shud be 1 star instead of 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • FIST (Member) on Feb 15, 2016 at 2:53 pm

goodbye i10 sales

• Nobody know

• Malaysians don’t care about safety. The fact that the Myvi, Saga and Vios are still so popular shows how much our people think about safety. This rating is unlikely to change many people’s minds.

• Malaysians wud rather proudly die in their moving coffins than shamefully survive in a P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • you guys are dumb on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:04 pm

They tested the lama punya Hyundai i10. go search for the latest i10 dummies. the latest one has 4 stars.

• ben yap on Feb 15, 2016 at 11:06 pm

the passport to meet your Maker is to get a Hyundai i10.

• Haliah T on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:28 am

Malaysians are more concern about resale value than star rating…