KL-Singapore HSR – finalised draft alignment soon

MyHSR

Malaysia will soon be finalising the draft alignment for the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR). This will be done before the memorandum of understanding is signed by both countries in July, The Sun Daily reports.

According to MyHSR Corp chairman, Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa, bilateral negotiations with Singapore are still in the process. The Malaysian government is hoping to finalise relevant details in the next 12 weeks. “At the moment, we are finalising the draft alignment. It is almost complete but we have to work together with Singapore,” Ali Hamsa said at the unveiling of the MyHSR logo in Putrajaya.

Meanwhile, when he was asked as to whether there was a possibility that the HSR would be linked to the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) as one of the transit points, Hamsa replied, “we are open to options and we will announce everything in July.” For the HSR coastal draft alignment, transit points proposed include Seremban, Ayer Keroh, Muar, Batu Pahat and Iskandar Puteri.

Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal, CEO of MyHSR disclosed that a total of 226 expressions of interest and 98 responses have been received in the Request for Information (RFI) exercise or market sensing, last year. The RFI is an exercise meant to measure market interest and gather industry views relating to the commercial and technical aspects of the project.

HSR-stations-proposed

It includes proposed commercial models and procurement approaches that are provided by multinational firms with diverse business backgrounds in rolling stock provider, technical consultant, rail operators, civil and construction firms. Participants are said to come from China, South Korea, Germany, North America, the Middle East and Asia Pacific.

“The RFI input that we gathered would be used during our negotiation with Singapore so that is the basis of what we are deciding on, to be announced in July,” Mohd Nur said, adding, “the important thing is the RFI will provide towards the commercial and technical aspects of HSR that form the basis of the selections (formal tender process) later.”

At this moment, MyHSR is carrying out a Request for Proposal (RFP) which will go on until May 6, 2016. It is opened to technical consultancy firms with high-speed rail and rail expertise in constructing project with over 200 km of track length.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• SG Gov oso in the game,
    But onli MY Gov gets the blame.
    Why no same-same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • james on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:38 pm

ERL fare is already RM55 for such a short trip. Who will be able to afford a HSR trip?

• Hmm. True. Currently Firefly flies out of Subang to SG for ~ RM99+ to RM199+. Also,

“In a presentation by China Railway in December last year, the price tag of the Kuala Lumpur to Singapore HSR was pegged at RM70 billion, up from RM65 billion a few months ago, and up from a price tag of RM40 billion in May.

Questions over the supposedly high price tag have been raised lately, as about nine years ago, in 2007, conglomerate YTL and its technical partner, Germany’s Siemens AG, put in a proposal to build the HSR or bullet train linking Kuala Lumpur to Singapore at a cost of only RM8 billion. How the price of the HSR has escalated to the current level of RM70 billion is not clear.”

Answer: more Birkins needed..?

• Whatever it is, hopefully they won’t grant main the contracts to China contractors. Their project outcomes and products are not reliable. Examples can be seen all over Africa and closest, the Melaka dreaded diesel monorail.

• Ollie on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:20 pm

What are you complaining about? So what? You rather drive? RM200 in toll+petrol . You wanna fly? RM200 also. Driving is painful and long. Flying is a headache to get to airport, check in etc. Bus? Fine, but slow.

Complain complain x habis2 la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • “In a presentation by China Railway in December last year, the price tag of the Kuala Lumpur to Singapore HSR was pegged at RM70 billion, up from RM65 billion a few months ago, and up from a price tag of RM40 billion in May.

Questions over the supposedly high price tag have been raised lately, as about nine years ago, in 2007, conglomerate YTL and its technical partner, Germany’s Siemens AG, put in a proposal to build the HSR or bullet train linking Kuala Lumpur to Singapore at a cost of only RM8 billion. How the price of the HSR has escalated to the current level of RM70 billion is not clear.”

• Anonymous on Apr 15, 2016 at 3:02 pm

er… ur logo sucks

• longjaafar on Apr 15, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Why is the KSN the chairman? Hasn’t he got lots of work in the govt?

• I don’t understand why we need to negotiate with Singapore to build HSR on our own soil

• Becoz it connects both countries and both parties r footing the bill?

• doctorproc on Apr 16, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Because the Singapore immigration will be done in KL and the Malaysian immigration done in Singapore, only need to go through immigration once. Singapore also footing for some of the bill.

• savvykl on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Early indicate The location of Muar station very far from Muar town, it should built station more close to MUar town,plan station almost 45 minuts from muar town, also hopefully they straight line for HSR route from Bukit pasir to batu pahat, early news show route like zig-zag which route from bukit pasir go north to Pagor than thun south to Parit Sulong, MyHSR should straight route Bukit pasir to Parit sulong.

• Vincent Ang on Apr 17, 2016 at 3:40 pm

You are right. Pagoh is too far away. The SPAD HSR alignment was done when Muhyiddin was the DPM. No surprise he wants the HSR station in Pagoh. The HSR station will be somewhere near the border of Muar town on the way to Bukit Pasir. A friend of my claims he has seen the latest development blueprint for Muar and the station will be close to the Simpang Baba-Parit Buaya junctions.

• savvykl on Apr 18, 2016 at 10:21 am

that Simpang Baba-Parit Buaya junctions much better than Pagor. hopefully they select more straight route with out go to Pagor.
        and as my study, this 330km HSR if route is straight enough, just need 80 minutes for 1 trip.

• Stop feeding them they will die! on Apr 17, 2016 at 6:27 pm

If u read on Singapore side of blogs those kiasu jackass repeatedly said that Malaysia need sg money to funding the whole rail project.So arrogant kiasu pigs.Well i don’t think so kiasu! It’s for both country benefits and i believe sg just pour in a little bit dollars based on the km/route on their land,not the whole or most of the rail her project! Until now still thinking that they’re above than Malaysian in every part of human life! Bare in mind if we cut off all food & water supply crossing causeway and 2nd link your dollar meaning nothing at all! They don’t realise or just pretend to ignore that their gov importing many naturalised citizens by giving permanent ic card to mainland China,European,American,Indian,Oceanian,..even Malaysian and so on..being outnumbered slowly by outsiders.Now also can see many higher rank,bosses & managers is foreigners!Still want to be arrogant kiasu but it’s ok losing dignity to foreigners.Funny brats! So proud of sg50k per capita but can’t afford to buy a car? Buy small house at SG500k,Coe price half or almost then same price of a car.Once retired they can’t get cpf/epf money in full amount you know? Very low dividen at 1.5%-2.5% only,then need to settle house loan before can get their savings.Still have to work at fast food after retired & die at work.Where else we can get full epf money no question ask.Who said their country is rich.That country is 110% on national debts! Once we steal most of their investors they can’t generate money to pay their own debts.Nowadays news of Singaporean making trouble or break other countries law getting sound & frequent.But so scare to get caught on their own tiny island.So Malaysian no need to feel lower than their kiasu neighbour at all! Change our leadership to more bravier than current one we can’t outclass easily those tiny red kiasu dot.Then show who is the real brother!

• Sokong! on Apr 17, 2016 at 6:31 pm

They will beg for a handful of rice and a gulp of clean water!

• Vincent Ang on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Why the need to steal investors? UMNO and PAS too hopeless to compete.

• Vincent Ang on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Singaporeans are an arrogant bunch. That much is true. However, their arrogance towards Malaysia is based on the knowledge that while Singapore is already a developed country which welcomes everyone from around the world we are still stuck with UMNO-PAS and their bigoted racist-Islam agenda shafting us with 1MDB. Go and stay in Singapore for a couple of weeks to taste their better rice and cleaner water which are truly world class. Dollar for dollar Singapore is actually cheaper to live in than Malaysia and they do not need to slog just to pay for a car and pay toll. Perhaps the people who think Singaporeans are arrogant should listen to HRH the Sultan of Johor. HRH wants MALAYsians to learn from Singapore because Singapore is a clean, developed country. Who we learn from is unimportant.