KL-Singapore HSR MoU to be signed mid-2016 – Najib

hitachi bullet train

A memorandum of understanding (MoU) between Malaysia and Singapore is expected to be signed by mid-2016, according to prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak. The MoU relates to the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR), The Sun Daily reports.

“We expect to sign the MoU in the middle of this year with Singapore,” Najib said in his keynote at Invest Malaysia 2016. He highlighted that the HSR that connects Kuala Lumpur and Singapore is one of the development projects under the 11th Malaysia Plan and is therefore unaffected by the reduction in government expenditure.

“The HSR link to Singapore, the Pan Borneo Highway, the MRT and LRT, the Pengerang development in Johor – they’re all still going ahead. We need them. They are not grandiose mega projects for show and vanity, as favoured by some. No, these are a part of our future,” Najib explained.

HSR stations proposed

“So it is clear that we have an economic plan, that it has worked, and that it is still working. It is a long-term plan that works for the benefit of Malaysians not just today, but tomorrow, and in the years and decades to come,” the New Straits Times quoted Najib as saying.

The RM70 billion KL-Singapore HSR project is expected to be launched in one to two years’ time. Tentatively, plans show that the line will start in Bandar Malaysia – with stations in Seremban, Ayer Keroh, Muar Batu Pahat and Nusajaya – and will end in Jurong East, Singapore.

According to a report by The Star, China appears to be leading in the bid to develop the HSR. Among those interested in the project are Japan and South Korea.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• HSR link to Singapore, the Pan Borneo Highway, the MRT and LRT, the Pengerang development. Much much more useful to rakyat than Crooked Bridge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • WT Fuchhh on Apr 13, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Education budget cut, subsidy reduced, price increases. Still wanna HSR, kah? Hapuskan Subsidy Rosma.

• intel on Apr 13, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Does anyone has intel which part of Ayer Keroh or Seremban the station will be built?

• Cereal on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Not sure, but rumors say that the track will be built along the highway, which make sense also as the cost will be cheaper. So if the rumors is true, then the stations should be near to the toll.

• forget it, flipper. other big boys already bought nearby lands before they announce official alignment publicly.

• Ultra2disk on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Not sure about Ayer Keroh but Seremban rumour on Sendayan.

• I understand the need to stop in Ayer Keroh, given Malacca status of Historical City etc, which will attract more tourist coming from KL or Singapore. But I am wondering about the need to stop in Muar and Batu Pahat. What attraction we have there that worth to spend significant money for additional stations?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Because those 2 city have almost half a million pipu n many work in kl

• Muarians and Batu Pahatians took umbridge to ur downplay on their historical towns. Get off ur keybod and visit those townships.

• garu 2 on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Chill lah John. Its a fair question…why so defensive? Because our leaders are so popular with choosing site that beneficial to their cronies. Look at the Universities branch…many located in their parliament or DUN area for the sake of developing their area and giving $$ boost to their ‘team’. Instead of doing proper studies… we end up having scattered IPTA in unnecessary area.

• bobby on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Agree with Garu……Johor state has 3 different stations. Need explanation why so. More stations means more money…in term of travelling time means more stop and more time to reach end end journey which is KL and Singapore in this case. Of course we want to promote these cities…but need to know the proper long term plan for the cities for having HSR station and the significant of investing in it. As taxpayers everyone deserve to know. This ain’t Najib or UMNO’s money….. :)

• carlist on Apr 14, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Bro, have you been Johor before? The proposed HSR track alignment in Johor alone span about 180km to 200km from second link to border with Melaka! 70km to 90km for a HSR transit station is fair enough.

Don’t worry about the stops will make the travelling time longer from KL-SG, there will be a direct service bro.

The HSR transit station at Muar and BP is highly demanded and needed. Thousands of peoples there travelling to KL and SG to work. Also, this is to stimulating the local economy instead of focusing on greater KL all the while. Why not sharing the booming economy with other places as they are tax payers too?

• Johor have the longest route la brader.
      if they lost in next GE who will get benefit?
      why don’t you ask why stop at seremban since seremban already had Komuter and only short distance to KL.
      BTW if it all about politic they should put 1 in pontian since it was Ahmad maselan Parliament.

• Andas on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Basically, they want to boost local eco.. people, talk with knowledge la.. why all need to link with politics.. u think the minister have not advise by experts..

• Its becoz sime darby n genting have lobbied to build station at their current development project, ie. Pagoh University Hub(muar) & Pura Kencana(BP) respectively. You also can lobby to build a station at ur backyard if ur willing to provide a land for the rail alignment n the station itself.
      Anyway, both township are also industrial hub outside JB.

• kcng (Member) on Apr 13, 2016 at 12:49 pm

We should consider sell part of island in Sabah to fund this project. win-win situation!!

• Long live BN, long live Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
  • Lah, baru MoU…
    Tunggu agreement signed, another 2 years
    Pecah tanah, another 5 years
    Completion, another many many many years.

The idea was how many years ago, cant recall. I bet this will be another manifesto for coming election.

Dato’ Sri, enough la playing “look like efficient premier”. Get your balls on the paper. Make things done. Cannot be done? takdak duit sudah ka? Dont talk then.

We fedap already.

• CoolNA GuruJIB on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Sigh… What a timing? When Singapore is due to present some important financial evidence to Switzerland AG for some important investigation, then this is used as a bait in exchange to something important…

• More like SG is due to allow Justo to sue the pants off Edge owner for illegally altering his stolen data.