Uber drivers in Penang get vocal over low-fare rate

uberX-e1433841519766

Over 50 Uber drivers in Penang are crying foul against Uber for not taking their complaints into account, The New Straits Times reports. The issue brought forward concerns the low-fare rate that was imposed by the management, which is said to be affecting drivers’ source of income.

Represented by former full-time Uber driver, Francis Loke, said that the management had introduced a zero flag-down rate or 50 sen per km or 20 sen per minute for the drivers on April 29 – which is said to be the issue here. Before this, customers had to pay RM3.50.

Loke, who has been suspended by Uber, was hoping that the company would remove the surge rate and incentives and instead replace it with a flat base-rate of RM3 followed by 60 sen per km and 30 sen per minute, according to a report by The Sun Daily.

Uber low cost fare-01

Although a discussion was held between the group and the company, to find a solution, Loke noted with disappointment that the management has not taken drivers complaints into account. The group spokesperson is one of the many other drivers who have been suspended for being too vocal.

“Our aim is to take Uber Penang to greater heights,” Loke said, he added, “we are considering to quit driving under the Uber App until the Uber Management revises the fare which is more reasonable for us.” He highlighted that Uber Partners in Penang are actively looking for other driving platforms and operators who can offer them better pay.

Meanwhile, Leon Foong, general manager of Uber Malaysia said that, “we have explained about the fare cut and showed our commitment to support the next possible experience for the customers. Our data shows in Penang, during peak hours also the pricing experiment is causing less idle time and more ridership from customers that results in better earnings.”

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Matchy on May 09, 2016 at 10:26 am

Why not they just join grab… its not like Uber is forcing them to work for them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • dodgeviper88 on May 09, 2016 at 10:53 am

Grab is not available in Penang. Currently KL & Johor only.

• WT Fuchhh on May 09, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Not Fair……Uberians deserve to have a minimum wage also…

• Hahaha that’s the issue la. These drivers are not “hired” by Uber also. You all join by own will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • tricycle on May 09, 2016 at 10:52 am

“some” of these uberians are behaving like “some” of the kl taxi drivers. perhaps a mole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Truecolor on May 09, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Don’t be a dumbass.

If you are old enough to drive, register to be a Uber driver and find out yourself if you can get enough income to eat and maintain your car in good condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • You’re the dumbass.

If it’s not worth it, then simply don’t be a Uber driver. Dumbass.

Be a taxi driver. Or look for another job. Before Uber, there was no such thing as a Uber driver. Dumbass.

• Mr Fakta on May 09, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Then don’t drive Uber, easy. They can always drive a regular taxi and charge RM 1,000 for the flag down rate. Or even better, create your own damn apps to compete agains Uber.

• Potong kicap on May 09, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Then dun drive

• X-Uber-X on May 10, 2016 at 10:36 am

If you drive part time, you won’t have enough to buy a decent meal after you deduct your petrol with this rate. When Uber started, you can drive part time and make decent income and enjoy to drive.

With current structure, you will earn enough if you work like 10 to 12 hours a day. Your earnings will be from their incentives rather than the regular fare. Regular fair just to cover your cost.

• dodgeviper88 on May 09, 2016 at 10:54 am

I can so imagine all the taxi drivers laughing with glee and saying you all uber idiots deserve it. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Mozilla Chrome on May 09, 2016 at 10:57 am

Although Uber is a great alternative for taxi to travel, but they couldn’t care less of the welfare of the drivers. They only care about profit. Just ask around how many Uber drivers do not get their incentive for no apparent reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Truecolor on May 09, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Ironic isn’t it? Malaysians rightfully bash the local taxi towkays squeezing taxi drivers but couldn’t see any problems when a foreign owned company squeeze Malaysian hired drivers.

Uber must be regulated to protect Malaysian workers.

• matsu****ta on May 09, 2016 at 10:59 am

economically sound business plan
    riders demand, drivers provide
    free market.
    as drive it sucks, as rider its awesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Yeohhk01 on May 09, 2016 at 11:06 am

So.. uber driver behaving like local taxi driver soon?

• Keep Calm & Join TEKS1M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • taboogen on May 09, 2016 at 11:23 am

when taxi driver protest no one listen.. now feel lah the same heat

• Yala, no one force you all to join them. You have choice. Seems like they also forming persatuan untuk memperjuangkan sesuatu.

• Poor Doctor on May 09, 2016 at 11:36 am

For those who support Uber, you are actually supporting the exploitation of these drivers by Uber. Uber provides no welfare to the drivers, customer only benefited the low fare because some drivers are willing to do so but Uber get the commission tax free because they doesn’t pay tax to authority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • B-Unggul on May 09, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Well, people gonna get what they deserve once they’re racing to the bottom.

I’m not saying the conventional taxi in place are super pleasant, lots of time they left much to be desired though. But hearing upon Uber and other co’s practise in other countries they’re already operating, things can get really sticky.

Well, enjoy while it lasts.

• VWfanboi on May 09, 2016 at 11:38 am

Actually I as a consumer I also understand how they feel. Uber is like calling a taxi. Imagine if u call the nearest Uber and then they came from 5KM away and then fetch u to another lorong which only cost RM 0.50 for 1 km. How do those drivers feel? Don’t forget their cars are running on Petrol. I might get lot’s of unlike for posting this but pls think about the drivers. I suggest all drivers go to the Grab instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Ollie on May 09, 2016 at 1:58 pm

As a Uber driver, part time, I too understand. Took an uber few days back, paid cash. Was RM2. Felt sorry for the driver to give him my small change.

• VWfanboi on May 09, 2016 at 2:50 pm

It hurts even more for part time Uber drivers as Uber highest incentives on weekdays. We as rider can don’t really care about those drivers and enjoy our low fares. But imagine if there’s not enough drivers and then their surge 2.8X applies. We’re still the losing party because have to pay more. The winner are not the drivers too, but uber by just sitting there getting 2.8X surge of 25% Uber fees.

• No. The concept is like a loss leader, or a convenience store selling 10 sen sweets or stock stuff that doesn’t sell well, or sell at steep discount, so that people will STILL GO TO YOUR STORE.

If drivers don’t provide service whenever riders need, then the service will die. If whenever riders call, they cannot find a Uber car, next time they might not think to use Uber. This is infancy time, you have to wait until there is CRITICAL MASS – a lot of Uber drivers and riders. If does not reach that, everybody LOSES.

You drive, so that the RM20 rides make up for the RM2 rides.

Otherwise, what is different from taxi drivers who refuse your destination or want extra RM10 for “traffic jam”?

• azrai on May 09, 2016 at 11:40 am

What you give you get back.

• Tak sukak, protest in front of SPAD or join taxi lah! Oh wai….

• MeToo on May 09, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Apparently the Loke guy making noise have been banned by Uber for some time alrdy…

• Ollie on May 09, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Yea, and its absolute rubbish. You imagine you have a grievance with your employer, and you get fired on the spot for raising a grievance. Leon Foong needs to show more responsibility and accountability for Uber’s actions.

• Ahmadjr on May 09, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Why not they join the empire taxi cronies? Charge how much you want

• Bernard on May 09, 2016 at 1:02 pm

UBER is doing the right thing. Customers come first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 1:47 pm

The problem is not Uber is doing the business but the driver..Uber oni the platform

• Heskey on May 09, 2016 at 1:14 pm

I signed up for uber partner in Penang. Yes the fare is too low. I quit after 1 week and now focusing on my day job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Ollie on May 09, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Interesting. I’m no longer driving in KL as well. Wonder what Uber mgmt gonna do about this.

• taco21 on May 09, 2016 at 1:18 pm

this is willing buyer, willing seller scenario …. if the rate is too low, then the drivers/partners should stop driving for uber as a whole … that will give uber something to think about just pleasing the clients and forgo the partnership of drivers part…

• Ben Yap on May 09, 2016 at 2:41 pm

if don’t like, just don’t drive. no one force you to drive. get another 2nd job and those who gave up their job hoping to make more money with uber, they are the biggest fool.

when one drives for uber, they must take into consideration that this is a temporary job and not to make a living out of it.

• Ollie on May 09, 2016 at 4:40 pm

No. Any sort of work must meet minimum wage requirements. Part time work, regardless. Responsible companies do even more; as in provide living wage over the minimum. The rates Uber/Grab pays needs to account for petrol, taxes, insurance, and maintenance. I’d say roughly RM0.45 per km. They’re paying now RM0.70 per km+minute. That’s 25sen profit per km. Private companies pay mileage claim up to 90sen per km. So can anyone make a living with Uber? Many many drivers are between jobs, looking for job so they do Uber. Not easy. Today Grabcar announced RM65 for KLIA trips. Unsustainable. I was driving for Uber and it got to a point where I was paying them instead of Uber paying me.

• This is a typical issue in Msia. Consumers always want western standard service, but not consciously aware that they are not earning western standard salary, therefore naturally cannot afford that type of service. In other words, if taxi users want good service, they’d have to pay much more than what they are willing to pay right now, otherwise they’d just have to accept those smelly dirty taxis.

• azrai on May 09, 2016 at 4:41 pm

In English idiom it is known as “You are getting a taste of your own medicine.”