2016 Proton Saga gets rendered ahead of Sept launch

Proton-Saga-Theo-render

Automotive visual rendering maestro Theophilus Chin has given his take on the upcoming 2016 Proton Saga, which has been spotted testing in camouflage, and is the third sedan model the company appears to be readying for launch this year after the Perdana and Persona.

We are aware that leaked photos of the budget sedan have circulated on the Internet, showing the entire car uncovered, but those were shot inside Proton’s own compound. We make it a point not to publish pictures that were leaked internally, as that would not be legal, strictly speaking – hence the commissioning of these renders based on the leaked images.

Starting from the front, the Saga appears to borrow design cues from the Iriz hatchback, albeit with a slimmer twin-bar front grille design compared with that on the Iriz, as well as a redesigned front bumper with a smaller air intake. The headlamps are projector units here, although given the car’s entry-level positioning, we expect the actual car to come with reflector items, like the Persona.

Proton-Saga-Theo-render-2

Progressing to the sides of the Saga, Theophilus’ rendering shows the main swage line pass through the door handles, as well as a finer, secondary swage line lower down the middle of the doors. At the rear, the Saga gets trapezoidal tail lamps – which appear to use regular bulbs, rather than the current LEDs – linked by a chrome bar. A rear diffuser-esque insert with an integrated fog lamp complete the look.

Technical details for the upcoming Proton Saga are still unknown, though it can be expected to launch with the 1.3 litre VVT petrol engine from the Iriz, paired to either a five-speed manual transmission or a CVT.

Later on, Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre VVT three-cylinder engines may appear on the Saga, while a turbocharged version of the 1.0 litre engine could also be featured. With the smaller engines expected for the Saga, it appears set to be positioned as an A-segment sedan slightly below the Persona expected this month, which rounds up the three sedans planned for launch this year.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• So if you guys are saying it is not legal to publish photos leaked from inside the factory already going around in social media, then what about Hezeri Samsuri because he is openly sharing it on his FB and car page. People think it is no big deal right, how come he can publish and you guys don’t? Unless proton gave him exclusive rights to publish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:12 am

No such permissions were given, as far as we know. Either way, we will stick to our policy of not publishing photos leaked internally.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 2
      • Das Auto on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:19 am

If like that Proton should sue those publish the leaked pic. At least they can make some money out of it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
        • The rear of the car looks sad.
          And, since it is based on the previous platform, should call it a major facelift instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
          • Durian kinte on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Hope proton can make it this time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:00 pm

I too hope Proton can do well. Go for it Proton, you can do it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • Same L00 on Aug 08, 2016 at 4:27 pm

When Preve launched… Hope proton can make it this time
            Then Suprima S launched… Hope proton can make it this time
            Then Iriz launched… Hope proton can make it this time
            Then the pathetic Perdana launched… Hope proton can make it this time
            Then the new Saga to be launched…Hope proton can make it this time

Empty talk no point, support Proton by your action, BUY DA SHIT!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
        • P1 can and might possibly sue them if their big enuff (like PT), but if its ciku fesbuk then P1 wun care to sue cuz lawyer fee is more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Thats why I said, even PT alredi ‘beh song’ wanna post anymore spyshots of new Saga. Boring alredi! Old news! Pipu dun wanna see anymore, they rather buy untested Bisa from me cuz we dun need to test! Why need to test here, test there, test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars. Test kononnya for reliability and durability, but actually its to tease here, tease there. Just launch it alredi lah like my P2 Bisa!

P2 is now pioneer in future car making where we go from prototype straight to showroom. Then we let 1st batch customers test kau kau for us and we save on hiring test drivers. If anybody complain its cuz they r unkers or noob drivers who dunno how to use our dinosar tech, so we ignore them and only promo gud feedback. We r so confident about Bisa we dun even gip an F on testing 1st. We r not so bodo piang like P1, Mesidis, BMW, Hyundai, Honda and even big bro Toyota, all still wanna camo road test like in 20th century.

So have confidence in my confidence that u will have confidence in our confidently untested Bisa. And if u buy from me now, I will offer limited From Road to Nirvana package in partner with my gud fren from Nirvana. Offer is limited 1st come, 1st serve only! So what r u waiting for! PM me for Bisa deathtraps NOW! Have CONFIDENCE OR UR BN LAPDOG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
        • John Anonymous on Aug 09, 2016 at 9:07 am

Waah. You are so full of hate maaan. Take a holiday bro. Let off some steam.

• hailthepurist on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:21 am

well, the TG ex-editor sure got special permission..

• No thanks on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Ewwww so ugly. Proton really running out of ideas kah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 58
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:56 pm

This saga cantiklah…im amazed…it does look proportionate and pleasing to the eyes…will sell like hotcakes…together with bezza they will conquer the entry level sedan…these two dont have to compete…sharing is caring maa…i like…go pokemon go…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Don’t syok sendiri la. Nak dekat-dekatkan dengan P2. The reason Saga sold last time was because P2 didn’t have sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
        • ko pun jangan syok sendiri ingat p2 tu hebat sangat, p2 baru keluar sedan design macam hampeh

• Sack designer on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • so sad on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:13 am

sorry to say, the design look like for China market or india market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 64
    • policeman on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:33 am

so then it should be suitable here. correct?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
    • Jonn Dol on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:44 am

These new entry level Proton sedans are all superior to Perodua Bezza in all areas, except in the engine department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Das Auto on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:17 am

IMHO, Proton on the car itself is not much of an issue. But it less than mediocre engine and gearing is dragging itself down. They should “strive to be better” in engine technology like they do on the cars, then things will go more positive. Other car marques sometimes make terrible cars but nobody complains much about its transmission system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Jonn Dol on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:39 am

Problem is Proton was quite slow to react on improving their engines, but it also requires deep pockets to do so. Unless Proton outsourced its small engines from Suzuki, then Proton will be at par with Perodua.

• Jonn Dol on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:47 am

..at par with Perodua on engine side la, other things Proton much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • LittleMin on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:17 am

Am I only the one to feel this car looks like some old outdated Korean car, for example, 2005 Kia Cerato?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 23
    • Jonn Dol on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:36 am

Where on earth got 2005 got KIA Cerato? Somemore 2005 KIAs are extremely bland cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • LittleMin on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:46 am

Dude, do some homework. There is really Kia Cerato on year 2005.

• LittleMin on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:47 am

And thats what i mean with this Saga design, BLAND and out of proportion..

I feel current saga FLX is way better than this new design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • I think, proton try to do a simple design like in VW or BMW. if you asked me, its look like this model was design 10 years ago, same went i saw preve. but anyway, maybe this is what people really want. who knows…

• Safe design for mass market car. Same like VW polo and golf/jetta and… kinda think about it, all VW have a safe mass market design.
            So if Jerman overlord world No2 is following this mantra, so why not P1?

• Yup john. I think thats what proton try to do here. And i hope its work.

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:27 pm

LOL it crossed my mind too, like the Kia Spentra/Shuma 5-door lift back from the late 1990s.

• rounded shape boot…CLA inspired?
    that tail light…bmw inspired?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Purchasing dept on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:25 am

Leak or no leaks.

Still gonna cancel my own company car 50 units P2 Bezza for this gem, P1 Saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • Das Auto on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:28 am

For A/B segment car I think its ok. Don’t want to criticise but the car somehow looks very “China-ish”. I believe if it is a Geely or Cheri it would have quite a good review here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Why proton car always ugly. What are those designers doing ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 81
    • have u look at ur profile pict?that car is super duper ugly for most of us. macam sampan terbalik and waaaaayy out of proportion.looks weird as hell. BUT look is subjective..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Albert on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:31 am

THe problem is not the LEAKAGE.
    It does not change BUYERS’ perception on PROTON.
    As long as the ANCIENT CAMPRO engine and Punch CVT gearbox keep appearing…..BLOCKBUSTER AXIA/BEZZA will continue to dominate this segment of the car market.
    By the time the new engines arrive,the mus will have to dish out another RM 1.5 Billion BAILOUT soft loan.
    PROTON IS THE MOST UNPROFITABLE CAR MANUFACTURER IN THE WORLD.Yet,taxpayers have to keep it afloat due to political intrusion.
    The great Albert Einstein said” doing the same thing over and over again BUT expecting different results is INSANITY.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Still saga & axia is the cheapest hatchback & sedan…in asean. Too much Malaysiakini eh

• Axia in SG cost Rm276,000. SG rakyat cukurrrr.
      All hail southern masterrace overlords!

• lilytan on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:34 am

It would be best to differ the launch of the saga to next year. Bezza is a tough product to beat with so proton needs some aces up your sleeves in order to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Proton sendiri leaked the pictures kot. Takut semua orang dah beli Bezza, tak ada orang beli Saga nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 34
  • In comparisons to Bezza and with the written specification by the author, seems the Saga has the potential to win these time. Plus if the high -end spec priced RM50K below it could be Protons Game Changer here Malaysia..Design wise Ok…my 2cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • sanisaad on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:37 am

For an A-Segment sedan car, the look is good enough. I think there are no foreign A-segment sedan car in this country yet. If there is any, please advise me…big smiling face to yall….kita peng yu ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • any time better than P2 bEZAAAA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • good fight for bezaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Proton Saga on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:42 am

I would say for an entry level car priced around RM30k-40k, the design is pretty good. You are not gonna get a BMW-ish design for this price in any part of the world so the only advice is to live within your means.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • jobless (ori) on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:49 am

Wat age is prodon living in…cover up their upcoming models like nasi lemak and threaten to sue people…do they knw some manufacturerz purposely rrlease the spyshots with little cover?? And it too late lost sp many sel to Bissa aleady..lastly pls sack the clueless designers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • please outsource your engine proton… if continue like this, no matter how good the body is, if the heart, lungs n brain is bad, its gonna suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • There was a plan to use Suzuki engine…but not for this new saga, but later…they need to redesign the underbody to suit Suzuki’s engine

• Ass looks like maserati hnnghh

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Because of my amateur skill, this was very difficult to render. Almost all parts were sourced from another car. Only the front side windows, side mirrors, bonnet and windscreen were Saga’s. Also, unlike as seen in leaked pics, I was unable to render the protruding front lip. Overall, this Saga’s profile and shape actually reminds me of Kia Spectra/Shuma from the late 90s. Also, for this rendering, the wheelbase is same as current Saga, I only extended the rear overhang, along with a more steeply raked rear window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • horrayooi on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:50 pm

If they are still using timing belt campro derived engine and Punch cvt without torque converter, no hope. Cannot sell. ( Jika masih menggunakan engine timing belt dari keluarga campro dengan CVT Punch ( Tumbuk ) tanpa torque converter , tak ada harapan. Tak akan laris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Mohammad on Aug 08, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Proton, where’s your Perdana? I haven’t seen a single Perdana on the road yet I saw at least 15-20 new Civic every day. Proton = fail rubbish garbage junk!!! Btw, I see much more Bezza than the cockroach looking Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • Havent seen any Bisa on the road yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Andas on Aug 08, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Dei mhmd, i saw few bezza in showroom but none on the road.. doesnt mean tak laku right?

• Sarah Awliya Kamaruddin on Aug 08, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Is the prebooking already opened? My wife boutique selling tudung and jubah need about 35 unit of this Saga as a company transportation around Penang, Shah Alam and Johor. Check Proton website but seem still no ads about the booking. Can Hafriz confirm when the booking will open? Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Business tudung is ok. Perishable goods better don’t use Proton. The probability of it stranded is very high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Sarah Awliya Kamaruddin on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:58 pm

she already bought 3 unit of Suprima S in 2013 for his boutique use last time. So far so good. Now open new outlet in Penang and Johor, so she need more for his business. Seem Saga is on budget. Deswai i think it is good to go with Saga

• Proton problem is the non realiable engine and consume more petrol.

This new design will not improve the Proton. haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Bolehbelah on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:55 pm

just another r’hearsay’ people around hear. You don’t own proton car dont talk like that laa bro.. slander maah.
      New Iriz improved so much. Even old BLM a reliable car based on my usage. Except the nvh.

• BolehBeli on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:56 pm

just another r’hearsay’ people around hear. You don’t own proton car dont talk like that laa bro.. slander maah.
      New Iriz improved so much. Even old BLM a reliable car based on my usage. Except the nvh.

• harris murad on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Looks promising. Wishing you all the best PROTON!:)
    Prove that you guys are worthy.

• My 2004 Gen2 just enter 12 years old, pass 200km at 5days ago; so far, change power window once, air con fan once (not the compressor); that all; no doubt, city drive need a bit more petrol, but not an issue on highway. Feel sad a bit, after 12 years, car ins total sum only can go for 9k, i make it to 10k; it mean in 12 years, i lost 46k or 44k (not able to recall i bought at 55k+ or 53k+). Now I can not sell out.

• Tahniah !!!
      your 2004 Gen2 is way more reliable than 2004 BMW or 2004 Altis.

• 12 years at 200k km, pls be realistic and not expect high RV. Even toyota at that mileage and age oso wun go much higher but its initial price is much much higher. So u actually got ur money’s worth.

• PeroduaFans like to bashing other car makers on Aug 09, 2016 at 8:50 am

200k after 12k years?

My inspira is at 210k after 5 years.. serve me well…. steady car.. proton please give discount on perdana or maybe honda dont let u sell it so cheap is it? Then what the point of you guys wasting money developing and not get feedback from consumer on pricing.

• BolehBeliP1 on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:19 pm

• Ootai on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Why bother to buy P1 cars when the owner also wants to ‘cabut’? It shows the owner don’t trust their products. Better to steer away until the new owner comes in, if there is one (or 7).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • AtanLong on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:47 pm

This Saga is better, less likely to turn turtle.

• sammyNoMoreValue on Aug 08, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Lousy car

• Front end is a bit of a letdown. Rear portion acceptable. But hey…proton designers n styling team, it’s not a sin to make an A segment sedan look gorgeous you know. You guys shud da been slightly more adventurous. IMHO it looks to have more soul compared to bezza. Bezza styling is not ugly but it’s not a looker either. Bezza is boring n safe styling. Please do better. Be more like Mazda. Yup…maybe somewhere between Mazda n Hyundai n Audi. Make em stylish but evergreen n slightly understated at the same time. Hope you guys get what I mean. Good luck. All da best.

• AhHeng on Aug 08, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Good car, Proton going better n better better. Takata owner only can said lousy.. hahaha

• Yusuf on Aug 09, 2016 at 8:20 am

It started with a proton.

When proton’s first 5 star ncap preve launched back then, only then other car companies like produa and toyota focus on bringing higher specs and safer car.

Im more interested on what safety feature will be add for this new saga, because the old one sure is not safe (1 star ncap).

• PeroduaFans like to bashing other car makers on Aug 09, 2016 at 8:45 am

The front part is even worst the the old saga fl… dont know what the hell proton was thinking.. why proton…why pronton….

• Neutral on Aug 09, 2016 at 10:33 am

I must admit that the face lifted Saga is not bad looking from what I have seen on the social media. But the bottom line still lies on the power train which I think is obsolete and won’t be able to attract many buyers.

• Concerned on Sep 16, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Proton forced its staff to work today double pay. So they can place comments for proton and give negative to others. This is how they do work. Shame drb Shame. I hope one day some one buys the company and expose all these so all of you miss managers go to court.