Proton new GDI and TGDI engines detailed – modular design, higher compression ratio, future-proofed

2015-proton-exora-1.3-turbo-prototype- 020

In an exclusive interview with paultan.org, Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa has shared some key details regarding the national carmaker’s highly-anticipated new engine familyannounced earlier this month – which will utilise direct injection and will be offered in both naturally-aspirated (GDI) and turbocharged (TGDI) variants.

Firstly, the development of the new engines were driven by regulatory and market requirements, as Proton wants to be a competitive global player – and with the European market now requiring all new cars to meet the stringent Euro 6 emissions standards, the company needs the new mills (which are designed to meet Euro 6c regulations coming into effect in 2018) if it ever wants to return to the lucrative Continental market.

Rashid said that Proton needs to change and upgrade its capabilities to be more competitive. He admitted that the company was late in introducing variable valve timing (VVT) technology – which only came onto the market with the Iriz at the tail end of 2014 – but added that the company is catching up to established players.

As was revealed during the official announcement, the new engines are modular, with commonalities both in design and the components used. The 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre GDI and TGDI engines are four-cylinder engines, sharing an identical bore but differing stroke measurements; the 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre VVT engines are three-cylinder versions of those four-pot mills.

The engines feature a higher compression ratio of 12:1 on GDI engines and 10.5:1 on the TGDI engines – these compare favourably to 10:1 on the Iriz’s VVT engines and 8.9:1 on the 1.6 litre CamPro CFE/Turbo engine. Also incorporated is a split engine cooling system that enables the cylinder head and block at different temperatures for optimised efficiency. On TGDI engines, a single-scroll turbocharger is used, with the most powerful 1.5 litre TGDI projected to be capable of producing 180 hp and 250 Nm.

Proton CTO Abdul Rashid Musa interview 15

Elsewhere, the fuel injectors on the GDI and TGDI engines are capable of spraying fuel at 200 bars of pressure, compared to just 2-3 bars in a standard port injection system. The technology used on the new GDI engines are based on the patents obtained from Petronas when it acquired the oil giant’s engine technology in 2012, some of which are shared with development partner Ricardo.

The engines are also designed to be future-proof, with features like cylinder deactivation (using a collapsible roller finger follower), mild hybrid operation (through the use of a belt starter-generator), a Miller cycle and spray-guided direct fuel injection able to be added on.

The workings of a Miller cycle engine would require a separate article to be explained fully – but essentially, in such an engine, the intake valve is left opened for part of the compression stroke, which pushes some of the air/fuel mixture back into the intake port. This reduces the effort required to compress the remaining mixture, aiding efficiency.

On the other hand, spray-guided direct injection, which uses injectors mounted at the top of the combustion chamber to spray fuel downwards – rather than from the side against a walled chamber in the piston in traditional systems – results in improved fuel efficiency. The aim, according to Rashid, is for the engines to eventually achieve a thermal efficiency of almost 40% – the same as on the newest hybrids like the Toyota Prius and Hyundai Ioniq.

Rashid said that while Proton isn’t a technology leader, it wants to bring these technologies down towards a more affordable level – as it has done in terms of safety. “The technologies aren’t cheap, but we are contributing significantly in making them more affordable,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Future-proofed? Read between the lines.

It’s telling you that this engines are going to stay for the next 20 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 58
    • vios engine is 3 generation in use and will continue to be in use until 4040.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 11
      • George Abdul on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:37 pm

“Rashid said that while Proton isn’t a technology leader” BUT Proton leading in self praising statement that’s fact !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
        • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Come and get free ikan panggang. Free for buyers.

Dare to buy this new engine ah? Don’t forget the Exora that bakar going up genting. You get free death and free cremation. 2 in 1 package.

Best part, Proton told the owner to podah and refused to layan him.

So many other Exora bakar, Proton just cover up.

You still dare to use new engine from Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 57
          • Nasi Lemak 3.0 on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Fellow use Rm40k Panerai watch. Sure get free one. DRB Hicom always get a lot of free gifts, if you know what I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Technology aren’t cheap because of Proton’s bloody protection and government heavy tax!
            Check out the Prius price in Japan and US then you know what I am saying.
            Proton can’t develop good engine then blame others, old tradition!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
          • firebrigade on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Slandering here and there, duh. Where got deaths in Exora “cremation”?

He ady got money from insurance company.

• Private DRB but Ask Money on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Now Proton staff like this CTO pakai baju DRB Hicom. They are one with DRB Hicom. But even in private hands, still ask money from our Government. Hundreds of Millions per year to keep it float.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
          • Back in 2008, the CEOs of GM, Chrysler, Ford went on their private jets to White House and demanded for Gov money otherwise they kolos shop and move all to Mexico. Nobama said, okay here’s ur money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
          • Yes they asked money. They have been making money and pay taxes before 2008. After they got the money in 2008, they got out of trouble and making money within a short period of time.

Now back to you. Where is Proton now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • P1 din get any sen from Najib, the last I heard. Thats why Tun M went on warpath

• ccy7218 on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Why not if the engine is reliable and fuel efficient, what’s the use if so much technology yet rosak here and there and makan minyak? Think again…

• Fei Ling on Jun 19, 2016 at 11:04 am

VW, honda, toyota, peugot, mercedes, bmw etc also has rosak here and there. Name one car company in this entire universe that is rosak free.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:20 pm

So what? if it’s modular enough to be tweaked for future requirements, all the better! That’ll mean it can be a sunken cost faster, which will help towards reducing production costs over the long run. Do you think engines are supposed to be like computer CPUs that need a new generation of microarchitecture every 24-36 months? Look at Mitsubishi’s 4G6 engine family.. they were around for ages before being superseded by the 4B1 series. Same goes for Honda and Toyota engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 14
      • frossonice on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Come on. Give him a break. He is one of those ‘certified’ Proton haters.

Even if the engine somehow get world best engine also would not be enough for them. All they ever want from Proton is to close shop, for whatever benefit it may bring to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Mimau on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:54 pm

before anyone yelling “what? single scroll only? ancient turbo!”, most Ford Ecoboost engines have single scroll turbos. Some of them even have the same old BW KP39 unit found in the CFE. Twin-scroll turbos are just expensive shortcut tickets to make up lazy-ass exhaust manifold design.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:23 pm

agreed, even more impressive this engine produce more than Honda’s 1.5l output. next challenge – drivetrain.
      Honda making good output with efficient engine, hope Proton can compete with that.

Above all, safety must remain 1st priority.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
      • Bristol on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Safety aspects no need worry bcos currently offer already far better than Perodua and Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
        • What? Engine offer safety? like what? You engine tried to kill a family by burning an Exora got la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 42
          • dangi on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Never go full retard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • lorlor on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:23 pm

He ady retard lor

• Fulamak, you know how to use the word retard la. Not bad for a tiga suku engineer.

Shut up and take my money? Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • ccy7218 on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:42 pm

Mengaku ajelah kata tak pandai buat enjin, jangan buang masa, beli enjin jepun je, sales pasti improve,think again, hadapilah kenyataan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • shawal on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Proton Perdana 1.5 TGDI

the latest kuga (1682kg) on sale is powered by an 1.5 TGDI ecoboost engine…180 bhp , 240nm of toque…

the accord 8th gen-based perdana should weigh much less (give or take 100kg) , performance shubbe sufficient..

wether it’ll be a refined and relaxing drive , is yet to be seen…

as per usual, proton will continuously update their line up bits by bits as time goes , so the 2018 perdana TGDI would definitely drive better, has better NVH, interior trim than the upcoming 2016 2.4 perdana….

like how the brown interior waja was miles ahead on the inside compared early models…( not forgetting the early waja had massive recalls due to some components missing or something )

only time will tell, but very likely proton will succeed and will go global…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Do Proton have time on their side?
      Don’t forget TDM is very old already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:54 pm

What has TDM’s age got to do with anything? Will YTL close shop if Francis Yeoh died? Did the Genting group collapsed and closed shop when Lim Goh Tong died?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • ccy7218 on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:54 pm

Memanglah semua nak improve time to time, tapi current engine pun tak mampu nak buat dengan baik….kena pandai merangkak dulu baru berjalan, kena pandai berjalan dulu baru berlari….. proton ni ingat nak berlari di arena antarabangsa sedangkan masih dalam tahap berjalan aje, nak succeed global?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Drive on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Compression ratio 12:1 on this GDI, sweet!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Unfortunately Malaysian dunno what is that, Malaysian only know 0.10/km which is that unit dunno is save fuel or save cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Barbatos on Jan 30, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Unfortunately it wont achieve that compression ratio most of the time since the miller cycle actually reduces the compression ratio to “save fuel”.(or in some cases, reduces knocking)

• Finally, found somebody comment on the specs of the engine.
      I was seriously looking on someone to comment on the compression ratio of the engine and I am seriously curious and wondering how do they do it. Does the engine designed for RON97? Or do they design the engine like how mazda did to their Skyactiv.

Honestly, this is the comment I want to see. Not some bashing comment about kereta mana bagus, keranda bergerak. I mean come on laa. Cant u guys just for once discuss something knowledgeable instead of hating.

Back to the engine, 12:1 CR is seriously high for NA engine. Only Skyactiv manage to do that. So we can expect that the engine will come out with Scavenging Exhaust Manifold like the one in Skyactiv.

I’m seriously interested on this engine design now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Das Auto on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Let’s hope somebody in this blog read your comment. Hope we can be like the German where engine technology is well discussed.

• sakanaction on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:15 pm

12:1 at first but with the miller cycle itll probably drop below 10:1 because of efficiency reasons ( ie engine too hot…)

• U think the average basher knows whatcha talkin about kah? They just bash cuz its P1 thats all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Jom John Balik Tidur on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:13 pm

bang balik tidur lah. Jangan bangun. Isnin boleh bangun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • lilytan on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Good effort from proton. But the GDI and TGDI are just playing catch up since many other manufacturer have already done it. Its a shame that proton doesnt want to include aluminium block into it. Proton achilles heel now is its fuel consumption, much of it cause by its higher weight compared to other manufacturer. Therefore, focusing on engine alone is not enough. To be competitive esp in euro market, the prime focus should be FC, CO2, and designing the engine and chassis towards that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • keyboard.rosak on Jan 30, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Alu block actually have minimal impact on weight. Because to achieve high specific power, you need strong combustion chamber structure. So Alu Block need to add a lot of reinforcement to deal with it. Iron block can withstand high specific power easily.
      VW 1.4 Twincharge also Iron Block.

Iron -> Alu Block weight saving is more relevant on big engines (more than 4 cyl)

• DonkeyKong on Jan 31, 2016 at 1:01 am

Aluminum block does not dictate fuel economy. If the engine block is lighter, it doesn’t mean it will be more frugal. Typically an engine doesn’t even make up 10% of the total car weight. They will need a more efficient head design that ensures a more complete airfield mix so that the single lambda sensor can detect a stoichiometric mix consistently without the mix being actually slightly richer. A good lump of low end torque would be nice so that the CVT can keep the engine spinning at low revs most of the time. Lean burn at idle would be great for stop and go traffic, complemented by auto stop-start tech. All these would certainly make a difference, unlike an aluminum block alone.

• ss427 on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Haha… what a joke. They can’t even get their existing crap engines lineup to be durable (how about not burning engine oil in your CFE huh Proton?) they want to talk about all these high tech thingy?

Please lah, learn to walk before u can fly. Right now you are barely walking. These upcoming high tech engines will be in the workshop every week ah.

If the French eg Renault engines are so troublesome despite their long time history, what makes Proton think they can be better than the French?

If they are that good they won’t be awarded kampong car mnaufacturer and still asked for protection after 31 yrs in the biz la…

And they would have at least sold ONE car in Singapore from 2014 till now la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 53
    • zimly on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:36 pm

hey ss427, French cant do it doesnt mean Malaysian oso cant do it.
      talk only with perception, not a single fact given.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • He got jelly coz his jepunis car got tarpaued by Preve Turbo

• ccy7218 on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:44 pm

The fact is that sales keep dropping, apasal?Engine and gearbox tak reliable… makan minyak, vibrate, not consistent…

• ccy7218 on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:05 am

Totally agree, however they pretend do not know… the only way is to just let the sales drop until it cannot sustained itself,if not tired advising also no use, fall into deaf ears…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Cant we be the pioneer on something? Why must we always be the one who follows?
      Sure got a very bad history with their current production car which using very old technology.
      But right now they already start the changes.

Honestly, instead of worrying the developing technology, dont u think its better to worry about why they announce about the engine soooooo early?

Honestly as a 25 year old man who are very enthusiast in car and currently looking for one. I would wait till the new engine is released. Which means no new car till 2018.
      And what if most of proton potential buyers would have the same kind of thinking as me? Wont the sales going down the drain for straight 2years? And how do they going to pay salary to the staff? If the government gonna bail them out, that means more of our tax money going to waste. Now this is the real thing we should discuss

• gaviny on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Paultan.org likes giving extensive coverage for proton with multiple articles in one go and always talking about how great proton is but when it comes to picking their best cars of the year only one mention of a proton made car.

Seems to speak volumes of the extra attention given to proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • Aaaaannnndddd in their selection, do u find any moving coffins?

• Kegagalan on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Sadly Proton still low sales no matter how much pusher done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • freedee on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Noone forces you to buy it

• ccy7218 on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:00 am

Of course sales do not improve because proton pushing the wrong thing… always see themselves par with toyota, honda,nissan whereas are actually behind 15 to 20 years, example nak buat hybrid, engine petrol pun belum pandai nak buat, nak buat turbolah, gdi lah, tsilah, last last nothing succeed…. kena beli engine honda fit dlm perdana, this way only sales boleh improve…

• PROTON ni LOW CLASS compare jenama besar buatan japan mcm TOYOTA……

ATAU…..

Malaysian (terutama yg kutuk proton kat sini) LOW IQ compare to japanese?????

Hati2 bila beri komen…jangan sampai kita sendiri tunjuk kebodohan kat orang luar…

Seluruh dunia dah tahu orang malaysia banyak ketinggalan berpuluh tahun dalam teknologi berbanding orang2 japan..

TAPI…

Janganlah buat seluruh dunia tahu yang kita kekurangan rasa nasionalisma berbanding orang2 japan..

SEBAB

Orang yang tinggi rasa nasionalisma jer yang mampu raih teknologi…orang yg takda rasa nasionalisma tak sanggup susah demi negara..lebih mengharap beli teknologi dari luar…

• optimist on Aug 14, 2016 at 10:34 pm

So true. Shameful those bashers

• Better future on Oct 07, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Yep German and Japan was Pro-Nationalist people….that why they achieve great thing…they put national interest ahead than personal….the problem with malaysia is everyone take care their personal interest than everyone good..

• Mau untong saja ke? on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Turbo for what? Why must p1 not in line with proven sushi’s model line up’s such as jazz,city & vios for 1.5cc,civic & altis 1.8,2.0cc? Y must be different than others if ur not the lead brand..P1 for all kind of cc for all kind of model & engines type.. Such a waste.Simply create a model & slot in stupid engines.. Oi P1.. i teach u here.. Saga u put in 1.3&1.5..,Supirma put in 1.5&1.8,… Preve 1.8&2.0… No need turbo ..People need a vehicle that very fuel efficiency,no matter how cheap the crude oil per barrel sunk now.. Those idiots at putrajaya wont sell u 50cent per liter lor.. Next 2-3 years the price gonna skyrocketing back to usd90-100 per barrel then 1 liter will be 2.25 -230 per liter.. Again,subsidy will be blamed.. Now even no more subsidy also they said Petronas earn like a bird shit,tax so low.. so can’t lower fuel the price.When the oil is cheap usd28-30 they don’t sell cheap fuel,still hovering 1.80-1.95.. When the oil touch usd70-90 per barrel they increase the price per liter..believe me rm2.10-2.20 per liter again.This is the time malaysian paying 1.30-1.50/liter.. Gov already save 20billion on subsidy,why blame petronas for lower tax? U got gst already ma,.. Just cut your family’s worldwide spendings.. Malaysian will be saved.
    Turbo on spendings(Bn gov) = useless benefits(proton)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • alldisc on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:37 pm

The market in Europe is quite different to those in Japan. That is why Honda city, jazz, vios and Mazda 2 all still using NA engines.

But the trend for downsized turbo engines has been going around in Europe since a decade ago.

Fiat even has 800cc 2 cylinder turbo engine in the Panda. Seat benefitted from VW turbo engines…the same goes to peugoet, Ford and BMW.

Take note with the new engine line up proton will have 4 different types of powerplant, but all sharing same bore size. Meaning the possibilities of having same piston, rings, valve and springs.

• hahaha on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:40 pm

Even your toyotaik company which you worship everyday everytime sells auris with turbo engine. Oh and that’s AFTER p1 intro CFE ok?

Haha!

• ccy7218 on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:46 pm

Turbo my foot… makan minyak dan tak reliable, proton ingat dia boleh saing BMW, hakikatnya katak di bawah tempurung, pahamlah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Ollie on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Proton is like Donald Trump. Stupid, expired, but soooo entertaining!

“Back to the continental market” HAHAHAHA JOKE of the year so far in 2016 hahahhahahahahahha

Petronas patent, petronas technology, petronas engine, petronas petrol, petronas oil, petronas petronas petronas. Adooiii Proton get a room la with Petronas
    Which one is the car company again??? Ever heard of BMW/VW buying engine from Shell? Ever heard of Renault buying engine from Total? farrnyyyy so funny la.. omg

Keep up with the jokes bro.. we are enjoying it.. at least 2017 until you are bankrupt. Also can enjoy Kambing and Aero here writing 1000-word Pulitzer prize winning essays in support of Prowrong. Ah.. good times…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • Ollie on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:32 pm

In its 40 year existence.. has Petronas ever collaborated with Proton on anything.. Damn bro.. your own Malaysian company also dowan to have anything to do with you.. have to go fell-atio with Suzuki la..VW la..Ricardo la.. hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • when losers speak on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:35 pm

That’s what losers have in their brains. They are losers and tell other to be loser too

• Ollie on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:27 pm

I’m a taxpayer. Come talk when Proton is no longer taking my money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Dont want govt/proton take your money(tax)…go to singapore or china idiot..

• Ploton on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:24 pm

I have one word for you proton. Closeshoplah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • Marketing la on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:36 pm

P1 should know long time ago to be a success car brand in term of unit sold,they can’t depend just on Malaysian market.U spent hundreds of millions for just 1 model for r&d,then sell to local/typical Malaysian.. Sigh!! Build a durable&reliable car,good engine&fuel efficiency,..nice design!! Then sell to 3rd world countries (bangla,india,indochina,africas..) then try to bring back to old britain & Australia like before.. Sell outside Malaysia then u will not complain just making profit 500 per car!!! Are u listen DRB? Build a 5 star rating car like Iriz (re-do the back bumper)+good fuel consumption engine+durable+reliable then u can enter Europe.. no more plastics all over the interior & build lower 3-4 star for 3rd world countries..How long u want to depend on Malaysian to buy P1 if we afford to choose other brands?(rich even high gov tax or buy P2,we dare to be high household debtors)

• DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:59 pm

that’s what Proton is trying to do now, with the new generation of vehicles. They know they can’t depend on the Malaysian market alone.

When Proton try to sell to Indonesia, bashers bash. When Proton inked agreements with Bangladesh, bashers bash. When Proton exported to Chile, bashers bash. But when Proton sell new models locally, bashers ask to close shop. Luckily, Proton and other local industries do not dance to the tune of these anti-government anti-Malaysia morons, otherwise the country will be worse than Zimbabwe before we know it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Naaah. At least Zimbabwe has a central Gov. I wud say if Party Hard takesover, we be more like Somalia where each party has their own fiefdom Like those states under them now

• Mr. Regret on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Dont buy proton other than wira. Mine still running good with cheap maintenance. Other model with feel like junk after 5 year.
    Please buy other than proton. They only tell you about engine only but overall material like it came from 18 century

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • 1malaysia! on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:40 pm

GDI application sudah manyak lapuk since years and years ago.

Proton baru mau pakai??? They must be living in caves, izit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • holofanboi on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:52 pm

12:1 compression ratio!??? Is that for real!?

Not bad…

• najibmacaieverywhere on Jan 30, 2016 at 5:28 am

najib’s cybertrooper is everywhere..

• Thedarkside on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:16 am

Proton is like having a drug addict in your family….you hate/angry/piss off/frustrated with them…but at same time you want them to turn good and become somebody useful to the public. So what can i say??….just kipidap…dongibab.

• Amelia on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:08 pm

I’m loving these new articles which go into details of engine technology, learning a lot from these. Please keep it up, not just for proton but for other cars too! :D

• lolpanda on Nov 25, 2016 at 9:28 am

Reading the kind of information they’re disclosing makes me wonder: If Proton is serious about exports why is their focus point on the new engines “it can produce ‘so-and-so’ horsepower/torque”.

They should really start focusing on fuel-efficiency which foreign markets are concerned about. Instead, the first thing they do is chest thump on theoretical max power outputs?

Come on…at least talk about some indicative MPG figures even if theoretical at this point, it shows your focus and direction of the new powertrain line up. Manufacturers around the world have long emphasised on economical engines with improved efficiency even at the trade off of some power.

• willow on Jan 14, 2017 at 10:24 pm

for exora. please go and touch the radiator fan relay after running for 30mins. very very hot. i means is hot. feel like will caught fire. i check all other car. it is cool….dangerous or design problem?

• tom tom on Jan 30, 2018 at 8:37 am

whats the story now about this new engine….its already 2018 bruhh