VIDEO: Proton GDI and TGDI engine announcement and press conference – watch it in full here

On Monday, Proton announced that it is developing a new engine family to replace the ageing CamPro mills that has been in use since 2004 – now, you can watch the full announcement, the first firing of the new engine with development partner Ricardo in the United Kingdom and the press conference here.

A recap on the details announced – the line-up, which will enter production by the end of 2017, will include 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder naturally-aspirated engines with variable valve timing (VVT), as well as 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre four-cylinder NA and turbocharged engines with direct-injection (GDI and TGDI). As such, there will be a total of six engine variants on offer, including:

• 1.0 litre three-cylinder VVT
  • 1.2 litre three-cylinder VVT
  • 1.3 litre four-cylinder GDI
  • 1.5 litre four-cylinder GDI
  • 1.3 litre four-cylinder TGDI (turbo)
  • 1.5 litre four-cylinder TGDI (turbo)

The engines, which have been in development since last year, are the product of a RM600 million investment into the project. Developed in collaboration with Ricardo and Lotus, the engines will feature Dual VVT, a timing chain and an integrated exhaust manifold, as well as longer service intervals. The most powerful engine, the 1.5 litre TGDI, is capable of producing up to 180 hp and 250 Nm, yet is projected to be 25% more fuel efficient than the Iriz‘s VVT engines.

At the event, CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah also revealed that the next Proton Saga will be positioned closer to the A-segment sedan market and may receive the new three-cylinder engines, while the Perdana will gain the Petronas-derived 2.0 litre NE01 engine to replace the Honda-sourced 2.0 litre and 2.4 litre engines it will get at launch. Elsewhere, chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad also hinted that Proton has no plans to produce diesel engines anytime soon.

All this and more, in the video above.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• In b4 bashers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • John Beng on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Ada aku kesah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • Kesah pulak untuk comment :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • Silat Warriors on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:42 pm

john aka DonkeyKong, still not tired ah of inciting?

• ;-)

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:05 am

Start buying house above garage shop lot when you are going to own these engines. Don’t play play with Proton quality. The car own you, not you own the car.lol

• viosfan on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Yeah meanwhile got so many p1 cars on road. Vios? Most tranformed into moving cpffin ady haha!

• Proton Workers vs British Workers (Ricardo) on Jan 20, 2016 at 6:05 pm

See below and you will know why Proton and their partnership with British Ricardo will fail. We have given enough support to Proton for 30 years now.

Every family has at least bought a Proton in their life to support Proton.
          We supported the company so much from 1985. Now it is doing badly because their workers are MALAS.

British workers :

“We must work hard. Strive for excellence. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other British car plants. We must put Jaguar and Rolls Royce to shame”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bezz lah dapat kongkek dia. Syiok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? apa lah ricardo ni”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 44
          • British workers:
            Hard work (in the past), build up brand image long time, old world prestige, but in the end went bankrupt one by one and kena bought by ex-colony (India & Malaysia) & ex-enemies (German & China). All their founders are spinning in their graves

Malaysia workers:
            Take it easy, have relaxing life. Then kena heart attack at 60 due to too much nasi lemak. Since death due to ilness, SOCSO payout to famili. Waifu use money start small business. Daughter go uni, while son becum mekanik or do business with mader.

So which is better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Er? You don’t have any idea about British car making history?! Workers were on strike much more than they were actually working, and when they did, quality was TERRIBLE. Cars literally started falling apart the day they left the dealership. That’s why the Japanese could rise to dominance with their crappy little cars… which at least wouldn’t fall apart. That’s why the British car industry died.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:47 am

Anyway, workmanship by British workers was so bad it makes Proton look very, very high quality. It even would make a Tata Nano look high quality.

“Yes, the unions didn’t help. In the 1970s build quality was so bad on some BL products that their hapless first owners (and the poor dealers) often had to effectively rebuild them from the ground up.”
            http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-2047860/British-car-industry-Why-none.html

Or from the Time Magazine:
            “”The shape of things to come” quickly became the shape that came and went, in a great cloud of “good riddance.” The doorstop-shaped TR7, and its rare V8-powered sibling TR8, were the last Triumphs sold in America and among the last the company made before it folded its tents in 1984. The trouble was not necessarily the engineering, or even the peculiar design, which looked fit to split firewood. It was that the cars were so horribly made. The thing had more short-circuits than a mixing board with a bong spilled on it. The carburetors had to be constantly romanced to stay in balance. Timing chains snapped. Oil and water pumps refused to pump, only suck. The sunroof leaked and the concealable headlights refused to open their peepers. One owner reports that the rear axle fell out. How does that happen? It was as if British Leyland’s workers were trying to sabotage the country’s balance of trade.”

Did you have to rebuild your Proton from the ground up once it left factory, to get it working? Nope. It worked. And quite possibly still does. Things may rattle here and there, but mostly the cars are pretty solid. They still work, much more than can be said about cars made in the UK (of course now they are ok, being ran by the Japanese and other foreigners).

Heck, there are actually books about how terrible the quality and workmanship of British cars was.

• Proton Ada Tipu Lagi Kah? on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Hopefully Proton did not cheat in their figures. If they can cheat in the ANCAP rating recently and buat tak tahu, Proton is capable of massaging the output figures of their engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Dun think P1 cheated in ANCAP otherwise those Aussies wud detect and pull back 5 star rating. Then again, if Germans can cheat in emission and jepunis can cheat in their killer airbag, anything can happen eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • superman on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:29 am

DRB cheated for sure. all these figures are made up to get money for their dead companies…. typical..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • loler on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:39 pm

You must be underpowered Japs car owner. Go back to your snail car lor. Now turbo era ady.Lol

• OMG…New engine – new problem….no ending…puihhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 55
      • OMG…Currently new models also less problems, so coming soon models no problem right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • dinoono on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Then stick to your dino aged engine and gearbox in Vios

• kipid on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:52 pm

for a company who sell around 100 000 car last year. how can you justify investing RM60000 000 to develop you own engine. how you going to sell car with those engine with you current reputation. you should buy engine from Toyota or nissan, people trust those brand and its more cost effective

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
      • Songlap Songlap Proton on Jan 20, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Rm600 was spent on paper. Follow BN style, only RM300 million went for the development. The other RM300 million sure got songlap. That is the way Malaysia works.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • George Abdul on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Comparing with the latest automotive engine should be more useful for current technology and market. If Proton still using the current Campro engine as comparison then Proton are going no where!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • They compare with dinosar vios engine and P2 moving backwards non-DVVT engine, these are most popular engine on road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • yahya on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Dulu macai ludah timing chain teknologi kuno kononnya.

Sekarang macai sendiri puja puji pakai timing chain. Jilat ludah sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • Terpulang pada engine designer. Takde betul takde salah. 2015 Engine Terbaik di Dunia pun pakai timing belt. Engine zaman dinosar purba vios pernah menang apa-apa anugerah tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:59 pm

That is malaysian ego thinking. Who cares win award or not? What is important is sales numbers. Win this win that if not selling well is no point. Do business (or anything for that matter) with ego in mind, bound to fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • So u saying since axia sells more than all lexus models combined, so lexus is a piece of sh*t right?

• lexusbiscuit on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:41 pm

YEs, Lexus is a pice of s**t. It’s a glorified Toyota, nothing special.

• George Abdul on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:16 pm

True that will be nice too, then Lousy UMW will be challenge to upgrade new engine… This’s Rakyat were looking forward the past 10 years !

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Honda also uses non DVVT SOHC engine. Power and FC match and beat competitors…. even CRZ is SOHC nonVVT..

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jan 21, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Honda uses i-VTEC la…different manufacturers, different name la. Whether SOHC or DOHC is another matter…

• shawal on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:05 pm

1.5 TGDI + perdana …..spec it well and price it right….

android auto + 6 speakers + subwoofer tq tq

• carlzen on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:06 pm

good job proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • What is new? They announced 5 new Proton models back then in Auto Show. Then 5 new Lotus models. Islamic car, ASEAN car, Indonesian national car, APX …. dan lain lain lagi.
    Where are those models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • abdullah on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Nothing special. Other manufacturers have produce so
    many engines of all kinds. Almost every year they introduce new series of engines.
    So for Proton to produce a new series of engines after more than fifteen years is very poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Didn’t see perodua done anything yet. Boom!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • abg tomyam on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:51 pm

perodua just copy cat.. no need to produce new engine…..

• fofessor gugle on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:32 pm

which company introduce new engine every year? talk cock only
      engine families last 20 years, some engine families go on for three decades lah wey

but all you ggooglists don’t know because talk cock only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • InsaneClown on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Which car manufacturer produces a new series of engines every year? Toyota, Honda, BMW, Merc & etc uses their existing engines with minor/major improvements on their new models. Viewing that engine development or R&D is one of the most expensive investment as well as time consuming in manufacturing a car, it will be crazy to introduce a new engine on every new model that is launched. Get your facts right before commenting anything.

PS : Sometimes its better to shut up than talking nonsense which will make you look stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • olio benzina on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Ada aja reporter asking about politics instead of subject matter at hand. Tanyalah whether will these engines be offered to Suzuki as part of their collaboration to get some returns on development costs.

• Nabei on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:59 pm

My 15 year old nissan sentra engine still as as efficient like new

• Ollie on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Madey the polotician running a car company. Want to export to Europe but can’t even get sales in Indonesia. Lose RM500 mil a year, losing market share in your own country.

Load of laughs – Proton.

Menuju Wawasan 2017: Patriotic Malaysians look forward to the bankruptcy of Proton by Oct 2017!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • rosdi on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Why not leverage on Suzuki engines?? Why spend millions developing this? I thought Proton has access to Suzuki engines now just like Perodua has access to Daihatsu’s?

• alldisc on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:30 pm

U want to sell only petrol cars in UK or Europe and hope to sell a lot? Know your audience Proton!! Huge percentage of cars sold in UK are turbo diesel.

• kendrix lamazz on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:34 pm

a REAL car company would have their own engine, even if it’s just one or two engines,

Maybe Proton can offer the engines to Suzuki, in return for platforms,
    exchange better not just take, don’t you think?

Sampai bila nak pakai semua IP orang lain, semua teknologi orang lain?

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:00 pm

That is same as asking Americans to make nasi lemak and we import it to consume.

• abg tomyam on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:54 pm

good news from proton so far…

• idrivehonda on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:57 pm

why anyone want to drive proton with potong engine simply baffles me….they al must be from low IQ and blink class of people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Two scenarios:

1. By end 2017. GDI and TGFI probably obsolete.
    2. Proton bankrupt and closed shop before that said date.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • movingcoffin on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:07 pm

3.You prolly dead in moving coffin jepunis and celup car.

• uhwcefh qchqq34fc 423aQUGBCQ5X on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:28 pm

proton patut kalahkan ecoboost….1.5 with 181 hp

• lu fikir la sendiri on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:17 pm

What?? 2017?? Proton..this is too late.

Perodua is more advance from proton on engine development because of they already team-up with toyota. That is why they do not have any engine problem.

I like the Proton design…but after test drive..i do not feel comfortable with gear and engine sound. Please look and learn from Korean Car… the are more improve on design and also engine…

• Battu on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:47 am

perodua so called advance engine, like the one in axia? the one who goes backward from viva, removing the DVVT?
      haha

• Petronas engine has been there for a while right? The 2 companies should have collaborated sooner

• Ollie on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:55 am

Overall, Proton is paying Ricardo for engines. That’s it. Nothing more nothing less. Proton engineers are sent there to makan angin, tgk LONDON, da tu jer. Mkn stik sikit, da naik kapal balik kampung, tu je.

1. Indonesia luxury tax for 1.5l above. So these engines are for Indonesia. WOW WHAT AN IMPORTANT MARKET! Show the market research that shows Indo is this important to Proton.

2. Euro emission standards compliance. What market research shows more than 2 Europeans are wanting to buy a Proton??

3. “Same series of engines – we chopped off one block to make it 3 engines” defk does this mean???
    Most efficient cylinder capacity has been shown through research, WITHOUT NEEDING RM600mil!!! RE: Car & Driver: Why 0.5-Liter Cylinders Will Soon Dominate Automotive-Engine Design : January 27, 2015; RE: Goauto Australia: Car-makers closing in on the most efficient engine, Mar 2015.

4. TPPA at signing stage: We have not completed our impact study. What are you, stupid?

5. Harith talking about modular development, range rationalisation. So basically he’s listening to the haters/bashers/anti-Proton guys. At least better than low-lifes Kambing and Semi-Aero.

6. Yes, Proton’s model range and production capacity doesn’t need 6 engines. Nuff’ said.

7. Madey: petrol price down to US$10. Economic conditions gonna be tough. Best time to spend RM600mil on engines!!! “When you have less money, live within means” So RM600mil is a joke or April Fools or what?

8. Madey talking about diesel scandal. What about the 20 year power window scandal? WAA MADEY pandai.. talking about petrol engine around until forever. Ni market research or bomoh research?

listed down the nonsense. ball is in your court blind Protonites.

Go bankrupt by 2017 and bye-bye Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Turbo on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Wooaahh …someone so butthurt with Proton producing new engines. People read your comment and feel your jelly L0L.

• IrizX on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:50 am

That means only 2018 Potong cars will get new engine…and probably takes 3 years to fix all problems…meaning 2021 only safe to buy Potong cars with tested new engines.

Please come back in 2021. Then we talk.

• sleepnowork on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Go to sleep while many have experience spectacular handling plus lowish torquey turbo engine in p1 cars ady.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:58 am

The event organisers failed to properly test the live stream for lag and problems. When the engine was started, I couldn’t tell anything until the U.K. team started clapping. I know everyone on the Malaysian side was thinking “Did something go wrong ? Why is it not starting ?” And they should have provided mics to every journalist, so that their questions could be properly heard by the Proton team. At the very least, have more assistants walk around and provide mics if and when needed. So many of the questions were ‘sidelined’ because Dr. M and Datuk Harith couldn’t hear what the press were asking. Small things like this make a BIG difference.

Also, some of the press members were useless. ASK RELEVANT, SPECIFIC QUESTIONS AND SPEAK CLEARLY. Also, do your homework before coming, it felt as though nobody knew what to ask. I would have asked SO MANY QUESTIONS, they would have kicked me out halfway through… I’m kidding, of course. But you get the idea… also, why not have a ‘live Q&A session’ too ? Members of the public can direct their questions to the paultan.org team, and then relayed to the Chair members. Of course, these questions must be filtered… because 95% of it will probably be pointless hate speech, and not constructive criticism or genuine curiosity. This is just my suggestion to the paultan.org team, next time an event as big as this happens.

Otherwise, I think the whole event was well executed and professionally presented. I appreciate how the team at Proton, especially En. Rashid Musa could be humorous and cheerful despite the serious note of the event. Malaysia Boleh.