GALLERY: Jeep Grand Cherokee Sport Edition debuts – special package priced at RM32k until end-October

jeep-grand-cherokee-special-edition-1

Jeep Malaysia revealed its latest special edition model at Publika last weekend, as part of the 2016 Kuala Lumpur Fashion Week. The Jeep Grand Cherokee Sport Edition is the fourth such model, and as usual adds a few key bits on top of the standard GC – these items, worth RM41,200, can now be had for a discounted price of RM32,000 until the end of October.

Most noticeable is the satin white wrap with black racing stripes – coming from the United States, it is offered with a one-year warranty against discolouration and a three-year warranty on workmanship. Meanwhile, there are red grilles, fog light surrounds and badges, as well as 20-inch Mopar alloy wheels shod with Pirelli Scorpion STR tyres.

That price is on top of the cost of the standard Grand Cherokee Limited, priced at RM448,889 – kit includes bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, keyless entry and start, leather upholstery, power-adjustable front seats and steering wheel, a panoramic moonroof, a Uconnect navigation system with an 8.4 inch touchscreen, a reverse camera and a nine-speaker Alpine premium sound system.

Power comes from a 3.6 litre Pentastar VVT V6, producing 284 hp at 6,350 rpm and 347 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm. All that goes through a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission and a Quadra-II full-time four-wheel drive system.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wow sama harga Saga & Bezza

• x5 plug-in

• Sure or not on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Road tax rm4xxx ribu……. Pikirkanlah . But if you really jeep fanboy go ahead. I drive fairlady. So my road tax rm4xxx . N.A engine v6 punya feel tak sama 4pot. 7 years I use , gives a smile on my face every time I Tekan. Gomen should lower road tax in accordance to car value not cc.

• Abduls on Sep 27, 2016 at 1:30 am

Wah so easy to satisfy. V6 Na punya fair lady pun give u smile. Gomen should lower road tax according to value but also increase it based on age. Air pollution euro compliance. Peace

• Mana 30% reduction???? on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:53 pm

I’ll definitely buy this American made “carbage” for RM32K but never for RM320K which is probably it’s actual price in this country where cars are overpriced.

• Gudluck waiting for spare parts that take months to arrive. I prefer Landrover Disco, at least it has presence here with better service

• FIST (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:02 pm

from the rear shot, i thought it was a Mini Clubman

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:43 pm

this is pure rice

• Majid on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:45 pm

This brand is destined to fail in Malaysia because it is just too expensive, not only the grand cherokee but all models are overpriced. Who on earth would buy this over an X5?

The grand cherokee is a reasonably good product and would be an enticing choice if it was priced around RM280-300k. But too bad their pricing strategy is too insane. So no thanks to jeep!

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 26, 2016 at 4:10 pm

DRB hicom is lucky to have some other car brands in its company – proton & honda. and audi (used to be big revenue maker)

otherwise, this Jeep brand along with Mahindra and Modenas are huge burden for DRB. lucky too since DRB is not handling Chevrolet cars anymore after its franchise was revoked by GM and handed over to Naza

• nabill (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Ok guys, try not to laugh….!

• orang biasa on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:02 pm

some people happy to grab it. Like me, orang biasa, only can grab car CKD.

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:47 pm

The car is already beautiful, why spoil it? WTF were the dealer thinking?

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Sep 26, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Ah beng & kim-moh boy surely love this ride…..

• Aiya.. should have waited.. Shouldn’t have bought my bezza.. “sarcasm intended” RM32k.. LOL