GALLERY: Jeep Wrangler Merdeka Edition package now available – RM39,999 while stocks last

Jeep_Wrangler_Merdeka_Ext-2

As the original Willys Jeep celebrates its 75th anniversary, the Merdeka Edition package is now available In time for the celebrations of Malaysia’s own independence day for the Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport at a special price of RM39,999, discounted from its usual price of RM74,500.

The package consists of a spare wheel cover, tail light guards, a 50-inch single-row LED light bar, a set of 17-inch Mopar rims with 275/70/17 Cooper tyres and side steps. Jeep Malaysia states that the Merdeka Edition package is applicable for new purchases of the Wrangler Sport only, and the promotion lasts throughout August 2016 or while stocks last.

The Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport, upon which the package is demonstrated here, is priced at RM288,889, and like all current Wranglers, is powered by a 3.6 litre Pentastar VVT V6 that sends 284 hp at 6,350 rpm and 347 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm to all four wheels through a five-speed auto.

Read more about the Jeep Wrangler range, here.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• overpriced P.O.S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:42 am

Jeep is a failure. Cause they like to hantam Malaysians. Their other Jeep, US sell for US$30k, here they sell RM500k. No logic.

that is why you never see a single new Jeep on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Oliver Queen on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:53 am

This jeep looks like a joke next to my merc G500 lol

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 03, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Jeeps in Malaysia are expensise because of the high cc engines.. .about 300k for 3.6cc…they should bring in 2 liter engine and sell at 150k…then more people will buy….

• Can you tell the difference between 3.6l and 3.6cc?

Also, stupid clickbait article.

• Reading the headlines I thought I could get a Jeep for 40k! Dammit…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 1
    • armandd on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:51 am

Ya me too. Almost wanna share it on FB. Luckily I read the article again because it’s too good to be true!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:57 am

Has anyone wondered why we have not seen a single Jeep on the road? Now 3 years now already launched.

Somemore the old Cherokee also, cannot last. Don’t see it around. 13 years also cannot last and condemn already

• thepolygonal on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:20 am

Yup… Was thinking about the same thing before I read the whole thing clearly….

• applegreen on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:30 am

damn…i thought this jeep RM39k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • old horse on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:39 am

can stacked a P1/P2 on top of it as a package..so when Jeep failed and dispatch smaller car out…:)

• sohai on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:43 am

haha… funny post.
    This makes the outgoing Land Rover Defender feels distinctly good value.

Maybe Rm40k is worth paying if it is our 100th year Merdeka celebration.

• Damond on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:10 am

Price-tag in America USD 31,000 x 4.1 = RM 127,100.
    Malaysian buyer need to pay extra RM 160K ++ and still
    call SPECIAL PRICE, my foot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Thought the Jeep was 40k

• pokmang on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:17 am

if the headline truly shows the jeep price rm39k, that’s mean u are already dead

• People don’t buy Jeep to show off their bank balance. So whoever buys this, I will look down on your judgement and your intelligence!

• Bernard on Aug 03, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Misleading title!

Even if 40k, still too expensive.

• UMW TOYOYA on Aug 03, 2016 at 12:26 pm

i tot any light that above the headlamp is illegal and summon by JPJ

• PT, you can’t get more misleading than this…

• john gonggok on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Jeep should open kilang in thailand …later can declare commercial vehicle and import to Msia like other pickups. Like that baru tak kena tax and car can sell very well.

• FoundThisUseful on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:34 pm

I’ve owned a Jeep and a Dodge and I’ll NEVER own one again. In my opinion, Chrysler Group DOESN’T MAKE RELIABLE cars period.

• Kena troll by P.T. gg

• This doesn’t scream patriotism, it looks more like a torn flag than a ‘hidden flag’.
    And why Jeep, why not P1/P2 doing something similar.

• Cikgu Maryam Puteh on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Can we have a special “1MDB version” please?

or at least

“AhJib Edition”

• Vince on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:21 am

RM39k to put a Malaysia flag?? Lol. Wth..