Jeep Wrangler launched in Malaysia: Unlimited Sport RM289k, Unlimited Sahara RM329k, Rubicon RM339k

WranglerUnlimitedSport_Ext_10

And finally, the grand-daddy Jeep comes to town. The current-gen Jeep Wrangler has been around in world markets since 2007, but today it’s a case of better late than never, as the JK officially launches in Malaysia in Unlimited Sport, Unlimited Sahara and Rubicon variants.

With exposed rivets, door hinges and bonnet clasps, along with protruding bumpers and wheel arches, the rugged, go-anywhere vehicles are instantly recognisable. The Unlimited variants are five-door, 2,947 mm wheelbase vehicles. They come with Command-Trac 4WD, a Dana 44 heavy-duty rear axle, a Dana front axle and a 3.21 axle ratio.

The differentiation is in the trim levels – Sport is the first rung, giving you 16-inch slot-spoke steel wheels and 245/75 tyres, a black removable three-piece hard top (called the Freedom Top), black fender flares, a Uconnect 130 radio with CD, MP3 and six speakers (including a subwoofer in the boot) and fabric upholstery.

Moving up to the Sahara nets you side steps, 18-inch Sparkle Silver wheels wrapped in 255/70 rubber, body-coloured fender flares and Freedom Top, a 6.5-inch Uconnect touch-screen with DVD, Alpine Premium sound piped through nine speakers, plus ‘Sahara’-embroidered leather upholstery.

The range-topping Wrangler is the Rubicon, which is offered here in a sole three-door, 2,268 mm wheelbase form. It gets Tru-Lok electronically-locking front and rear differentials, Rock-Trac 4WD, Dana 44 heavy-duty front and rear axles, a front sway bar disconnect system, heavy-duty suspension and a 4.1 axle ratio.

Riding on 17-inch aluminium grey wheels shod in 245/75 rubber, the Rubicon also has the Sahara’s touch-screen, Alpine Premium sound system and nine speakers. It also gets ‘Rubicon’-embroidered leather upholstery.

All Wranglers get a 3.6 litre Pentastar VVT V6 that sends 284 hp at 6,350 rpm and 347 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm to all four wheels through a five-speed auto. Steering is of the power-assisted recirculating ball type.

Standard across the range are a leather-wrapped steering wheel, auto single-zone air-con, ESC, Hill Start Assist and Electronic Roll Mitigation. The Unlimited Sport gets two airbags; the Unlimited Sahara and Rubicon have four.

Fully-imported (CBU) from the US, the Jeep Wrangler is priced at RM288,889 for the Unlimited Sport, RM328,889 for the Unlimited Safari and RM338,889 for the Rubicon. All prices are OTR without insurance, and they include a five-year/150,000 km warranty. See full specifications on CarBase.my.

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon (3-door)

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• VWfanboi on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:41 am

a 300k car comes with 2 airbags …… best car in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Might as well buy BMW on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:29 pm

If I have RM300k to spend, I might as well buy a BMW X3. Looks better all around, great driving dynamics and better badge image!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • MrKapish on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:55 am

Nice to have but just over priced….

• Albert King on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

Where the hell the price coming from?

• Legend (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:05 am

what the hell priced at over 300k but only comes with 2 airbags…
    Oh my…i can get the top spec BMW at even less than that price with full of safety and techology equipment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:26 am

REminds me of Jurassic park

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:38 am

289k? you have got to be JK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Porsche guy on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:43 am

Money cant buy CLASS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • flipper2uman (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:49 am

At these prices, I do not think I will do my rendition of a local “One Car Too Far”. Maybe, “One Price Too High” LOL

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Really Jeep? REALLY?

Even the Defender is half the price, yes it has no airbags and ABS, but the Wrangler is not that safe either.

As an off road machine, it would be a Defender for me.

• Roger Tan on Nov 28, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Sometimes I do really wonder, at these prices, why would they even bother?

• Qingli on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:19 pm

It looks cool. It will make you feel like travelling back in time. I like it but I think it should not cost more than 28K.

• MrKapish on Nov 28, 2014 at 1:59 pm

They should consider to bring in the UK Specs which has the 2.8 CRD, once the diesel is Euro4 compliant. Road tax is about half of 3.6 petrol.

• Jimmy on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Their safety consciousness is at primary-one pupil’s level.
    Murid-murid darjah satu sekolah rendah.

• Paul Si on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Eh? Suddenly Malaysian motorists are all so safety-conscious! Or is the airbag tally just the latest status symbol?
    The Rubicon sounds nice, pity you have to donate one to the Gomen before you can keep one for yourself.

• Even 100k is way too expensive! How are they going sell in Malaysia at such ridiculous pricing? Lol

• kelvin on Nov 28, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Even 100k is way too expensive. How they gonna even one of the wranglers with such ridiculous pricing? Lol lol

• mada2 on Nov 29, 2014 at 1:31 am

finally national geographic is in Malaysia, probably Malaysia too many stuff to discovery channel to cover already

• alexander hardin on Nov 29, 2014 at 7:54 am

Ladies i have seen this jeep in Canada . it is way cheaper over there even if you do the conversion . The price is high because of dealer inflated price and over taxing and it is American made quality. My daughter bought one and loves it in Canada . GST kills the mood to buy one . This type of vehicle is only worth using in Sarawak not in West Malaysia. Our roads here is very badly built and needed to be reconstructed . This jeep is the answer but the high price is a deterrent to a new buyer who wants one .

• Abbas Saad on Nov 29, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Seriously, who would fork out RM300k for this piece of junk???

A Land Rover Defender which retails for half the price is already considered overpriced by many buyers in our local market.

• Abbas Saad on Nov 29, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Just by looking at the wheels you can tell this car does not justify such high prices

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 30, 2014 at 10:44 am

Hmmmm in US this car is cheap but here it was expensive!!

• Samad Jain on Dec 21, 2014 at 7:40 am

typo ka?

is the price tag in rupiah?

• Sammy on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Since when Jeep has become a luxury car brand?
    Start pricing 300k for a car?
    3.6 litle engine who is going to buy it here?
    This car will be rarer then the Rolls Royce Ghost on Malaysian road.

• In States range of price is from USD23K – USD38K. Convert it into RM 80K-133K. How come increased more than 100%.

• I vaguely wondered if they sold Jeeps here, so searched and found this article – and what a joke it is!

You can buy a perfectly nice house for 300K, or a Ford Ranger, a nice boat, trailer and a dirt bike, with change for some fishing rods. That price is not just too high, it’s plain stupid.

• FoundThisUseful on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:30 pm

I’ve owned a Jeep and a Dodge in the US and l’ll NEVER own one again. In my opinion, Chrysler Group DOESN’T MAKE RELIABLE cars at all period.