Renault-Nissan Alliance has “big” plans for Mitsubishi

nissan carlos ghosn

The Nissan-Renault Alliance will announce big plans for Mitsubishi, including in the United States, once legal and government authorities approve the US$2.2 billion (RM9,118,670,000) acquisition of a 34% ownership stake in Mitsubishi by year end, Automotive News reports.

“This is not a deal where we say, ‘OK, we made the deal, now let’s think what we can do together,” said Renault-Nissan CEO Carlos Ghosn. “No. The day we announce the deal, we’re going to tell you exactly what we’re going to do together. And it’s massive. It’s massive between Mitsubishi and Nissan. And also, it may be very significant between Renault and Mitsubishi.”

He added that plans have not been worked out specifically for how the three carmakers will work together in the US, but he said it will be something that goes beyond vehicle-sharing deals like how Mitsubishi supplies Nissan with small cars for Japan.

Ghosn intends to make Mitsubishi part of the Nissan-Renault Alliance, which has been linked in purchasing, management, vehicle development and research for over 17 years. “Mitsubishi in this case will join the Alliance. The Alliance is about developing synergy. We know that there are a lot of synergies with Mitsubishi and strategically we have a lot of connection,” he said.

In April, Mitsubishi admitted to manipulating fuel economy tests on certain vehicles it sold, resulting in the resignation of president Tetsuro Aikawa. The crisis eventually lead to Nissan swooping in to purchase a 34% stake in the company.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• citizen on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:01 pm

and DRB-HICOM has absolutely NO plans for Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Aiseh, Renault Nissan Alliance should buy out Proton lah. This company produces cars that are BETTER quality than Volvo and BMW. Malaysian Ministers have CONFIRMED it. Proton quality and handling BETTER than BMW and Volvo

Renault Nissan Alliance is making a big mistake wasting money on Mitsubishi. Buy Proton!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:27 pm

The 1.5bil soft loan was part of the plan; now they’re eyeing for the bailout and sale of Proton Lotus

• Forcing it to make only kei cars and forever burying EVO, GTO, & FTO legacies is called a PLAN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Miv3c on Oct 10, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Proton X nk join ker? Huhuhu..

• Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 4:00 pm

I say Nissan is smart in swooping in to purchase a 34% stake in MMC. With Synergy as their main reason to cooperate, the Alliance can saved millions in sharing components & cost of R & D.

Since they are already vehicle-sharing deals like how Mitsubishi supplies Nissan with small cars for Japan, it is easier to cooperate/share a common business.

• Guess who was it that leaked the info, which caused the scandal, which dropped their competitor stocks, which enabled them to buy over their competitor at rock bottom prices?

And here we say them jepunis overlords can never go wrong and fair to all, unlike P1.

• Mikey on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:10 am

John, since when did Jepunis claim they are perfect ! As a matter of fact, no 1 is perfect including U. I betcha U are driving a clone Jepunis & that makes U a HYPOCRITE.

• Jonn Dol on Oct 10, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Question now is, will Renault-Nissan allow internal rivalry in terms of product offerings with Mitsubishi? It will be a big pity if they don’t. Mitsu fans out there have been patiently waiting for the New Lancer, Galant and Colt replacement models after years of Mitsu SUVs/Pick-ups.Group synergies should allow Nissan & Renault to share platforms & components with Mitsu for the development those new Mitsu models.

• arowana on Oct 10, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Ghosn is a genius in the automotive world.. he knows what he’s doing..

• Silthice on Oct 10, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Proton should be next target if they want conquer Asia Pacific region.

• megan musang on Oct 11, 2016 at 12:48 am

Nissan Mitsubishi alliance similar to Peugeot Citroen alliance?

• tubescreamer on Oct 11, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Hey you might never know, Nissan might actually share their Z car platform for Mitsubishi to re-introduce a modern GTO flagship, and maybe make Mitsu re-focus on motor-sports heritage in both 4X4 and cars (Dakar rally & WRC)
    continuation of the Evolution model perhaps?
    (while Nissan can focus on GT and LeMans racing)