Proton Saga bookings reach 6,000 units, 1,000 delivered; Persona hits 15,000 units, 4,500 delivered

protonsaga_bm_premium_ext-3

During a press conference at the ongoing Proton Saga media test drive, we got a little update on the company’s sales performance for its recent model introductions.

Starting with the car we were invited to sample, the most affordable Proton (launched less than three weeks ago) has managed to notch up 6,000 bookings, with 1,000 units registered as of today, according to Rohime Shafie, CEO of Proton Edar.

As for the Saga’s larger sibling, the Persona, which was launched back in August has now managed to record over 15,000 bookings, with 4,500 units already in the hands of owners.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-3

The national carmaker had revealed at the launch of both models that the monthly sales target for the Persona is 3,000 to 4,000 units per month, whereas for the newly-introduced Saga, it is 5,000 units per month. The latest figures provided here show that Proton is on track to hit its targets.

Shafie explained that the big difference between bookings and deliveries is due to the difference in the time it takes for car buyers to secure financing.

He noted that those looking to purchase a Saga were required to submit more documents, hence a longer time needed before their loans are approved. On the other hand, the Persona, which occupies a higher segment (B), required a shorter approval time due to its different customer base.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments highlight a generally positive reception toward Proton’s sales growth for Saga and Persona, with many expressing hope that recent improvements in engine tuning and CVT transmission will boost reliability and drivability. Several commenters praise Proton’s efforts to enhance technology, such as GDI and TGDI engines, and appreciate the increasing quality of Proton’s offerings, often contrasting them with Perodua’s sales. While some skeptics question official figures, the majority believe Proton is making progress and may recover lost market share. Criticism mainly focuses on past issues like engine noise and design, but overall, there is optimism that Proton’s new models and upgrades will continue to improve sales and public perception. Some comments also emphasize the importance of continuous quality improvement and after-sales service.

• Afdlin on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Tahniah ! Dimana ada kemahuan, di situ ada Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 21
    • Operation Manager on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:36 am

How is the SIZE comparison of b-segment Persona over Saga, and also others b-segment like City Vios Almera Vento …???

• Ushar on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:27 am

AFAIK Both saga and persona are among the biggest in size on their respective segment. Can check size comparison table at paultan.

• Salam Sejahtera on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:43 am

why u ask him? go do your own review about this car la lazy boy

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:37 am

the big question here is how many orders from the Government? It is the same story again as the Government is using our money to buy the Protons up.

Government departments and agencies and ministries alone order berpuluh puluh ribu units per year.

So can Proton reveal to us how many private buyers ordered this car?

Every agency and ministry has ordered thousands so far. From Bomba, PDRM, KDRM, PNB, EPF, TLDM, TUDM Tentera etc etc etc to many ministries, hospitals, Education Ministry etc etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 52
        • Nothing wrong with gomen buying proton for gov departments. It’s better than buying imported cars. 1st you avoid RM flowing outside the country, 2nd gomen help the local car industry.

C’mon, even US gomen buy US made car and Korean gomen buy korean car and german gomen buy german car, french gomen buy french car..

So what’s the problem. Why are Malaysian so self hating?? bila nak maju macam ni? asyik nak tabur pasir dalam periuk nasi orang

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
        • Salam Sejahtera typo? on Oct 18, 2016 at 4:45 pm

*u make me laugh so hard bro :)

• Anjing kunta on Oct 18, 2016 at 4:48 pm

The same post now posted using different name. Boring.

• Ken Chan on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:32 pm

One thing for sure, your Proton likely to be a taxi soon.

• Ms Check Pick on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:34 am

Soon Ertiga will come out.Time for Proton get rid of satria,suprimaS and inspira in their production lines..Then hurry for new model Exora with the new bigger engine.Focus more on bread and butter model,exports to developing countries not euro or Australia..Too many models with a limited resources can’t sustain long term business.Learn from the past not spending hell like 1.5B is your free money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • Fly High on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:00 pm

liking your idea. I think Proton management and government special task force already look at this option. But I wonder what happened to the factory that suppose to open at Bangladesh? Monkey talk eh??

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Sincerely, I want you my friend to be the boss of Proton.

• Missing kunta thumb up own post on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:18 am

Not bad the result. See improvement finally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rr on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:13 am

Bad RV.. Campro & CVT bising Punch again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
      • makko on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Persona single VVT FC is near Dual VVTi Vios, go figure

• Punch CVT more response than toyota CVT, yo!

• Salam Sejahtera on Oct 18, 2016 at 5:08 pm

yeahhhhhh sad basher…from 2014 and until now, its been 2 years same lorr play important role in this paultan website :) and from 2014, he is only talk about RV, Campro & CVT bising punch HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA what a sad :( only that u can do same lorr? no other point? :( k’mon same lorr :( dont make me sad , you wanna make me cry cuz only talk about that..same lorr? i can imagine if you tidur d larut malam, mesti you cakap kuat2 “Bad RV.. Campro & CVT bising Punch again!” (beginilah kalau same Lorr mengigau kot) …but, Thanks to him, because of him, proton campro engine and the CVT Punch become much better and better, became more smoother, more refined, and doesn’t make loud sound again :)..THANKS SAME LORR..guys, am i only realized that proton engineer are great! ? they tuned their Punch CVT until the gearbox are acting like torque converter CVT ! the saga&persona owner may be think that his/her proton already using better technology gearbox, but the fact is, the owner actually doesn’t realize that their car actually still using Punct cvt gearbox..GOOD JOB PROTON ENGINEER! you become better and better..and 2018, will be a good year for proton..GDI & TGDI engine + torque converter cvt + Euro 6 ! Same Lorr, what you gonna do? Please make a new strategy !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rr on Oct 19, 2016 at 7:53 am

The big problem from proton is Campro & CVT bising Punch. From 2014 until now, Proton still give us a junk car. A car with Campro VVT & CVT bising clutch Punch!

Hope next year we will see the GDI & Torque converter CVT! If Proton have profit sale Saga & Persona then!

Buy Toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • OMG…ugly car also can sell well here provided the pricing was CHEAP…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • Albert on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Afdlin
      Tahniah!!!
      Dimana ada KEMALUAN,di situ ada PROTONG.
      Tak malu.After asking rm 1.5 Billion,will ask again another rm 1.0 Billion to pay royalties to Suzuki,Honda besides development cost of persona and saga.
      Why?
      This year ending 31 Dec,protoong will roughly sell 75-80,000 units…another drop of 25 percent compared to 2015 sales.
      So,another massive loss of at least Rm o.5 Billion.
      Tell us.Mr.Kenali…when is the bleeding going to stop(not forgetting stepson Lotus)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
      • Eyesore on Oct 18, 2016 at 4:39 pm

How to bleed when PROTON haven’t even seen the promised 1.5 billion loan lmao!!

Only Najib’s saliva squirting all over Proton, while the money is nowhere to be seen… lol…

• The final tranche of the 1.5B loan will be given once they have signed the foreign partnership.

• Okays okays! I admits! These 2 r eating big chunks into my Biza sales. The excitement is gone and more r cancelling their queue on the waiting list. Nowadays I have to use my minuscule komisen to jump ahead of others just to keep my sales. There! R u happy now, P1?!

Dagnamit! Now wheres that P1 job vacancy form?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 14
    • tokmoh. on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:51 am

Persona > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • azrai on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:35 am

Biza sales not only eaten by P1, but in the other hand Biza also ate Alza, Myvi and Axia sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • This is one fine example of Proton syok sendiri.

Remember when Proton sales overtook Perodua for 3 months because of Fukushima incident? Proton siap letak banner at their office bragging that they recaptured the number 1 position ….. for that 3 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 52
      • Salam Sejahtera on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:55 am

for your information, you is the most syok sendiri here, dont want accept the truth, and make syok sendiri story just want to make yourself more happy..whatever u trying to say, u think proton will care? hahahaha nope, proton dont have enogh time to read your comment(what a syok sendiri, so sad), because they wanna focus and become better and better on their future. you ? only dreaming to mars that proton will close shop HAHAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:51 pm

If you are paying 50k for a car, the Persona win hands down bcos it is better/bigger/longer & the specs(1.6 with more tech) & may I say better looking especially the back.

The only setback is Bezza launched ahead of Persona/Saga. I have no doubt the Persona have better value/handling than the Bezza. Of course it is only my opinion.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 8
    • The back of Bezza looks awful. It is so high you could see the floor pan and the suspension!. Persona looks way better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 7
      • tokmoh. on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:54 am

Who cares? Bezza’s better sales prove design is irrelevant in this segment.

They just shout they got Dual VVT-i + Toyota gearbox, perodua sheeps buy without caring anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
        • Salam Sejahtera on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:01 am

even with that technology, bezza owner still feeling uncomfotable and no confident when driving their biza because their car “tertonggek”, “kerusi tinggi sangat kaki aq gantung,ohh solutionnya, baik adjust kerusi ke belakang, adoiii stering tak dpt adjust ke bawah pula!!!” (typical bezza owner) really2 sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Biza owners told me they like to see rear of ducks waddling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Oh Peleees on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:22 am

Yes.How on earth p2 bosses approved this bizza design? Back side look terrible! Maybe they think whatever they sell people still die die want to buy because it’s daihatsu celop? Oh peleees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Mikey on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:07 am

Looks like we are in the same page Cat. Cheers …

• Malaysian Driver on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:34 am

If you have 50k to spare, the decision between the Persona and Bezza is a no brainer. The Persona is, by every single account possible, the better car, hands down.

I’ve driven the Persona, the god-damn throttle lag and the unresposive, jerking, dreaful CVT whine of the Iriz is no where to be seen. In fact, the Persona is so responsive off the line, almost like a Myvi! So, is not the hardware per se, that beleaguered the Punch CVT after all, it’s actually in the tuning that Proton’s engineer messed up in the previous iteration in the form of Saga, Exora, Preve, Suprima and Iriz.

Transmission tuning is one of the most challenging part of car engineering, a same hardware setup may exhibits entire different characteristic on two cars, almost giving you the impression that it is two different gearboxes. Take Gertag’s DCT-250 for example, the same gearbox feels so much difference on a Ford Focus and a Renault Captur. Transmission tuning is something like ride and handling setup, it’s a “black art”. Anyone can obtain the hardware easily but only those who knows the “secret recipe” can deliver a smooth, responsive, and fuel saving application that appeal to the masses, which is a must in today’s automotive world for any model to become a best seller.

After mistakes done in the Preve, Suprima and Iriz, I am glad to say Proton engineer has finally crack the code on how to tune the Punch CVT. I’m sure anyone who intend to buy a Bezza will be swayed if they give a chance to Proton by sitting behind the wheel and try it out themself. Actually, I recently brought a friend who intended to buy a Bezza to try out the new Persona, which she ended up buying the Persona after a test drive. Now, I pray that Proton really buff up their QC and aftersales, I don’t wish she coming back to me in the future saying that I encourage her to make the wrong choice. Damn it Proton, please buckle up and deliver!

On the other note, the based Persona is only less than 3k away from the Premuim Saga (less than 1k if u opt the manual Persona) , many Saga prospects ended up booking a Persona instead of a Saga (according to an SA in Teluk Intan) , after the evaluate the price ans spec, which by all aspects, the based Persona is still a better can than the premium Saga.

The Persona is the best family sedan at the 40+ to 50k range currently on sale. Now what is left to overcome is the stigma still attached to the batch, and Proton must strive hard to make these Persona and new Saga buyers that they have made the right choice, don’t treat them like garbage, give them value for money service, make sure the QC properly done their job before every car leave Tanjung Malim (don’t give arrogant excuses and living in denial syndrome like those stupid CEOs during the “power window rosak” era) . Do that then Proton is on track to recover. Good luck Proton, make Malaysian proud again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
  • Sewel on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Bila tang proton semua bash..bl europe apsal korg xnk bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
  • Salam Sejahtera on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:59 pm

yeah i think the data about the persona is true..at kota kinabalu, i had already seen 3 or 4 persona at inanam, gayastreet and bukit padang..they are so handsome !..but, still can’t see the saga on the road yet..btw , I have a strong feeling that the saga sure will have high volume sales

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
  • Salam Sejahtera on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:10 pm

I think the data is true..because, i had seen a lot of persona here in kota kinabalu, but still, i can’t see any saga yet..maybe it take time to be delivered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • My oh my on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:00 am

I saw many,turn right persona turn left also persona.I don’t see any other brand here! Oh so many..No words can describe.Now i think I’m going out for lunch.Be back in one hour,then continue to check at painting job.Brawn colour so popular here,but i love red one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • No wonder la hardly seen any in Klang Valley, semua sudah pergi KK. Not difficult to figure why, otherwise KK will be as developed as Klang Valley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
      • Salam Sejahtera on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:11 am

maybe you go out around late night, thats why you can’t see one..because , owner persona suda syok tdur dlam persona mereka

• Congrats Proton….. you bet on the right choice of new models. With impressive specs list yoo have reignited interest in your brand. But you need to keep it up with reliability and top after sales service. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Duckling Car on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:50 am

What? The Safa back side look like a duck! Imagine,driving a duck! This is so wrong people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Proton oh Proton on Oct 18, 2016 at 6:01 am

I can’t see any new saga or persona in my town (seremban)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • James murugan on Oct 18, 2016 at 7:17 am

I saw a persona this weekend broken down at roadside with salesman in it and customer very angry. There you go. All these numbers are created to hype ppl the truth is that proton bosses are famous to feed lies to Rakyat all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 92
    • Salam Sejahtera on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:04 am

jangan memfitnah sini, dosanya lebih besar daripada membunuh tau ^_^ lagi2 kalau 1 Malaysia baca komen kau, lagi berlipat ganda dosa kau tu ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • I'm Sexy and I Know It on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:30 am

Oh James u must be a big T or p2 salesman affected by cancelled bookings trying hard to slander and gave false alarm about competitors.Exactly like Same Loorrr talking bull about others but inside crying like a baby coz lost sales to better rivals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • james murugan on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:40 pm

P2 salesman? my friend the car I drive worth at least four times of a ugly persona OK? we will see at the end of the year who is the loser proton or others…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
        • Bro, we dun care about ur lorry balak is worth 4 times Persona2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • I saw other maker test drive car broken down too. So?

• Copy paste on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:24 am

hey! I want to convince you that this comment won’t affect the sales volume of the persona since the persona is too good to be ignored..people know that this is an old story, Let it be a history, don’t ungkit old story again, u just like an angry old grandpa that like too ungkit old story…how old are u? your attitude like warga emas..btw, im impressed that warga emas like u still can be keyboard warrior, majuuuuuu

• Just the other day, one of my test drive Biza was on fire. But if u dun belip me, then why shud we belip u?

• Ganesh on Oct 18, 2016 at 7:48 am

Only the 1st 3 months ada sales la. After all the people buy already no one bothers to buy Proton anymore. All the crap issue and poor after sales start surfacing. First 3 months hit target then thereafter every month sell 500 units. Just like Iriz and Suprima S. Complete utter failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
  • Neutral on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:42 am

Well done. I don’t think Proton would stoop so low as to give a false data. I hope these two models would turn Proton around though I am still sceptical about the retuned Campro engine.

• xoxox on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:13 pm

well…they might not falsify the data…but they can increase the number of booking easily……but for me…no. of booking doesnt represent actual sales data, the amount of delivery does

• passion on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:48 am

good job proton .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • camtakpro on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:00 am

Just hope Proton really doing good and forces Perodua to add more stuff.

Just like Vios and Altis basically just lost to Honda offerings.

Nowadays any models without VSC across all range are shit. Cam recorder, reverse camera,front proximity sensors should be basic across all range.

• chowyk on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:12 am

No suprise as the persona are a nearly perfect car at the price. If proton improves their engine to use the timing chain then the P2 no fight ady terus ko.

• Submit comment on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:22 am

ADD A COMMENT

You can either post as a guest or have an option to register. Among the advantages of registering is once a name has been registered, a guest cannot post using that name. If you have an account, please login before commenting. If you wish to have a profile photo next to your name, register at Gravatar using the same e-mail address you use to comment.

• Sandy on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:27 am

This is all Proton mistake, if Proton were not exist there would be Vios bookings reach 6,000 units, 1,000 delivered; Altis hit 15,000 units, 4,500 delivered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • de hea on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:38 am

I have seen 1 new saga premium yesterday at kuching town

• Aiyo. This is so ugly one!

• Alson P on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:41 am

Nice.. Not bad..

• old horse on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:21 pm

saw PersonaS on the road…Saga yet to be seen..

• Somebody said nobody buy Saga and Persona…hahahaha

• Protong still sleeping, Perodua delivered 20,000 Bezza in 90 days…seems to be to much for 12,000 Proton workers in 2 big factories,which can produce 15,000 car a month.
    Atitude will never change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • When ur car is kosong, its easier to build it faster.

• krueger on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:28 pm

yes.. persona premium has more ingredients and gadgets to be installed & tested before delivery. bezza.. just like you said. k o s o n g.

• Thinker on Oct 18, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Proton dah banyak dah bertambah baik la. Haters ni kadang-kadang komen tak guna akal yang sihat dan rasional.

Bila dah improve kita bagi lagi kritikan membina supaya lagi improve dan bagi sokongan sebab dah semakin improve.

Kamu nak guna kereta import silakan. Setiap orang ada kemampuan masing-masing. Yang penting Kereta Proton sudah setanding dan semakin baik dari sesetengah kereta import.

Membosankan bila pengomen dari kalangan haters tidak tahu menilai dan mengkritik dengan lebih profesional.

Para haters yang kritik tak guna akal rasional ini apa sumbangan untuk kemajuan otomobil nasional ? Zero ?