Honda BR-V 1.5L launched in Malaysia, from RM85,800

First previewed in Malaysia back in November 2016, the Honda BR-V has officially made its launch debut today. The seven-seat SUV (or crossover according to Honda reps), which is specially designed for the ASEAN market by Honda R&D Asia Pacific (HRAP), arrives as a locally-assembled (CKD) model with two variants on offer – E and V.

The entry-level E variant is priced at RM85,800 (RM83,206 without insurance), while the range-topping V is yours for RM92,800 (RM90,013 without insurance). The prices mentioned here are on-the-road with insurance and inclusive of a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty, plus a free service interval package. Five exterior body colours are offered here – Taffeta White, Golden Brown Metallic (new addition), Lunar Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and Dark Ruby Red Pearl.

Under the hood, a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine providing 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm powers both variants, with drive being directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT that features an expanded ratio range for better usability. Following Thailand figures, the BR-V is capable of returning a claimed fuel economy of up to 15.5 km/l.

Built on a stretched version of the Brio platform, the “Bold Runabout Vehicle” utilises MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear. According to the BR-V’s large project leader, Atsushi Arisaka, the reason for this is due to the parts commonality across the ASEAN countries, which helps to keep the cost down.

However, the Malaysian-spec BR-V differs from those sold in Indonesia, Thailand, Philipines and India, as we do get our own unique damper settings, as well as additional NVH fitments in the bulkhead, dashboard, doors, bonnet, floor, roof lining and steering for a more comfortable driving experience.

Honda’s seven-seat SUV measures 4,453 mm long (with the V being 3 mm longer), 1,735 mm wide and 1,666 mm tall, with a 2,662 mm-long wheelbase. It also boasts a ground clearance of 201 mm, claimed to be the highest in its segment. The SUV in E guise weighs 1,231 kg, while the V tags on another nine kg, making it lighter than the six-seat Freed 1.5L (1,330 kg) sold here in the past, so “power anxiety” should be put to rest, says Arisaka.

Standard exterior features on both variants include halogen projector headlamps, LED DRLs (unique to Malaysia), 16-inch alloy wheels (with Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 195/60 section tyres) and roof rails (30 kg load limit). The top-spec V gets additional items such as front fog lamps, chrome door handles (E is body colour), chrome side protector and lower bumper garnish.

Inside, the seats are arranged to provide a “theatre-like” view, in that the third row seats are raised slightly higher than the second row for better visibility. Among the interior highlights found in the E variant include shiny dark metallic dashboard trim, fabric seat upholstery, along with a urethane steering wheel and gear knob. A manual air-conditioning system (with second-row vents), 12 V power outlet, standard audio system (with USB, AUX and Bluetooth inputs) and four speakers are standard kit here.

As for the V, the dashboard trim is replaced with a water print matte finish, and leather is used for various contact points like the seats, steering, gear knob and door lining armrest. Elsewhere, there’s an automatic air-conditioning system (front only) and a 6.1-inch touchscreen display audio system (with additional HDMI input).

Practicality-wise, the BR-V provides 223 litres of base cargo-carrying capacity, which can be further expanded to 539 litres with the third-row seats folded down. On that mention, the second-row seats can either be slid forwards and back, folded in a 60:40 split, or one-touch tumbled to provide access to the rearmost seating. The third row meanwhile, will fold in a 50:50 split, and can be tumbled before being hooked in place.

For safety, the BR-V comes with dual front airbags, three-point seatbelts for all seven seats, Isofix child seat mounts in the second row, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD, Hill Start Assist (HSA), reverse sensors. These features are standard for both the E and V, although the latter gets an additional rearview camera. As such, the BR-V has been awarded a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating.

Customers looking to spruce up their BR-V purchase further will be glad to know that Honda Malaysia is also offering several accessory packages beginning with a Modulo package for RM3,750, which tags on front and rear lower bumper garnishing, side skirts and a tailgate spoiler.

There’s also the Urban package that introduces a tailgate spoiler, side step board and door sill garnish for just RM2,945. Finally, the Utility package (RM1,280) sees the addition of door visors, cargo tray lining, trunk organiser, door sun shades and door protector film. Alternatively, these items can be purchased individually, although it is cheaper to purchase them as a package (prices mentioned are inclusive of 6% GST).

We’ve already driven the new BR-V in Thailand, as well as in Japan previously, where you can check out our thoughts on the seven-seat SUV. For a detailed look at the various variants of the BR-V, check out Carbase.my, where you’ll also be able to see the individual accessory options. You can get the best offers on the Honda BR-V on CarBase.my.

Honda BR-V 1.5L V

Honda BR-V 1.5L E with Modulo package

Honda BR-V 1.5L E

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• wow!! my kind of SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • Albert on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:14 pm

umw,Mr Kuru…..having lots of sales meeting now.
      Honda is eating into its RM75-95K territory.
      At Rm 85 K,buyers are tempted with this BRV,a smaller version of HRV.
      Toyota..your product range is not wide enough.
      No wonder Honda has overtaken UMW by leaps and bound.
      Keep it up HondaMalaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
      • Kunta bin Lipas on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:55 pm

It’s a long known fact that Toyota is losing market share. Toyota vehicles recycle old technology, no turbo and very limited choice. Not to mention very expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
        • farghmee on Jan 06, 2017 at 9:53 am

ivtec 1.5L tu pn yg lama punya kn?

it’s not all about tech. only, it’s all about packaging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Lawson on Feb 19, 2017 at 6:16 am

Who says Toyota vehicle range is not wide. They have rush, avanza, vios, prius, camry, altis, hilux, sienta……further more vios no more expensive. Got dual vvti, cvt, vsa, free ori toyota spec tintetc etc etc. Vious E grade is cheaper than Honda City E grade. The Toyota Empire is trying hard to strike back. Just like when Honda starts striking back in 2014. Good for consumers!!.

• Cheong on Jul 14, 2018 at 8:42 am

Avanza without radiator meter vs old saga with meter.
          What is good about avanza /toyota?

• Now that I think about it. honda is basically dressing up an Avanza competitor with bigger wheels, body cladding and roof rails and basically calls it a crossover. Basically their version of the toyota rush.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
      • karam singh on Jan 06, 2017 at 2:34 am

Like Avanza? much2 better than Avanza
        Safety 5 stars NCAP 78% passenger vs 4star 38% passenger
        Engine 120hp 145Nm 15.5km/l vs 105hp 136Nm
        New CVT vs Dinosaur 4autobox
        its 2017, still not using digital aircond ? phewwww
        still the Nokia 3310 screen on the instrument LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Yeah. Concur. More or less. Convincing packaging though.

• Gargantia on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:37 am

Omg CKD yet a 3rd world country SUV cost premium price in Malaysia ! No wonder Rakyat can’t find a affordable car in Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 39
  • Pit71 on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:43 am

85k vehicle, but only 2 airbags?
    Come on Honda Malaysia, you can do better that this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 12
    • DPCraft on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:37 pm

UMW and Honda Malaysia swap ?? Toyota start giving more safety feature Honda now start cutting safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Faiz Roslan on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 151
      • Go jump off a cliff with your naïveté.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Jamal Loo on Jan 05, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Saya sebulat suara berpendapat Poo kedua Alzaik adalah pilihan yang mesti dipilih dan terbaik untuk rakyat. Jangan khilaf dan berilah sokongan padu kepada kami, kakau tak, nanti bos besar kami mengamuk kuat sebab kena jaga bonus 12 – 24 bulan mereka. – Sam Jamban Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
      • JADAH on Feb 09, 2017 at 8:48 am

harkhhhh tuiiiii!!!

• adzwan on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:02 pm

adoiii…jangan nak tunjuk hang pandai cakap bunga bunga ..nmp sgt nak show off

• plainbs on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:54 pm

you paid what you get

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:44 am

OMG OMG, at this price, this will kill Ertiga. Ertiga got no VSC also plus it is 2 star COP NCAP rating. So dangerous for kids at the back.

This BRV will wipe Ertiga out. Funny, Hond under DRB and Proton is under DRB

Looks like DRB themselves want to kill Ertiga and kill Proton off for good. Cannot blame DRB, they have been told to breast feed Proton and nurture the loss making car company.

I guess DRB has a bigger masterplan with this BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 111
    • kuntak on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Ertiga price starts at 59k. The difference is big

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 9
    • Have u taken your medicine today?make sure that u do,cause I can see that u r having this compulsive disorders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Faeez on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:00 pm

That’s 44% more for BRV. Ertiga is Suzuki. Basically u buying japanese MPV without import tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:35 pm

DRB don’t even have majority share in Honda Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:47 am

Many are asking me why you should buy a BRV at RM85k instead of Ertiga at RM65k.

Well the answer is simple. In 1 year’s time, your BRV will be worth RM75k.

In 1 year’s time, your Ertiga will be worth RM35k.

Does that answer you question?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 102
    • But Camry 2014 oso can get at 88k, how?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
      • camtakpro on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:29 pm

2014 Camry? You mean the one that has lesser safety than Proton Saga premium or Persona basic? And RM88k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Er3 value drop is still not so big, but ur toyota junks drop value is much much MOAR! Toyota RV is a myth, when u ask 2nd hand dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • abzaja on Jan 07, 2017 at 1:45 pm

I wonder what moron would ask you for an advice

• karam singh on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:50 am

Honda the best. But Toyota still world number 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 50
  • toyota owner on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:54 am

No armrest? Was thinking to change from Avanza to this, but no armrest? C’mon Honda Malaysia. Even though this sound miniscule, but actually, this cause me to reconsider of buying BR-V. Be it short or long journey, i find an armrest is a must, for me. In fact, Malaysia’s Toyota Sienta got armrest while other markets don’t. See? I was trying to switch brand, not that Toyota is no good, and seeing this BR-V’s design, i was interested, until now la. Correct me if i’m wrong, but i don’t see any sign of armrest in the pictures or in the writing. Well, good luck to Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 43
    • Pinky on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Go to the showroom and have a look at that car yourself. The car is super small in size and looks like a freaking midget. Hafriz is probably fatter and taller than the car. Although the car looks reasonable in size in all these images, it’s all an illusion. Just like how well the bezza looks in pictures before launching, and how fugly the tonggek butt is when you see the real car.

On the other hand, the seats of the car is way to thin and un-supportive, and short. Very bad headroom in all 3 rows of the car. Long journeys gonna definitely be a pain in the ass. The most eye-soaring part would be that bent door lining under the rear door window. It somehow looks like Najib’s stretched “W 11 N” Perdana.

Yes, it’s a 7-seater. But it’s more like a car for 2 adults and 5 childrens. You can never fit 7 adults in there, and I doubt that 5 adults could even sit comfortably inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 19
      • This 5+2 SUV

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 9:04 pm

Wrong this is actually a 2+2+2 seater. The middle row cannot fit 2 adults & 1 child. Can only sit 2 adults with their handbag in the center only. Children got to sit in 3rd row.

• TRFfr on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Suv??????
          What weed do u smoke??

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:55 am

Pity Malaysians. My sources at Honda Malaysia tell me that Honda and DRB wanted to sell this car at RM70k to the Malaysian public.

They sent the proposal to MITI, MITI immediately said, nothing less than RM85k.

Aiyoo. MITI or MITI. Even in 2017 also you guys still want to protect Proton and make other car brands so much higher.

Isn’t it nice if we Malaysians can buy a car at cheaper price as the money we can save (like here RM15k) can be used to buy better food and clothes for our children?

2017 also still want to Protect Dying Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 70
    • DRB own the proton….so how come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • nabill (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Bro, u forgot to like ur own posts few hundred times…. A friendly reminder from the institute of low self esteem veterans!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
      • Nabill Babill on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:59 pm

I think the prices are reasonable. Keep up good work Honda

• quasar on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Only hearsay….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:33 pm

that a bull..u know there is one SUV sell below RM70k. Haval M4 is sold from RM55k to RM75k. don’t make fool of urself in 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • abzaja on Jan 07, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Yup…this guy speaks like some big hot shot in automotive but really hes just a hot air coming out from the back

• J Welinkar on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:42 pm

Incredible !!! No level playing field. But BR-V will win, as it’s a lot better than a Proton

• tenine99 on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:57 am

With this great package from honda, now we can say goodbye to Toyota Avanza. Even from different segments but with the same 7 seater and price, they will definitely will choose BRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • Stranger on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Avanza full specs cheaper than BR-V botak specs. How come?VSC so expensive hah? Where is the safety for Msians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Kraken on Jan 06, 2017 at 12:23 am

Avanza was so long wiped out of Malaysia history.It had created havoc and made UMW like emperor in this country but it doesn’t evolve to any better.Stick to old trick and keep wishing Malaysian will fooling themselves to buy a previous glory,not the future invention and technologies.

• why no 6 airbags, and why no auto-cruise? I need those

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Kraken on Jan 06, 2017 at 12:28 am

Buy CRV u can get all u wanted.Read and study product knowledge before comment.. This is affordable 1.5cc SUV 7 seater.Logically it’s not a premium and targeting middle income with multi purpose benefits.The price and specs similar to Vios,City and lower than HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Those planning to buy Ertiga, better you just pay RM20k extra for a safer car and buy this BRV.

According to Malaysian Government statistics, cars with VSC can reduce accidents and deaths by 45% in a given year.

What this means is that, if in any year there is say, 10,000 deaths, if all cars had VSC, you can reduce 4500 deaths. These are official Malaysian government statistics.

So, you better pay RM20k more (loan only maybe slightly more), you can save yourself about RM500k hospital bills in the event you meet with an accident due to lack of VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 65
  • jinggo on Jan 05, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Only 2 airbags? Why honda why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • rapid on Jan 05, 2017 at 12:03 pm

can change exora to brv…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • looks good.

but the middle seat looks awfully tight

• Extra 7k but still same safety features as lower spec?.. apalah… you’d think they have learned how to market cars to Malaysians but they still manage to disappoint us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Great! Congratulations to Honda.
    Closest competitor is Sienta, but BR-V is more powerful, cheaper, longer, wider and has suv lookalike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Bear in mind Honda city highest spec has 6 airbags and priced about the same as this BRV high spec…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Kim Jong Unta on Jan 06, 2017 at 12:33 am

But size is bigger.Additional metal who absorb? Wait another 2 years for facelift,maybe u can find 12 airbags..

• Seems a better bargain than HRV if you dun mind lesser power, less 4 airbags and slightly narrow body.. other than that, no competition come close..

• Will go to showroom soon..:-)

• I went to check out and this car already. A bit narrow but longer than Alza. All leather and honestly quite comfortable. Spacious and relaxing.

• Look like Toyota Sienta just got dabao-ed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • john is otak batu on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:47 pm

No electric auto door!
      No stow up of 3rd row seat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • U so lazy to close the door yourself? It’s not a sliding door lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 05, 2017 at 12:23 pm

The true rival for the Toyota Sienta is the B-segment Honda Freed, and NOT the BRV!

This car is based on a Honda Brio hatchback and Brio Amaze sedan, which is an A segment low cost car that competes with Proton Saga, Perodua Axia and Bezza, Hyundai i10, Kia Picanto.

And now we are being fooled thinking it is a B segment MPV. It is not based on the Jazz, City platform. It should be less than RM70k!

Greedy Honda Malaysia wants a fast profit. At this rate, I rather have the Toyota Sienta, as it is a proper B segment car.

Don’t get blinded with the Honda badge. This is the old Honda Mobilio, facelifted with 1.5 and a new fancy posh name, BRV.

If you are not in the rush to but a new car, wait for 2018 for new Alza. By then, all new cars will be required to have VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 13
    • Silthice on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Ertiga is based on B segment Swift

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Honda Freed based on Honda Jazz (B-Segment)
        Perodua Alza based on Toyota Passo Sette (B-Segment)
        Toyota Sienta based on Toyota Passo Sette (B-Segment)
        Suzuki Ertiga based on Suzuki Swift (B-Segment)
        Nissan Grand Livina based on Nissan Latio (B-Segment)

Honda BRV based on Honda Mobilio (A-Segment)

Do you really want to pay RM90,000 for a Saga MPV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • I dont know about the others but i can definitely tell you the grand livina is not based off of the Latio platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:47 pm

I’ve been to Nissan factory in Serendah. Latio sedan, hatchback and Grand Livina, based on same platform and engines produced on the same line.

Common for hatchbacks, sedans and MPVs based on a same platform. Myvi and Axia based on the same platform.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 06, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Sorry, Myvi and Alza based on the same platform. Axia and Bezza based on same platform.

• By the time wait for new Alza, new Exora will tapau it, just like current gen.

• Crappy Outalingam on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Yeah please – SAFETY above modification kits….SIX airbags for the V variant and ABSOLUTELY no extras like Modulo kit et cetera!!

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:35 pm

The Sienta isn’t all that large either if you are comparing interior space plus it also does not have 6 airbags so it’s pretty much the same on the safety side of it. But I do prefer the sliding doors of the Toyota as a family mover.

• Danny L on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Well,if u read Perodua’s recent statement? Only the Bezza can be fitted with VSC. Other models cannot. I presume it’s including Alza. So you won’t be getting Vsc in Alza… correct me if i am wrong.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Any cars MUST fit VSC by July 2018 as standard.
        If NOT, that KENNOT sell their cars.
        Same it goes in EU.
        That is why it is worth the WAIT!

• zacky fuyooo on Jan 05, 2017 at 12:29 pm

“Among the interior highlights found in the E variant include shiny dark metallic dashboard trim, fabric seat upholstery, along with a urethane steering wheel and gear knob. A manual air-conditioning system (with second-row vents), 12 V power outlet, standard audio system (with USB, AUX and Bluetooth inputs) and four speakers are standard kit here”
    Correction : Actually in the E Spec the air cond is Auto not manual like ur review…

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:49 pm

The E spec has a manual air-conditioning system although the switchgear looks similar to the V.

For your reference, here is the V’s air-con controls: http://paultan.org/2017/01/05/honda-br-v-1-5l-launched-in-malaysia/honda_br-v_v_int-7/

And here’s the E’s: http://paultan.org/2017/01/05/honda-br-v-1-5l-launched-in-malaysia/honda_br-v_e-13-2/

• nabill (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Ugly, narrow, tall, skinny…. Thy should call it 5+2 rather than a 7 seater…. Its gonna sell well though, might eat into City’s sales since buyers only look as price comparison not what segment they are looking for…

• Ismet on Jan 05, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Toyota Sienta > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • Two airbags in this seven seater?! This is year 2017. Are you kidding me? At least give 6 airbags as an option. Disappointed with Honda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • Dont like it. It doesn’t look well-designed especially the jagged window lines and the rear end. Build quality doesnt look as good as the HRV.

But there will definitely be buyers, but with that price and that many seats, what is the point of the HRV?

• Mr. Loba Loba on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Sorry to say this. They are using old steering. Probably trying to clear old stocks??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Consider a used Tucson. Great value for money

• Chris W. on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Are they Halogen Reflectors or Halogen Projectors? They seemed like projectors tho

• 120 ps is about 118 bhp,145 nm in torque to lug around the 1.4 tons body. Huhuuu do your own maths.similiar to exora cps.inwe have seen it before.say hello to poor man’s Honda suv

• Silthice on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Paultan.org Can compare with the ertiga especially the specifications

• Aero (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 1:53 pm

I give my dua tangan thumbs up to Honda Malaysia for assembling the new BR-V locally. This is despite the worsening ringgit exchange rate and economic situation. Their actions do make a statement. Every single new Honda on sale (except the CR-Z and Odyssey) are currently assembled in Malacca. Honda Malaysia through Honda Japan has brought in more foreign investment, more jobs, more local vendor participation, more economies of scale in our auto industry, more opportunities for parts exports to other ASEAN countries…

But of course, none of the above details will mean anything to the average Malaysian, but one fact speaks volumes; thanks to local CKD assembly and high local content, prices are also reduced. This is the most obvious benefit to the average Malaysian.

Good luck HMSB, and congrats in advance for becoming the ‘No.2 best-selling brand of car in Malaysia for 2016’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • “For safety, the BR-V comes with dual front airbags”

Stop reading here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:18 pm

2 airbags,,,,salesmen sure say more airbag can kill u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • cendol (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:21 pm

That is the same steering I am using for my 2009 Honda City.

Feels so nostalgic

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:32 pm

So all those testing in Malaysia prior to launch was to set our local damper settings….right. I thought they were also adding the airbag count to 6 to match the rest of their model lineup in Malaysia.

• ugly dashboard..at least on V package put cruise control on steering wheel or integrated bluetooth calling rather than leaving the right side ugly.

The radio looks like an after thought installation..you see space below the hazard light switch unused and look plain..

anyway will have a look when I have the chance to visit showroom

• Brv fans on Jan 05, 2017 at 2:59 pm

After waiting 2 years from 2015, finally come out & landed in Malaysia. Congrats…
    But a bit disappointed on specs and price.
    RM 85k dun have Tough screen DVD, reverse camera, fog lamp, & old style steering.
    Have additional cost for body kit, almost 3k.
    Why Indonesia version is good in spec & price is lower than us???

• kzm (Member) on Jan 06, 2017 at 1:13 am

The cheaper indonesia brv variant is manual n do not have VSA

• camtakpro on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Seems like Sienta V, though slightly more, offers much more.

• Ben Yap on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:33 pm

bye bye sienta and alza.

• Not P1 Not P2 on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Why so ugly? Plus, 2 airbags only? Come on! Bash me Honda fanboys! :P

• Is 2017 now, still using 8th gen Civic steering (10 years ago model), and only 2 airbags?

• passion on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:35 pm

more choices for the public. very good.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Interesting…
    The exterior accessories makes it look like a Lego van.

• i prefer them bringing in honda shuttle at this price than this vision pollutant

• just another driver on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:26 pm

low cost model for ASEAN market, and also the lower price tag, with lesser balloon and equipments…. hmmm….

• Looks good and reasonably priced on paper. Need to see it in metal and test drive to make fair assessment though.

• SadekSegaraga on Jan 05, 2017 at 7:20 pm

2 Airbags still got 5 Star NCAP? how much did they suap in order to get rating that high? 2.6b?

• Bernard on Jan 05, 2017 at 8:16 pm

This type of vehicle is only for people like us…….Do you feel special?

• J Welinkar on Jan 05, 2017 at 9:55 pm

I’m looking forward to seeing the new BR-V in the flesh on Saturday at KAH Motors Penang. From what I can fathom, this is not an SUV, but more like an MPV. I hope that Malaysians DONT look at this as better deal versus the HR-V, as they are two different vehicle types. I trust the BR-V won’t canibalise into the HR-V orders. The BR-V should be suitable for families, GRAB, UBER & hotel guest pick up’s. Wishing Honda another success !!!

• Sarah on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Can trade in?

• Leonardo on Jan 06, 2017 at 11:04 am

Paultan..do a comparison between Honda BRV and Toyota Sienta, Avanza, Nissan Grand Livina and maybe Alza. All 7 seaters. (Ertiga is only 6 seaters).

• Sam Lim on Jan 06, 2017 at 4:10 pm

no options for DVD player and also GPS.
    very disappointed.

• RegretBuyingFord on Jan 08, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Is it just me, or do u guys also feel that the positioning of the rear lights, rear chrome bar, rear huge Honda logo and badges and rear number plate area could have been done a little better?

Imagine. Slimming down the Honda logo and the Chrome bar, bringing the logo up inbetween the lights. Bringing the chrome bar to sit underneath the lowest point of the tail lights. The number plate area goes beneath that. And then bring the BRV and iVTEC logos down at the crease of the boot lid.

Amaciam?

• chin peng on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:18 am

I feel like the wheel is to small for the body proportion no?

• transformer on Jan 13, 2017 at 12:25 am

a good replacement for my old SJ-413(city use only)

• All these kapcai talk …….nonsense

• blah blah.. your money your way of spending it.
    i just alphard cash 50k ..old alphard.., but im happy with it..no loan no problem.

• MariaOzawa on Mar 08, 2017 at 12:29 pm

macam-macam komen, aku sedang tgu brv aku sampai. dah sebulan order.. sendiri punya poket sendiri pilih tak perlu kondem sana sini… semua income tarak sama maaa.. u mampu pakai ALPHARD, u sendiri pakai.. if u mampu hanya BRV, itu duit u bayar juga…

• reynoso1943 on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:40 am

I don’t agree.

• Mdm.Chong on Mar 25, 2017 at 10:48 pm

What is the car loan rate for Honda BRV

• Judy Lee on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:38 pm

1.5 has power e.g. going up to Camerons