Honda BR-V goes on sale in Thailand – five- and seven-seat variants offered, starting from RM86,600

Honda BR-V Thailand launch 1

Following its appearance at the 2015 Thailand Motor Expo, the Honda BR-V has officially gone on sale in Thailand with two variants on offer. Prices start at 750,000 baht (RM86,600) for the V variant, whereas the SV variant is priced at 820,000 baht (RM94,600).

Under the hood of both variants is the same 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine (as seen on the Jazz and City) providing 117 hp at 6,000 rpm and 146 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm. The mill is paired to an Earth Dreams CVT, with drive being directed to the front wheels.

On the exterior, the BR-V features projector headlights with LED positioning lights, plus C-shaped LED tail lights and roof rails, which is fitted as standard on all models. Five colours are also offered for the body – white, grey, black, brown and silver.

Inside, the BR-V gets a Jazz and City-style dashboard design along with a leather-wrapped steering wheel from the previous-generation City and Jazz. Creature comforts include keyless operation, automatic air-conditioning and a 6.1-inch touchscreen infotainment unit with iOS, Android, HDMI, USB and Bluetooth connectivity.

The kicker here is related to the number of seats available. Here, the Thai-market BR-V is available in both five- and seven-seater configurations, depending on the variant chosen. The V variant comes with two rows of seats, accommodating to five passengers, with the second row seats able to split in a 60:40 fashion and can be adjusted for recline.

If you require more seats, the SV variant is the one to have. Here, there are seven seats available with the addition of third row seating. Honda say that there is an ample amount of legroom for third-row passengers. It also adds that the third-row seats are 50:50 split folding and can be removed altogether to maximise cargo space. For comfort, second-row air-con vents are also fitted.

On the safety side of things, vehicle stability assist (VSA), ABS with EBD, dual SRS front airbags all come as standard. There is also a rearview camera for added convenience.

With the arrival of the Honda BR-V in Thailand, it shouldn’t be too long until Malaysians can get their hands on the ‘Active Sport Crossover’. Will you prefer the five- or seven-seater option? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• So Much Cheaper on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Come here sure they sell Rm110k. Then all the bodohs will say, syukurlah Malaysian aman dan damai and not question why it is so expensive here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Can sold like goreng pisang.. see the HRV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:59 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi car. Don’t waste your hard earned money on kimchi and junk Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • karam singh on Jan 30, 2016 at 4:38 am

wanna Sushi , go for Honda not Toyota.
          Toyota = overprice junk, less FC, Dinosaur engine, less safety

Even new Proton better safety than your Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 11:16 am

Hi karam singh,

Somemore, Toyota = Hailat RV (owner will scream out Hai Lat Lorr when sell it at used car shop), and even quality become ‘taik’ already (countless issues about current Vios not even 1 year engine mounting and lower arm koyak plus almost non-existant soundproof padding on the roof)

• Sharon Lim on Oct 12, 2016 at 4:35 pm

u r rite karam singh, my Honda Avanza 3 years already carpet sudah koyak.
            Some more say no more warranty cannot claim. Lousy

• 7 seater but only 1.5l sure underpower. Exora turbo woth ESC + 4 airbags anytime

• They should be pricing the BRV in Malaysia similar to Thai because anything higher than that is in the HRV range already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:48 pm

it’ll sell well here no doubt….

• amat basyahahah on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:02 pm

sell below than 100k, deal!

• DonkeyJohn on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Usually the regular john and donkeykong will come here and tell us how lucky we are and how cheap cars are in Malaysia. Typical blind brainless people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • No. I will say that u r blind, mindless & brainless for choosing moving coffins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • George Abdul on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:06 pm

No choice for the poor either “moving coffin” or “being cheat for buying expensive local product”. Go ask your boss to reduce taxes and abolish AP then we start talking !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • But hoh, why crony naza can gip picanto with all safety, crony P1 can gip Preve, suprima, iriz, exora with all safety, crony drb-honda can gip city e & above with all safety? But then Party Hard has chosen toyota the official car to travel and die in woh? Meaning umw toyota is crony of Party Hard isit?

So shudnt u ask ur boss to tell his crony to gip safety at least on par with Najib crony drb-honda?

• Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:29 pm

You got no wrong with the sushi car.. Good RV, Reliable engine, good FE & high quality parts..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Yes, you got no wrong with the sushi car.. However, Toyotaik in Malaysia provides Hailat RV (owner will scream out Hai Lat Lorr when sell it at used car shop), dinasour aged engine and auto gearbox, way underspecced and overpriced, regretful ownership experience & taik jamban quality parts, somemore damn overpriced..

• Sammy Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 6:56 pm

you must be the one traded in the 1 year old kimchi Elantra for 25k and damaged your brain with the low RV

This post is about Honda BR-V and you are talking something else. If you so keen about Toyota, you can get the Rush.

• Nasi Lemak 3.0 on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Altis in Thailand about 80k. here Altis is Rm139k. So cheap in thailand until all teksi also use Altis.

In Malaysia, we kena cheat big time. But as the saying goes…..”Songlap sikit tak apa, janji negara aman dan damai”

Btw, sikit in Malaysia is Rm2.6 bil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Lagi sikit is 3Billions just from 1 state.

• Truth huh on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Bodo… Comparing 1.6J manual with a 2.0G auto Corolla.

A equivalent 1.8G auto Corolla cost 1,000,000baht @ rm115k vs rm120k over Malaysia.

• 117 hp at 6,000 rpm and 146 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm for 7 seater? Better get the not so reliable exora..

• Proton tgh tidur… org lain sibuk dgn suv, mpv. Dia sibuk nk cr enjin… tu pun 2017 nanti… exora dah patut ganti, tp dia buat x tau aje. Meniaga apa mcm ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Vscless on Jan 30, 2016 at 11:00 am

It is not underspecced. Unlike your sushi mpv. Got turbo summore.

• As BRV is based on the Mobilio which has a weight of 1160kg top spec so we can expect the mass to be close to this figure.
      Since this is a budget MPV it is supposed to be small and cheap like its other competitors so don’t expect big capacity engines.
      Let’s compare with its competitors shall we.
      Toyota Avanza 1.5L: 104hp/136nm, 1160kg,
      Perodua Alza Advanced 1.5L: 102hp/136nm, 1160kg,
      Nissan Grand Livina 1.6L: 104hp/150nm, 1245kg,
      Proton Exora 1.6L: 125hp/150nm, 1426kg,
      Proton Exora 1.6L Turbo: 138hp/205nm, 1480kg,
      Honda BRV 1.5L: 117hp/146nm, 1160kg(estimate),
      Just by comparison i would say the BRV would most likely be the most powerful among its competitors in terms of power except for the Exora turbo.
      However Exora has over 300kg more weight so the difference in power might not be big even with the Turbo engine.

• 205nm on Jan 30, 2016 at 11:04 am

Exora century sprint s about 11.4sec. That’s tad more than 2.0l wish. The extra torque gives it advantage and leaving behind all the underpowered sushi when in full load.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 6:58 pm

you have to compare power to weight, not power to seats

• Jonn Dol on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Only 1.5L N.A engine offered to power this big car? WTH ??

• seman on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:29 pm

ok what, rush and avanza can survive that, not many people tend to maintain 2.0 mpv

• Charles on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:53 pm

I think will be hot cake in msia.
    will be fight with avanza, alza, livina, exora, or innnova, wish, stream if price RM80k to RM90k.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 7:00 pm

SUV version of the City/Jazz will definitely price higher than the Sedan/Hatchback version, it will be at the price range of around HR-V

• Honda again.Toyolta? Suck on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Better than Toyolta avanza/rush garbage

• JOHNPIEFACESHITFACE on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:38 pm

typical john, proton supporter, BN supporter.
    typical these two supporters only know how to polish shoes and kiss butt. no way they know how to build cars and manage a country.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Hopefully it has the same safety spec as the HRV when it arrives here

• Carefree on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Introduce it here ASAP, Honda Malaysia. And you can guarantee another year of sales ahead of UMW.

• Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:11 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Carefree on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:20 pm

The lowest-spec BR-V will certainly be under 100k. If you want all the good stuffs, be prepared to pay more for higher-spec model. Judging from the sales of City and HR-V, it’s the more expensive models (E & V grades) that are outselling the low-spec S grade. Honda Malaysia knows this of course, so they will price the BR-V S grade around 90k to make it accessible, and the V grade will be around 110k.

• hodan on Feb 08, 2016 at 6:49 pm

When this car going to launch here? Company subsidy car loan scheme ended soon, going to chg car soon…

• Thilagar. T on Apr 16, 2016 at 9:44 am

7 seater is preferred.

• Hope Honda Malaysia will launch the Brv soonest. Now already July. Still waiting for it. want to change my car so 1 order from me.
    I just wonder why Honda til todate no model in the same category as Toyota Avanza (latest Toyota Sienta) & Nissan Livina?? not interested? the Honda Mobilio and Brv never landed in Malaysia.

• aquila on Oct 14, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Honestly, if only Honda do bring in the BR-V, their sales will surely surge as current trend is moving in the direction of compact mpvs/suvs. I for one, is still waiting for this BR-V to hit our market soon…

• Azmah Mohd Noor on Jul 19, 2016 at 12:54 pm

If i get another car definately it should be an ugrade from a 5 seater to 7 seater.

• very keen on the 7 seater variant .

• at the moment looking for a 7 seater SUV.