2018 Honda CB1000R and CB250R in Malaysia – priced at RM74,999 and RM22,999, available from July

Launched in conjunction with the Boon Siew Honda Hari Raya media lunch and track day at Sepang International Circuit were the 2018 Honda CB1000R and CB250R naked sports bikes. The duo are priced at RM74,999 for the Honda CB1000R and RM22,999 for the CB250R, with prices excluding road tax, insurance and registration.

First shown to the public at the 2017 EICMA show in Milan, Italy, the CB1000R uses the same engine design as the CBR1000R superbike an inline four-cylinder 998 cc mill producing 143 hp at 7,500 rpm and 104 Nm of torque at 8,250 rpm. However, the engine is modified to withstand the rigours of road use with reinforced pistons, greater valve stroke with bigger valves, larger intake and redesigned combustion chamber to provide more mid-range torque.

Geared for acceleration, the CB1000R’s ratios are 4% lower, mated to a six-speed gearbox that comes with a lighter assisted pull lever with slipper clutch. A model specific 4-2-1 exhaust is fitted, 4.5 kg lighter than most standard exhausts and providing a little more torque at high rpm.

The CB1000R comes with four ride modes – Standard, Sport, Rain and User – and LED lighting all round. Suspension is with an adjustable Show Separate Function Big Piston fork (SFF-BP) in front and fully-adjustable Showa monoshock.

In front, twin radial-mount callipers grab 310 mm diameter floating brake discs and a single 265 mm disc at the back, with two-channel ABS as standard. The CB1000R is available in two colors, Graphite Black and Candy Chromosphere Red.

While Malaysian riders await the arrival of the CBR250RR, which might or might not happen, the CB250R was shown at the Sepang event. Coming with a liquid-cooled, single-cylinder 250 cc power plant producing 27.2 hp at 9,000 rpm and 23.2 Nm of torque at 8,000 rpm, the CBR250R is a naked quarter-litre sports bike that mimics the look of the CB1000R.

With six-speeds, the CBR250R weighs in at 145 kg and comes with a single brake disc front and rear, with two-channel ABS. There are three colour options for the CB250R – Matt Bullet Silver, Graphite Black and Candy Chromosphere Red.

Both the 2018 Honda CB1000R and CB250R will be available in Boon Siew Honda dealer showrooms this July. Boon Siew Honda offers a two year or 20,000 km manufacturing warranty, whichever comes first.

GALLERY: 2018 Honda CB1000R

GALLERY: 2018 Honda CB250R

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• komarad on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:42 pm

wow… cbr250r can upgrade my rs150…hopefully it will be available here in MY…

• Holofanboi on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:44 pm

Za thumbnail is as seen in the article! Yassssssss.

Now, as to the number of individuals that can actually handle litrebikes to make a business case is another matter…then again most buyers tend to buy above their abilities (car drivers included) :X

• michael on Jun 25, 2018 at 1:30 pm

wow good looking CB250R, hope CB150R can launch in Malaysia too, as not many can affort RM20k+++ bike for daily commute

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Ben Yap on Jun 25, 2018 at 1:54 pm

are you sure many malaysians cannot afford RM20K bike?

it’s so cheap and still cannot afford, that person is in the poverty line already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
      • seancorr (Member) on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:04 pm

You must be joking. If 20k for a bike is cheap for Malaysians then everyone would be riding one already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Sub_zero on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:47 am

Cheap? If that cheap there will no kapcais on the road

When stupid people show their stupidity to the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Boon Hock on Jun 25, 2018 at 2:29 pm

we want the CBR 250RR lah!! not this underpowered bike!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Bernard on Jun 25, 2018 at 2:34 pm

Mohan, pls test ride the 250cc and give us your expert feedback. Tq.

• sohai on Jun 25, 2018 at 3:05 pm

CB250R costing RM23k?
    This makes the Kawa Z250SL looks like the bargain of the century.

And for that RM23k, can’t even provide a proper dash with gear indicator…

• Bike rider on Jun 25, 2018 at 7:14 pm

I don’t understand why you need gear indicator. It’s not a kapchai.

• Kapchai on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:35 pm

When you have 4 gears like kapchai, you don’t need a gear indicator.
        When you have 6 forward gears, even the RS150R kapchai also have gear indicator, what more this? sometimes you just don’t know you are at 5th or 6th gear because the ratio is quite close.

• ihateeverything on Oct 28, 2018 at 12:04 pm

are you kidding me

• Naz01 on Jun 25, 2018 at 9:06 pm

1 cylinder = Kawa 250 SL..

Price tag not suitable..shuld be at 17.8k

• Samuel on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:54 pm

You are right. The meter is the same layout as the Honda Grom, only inverted black-white arrangement.
      That’s cheapo stuff and so lazy in the design.

• Billy Bil on Jun 26, 2018 at 10:24 pm

lol most 250cc motorcycle dont have gear indicator

• Why is still single cylinder???? This is really a deal breaker…. I really like the design but the power…..

• Samuel on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:42 pm

Actually I don’t mind single cylinder as is lighter and the toque range is lower and more usable, just like the baby BMW G310.
      Single cylinder is suppose to be cheaper too, but sadly BoonSiew either takes too much profit or is very bad at managing their cost.

• I want the CB150 Versa.

• Maria on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:57 am

I think they should bring the CB150R Exmotion like in thailand.This 250cc is just to high than other competitor.I just ask the honda dealer in SP the reason why they don’t offer 150cc version because it is use the same engine like RS150R (read it canibalise RS150R sales).. WTF that kind of answer.

• michael on Jun 27, 2018 at 2:07 pm

Honda RS150R is a kapcai (can have basket) and CB150R is street bike…different type and purpose of use…

• Kenny on Jun 29, 2018 at 1:27 pm

Pricy for a 250cc single cylinder bike…

• Ahmad on Aug 01, 2018 at 1:07 pm

I hope Malaysia Honda can launch Honda cx 01 for Malaysia market….

• Honda, I need old 223cc Flat Tracker, It is still under
    production in Japan.

• Adrian Low on Jan 25, 2019 at 2:25 am

CB250R ridiculous pricey and not going to sell well in Malaysia, compare to Kawasaki Z250SL rm16K and waiting it to launch the 2019model. KTM Duke 2018 already pull-down their competitive price below rm20K. Well, although it’s a single piston