GALLERY: 2017 Honda CBR250RR displayed in M’sia

honda-cbr250rr-8

After seeing the 2017 Honda CBR250RR in the flesh at the GIIAS show in Jakarta in August, we were told by Boon Siew Honda, official Honda distributor for Malaysia, that there were no concrete plans to bring this quarter-litre class sportsbike in for the local market.

It was something of a surprise to see the much-awaited CBR250R replacement sitting on the stand at the Boon Siew Honda booth at the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang on the weekend. Coming in jazzy red/white/black colour scheme, the CBR250RR on display is identical to the stealth matte-black unit we saw during the show in Jakarta.

We now know the 2017 Honda CBR250RR will put out 36 hp at 12,500 rpm and 22.5 Nm torque at 10,500 rpm, using an eight-valve, parallel-twin, liquid-cooled engine displacing 249.7 cc. Using ride-by-wire, with riding modes, the CBR250RR comes in both ABS and non-ABS versions.

No firm pricing has been released for the 2017 Honda CBR250RR, but we were informed by a PT Astra spokesperson during the GIIAS show that the official Indonesian price for the CBR250RR is between 63 to 68 million Indonesian rupiah (RM19.5k to RM21k) for the non-ABS version, while the ABS model will go for between 69 to 74 million rupiah (between RM21k to RM22k).

Demand from local riders for the 2017 CBR250RR has been quite vocal, based on the posts and Facebook comments we have read. Boon Siew Honda has remained non-committal about whether the CBR250RR will ever make it to Malaysian shores.

What do you think? Is this the 250 cc sportsbike that needs to be brought in to Malaysia? Will it sell in enough quantities to justify it being imported, or even locally assembled? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kunta Kinte on Nov 01, 2016 at 2:41 pm

now minyak naik, mat moto also got no money to rempit. All of us now should tanam kangkung and makan dedak as requested by Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 19
  • i will not buy honda even it is sexy
    spare part honda super expensive

after sales sucks even they pose 2 or 3 yrs warranty

spare part availability need to wait very long long time and need to beg

i am talking about new models

i will not buy honda

i hope suzuki will bring in gxr250 i will buy suzuki way of life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
  • Chris Lai on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Hell yeah….I want 1 already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Anak rantau on Apr 12, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Sudah saatnya orang atasan boon siew honda malaysia tukar ngan orang yang perduli dengan permintaan market. Mana produk yg rakyat mahukan. CB/R 150 pun x masuk malaysia. Nasib laaa

• Mikey on Nov 01, 2016 at 3:52 pm

This CBR250RR side picture with the double exhaust makes it standout like a Middle-weight bike.

It is not easy to tell a 250cc from a 600cc bike(new bike). The main difference between a 250 & a 600 is the double disk brake, the stickers & back Tyre that go with it.

If you remove the stickers, chances are not many can tell unless you are a Biker. This will be a good starter for anyone who want to feel/ride a ‘Big’ bike without the price & performance.

Buying a Honda bike will make your riding more enjoyable bcos it comes with the renown Honda reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Geng 1 hati official bike??

• will it have enough quantity and demand to justify the sales?
    well it will be an easier question to answer if we know the price. No doubt is a sexy bike, and if it is selling at below Rm17,990 with ABS, I guarantee they can’t make enough of it.

• Ootai on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:04 pm

If honda wants to market their bikes aggresively in mesia, honda has to do it on it their own and bypass boon siew. They have done that with kah motors. If not, forget about newer models, mesians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Hot damn! That is one super sexy bike. Honestly, it looks (in pictures anyway) bigger than 250cc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Alessandro on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Depending on the price. My current bike is too new to upgrade anyway

• yad kacak on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Better be local assemble. If import, the price will be to demn high.

• kanazai2001 on Nov 01, 2016 at 4:51 pm

agreed! if local assembly can lower down the price… ^_^

• Jonn Dol on Nov 01, 2016 at 5:49 pm

People will flock to the bike shops to get this bike for sure! This is the best of the Japanese entry level sportbikes, on par with the KTM RC390.

• Gracke on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:24 am

Not see how many people will buy only bring it here, is bring it here to compete with others and let people buy it!!! It’s not pre order, is Honda CBR, if don’t wanna sell it, don’t launch it and don’t create it!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:17 am

if honda is not bringing this bike, they can forget competing in the quarter litre segment because kawasaki and yamaha will continue to dominate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • kanazai2001 on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:24 am

if BS doesnt import/assembly n sell it…
      i will forget bout BS n turn head to grey importer!!!

• Superbikelover on Nov 07, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Bring it into Malaysia, I would like to get one, pls boon siew Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Hyperman on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:30 am

The power figures are 38.7 PS @ 12,500 rpm and 23.3 Nm @ 11,000 rpm weighting 165 kg (sans-ABS) and 168 kg (ABS) with the price of 62.9 million IDR/ 20,145 MYR (sans-ABS) and 68.9 million IDR/22,000 MYR (ABS). The red color adds 600 thousand IDR/192 MYR. For your information.

• alert(1) on Nov 15, 2016 at 1:13 pm

I want one!

• Izzat on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Patut masuk sebab memang ramai permintaan. Then rasanya tak perlu untuk kurangkan hp. Kerana ia akan membuatkan ramai rkyt malaysia tidak akan membeli nye. Fikir fikirkan laa boon siew honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • samuel liew on Nov 16, 2016 at 1:05 am

targeted the Honda CBR250RR as my next ride, definitely will buy one so hopefully it will be imported or manufacture in malaysia.

• Bikers kental on Nov 25, 2016 at 2:05 pm

I’ve been waiting for this bike to enter Malaysian market since the concept revealed.. its a pleasure if boon siew going to spread the wing to malaysia

• izzat on Nov 25, 2016 at 7:26 pm

kene masuk malaysia sbb terlalu ramai permintaan. sesiapa yang tak mampu atau terlalu banyak alasan. biarkan diorang. sebab moto ini terlalu banyak permintaan supaya moto cbr ni masuk malaysia. seriously kalau cbr ni masuk. serious aku memang beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Nor azroy on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:15 am

Bile cbr ni msk malaysia? bulan dpn august ke?
    sebelum ni ingt nk amek YAMAHA YZF-R25 , tapi di sebabkan design dia cantik . so amek CBR ni :D
    duit sempat kumpol ni , kot2 ade rezeki cash terus …. IM WAITHING

• Harith on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Youtube dh banyak upload video CBR250RR baru ni meraung2 kat jalan2 indonesia.. malaysia bila lg..

• Mohd Iqbal on Dec 09, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Just bring the damn bike in already stupid honda..

• Rempit tua.. on Dec 10, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Sape2 ade info tak cbr250rr ni masuk malaysia x?..bile tu agaknye..

• Nor azroy on Dec 14, 2016 at 1:55 pm

aku ade terbace artkl kt facebook honda cbr 250 rr ni . drg ckp tak masuk malaysia . sbb cukai dngn gst tk termsk dlm harga lagi . skrg pun dh 19k – 21k .. kalau dtg jgk malaysia mungkin 25k – 26k ini andaian sahaje . kalau tak msk penat menunggu je .yamaha pun yamaha lah :D ..
      rasenye mamang tak akan masuk :(

• This bike is just wonderful with the look and performance.
    Looking forward to see in Malaysia.

• Ghost on Dec 16, 2016 at 11:10 am

Bawak masuk jer laa..downpayment da cukup nieeeeeee

• Dineshweren on Dec 27, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Yes,this new honda cbr 250cc should bring to our Malaysia on 2017…there so many people are waiting for this bike.. itz one of the special design by honda..this bike is going to rock everyones heart..i”m waiting for this

• Fariq andika on Dec 29, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Ive seen so many 250 bikes this year. But this model is an eye catching compare to others. If this model is not coming to malaysia. Atleast bring us back the c70 model. If that is what you think suites the economy.

• Adzrul on Jan 06, 2017 at 7:19 pm

Absolutely boon siew need to brought cbr250rr to Malaysia because so many people who are waiting for this bike to arrive in Malaysia. It’s easier to ride a bike than to drive a car nowadays and the number of bikers in Malaysia are increase day by day.

• syafiq on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:57 am

bila masuk malaysia ni?

• kirko on Jan 14, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Please please bring and sell in Malaysia.. This is definitely the best bike in its class!

• tenno on Jan 18, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Please bring this to malaysian market boon siew honda.
    I’m sure it will selling like hot cakes.

• Bila masuk Malaysia. ..any chance on Jan 21, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Bila masuk Malaysia. .any chance

• Teringin dah ni on Feb 05, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Bawak masuk la…boon siew mau tunggu apa lagi…tak mau bgi org len bawak masuk
    I mau beli laaa! Brpa lama mau tungguuuuuu

• Syaff on Feb 11, 2017 at 6:04 am

just waiting for this sexy bitch came out . haiyoo . cannot hold myself to own this 1 >.<

• Buy@key on Feb 14, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Pls boon siew honda.. I want this bike.. I want it soo much.. Not just me but many people in Malaysia want this bike.. Pls hear them.. I have collected many money for this bike.. Pls consider

• Agilan Suparmaniam on Feb 16, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Any idea when this bike is set to hit our shores?

• Mohamad izzat hilmi on Feb 17, 2017 at 6:51 pm

I want i want!!!!!!!!!!!!

• pukimak la yg ni pn xmsuk pasaran jga ka. dah la cbr150 2016 pn xmsuk malaysia. knapa indo boleh ja msuk pasaran diorg. sia2 aku tnggu. sial!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • XiangXing on Mar 06, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Any update when will available in Malaysia?? Very tempted to get this/\

• Eddy Eskobar on Mar 15, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Come on BS Honda…Bring it in…Don’T be a coward…go head to head with Yamaha & Kawa..assemble it locally…people are waiting for a decent 250 other than Kawa & Yama. I’m sick of seing the Yama dominating Malaysian Market. Don’t get me wrong, I like the bigger Yama’s…but too many bikes below 250 from them already…

• Eddy Eskobar on Mar 15, 2017 at 6:11 pm

bawak masuk la BS Honda…sure boleh jual…tgk RS150 korang…mcm pisang goreng panaskan jual…

• Plaz!!! BRING THE SEXY TO MALAYSIA

• Gua x kisah harga brapa lu sebut gua Biker sejati x gntal lah gua bli asal msuk malaysia gua trus pegi kedai motor Honda gua terus Oder tau !!!!!!!!!! Asal lu tngu lgi jngan buat kmi ni mcam kucing mintak simpati sisa orang tau pnat tau gua tngu Dri thun lepas sampai thun nie x msuk2 lgi so apa lu tngu lagi ksi msuk malaysia lah

• Honda tnjuk kan kuasa mu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HIDUP HONDA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Klau lu x cukup material lah, mhal sngat lah ape gune Brang2 gunakan lah!!!!! Buat Kereta bleh malaysia pkai material sendiri x kan lah motor lu x bleh buat gune kan je ……..

• this cbr250rr should launch in Malaysia..need to brought this and i really like it..it was so sexy to me and i want it..

• PLEASE BOON SIEW HONDA MALAYSIA!!!! I WANT THIS BIKE!!!

• Daniel Lim Santoso on Mar 27, 2017 at 3:56 pm

To be honest, on my opinion..
    It is time for a replacement..
    Unless Boon Sure Honda comes clear with us that they want to clear their stocks of CBR 250R for now.. (Which I think will never happen as there’s better options with the Kawasaki & Yamaha if to be compared price and performance..)
    Buy they should really bring it in as I know they will be a lot of people that will buy..
    Especially myself..

• Awesome bike for beginners that want to feel super bike , as a biker we can feel that 250rr is pretty comfortable ride and some more the design very fantastic. For sure Wil be a lot people will buy this 250rr. Bring in to Malaysia please

• If i were to import this bike from Indonesia, how much would it cost hmmm???

• Buy Key on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Hmmm i hope the price market may be lower =’

• iming on May 31, 2017 at 3:34 pm

x masuk malaysia sbb nk bagi laluan kepada modenas pulsar.

• Hoyhoysum on Jun 09, 2017 at 1:55 am

Betul, Lagipun ada banyak motor tempatan mengeluarkan racer bike sekitar suku litre. Boon Siew Honda takkan bawak masuk olihkerana stock cbr250r masih banyak. Honda Jepun perlu tukar distributor di negara ini.

• Danish on Oct 10, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Bring in to malaysia ASAP im very horny with this cbr250rr, im begging please

• Qamarul on Oct 12, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Please bring to malaysia ! Its gonna beat the r25

• khairul on Oct 21, 2017 at 5:00 am

Mana x nye harga cbr250cc cecah 30k x patut btul cukai tinggi nk mmpos..kalau d indonesia baru 21k

• Raifa Racing on Nov 14, 2017 at 7:32 am

I wanna buy this! I love the sexy of CBR250RR

• Dari rakyat on Jun 30, 2018 at 7:55 am

Aparaaaaa ……olang mau bli…..
    Lamaaaa dah tunggu
    Banyak alasan
    Baik….jual motor pada ahli kluarga sajaaaaa….

• Olang kita on Jun 30, 2018 at 8:00 am

Honda ni…. pengawai lena paaaa
    Tsk dengar pembeli kata……mau beli…mau beli
    Dah bertahun……tahun…..tunggu
    Mau motor tu reput bru nsk juai kaa