2016 Honda CBR250RR to start production in August?

Honda-CBR250RR-Light-Weight-Concept-Tokyo-Motor-Show-06

Honda’s rumoured replacement for the CBR250R, the 2016 CBR250RR, is rumoured to be going into production in August this year. The CBR250RR was previewed as the “Light Weight Super Sports” concept at last year’s Tokyo motor show. The quarter-litre class is hotly contested in developing markets like ASEAN, and a new Honda 250 is long overdue.

The 2016 CBR250RR will be a parallel-twin, and is said to be coming with a bunch of riding aids and controls taken from its bigger engined siblings in Honda’s range. Production is reported by visordown to likely be in Honda’s plants in either Indonesia or Thailand, which might mean the new quarter-litre Honda may hit the south-east Asian market first.

The Honda CBR250RR’s closest rival is the Yamaha R25, and the Ninja 250. The Honda CBR250R retails from RM21,728 in base form, to RM25,650 for the Repsol version with ABS, inclusive of GST. The Yamaha R25 retails for RM20,206 inclusive of GST, while the Ninja 250R retails for around RM22,000, excluding GST.

GALLERY: Honda Light Weight Super Sports concept

GALLERY: Yamaha R25

GALLERY: Kawasaki Ninja 250

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Tanjung on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Please bring this baby to Malaysia. Can’t wait anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Please bring it in…at the right price and not the typical over inflated Dumno pricing and stripped out specs. that we have been getting for our cars!

• CBR250RR on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:37 pm

I getting my B license for this. ALL FOR THIS. <3

• You dont need B full licence to ride this bro

• cbr1000rr on Nov 30, 2016 at 3:43 pm

your current b2 still valid to ride this bike dude.if more than 250cc then u need to upgrade your license.
      dun just own the license but knows the max cc you can ride.

• you only need b2 to ride this beast bro. b license is for 500 cc and above

• Sameer Mungole on Apr 16, 2016 at 6:01 am

I hope that Honda launches this awesome bike in India as soon as possible !

• Busit sangat lah honda. Yamaha rules!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Really can’t wait. It’s hard to wait for me. Bring it to Malaysia as soon as possible. And kindly paultan keep us updated about everything cbr250rr. Thanks

• Mr_Happy on Aug 08, 2016 at 9:28 pm

I’m in Indonesia have been pre order, this Motor cycle Produce by AHM Indonesia (Astra Honda Motor) will get it on second week of November…!

• Dinesh on Nov 28, 2016 at 10:28 am

Which is better ? Yamaha R25 or this ..need opinions