Touch ‘n Go RFID – duration of public pilot programme will be extended to further fine-tune the system

The public pilot programme for the Touch n Go (TnG) radio-frequency identification (RFID) system is set to be extended. This is to allow flaws in the system to be resolved before the electronic toll collection system can be officially launched, Bernama reports.

According to Smart Tunnel deputy general manager Mohd Noor Ali, highway concession companies have been working with TNG to obtain feedback from users who have registered for the pilot project. He said that based on these, there were some technical issues that needed improvements, and these will be made during the trial period.

“They are the barcode detection levels from car stickers and the link with the eWallet application. In comparison to a physical card that automatically states the balance, the RFID needs to be used together with the application but sometimes we find that it ‘crashes’, so this needs to be resolved first,” he explained.

He added that the trial period for the RFID pilot project depended on reports and feedback from toll concessionaires and the public. “So far, the concessionaires have received feedback on the RFID where at times, the boom barriers fail to open, there is “slow detection” and overcharging,” he said.

The RFID tag utilises a radio frequency chip and an antenna contained in a sticker, and this is permanently attached to the vehicle. As the vehicle passes through the toll gate, an overhead scanner reads the radio-frequency from the RFID chip and deducts the toll fare from the user’s eWallet.

The RFID public pilot programme began last September, and as of April this year has a sizeable community of over 200,000 pilot testers across the Klang Valley, Johor and Penang. Currently, there are 167 RFID TNG lanes operating on 23 highways, involving 58 toll plazas. Read more about the TNG RFID here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• U-Tun on May 15, 2019 at 11:21 am

Seems toll abolishment never in sight. More money needed to spend in never ending pilot project

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Sohai on May 15, 2019 at 12:35 pm

Do this new RFID solve the main problem of traffic jam kilometersto to pay toll…??? Also why there“slow detection” and overcharging,” ??? Singapore run this 20yrs back ago at full speed 110kmh without issues, detection at gantry 100% ELIMINATED pay toll congestion problem. Malaysia After 20yrs still doing worst than before 20yrs of Singapore…

• Songlap on May 15, 2019 at 2:47 pm

No toll abolishment. More money to spend in LTH, LTAT, FELDA in never ending pilot project

• fadhli on May 15, 2019 at 11:28 am

Yup, because of the issues gave me a huge surprise. though someone had stolen my car due to i’ve received notification of toll usage on the day my car was at home the whole day.
    found out that its a charge from previous date that just got reflected.

• Maybe internet/cloud connection down at the time. It’s only reflected once connection is back.

• Add A Comment on May 16, 2019 at 7:51 am

I had the same surprise…

• Thanos on May 15, 2019 at 11:46 am

Syabas Malaysia Baru. TnG now on par with world class UK Oyster & HK Octopus…

• Aniki Tan on May 15, 2019 at 11:51 am

Please learn from UAE what is a real RFID tag. RFID used radio frequency, not infrared, you don’t need to reverse again to scan it, how are you going to compete with those country that use RFID with high speed lane without barrier> Learn from them and apply accordingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • they have been testing for so long and still haven’t fixed the sensors distance relative to the gate…. a few of them open early enough to drive through smoothly, but many are badly placed so that u have to stop very close to the gate and wait for it to open

• Richard on May 15, 2019 at 1:31 pm

Barriers that won’t open and is quite inconsistent. This needs to be fixed. Also, the speed of reading should be much faster – currently it seems SmartTAG works faster and with Paydirect, I’m not sure why I’d want to use the RFID as it seems slower and more problematic

• razor on May 15, 2019 at 3:53 pm

true that.
      to make thing worst is the placement of rfid lane at the middle and share with tng. just use smartag with pay direct now.

• kura2 on May 15, 2019 at 1:46 pm

RFID should just come with the roadtax so only cars with valid roadtax can go through. and you can still pass through without amount in your account, just impose penalty when renew road tax

• willie on May 15, 2019 at 2:10 pm

For those that have issue on your RFID at the toll plaza, how do they handle it, assuming discover that the RFID is spoil. i cant see how they are going to handle it right on the spot, or ask to reverse and park at plaza station to get it rectified ?

• Singapore has been using electronic toll collection for DECADES and v r only now in the infant stage….shamefulmaluapa

• Jeromy on May 15, 2019 at 3:20 pm

So far so good for me.
    -Highway that works best is NPE.. detection is super good at almost 40kmph or more.
    -Highway that combined RFID and normal touch ‘n go is just plain silly. Still need queue but fortunately with paydirect can use back smart tag. Not to mention this kinda booth has the worst detection. Almost have to come to a standstill for it to detect.
    -Dedicated RFID lanes at KESAS. Quite a disappointment as have to slow down to less than 20kmph for detection. Expected it to perform better than NPE since its a dedicated lane but its worst.

Other than that, I’m a happy user. Takes the hassle of top up touch n go card and fiddling around with smart tag when i forget to take them up.

• akongz on May 16, 2019 at 7:53 am

Redundant, as touch and go now has pay-direct feature.

• Has anyone experienced with overcharge or charged multiple times even though passing through the toll just once?

• LJS71 on May 16, 2019 at 12:35 pm

LDP, please make RFID a dedicated lane, not with TnG.

• TouchnGo need more research and studies on RFID system. I’m as rfid pilot tester i still prefer the Smart Tag. Its better than rfid. Should have SOP for the all the TOLLs in malaysia to implement. Same time TouchnGo management should study and train the staff how to service the client when contacted for support.