BMW drops Apple CarPlay subscription fees in all markets, including Malaysia – no future charges

In July, BMW announced that it was introducing a subscription fee for Apple CarPlay use on its models, essentially charging customers for a function that is free to use in cars from other makes. Less than half a year after that big song and dance, the company has pulled the plug on the subscription fee, meaning that there will no longer be a charge imposed for Apple CarPlay use on a BMW vehicle.

The termination of the subscription fee was announced in markets such as the United States, Australia and the United Kingdom, as well as Malaysia – we reached out to BMW Malaysia earlier and was told that the company will no longer charge any subscription fees for local models equipped with Apple CarPlay.

UPDATE, DECEMBER 20: BMW Malaysia has finally now communicated that while the subscription fees have been dropped, a one-time payment is still needed to enable CarPlay on a BMW vehicle capable of running the standard, if the vehicle isn’t already enabled with Apple CarPlay.

At this juncture, all locally-assembled models – even moving into the future – are not, and as such will need that one-off Apple CarPlay Preparation, which as listed through the local BMW ConnectedDrive Customer Portal and on-board ConnectedDrive store is priced RM1,299. Current CBU models have Apple CarPlay enabled, meaning that there is no need for owners to pay anything for CarPlay access, and this will continue moving forward.

At its point of introduction, BMW Malaysia offered four tiers to choose from for subscription, which was referred to as Apple CarPlay Preparation. The plans were available through the BMW ConnectedDrive Customer Portal, in the Connected Drive Store.

Pricing started with a trial option for RM5, renewable for up to three months and meant for those wanting to try out the feature before committing. A 12-month plan was priced at RM513, while a 36-month/three-year plan went for RM799 and unlimited access, for RM1,899.

The automaker initially said that it had nothing to gain from the decision to impose a fee, and that the move was actually a global directive from Apple, later explaining that the subscription was due to wireless connectivity adding complexity and incurring extra cost in integration. It’d be interesting to find out just how many users paid for the service, and how many that didn’t screamed about having to do so. Sounds like many screamed loud enough.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AkooIm on Dec 05, 2019 at 4:55 pm

Apple…? What do u expect from them…
    They will even charge u for just looking at their products if they can…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Obama on Dec 07, 2019 at 2:06 am

Apple had no control over whether or not BMW charged for it. It was not Apple’s choice to charge for Apple Car. Just because you cannot afford Apple doesn’t mean you can’t go around hating.

• AkooIm on Dec 10, 2019 at 10:17 am

In a typical I-fag fashion:
        “U hate Apple because u cant afford one”

LOL!!!

• Lolipop on Dec 05, 2019 at 5:05 pm

An U-turn from BMW? i didn’t expected that.

• So no refund for those who paid??

• Ali Rustam on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:42 pm

So rich also, still BMW buyers want refund back? So malu. Can buy RM300k car but few ringgit refund, still want back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
      • That is the misconception from ordinary folks.. rich ppl are rich because they are calculative.. those that “Tak apa lah, few ringgit saja bagi la” are the poor fellow..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • It’s called getting fair value for your money but not like Japanese fangirl such as you to understand this concept, you love being ripped off with overpriced and underspecced cars from your idols.

• Does it mean dropped the subscription or dropped the service?

• 318i Owner on Dec 05, 2019 at 5:06 pm

With free Apple CarPlay, BMW wud overtake Audi.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 05, 2019 at 5:10 pm

I guess those who paid for it will be getting a refund else it’ll be a class action lawsuit coming to BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • F30 330e still needs to pay for one time fees of RM1299 for unlimited usage.

• S S aLau on Dec 05, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Apple CarPlay and Android Auto have always been free on my Audi A4 and Mercedes E350e. The proposal for a subscription fee was a new thing and it’s only right they drop it

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:24 pm

Still no Android Auto. Deal breaker for me.

• Ali Rustam on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:39 pm

Apple and BMW are shameful companies. Now BMW already asking subscription to use their safety equipment.

So malu. No wonder sales are dropping rapidly in Malaysia for both brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • ocool on Dec 06, 2019 at 1:05 am

What safety subscription ? SOS? Was it free for life last time?

• Is it really free? The only difference now I see in the ConnectedDrive store is that there are no yearly subscription and Unlimited Access is RM1,299 instead of RM1,899… seriously?

• Bieight on Dec 05, 2019 at 7:22 pm

Still no android auto???

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 05, 2019 at 7:29 pm

Android users just left the chat.

• paparadzi on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:14 pm

Free Apple CarPlay and Android Auto for my Volvo. Also comes with adaptive cruise control, adaptive headlights, semi-autonomous driving, 360 camera and numerous safety features.

• Chen Fun Tee on Dec 11, 2019 at 10:14 pm

I have confirmed with BMW Malaysia and it is not free. You need to pay RM1299 for unlimited access.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 12, 2019 at 11:28 am

We checked with BMW Malaysia twice on December 5 on the matter, because we saw that the local online portal and on-board ConnectedDrive store still said that Apple CarPlay Preparation was listed and priced at RM1,299. BMW Malaysia has said that this will be updated to remove the pricing – as to when exactly, we have no idea.

What we do know is that it has been confirmed by BMW Malaysia that moving forward, there will be no payment needed whatsoever for Apple CarPlay in all BMW cars equipped with it. This was added as an update in the story later that same day.

• Ek Eleh on Dec 13, 2019 at 11:24 am

So who is lying now Paul Tan, Chen Fun Tee or BMW?

• I have official email reply from BMW Malaysia that it is chargeable at RM1299. This is new price updated few days ago. I have also called customer service and they replied consistently that chargeable. I feedback to them that they should clear the sir by announcing officially on this matter.

• mikechan on Dec 17, 2019 at 9:53 am

Just contacted BMW connected drive customer service and they claimed that they have an announcement make on Apple Car Play is chargeable.

• ocool on Dec 23, 2019 at 6:48 pm

Still waiting for it to from time rm0 -.-