BMW’s Apple CarPlay subscription due to wireless connectivity adding complexity and cost – report

Last month’s introduction of a subscription service for Apple CarPlay may have caused current and prospective BMW owners to spit out their drinks at the news, but Munich says it is not merely going after their money. According to Car and Driver, the official explanation from a representative is that the company uses different hardware compared to other carmakers.

You see, BMW’s version of CarPlay is wireless, dispensing with the wired connection required on other cars. This incurs additional complexity and, as you might imagine, cost – although it should be mentioned that, depending on the country, the company already charges extra for CarPlay preparation, bundled in with other connectivity features as part of the Connected Package Plus.

But the article lists another possible reason for the move – the ability to provide support for CarPlay functionality throughout the life of the car (or at least, throughout the period of your subscription). As Apple continues to iterate iOS, there’s a chance that a software update could break compatibility with the car.

The research and development that goes into keeping the in-car technology in step with the technology in your pocket also costs money, time and resources, which has to be reaped back somehow. The good news for consumers is that charging for the service at least puts the onus on BMW to make sure their cars’ CarPlay connectivity stays functional in the years to come – something that’s not necessarily true for other carmakers.

Of course, the subscription model is a slippery slope, the publication notes. How much longer will it be before BMW starts charging for things like additional horsepower though a paywall, for example? And how will other carmakers react to the news – will they start offering a subscription for CarPlay as well?

The company previously said that offering up CarPlay as a subscription service was in obligation to an Apple directive, not BMW’s, and that charging for the service makes it cheaper for those willing to forgo CarPlay. This, we assume, includes Android users, although the company still does not offer Android Auto support.

Either way, the CarPlay subscription is here and now, including in Malaysia. All BMW models sold in Malaysia are fitted with CarPlay preparation as standard, but the service costs RM513 for 12 months, RM799 for three years and RM1,899 for unlimited usage. Still not convinced? You can opt for a trial that costs RM5 per month, for a maximum of three months.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Shukor bin Azman on Aug 05, 2019 at 5:37 pm

This is all waste of money. BMW Malaysia should focus more on making their cars last longer than all this gimmick.

Try to shed your image of Banyak Masuk Workshop (BMW). That is more important to consumers in Malaysia.

Most BMW owners want reliability and zero breakdowns. I rather have no entertainment system in my car than a car with all the latest gadgets but I am always waiting for the tow truck in the hot sun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 48
    • Dr. Mario on Aug 06, 2019 at 10:05 am

Becareful bro, later that game over Mario troll will come here and spam dislike button on your game changing comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Burning Motorist Wallet on Aug 05, 2019 at 5:54 pm

There are plenty of wireless apple CarPlay android USB module in the market. You do not need to pay subscription to bMW to use the wireless band and bMW doesn’t owns the apple CarPlay wireless band set by FCC.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 05, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Meanwhile other vehicle ownes can buy the latest Kenwood system with wireless CarPlay and Android Auto bundled together in the same head unit.

• Crasher7 on Aug 05, 2019 at 6:12 pm

Meanwhile, A-Segment Kia Picanto has CarPlay included without any additional bs

• Aura89 on Aug 05, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Oh wow. BMW went the EA way. What next? Microtransactions to unlock full A/C cooling power or else bake in the car for an hour? In this weather, you can probably guess right that majority of BMW owners will rush to subscribe.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 05, 2019 at 9:08 pm

Hahaha. BMW owners get shafted.

I always wondered why BMW systems don’t offer Android Auto. Apparently reason as above. So it may have been Apple pulling strings but it would be silly for BMW to follow suit.

Especially when BMW smart key systems can run on Android.

• Know your CarPlay on Aug 05, 2019 at 9:24 pm

There is no justification to pay a subscription unless it officially certified CarPlay Premium:
    – 3D offline maps
    – Voice instructions
    – Speed limits
    – Actual speed
    – Signpost info and directions
    – A simplified Lane Assistant will be displayed on the screen
    – Places on Route will be displayed on the phone while connected
    – Detailed directions will be displayed on the phone while connected
    – Quick menu will be accessible on the dashboard and on the phone while connected
    – You can launch and use Head-up Display, Dashcam and Cockpit while connected

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 05, 2019 at 10:00 pm

It’s a non issue. Most BMW owners can easily afford it or it’s a company car.

• You can simply solve the problem by buying a Merc instead. Or any other car that comes with both Apple Carplay/Android Auto as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • JasonT on Aug 06, 2019 at 5:50 am

Its not necessary to plug-in, its just the phone calls and music via your car speakers. Alternatively, get a 2nd Android phone or buy another car brand. Or worst, avoid iPhones if u can live without.

• JOACHIM on Aug 06, 2019 at 9:26 am

Unfortunately, BMW don’t offer alternatives to CP. AA isn’t featured on their HU so there is no other alternatives.

• sohai on Aug 06, 2019 at 10:16 am

Just buy an original cable for RM80 and plug in. Use for lifetime

• PeeHamTabiu on Aug 06, 2019 at 1:56 pm

Boooo !!!! Boooo BMW !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6