Subaru R1

Subaru’s flagship K-car is the Subaru R1, a mini 2×2 weighing only 798kg. It’s powered by a 660cc 16-valve AVCS engine makes 54hp. This car was definitely not designed to go fast. It’s basically a two-door version of the Subaru R2, with a shorter body and wheelbase.

Recently Subaru unveiled an electric version of the R1 designated the R1e. The Subaru R1e was unveiled at the TOkyo Motor Show last year, but the car has yet to be put into production.

Unlike the Toyota Prius which has a no plug-in policy (usually ignored), the Subaru R1e’s battery can be charged by a normal single-phase 22V AC outlet, commonly used in Japan for air conditioners. On a full charge the car can go slightly more than 200km. Perfect to travel short distances like to work and back or out for a drink, or to go to the market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wah it looks damn cute.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 23, 2005 at 3:38 pm

This car is for Ladys! For men like us not suitable cause you will look a bit "NAH NAH" lei.

• AlexC on Aug 23, 2005 at 4:43 pm

Hmm… cool… wonder how it might look like with spoilers and body kits… maybe like nissan march??? erm, blue maybe??? kinda like this car though… a bit girlish yeah, and on second thought, no… am too big sized for small car…

• napps on Aug 23, 2005 at 5:29 pm

arrggghhhh! why, why why does subaru betrayed its principles!!!! what the hell r they thinking making sissy cars??!!!!

• i definately do not want to see this 'car' in Malaysia. super fugly. even to say this car is meant for the ladies is an insult.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 23, 2005 at 5:57 pm

Did you guys know that in Japan Ladys are the main customers who buy mini car (Under 660cc)? Subaru plans to compete with Daihatsu and Suzuki (Mini car King in Japan). Mini car segments is an import markets in JAPAN. Of course it is not for MALAYSIAN!

• cloudz on Aug 23, 2005 at 7:06 pm

hmm…i have to say is fugly but i love the peice of technology they have..

anyway..the head shape reminds me of Toyota Vits..isnt it?

• nicktay on Aug 23, 2005 at 8:20 pm

looks nice…but alittle small la

• mud_chains on Aug 23, 2005 at 8:50 pm

Hmm… looks a little bit sissy to me… but the front grill looks like copying from Alfa Romeo… wright??? I think, this model is for Japan car segmen coz' main buyers for this type of car maily women….

If Subaru wanna sell that in Malaysia, maybe not coz' Malaysian women drive big-big car…. small one are not their taste lahhh……

• rafreez on Aug 23, 2005 at 9:19 pm

cute, but I prefer cars that use petrol that battery. I magine u need to go home in a thunderstorm, no matter how hitech the car is, nature is un predictable…..zappppp…..and u have ur self a 'KERETA SORONG'.. :)

• cloudz on Aug 23, 2005 at 9:35 pm

rafreez..canot say like this la..even a petrol car oso canot withstand the zap from thunder la..if kena sure letup then u not go back with kereta sorong but kerata hangus..

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 23, 2005 at 11:39 pm

For those who said SOME ONE always gave bad comments to POTONG, it was not true! You see MANY of YOU gave silly bad comments to other car makers as well. Honestly, there is No 100% agreed or disagreed on any Specific Model Design is GOOD or BAD, Even MB or BMW design will also received bad comments! Different nation different culture and thinking rights?

This is a FREE comments Website!! No border or limits……..Keep it on……Yeah. Have FUN on it!

• hfrshah on Aug 24, 2005 at 12:38 am

the design of the instrument panel is interesting…

like it or not, Subaru's new 'inverse-Alfa' grill is already filtering through to all its models. the latest Impreza has it, and so does the B9 Tribeca. doesnt look too bad on the Impreza, but on the SUV its hideous

• Verne on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:31 am

Is it just me or does the R1 look like the Toyota Aygo? Hmmm

• hfrshah on Aug 24, 2005 at 3:01 am

yup, very similar. esp the top picture, back part

• performance_for_life on Aug 24, 2005 at 7:03 am

the front of this subaru looks like a Alfa Romeo grille because it was designed by a former alfa designer….Mr. Zapatinas i think…

• this R1 already sell for market in Japan lah..including 4 door version.cool beb!but only for going somewhere without big luggage ok la.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 24, 2005 at 9:51 am

beautiful car.. .. looks like it got compitetion form smart coupe..

and it 2 seater…

and if this a girl car or a woman car…

what does male car looks like?…………

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 24, 2005 at 6:51 pm

Men car is simple and smart looking car, not colorful like Toilet bath or small little control button. Interior with Black or grey will be just nice Loh! (To Hokkien Lang bro)

• hokkien lang. on Aug 25, 2005 at 8:38 am

if that so why i see alot men car, when i say alot it mean more than 500 men,

decorate their car like 'jinjang'? but when women, i mean own by women they decorate their car simple…?

why i know it. because i'm a goreng pisang seller. i saw alot type of car stop at my stall.men car decorate his car become not like car……, if jeremy clarkson caw it he vomit terus… if they decorate their car like fast n furiuos it does't matter because it nice to see,example.put the blue neon light to entire car.. can you inmagen it?

can you expaliant to me ,oh wise ancient 1 dog wan?

• hokkien lang. on Aug 25, 2005 at 11:45 pm

example:put the blue neon light to entire car.. i mean they decorate to most ugly car they can in malaysia….

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 8:31 pm

Aya….simple mah!

Do you know why they did it? Chick wanna to have FUN, the Chick like these things, therefore Men have to install lah. I called these cars as CHICK's CAR.

Did you like to fishing? What did you put on the hook/snare? I am sure not PISANG GORENG why? Fish does not like PISANG GORENG rights? Did you like to eat worms? Not, cause it is for Fish. Simple lei?

I hope you can understand now! Hokkien lang bro, it is fun to know you more!! HAA..HA

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 8:39 pm

Finally you can catch the BIG FISH!!! just a litte investment Agreed?

Without it you will eat yourself only!

• hokkien lang. on Aug 29, 2005 at 6:25 pm

oh is that so… i understand……

no wander some time i saw, man car :a lot of trash!!! to bait the chick lar?

no wander my ney-ber attract to that car… be-kos her father is chicken seller

that car he install:amp, sub-woofer,tweetey,and every thing good.

then let the girl use…. and then you know next?

her parent use that car to re-stock a chicken bis-ness…

ha ha ha

you quite a funny guy or (lady?) dog the wan..

nice to meet you..

btw, that day i at penang.(26/8/2005) why? to borong DVD disc… very cheap!!!!!!!

price? no way i'm going to say… why, find it yourself……. peace…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:35 pm

Cheap DVD!!

I guess less than RM5. Correct??

Don't ask me why I knew it. KUAK..KUak..kuak