Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Volkswagen Golf GT 1.4 TSI and 2.0 TDI

Volkswagen was at the Frankfurt Motor Show with a few highlights - 2 new Volkswagen Golf models, a Volkswagen Touareg W12 and the Volkswagen Cabriolet.

Following the Volkswagen Golf GTI and the Volkswagen Golf R32, here comes the new Volkswagen Golf GT. The Golf GT comes in two incarnations, a 1.4 liter TSI gasoline engine and a 2.0 liter TDI diesel engine.

TSI is a Twin-charged version of Volkwagen’s FSI direct injection engine. TSI stands for “turbocharged stratified injection”. This little 1.4 liter monster makes about 168hp and 240Nm of torque at 1750-4000rpm. This big amount of low-end torque is achievable through a supercharger that works up to 2000rpm before the turbocharger kicked in.

I blogged about this Volkswagen SuperTurbo system previously if you want to read in detail. For normal driving, this powerful yet frugal engine gives a mileage of 7.2 liters per 100km. Comparitively, my aging 1.6 DOHC engine in my Satria 1.6 uses about 10 liters per 100km.

Performance stats? 0-100km/h in 7.9 seconds and a top speed of 220km/h.

Europeans love hatches and Europeans love diesels. The other Volkswagen Golf GT is a 2.0 TDI engine which features the same twin-charging system employing both a supercharger and a turbocharger. Power output is identical to the 1.4 liter petrol engine - 168hp, but as with all diesels - maximum torque is a massive 350Nm at a low 1900rpm.

The interior is sporty and very “no-nonsense”. I think you should be able to notice that the boost meter graphic I have on the right side of my blog’s banner at the top of this page is actually the Volkswagen Golf GT’s boost meter :)

19 Comments »

1. ah lim said,

September 15, 2005 @ 7:44 am

cantik…. but no money……. the engine so compact…… base on power should B ok…. value, better by luxury cars…. besor Ckit…….

2. kody said,

September 15, 2005 @ 8:00 am

excellent power plant & twin charged system, how good if ‘potong’ can have twin charge in its product. haha… super wira… waja…..—-> more accidents……

3. DOG THE WAN said,

September 15, 2005 @ 9:45 am

I like the interior, simple!! and the engine layout ….clean looking and well arranged.

4. rafreez said,

September 15, 2005 @ 10:43 am

engine nice also no point…unless u open the hud then only can see…:P…money money money

5. Jason said,

September 15, 2005 @ 12:28 pm

The Europeans love to stuff the engine into a tight space.

6. akari said,

September 15, 2005 @ 1:27 pm

the screen between meter just like handphone’s lol
    next model maybe they colour it n maybe u could set ur own wallpaper? XD

7. E-Nabill said,

September 15, 2005 @ 4:22 pm

askari,the car alarm oso can put mp3 ringtone !

8. Suresh said,

September 16, 2005 @ 8:36 am

I like this car! good mileage and interior is pretty nice.

9. stupid rafidah said,

September 16, 2005 @ 1:59 pm

interior sucks too airplane-ish
    should be more souped

10. Chun said,

September 16, 2005 @ 2:26 pm

To me, the engine in this car is one of the most significant small engines to have come out in recent years. We are talking about 170bhp from a stock standard 1.4l engine. To put it into perspective, we are talking about 2.4l power with fuel consumption similar to a 1.6l. Plus, for Malaysia, you get all this performance and get to pay at the new reduced road tax rate for cars below 1.6l.

11. Wolfgang TUV said,

September 17, 2005 @ 1:09 am

Excellent car !!!!!! …must buy…

12. neurra said,

September 17, 2005 @ 1:35 pm

huhu.. i wonder if tuners will have superturbo for national market..

13. carlos said,

September 20, 2005 @ 10:14 am

Jason said,
    September 15, 2005 @ 12:28 pm

The Europeans love to stuff the engine into a tight space.

WTF? thats a 1.4 4 cilinder block! they’ve managed to shove a 3.0 v6 in there!!

14. Useng said,

October 15, 2005 @ 3:16 pm

My i know the expected price of this car?

15. Phil said,

November 23, 2005 @ 5:51 pm

Looks nice,but i think is bit too much for 1.4 engine.you would expect at least 2.0l engine for 170 bhp.wonder how long does the engine last if driven fast all the time.

16. 2008 Volkswagen Scirocco Concept Photos » said,

May 25, 2006 @ 8:13 pm

[...] Engine options will be the 1.4 liter 170 horsepower twin-charger TSI from the Golf GT, the 2.0 liter turbocharged 200 horsepower motor from the Golf GTI, and the normally aspirated 3.2 liter V6 making 250 horsepower from the Golf R32. Note that by the time it is launched, the R32 might have been replaced by an R36 moniker, which means a 3.6 V6 instead of a 3.2 V6. [...]

17. Volkswagen cranks up twincharged 1.4 to 200hp said,

July 10, 2006 @ 11:18 am

[...] Volkswagen acknowledges that most consumers still have the impression that displacement rules all, and look at the size of the engine rather than the amount of torque and horsepower it produces. The 1.4 TSI engines that go into current Volkswagen cars do not have the 1.4 liter engine capacity advertised anywhere including on the model names. The Volkswagen Golf with a 170hp TSI engine is called the Volkswagen Golf GT. [...]

18. pmcleish said,

July 8, 2007 @ 7:23 pm

My last 3 cars have been VW’s:
    - a 2.3lt V5 Bora (Jetta)
    - a 2.0lt Golf Sportline
    and 2 weeks after they released the Golf TSI in AUS, I bought one - best VW I’ve ever owned!! 1.4lt, but you’d think it was a V6!! Better fuel economy, better acceleration, and great fun to drive! Haven’t regretted it yet.

PeterMc

19. ront said,

December 22, 2007 @ 6:50 am

tested the 2.0 TDi…..engine is quite noisy while driving…..and also the noise from the surrounding is quite loud….

but its a powerful engine…..sweet acceleration….

previous post: Perodua Myvi Widebody Kit
next post: 2007 Volkswagen Eos Cabriolet

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!