Porsche to buy 20% stake in Volkswagen AG

Der Spiegel has reported that Porsche is preparing to purchase 20 percent of Volkswagen AG shares to become the main shareholder in the company.

The main reason behind this? Porsche wants to protect their technological investment in the joint platforms that Porsche has co-developed with Volkswagen AG like the Cayenne/Touareg platform and also their hybrid systems.

These deals for joint-platforms would be endangered if someone engages in a takeover of Volkswagen AG, which is currently in crisis. With this stake purchase, a hostile takeover would be prevented with the combined shareholding of Lower Saxony (18.2%), Volkswagen’s own holding (13.1%) and Porsche’s shares (20%) making up the majority.

This deal would be worth approximately 3 billion euro.

I wonder if this would affect any talks between Volkswagen and Proton.

Source: Spiegel Online

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 25, 2005 at 7:13 pm

NAH

PORSCHE WOULDNT BE SO KIND

IF ADA PORSCHE+VW+PROTON(MITSU)+LOTUS

wah we have a elise evo with a boxter 4wd

fuiyo…

• karheng on Sep 25, 2005 at 7:15 pm

I tot Porsche is currently owned by VW group?

• ….then volks will be too busy for proton deal ….

still i really dont favour volks = continental for proton

proton, you need japanese partner, really!

…if only renault/nissan interested in proton…

• karheng: nope… porsche is on it's own. volkswagen owns lamborghini though.

• api-chai on Sep 25, 2005 at 9:07 pm

Wow……….. then 3rd generation Satria GTI will be based on Golf GTI ah ??? Drool…………………..

• hauzi on Sep 25, 2005 at 9:25 pm

u guys think too much la…….

proton is proton,no matter how the greatest technic added,its still proton…means same lousy as always

• api-chai on Sep 25, 2005 at 10:34 pm

hauzi:

very true also……… even if they got Lotus Handling, VW platform, Porche's flat 6 engine & Mistubishi's AYC system………. THEY ULTIMATELY STILL HAVE LOUSY PLASTIC FEEL……… PERIOD ! dats our proton !

• E-Nabill on Sep 25, 2005 at 10:58 pm

i dont think it affects any proton deal,porche want to protect teir r&d platform that thy did with vw in making the cayene ,i tink thy dowant vw to sell the platform to othr manufacutrers,it seems that porche are happy with their tehnical colaborations with vw….so y nt take it a step further…it kinda makes sence to me

• Selvenz on Sep 26, 2005 at 12:18 am

True , i doubt it affects the Proton – VW deal , anyways I somehow doubt there will any collabrations with VW other then just to rebadge or kit assembly here.

• hauzi on Sep 26, 2005 at 1:41 am

no matter how , proton will not get the tech that include porsche inside..its totally different case oredi

wat proton NEED is QC improvement only,and a little bit creativity(altou there is no such creativity words in proton's engineer head),THATS ALL

oh,and serious attitude when they combine those part of car.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 26, 2005 at 3:53 am

VW or Porsche not interested in POTONG but interested on the Manufacturing plant at TANJUNG MALIM and Market of Malaysia plus SEA.

• karheng on Sep 26, 2005 at 5:38 am

Paul: Oh I see. I tot that with Porsche and VW sharing similar wheelbases for many cars, it's due to the fact that VW owns Porsche. That's because my friend took a pair of classic Porsche Carrera's 911 seats and just fit it staright into the classic VW beetle. Maybe the fittings are the same…

Becausethe Cayenne and the Toureg sharing the same platform, I tot they were together all this while. I can't really remember what others they shared tho…..

• Jason on Sep 26, 2005 at 8:15 am

Hmm, i always thought Porsche was under VW. Most probably because VW is the biggest automobile manufactuer in Europe(right?). Now i am wondering why Ferrari cant survive themself like Porsche.

Btw, stop bashing Proton in every single page la. Stick to the topic.

• Charger on Sep 26, 2005 at 10:18 am

Jason: Because Ferrari is Italians.

Wahahahaha!

The Germans are better, you see?

• Johnny Boy on Sep 26, 2005 at 5:16 pm

Italians: Arrogant

Germans: Dictator/Hairy Armpit ( told by a british to me )

Payback time coz, b4 Proton bought Lotus, they actually intend to buy Porsche, but was turned down Wolfgang, sorry, Porsche is from german by german for the world, no asian needed inside here……how arrogant the nazi's statement dude.

And here we r, some stupid msian, dont know head and tail, buy the stupid looking, technology vehicle. If only u guys know how the Germans hate asian then u wouldnt want to buy any BMW, Merc, VW and Porsche ler……berlagak hidung tinggi ler…….

• rafreez on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:13 pm

yes….I agree with johnny boy, Germans and most European just want to take advantage of the rich asian country…I think VW is just toying with us trying to talk merging with proton but in the end its all going to end up like P2 where daihatsu take everything back n leave the selling back to Msian…how pity is that…in the end we only going to get a non Msian cars manufactured in Tg Malim with design from Europe and design by European guy and exported to other countries and what left with us is just the svc center, reject quality cars to be sold here and etc…guys dont dream Porshe will be manufactured in tg malim and sold here

• Handsfree on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:22 pm

Proton… hurry up…. save employment…. talk about face later….

• Johnny Boy on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:42 pm

Rafreez, i demand good quality products and services, but at the same time, im not into westerners who think that they are so great ( Porsche, Tommy Hilfiger etc. ) that they downgrade us asians…….

That why they r afraid of asians, eventhough we are superior tahn Australians, we're still can work together…until the OZs naik kepala ler……..

• hauzi on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:43 pm

Johnny Boy: beside the topic…

Italian really ARROGANT…maybe u guys met some nice italian b4 ,but last time becuz of machine damaged,we need those new part to replace the damaged part,then those italian.. they think they are higher cls than us,then lcly at there…knn…

• Johnny Boy on Sep 26, 2005 at 8:51 pm

Thats why the partnership between GM-Fiat failed…..read the case study, then u know…..

• Porsche's founder is actually VW's Beatle creator's son. That's why the Beatle and Porshe share some look.Do you know taht's the original Beatle's design by Porsche's father is actually redefined by Hitler?That's ironic.We love a cute icon (the Beatle/Herbie) which designed by a hatred dictator.VW also own Audi,which owns Lamborghini.The automotive industry are merging..

• Streamyx User on Sep 27, 2005 at 2:55 pm

Cant wait for the upcoming model.

Porsche Saga Aeroback

• SEE FU on Sep 28, 2005 at 12:52 am

Why not Porsche ARENA??

PICK UP PORSCHE still not Exist yet!!….Good one ..GOOD ONE!!

Sale to africa to ANGKUT LEMBU!! WOH BOLEHLAND BOLEH!!

…YAU MO KAU….CHOU!!

• aksMS on Sep 28, 2005 at 4:57 am

Haji: Porsche founder is Dr Ing. Ferdinand Porsche, right?

Hauzi: what in the world makes you think Proton would gain something from this? You talk nonsense la. But P1 indeed need QC improvement…A LOT of improvement.

Automakers are sharing platforms nowadays. There are PSA Peugeot-Citroen, Daihatsu-Toyota. Protecting technology and investment. Who wouldn't? Hmmm… they are not asking the government to do that for them, isn't it? LOL!~

• faisal on Sep 29, 2005 at 11:58 pm

Interesting turn of event.

Ferdinand Piech, grandson of Dr Ferdinand Porsche, former Chairman of VW Group and who is now VW Group Adivisor ( similiar to DR M 's role in Proton) must have had a hand in this.

After all why not since he already has shares in the Family Firm.

• jonti on Dec 07, 2005 at 2:06 am

pick up proton

• pik up da protonion bledz can i eat sum 2 raz???

• OMG i bought Proton! Pick it up bled!!! It's mega safe. BWAAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPP

• I bought Proton! Pick it up bled!! It's well safe!!!!! BWWWWWWAAAAAAAAAAPPPPP

• submit da protons,we malive on da roadioz,yow 2 da streets iz wik wik

eat da shosez it=buff bling bing buff 2 nice strap da donkey tighttttttt 2 da house of horrors. proton proton! PROTON PROTON!!! YA!!!!!!254235

• Woo Proton! but tink bout body l8r..CUM ON! CUM! Big up 2 da Porsche ARENA LLLAAALLL