The Autobahn

Seeing that the post on the highway speed limit was quite hot, let’s have a look at the German Autobahn.

The Autobahns are a series of highways in Germany, though there are some Autobahn-class highways in other countries too, like Austria and Switzerland. The highways are labelled with the capital letter A, followed by a two digit number.

• A 10 to A 19 are in eastern Germany (Berlin, Saxony-Anhalt, parts of Saxony and Brandenburg)
  • A 20 to A 29 in northern and northeastern Germany
  • A 30 to A 39 in Lower Saxony (northwestern Germany)
  • A 40 to A 49 in Rhine Main and Rhine-Ruhr Areas
  • A 50 to A 59 in western Germany
  • A 60 to A 69 in Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland and Hesse
  • A 70 to A 79 in Thuringia, northern Bavaria and parts of Saxony
  • A 80 to A 89 in Baden-Württemberg
  • A 90 to A 99 in (southern) Bavaria

Autobahn construction began in the early 1920s, and the first section opened in 1935, stretching from Frankfurt Main to Darmstadt. Early Autobahns were used for breaking speed records. Shows how good the quality is. Heh. Germany’s Autobahn network today spans a length of 11,980 km in total.

Modern Autobahns have 3 lanes and 1 emergency lane. Different sections of the Autobahn have different speed limits. Some sections have no speed limit. These sections with no speed limit account for about half of the overall Autobahn stretches.

On the sections with no speed limit, it is only applicable to most vehicles except for buses which have a 60km/h speed limit, vehicles with total weight of 3.5 tonnes, most vehicles pulling trailers, and empty buses which have a 80km/h speed limit, and 100 km/h for cars and buses pulling trailers certified for that speed limit. Everything else does not have a speed limit, though it is recommended you travel at 130km/h.

Autobahns also have a minimum speed of 60km/h. If your vehicle is not capable of reaching this speed, it is not allowed to go onto the Autobahn.

Because of the Autobahn, most continental car manufacturers have a gentleman’s agreement of limiting the car’s top speed electronically to 250km/h for safety reasons.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Johan Artistry on Nov 10, 2005 at 9:31 am

i ve done 230kmh on the autobahn by myself in BMW E90 320d turbodiesel. Can go faster but the electronics didn t permit. come here and try it by yourself.. words can t describe.

• holy_cow on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:01 am

Not to be the nitpicking know-it-all or anything, but I think the 320d is naturally aspirated.

I want to drive on the autobahn someday so I can crack 300kmph. Yes, I know first I need a car that can do it. I'll just buy an M6, ho ho ho.

• deutsche volks on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:10 am

yeah…im with u johan…we were ther together…

• deutsche volks on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:13 am

u dont realise u drove with high speed in DE…untill u stop by the gas station…and see it yrself that other car is drove like mad hell!…the sound..just like in a car race…

• Johan Artistry on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:23 am

yeahh…to holy_cow..don t be confused… 320i is for the unleaded gasoline engine.. i drove 320d.. the d stands for diesel.. and all the new bwm with diesel hearts is turbocharged…on the gasolines breath W/O forced induction. ask paul yourself…ain it paul?…i was on the A 656 from mannheim to frankfurt. Four Lane expressways.. where you can see lots of audis, mercs even porsches surfin like thunderblitz

• deutsche volks on Nov 10, 2005 at 12:22 pm

about the engine…since bmw not gonna produce 318 nomore…so its kinda sad that even 320 is equipt with 4 cylinder alu bloc-engine.. inline 6 is only for 325 and obove…

• ShaolinTiger on Nov 10, 2005 at 12:29 pm

I LOVE THE AUTOBAHN!

Bring on 300kmh, it rocks.

To tell the truth though, fastest I've been is 260km/h

After that it get's a little scary.

• SEE FU on Nov 10, 2005 at 2:57 pm

My top speed records so far is only 220kmph not at Europe Autobahn but in Bolehland "NO ban" NS Highway!!…Wah…yaaa hoo….not scary on that speed because the car still in control but the road is a bit danger……. coz bumpy….thanks to OUR SAMI WALU……..So please don't try it….only my super car will do!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! No need to go to GERMANY!! :P

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 10, 2005 at 3:34 pm

Lol SEE FU.

Bolehland oso have Autobahn wat. That stretch of highway before Sepang Airport is our autobahn lo.

• SEE FU on Nov 10, 2005 at 3:53 pm

eRis-Aeir4s arr!!

R U sure?? No problems???

That's place got many LOR SUi!! Watch out!! Orang suka cari makan di sana lol!! Cari KOPI Cari pasal……mayak…..cari oh!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! KIKI KU KIKKI okay!! :)

• SEE FU on Nov 10, 2005 at 3:58 pm

Paul arr!!

Where did you test drive your new MONSTER babe lei??

NS highway, LDP,…..Sepang…… Tell me lah!! I am sure not send to Germany Autobahn!!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• Prometheus on Nov 10, 2005 at 4:06 pm

Wah.. topic on autobahn.

Autobahn also has a great support infrastructure. Cameras watching everywhere, helicopters to transport unfortunate victims, Very well designed curves, and no pools of water on the highway! as well as many other things i prolly won't know about. The most important thing aboutht eautobahn is definitely not the lack of the speed limit, but how organized the whole highway system is.

about pools of water, i once had a new honda civic spinning in circles in front of me after aquaplaning on a pool of water. Damn scary as i thought i was gonna hit the civic. Too wet to emergency brake (even with ABS). Lucky survived. (civic front and back totalled because of hitting railing) but the young Ah moi was ok…Visibility was about 5 meters at that time, and I got really wet when i came out of the car to check of the Ah moi was alright.. Private tow truck was there within 5 minutes.

And all this happen when travelling at the speed of about 110 kmh and raining cats and dogs..

Not only speed limit is important. Driving sense also is important. Dangerous to drive fast in the rain.

Another thing is that the tow truck drivers always know where the accident prone areas are. They know where the pools of water are, but PLUS just doesn't catch on.. Why like that?

• ah LIM on Nov 10, 2005 at 4:09 pm

kat sana berapa org sudah mati woiii…….. hope that mr SAMY VEllu will learn from them about speed limit…………..

• Deodorant on Nov 10, 2005 at 4:19 pm

Before we start saying "If Germany can have no speed limit, we can too," let's consider a few things:

– Mentality. Government is already having little success at controlling dangerous driving now, taking off the speed limit would probably mean spiralling road accidents and deaths/injuries.

– Cars. There is a huge difference between a BMW/Porsche/Benz doing 200, and a Proton/Perodua doing 200.

– Emergency support. I don't know just how efficient the Germans are, but in the States where I lived, get into an accident and within 5 minutes (no joke) there's state trooper cruisers, paramedics, ambulances, fire trucks at the scene, even if it's a (fairly) minor accident. Malaysia? Well, the last time I got into an accident IN TOWN it took the cops half an hour to arrive.

• saw before on discovery channel, & describe the safety & tech used on autobahn… holly baby… extreme quality highway… In 'bolehland' invest 3 billions in repairing road condition, 2 billions will in someone pockets… leftover 1 billion to tender then you will know how is the road quality…

• my_YARIS on Nov 10, 2005 at 5:02 pm

Deodorant said,

November 10, 2005 @ 8:19 am

Well, the last time I got into an accident IN TOWN it took the cops half an hour to arrive. > Simple bcos many was having teh tarik & some were just sleeping.

kody said,

November 10, 2005 @ 8:36 am

In ‘bolehland’ invest 3 billions in repairing road condition, 2 billions will in someone pockets… leftover 1 billion to tender then you will know how is the road quality… > Ehh.. how shd I say, I agree with u.

• Wilfred on Nov 10, 2005 at 5:50 pm

any how….our highway in malaysia still need speed limit….

why??

coz our "super genius" designer of the highway…

most highways not even qualify for high speed

i was in s.korea b4…

n wat…even smaller road will take into account of the car momentum…etc

so that even driving fast will be safe.

malaysia……sigh…

• hatukngkau on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:17 pm

hehe… Separuh Nilai (Semi Value) will cry "hey that's slander! i'm gonna sue u! and i'll make sure none of u can run away from my Tolls!"

• belacans on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:43 pm

about 10 years ago, did 230km/h in a BMW 5 series from kayu hitam to KL, late at night lar. but guess what, i was beaten by an Alfa and a Volvo T5. tak boleh catch up with them!

but seriously, are our hiways safe for 130km/h? only on certain stretches nearer to KL have 3 lanes, the rest only 2 lanes plus one emergency. with lorries, trailers, buses and other slow vehicles on the left, there's not much room for cars on the fast lane.

• I want to GO THERE!!!

• Fatty on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:51 pm

Deodorant: Took 30 Minutes for the police to be at the scene, normal lar. Sometimes you see in paper that someone crashed in highway at night only till the morning they get discovered, and they are mostly dead.

I got myself in an accident before, it tooks 5 mins only: for all the other people and tow trucks to circulate around you, police never turn up though.

eRis-Aeir4s: Never drive high speed in that Sepang Highway, there are always some turbo (supercharge or turbo not sure) tuned GTI JPJ/PDRM patrol car cari makan hiding in the petronas station. Heard that even a normal Evo can't outrun them.

• nuggyn on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:51 pm

most accidents are not caused by speed alone. The main culprit is BAD DRIVING HABITS….such as doesn't use the signal light when changing lanes, road hogging, tailgating, changing lanes without looking, doesn't take safety precautions such as switching ON the lights when it is needed, etc.

• senthil on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:52 pm

If you Want Malaysia to be like this…..Tingkatkan lah quality hidup…….Memag boleh……Think Wisely……

• i'll take the LRT, thank you.

• MutantTomato on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:08 pm

Look at how straight the Autobahn section is in the picture Paul has provided! I don't think we have that sort of stretch here do we? Even if we did, it wouldn't mean "woo hoo! We have our own Autobahn! Lets go nuts!" MOST people here still do not have enough driving skills, courtesy and manners to drive on European roads, leave alone superhighways like the Autobahn.

If I remember correctly what was shown in the Discover Channel show, the Autobahn was started by Hitler to show his intention of "helping" the German people. He wanted to show them that he cared and thus, was providing a good means of communication. Actually, the Autobahn would be used to transport troops and military equipment all over "Der Fatherland." Well, I think that was it la… If I am wrong, someone please correct me! :D

Ohhh… my personal best on a "Boleh-Bahn" is 12 minutes from KLIA toll to Damansara Toll, and 270km/h with a Ferrari Testarossa on the LDP after the Sunway Toll belonging to a friend of mine! MUAHAHAHAHAHA (6)

• Nairud on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:09 pm

Autobahn's road have at least 70cm of thickness…msia road? less than 20cm…that's why over there it's darn safe to drive fast. no pothols or whatsoever.

SV should take a look at the Discovery channel's documentary on Autobahn…*drool*

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:37 pm

durian terbalik is here also?

driving bmw 5 to jhb on tuesday nite driving at 233KMh,

at machap (or pagoh :-/) was greeted by road block at 2:30am :-O

En sila masuk ke kawasan R&R dan jumpa pegawai disana.

Encik memandu pada kelajuan 233KMh pada jalan 110KMh

Skrg PDRM Bukit Aman menjalankan operasi sikap, sila berikan lesen

dan kad pengenalan tuan.

Sila jelaskan RM300.00 pada pegawai kami di sana. Tiada diskaun boleh diberikan.

terima kasih…

The most expensive trip to jb ever.

• rainbow7j on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:42 pm

hmm it is not that AutoBahn has no speed limit, the stretch near to the exit of each AutoBahn has a speed limit of 80 if I remember clearly.

There was once I watched a documentary when I was studying in Mannheim about highway police tailing people who drive recklessly. They has a video camera capturing the car in front, using a unmarked vehicle. It was big eye opener as there are so many pple caught… haha all sort of stupid driving.

It is Die AutoBahn as it is feminine. :)

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:47 pm

i just can make 175kmh on highway to klia.. but that's only early open of the highway.. (mean jalan masih ok.. not right now too much tak rata etc. )

btw, it's only with my past iswara aeroback 1.5 only -standard, just the good piping .. that's the max speed i can do with the car.. i was overtake by white bmw 3's .. that i guest above than 200kmh..

just luck there's no speed trap for the 'baru buka' punya hiway.. :D

however quit scarry for me.. seem like nak melayang and flying with that car..

and that oso because i dont want to delay my friend exgf flying to osaka .. i must arrive b4 the flight boarding-lah.. other wise.. i not really like to speedin like hell.. aku bukan suka laju jalan lurus sangat.. aku suka main koner .

no speed limit? imagine..

heh.. wth kancil's speed is above than 150?.. Tempah lesen kubur!

• holy_cow on Nov 10, 2005 at 7:57 pm

Johan – yeah you're right, the 320d is a turbo. My bad, I stand corrected, etc.

260 is the most I've done on Malaysian highways, although I've been driven at 275 through middle-of-a-weekday NKVE traffic. That was, well, unforgettable.

• Great Wall Of China on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:00 pm

Deutscheland Technology…

not bad…

How can bolehland citizen drive a car on a STRAIGHT highway without speed limit????

The highway is straight anyway…but why there's still so many accident cases???Maybe too much bogus car license is available….

The autobahn is so damn straight….maybe they use GPS to build it..

hahahaha

• SaDdNesZ.jc on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:08 pm

I really wonder if the road builders in Malaysia calculate human factors into the roads or not. It seems to me that all they do is to scrap clean the land, pour tarmac and stones, and steam roller. Job done. Where got calculate sinking, or take into consideration the 10tonne lorry, or even the angle in which the water should be running to??

I think the only calculations made for Malsaysian roads is who gets how much of the graft…

• encikmasen on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:26 pm

i got to agree with mitsu_galant_2000..when klia highway 'baru buka', i also hit 190kmh there with my dad's pug 306..really nice..but now going 140 also so scary one…if only they mantained the highway and made it always like brand new, IMHO130-140kmh speed limit is still ok..

nohiddenagenda..i was there too..it was at machap..luckily after pagoh my dad ask me to drive slowly, cos he got the 'signal' from ppl coming from jb..after that i drive 140-150kmh all the way to jb

• Marmitecrab on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:30 pm

I once read in an automag awhile back about the writer driving on the Autobahn in a new 5 Series. He was going quite fast on the fast lane when a 7 series pulled up behind him and guess what? No flashing of lights and no tailgating 2 inches from his bumper like what our drivers do here. The driver at the back was keeping a distance and he knows the driver in front will make way for him and true enough, when the writed pulled to the side, he drove by.

No danger, no drama, just done very politely and without any stress. All this was at speeds above 200km/h.

We're just not like that. We're impatient and mostly kiasu.

• Prometheus on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:32 pm

Our Highway is really something to be very proud of.

I was in India for about 7 years, 92- 99and I really saw 3rd world roads there.Extremely horrible.. Mebbe some highways are good around Delhi.. thats all. That also about the same as our Trunk roads. Where got so nice like our Plus highway..

Our PLUS highway is the backbone of our country and a great achievement, and many other countries thought that we would never get it done. Due to the various types of cars in our country, actually 110kph is really alright. I noticed in this thread eveybody is agreeing on the speed limit. Great

If anybody got the Need dor speed, please do so. Just be careful not to cause any accidents. If you get the ticket your problem, if end up with accident, your problem.

But one thing though, PLUS should make it a point that the highway should be safe at 110 kmh or at least put signs up at all the dangerzones. Like slippery when wet signs at the water pools or better yet, fix the water pools..

And.. please don't wait for sections of the highway to collapse before fixing it. ha ha ha.. Constant mantainence is much cheaper then rebuilding!

Nobody realizes that Malaysia has some pretty decent achievements till you've gone to a less developed country. Of course being in the comfort zone impedes development, but credit is to be given where it is due..

PAUL! go back to ProHatch and tell more about your dyno tuning.

• daniel on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:52 pm

drivers in Malaysia is not that polite.. u see people driving fast behind, sumtimes u just ignore and drive on slowly.. although obvious ppl behind is fast.. thats why in Malaysia, we have to beam lights and tailgate… what to do? roads in Malaysia, especially highway.. not rata at all.. well, mostly rata.. but when it is not, is very – very not.. get what i'm sayin? if dun. try drivin from ldp second toll to putrajaya.. dun turn left to kajang, keep on going stright to putrajaya, and if possible, drive at a very high speed.. then u'll see what i mean.. huh. hv to put up with it every day.. changed absorbers twice already in the last 5 months.. thats how bad the road is.. no potholes or whatsoever, but VERY bumpy..

• daniel on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:56 pm

Prometheus : Our Highway is really something to be very proud of.

correction bro, not very.. but only to be proud of, and this is when u compare to third world country.. well, i see that we can be proud, but as long as it is not like autobahn, or anything near it, i dun see why we should be VERY proud of our highways..

cheers..

• Marmitecrab on Nov 10, 2005 at 9:10 pm

I have heard foreigners compliment us on our NS highways before as not all highways are good. Not all developed countries highways are automatically fantastic as well. In moderation, our highways are of reasonable standards and another reason why we should be proud is because we are still classified as a developing country aka third world. That's not the problem.

The problem is our attitude. daniel says we need to tailgate and flash highlights in order for the car in front to move aside. I beg to differ. Have you ever tried driving up to a car in front whilst maintaining a safe distance and just waiting for him/her to move aside? I do it all the time. The problem is, a lot of drivers suffer from "mad rush syndrome" (quoted by some professor in the newspapers awhile back) and need to get to where they want to go in a mad rush, with scant disregard for other road users.

If we all practice patience on the roads, you'll find that it can be very pleasant to drive. And I get that mostly on the highways, but once I hit the inside roads, "mad rush" takes over and everyone around me is trying to speed like crazy.

Attitude, not safe highways of Autobahn standards.

• tell me, there's really speed trap at nite? how they do it? i thought driving at nite is safe, from speed trap that is…..

• I actually think, a malaysian driver who has survived our roads with so many maniacs around, can actually beat a german over there with a proper car. It's survivorbility babeh.

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 10, 2005 at 9:49 pm

trust me jake. not just speed trap, a road block as well with mandatory RM300.00 no discount summon (no duit kopi as well, unless want to sleep in jail).

• deutsche volks on Nov 10, 2005 at 9:50 pm

be my guest..ill wait u at hockenheim.

• Wilfred on Nov 10, 2005 at 10:10 pm

just don get it

why some ppl not willing to giv way to faster car from behind

but in stead keep on in fast lane wit turtle speed

these are the most reckless driver in malaysia that dunno anything of driving rules (not the laws)

• MutantTomato on Nov 10, 2005 at 10:12 pm

Oh yeah, that was another thing I found very nice about the Autobahn and the general European driving courtesy. If you want to overtake someone, you can't just "buntut" him or flash your lights like some maniac. Its considered as no manners. Similarly, if you're the one about to be overtaken, you have to move.

In both cases, the affected person can make a report to the police and more often than not, they do take some action. I remember when I was in England in a friend's car and we got pulled over even though we weren't really speeding. It seems the local "goody two shoes" took offense to my friend's driving and complained to the cops. The copper told us that he had to pull us over because if he didn't, he might be accused of favouritism or not doing his job or something. He said he knew we weren't speeding and we hand't done anything wrong. We didn't get a ticket or anything…

We wanted so much to "introduce" the goody two shoes to the steering lock in the car!

• holy_cow on Nov 10, 2005 at 10:19 pm

Yes, tailgating is very bad and highly dangerous, only to be used in extreme cases when you can see at least two-three cars ahead and the car in front is truly driven by some nitwit who refuses to move. Always should give people a chance to move first. Even then might be better to look for undertaking opportunities.

After all, if you're driving faster than everybody else, beyond the speed limits, you can't say you really have any right to just cruise along without impedance. If people who are following the speed limit cause you to have to slow down momentarily, well, that's just part and parcel of high-speed life, isn't it? You're just going to have to deal with the fact that you'll be wearing out your brakes and wasting fuel.

That said, when I come across someone who really, really refuses to move aside despite being given ample opportunity, I have to admit I take pleasure in tailgating because it means I can piggyback on his aerodynamics and save fuel. OK, I know it's evil, I can't help it, guilty as charged.

• danny on Nov 10, 2005 at 10:25 pm

Everyone… remember to drive Bahn Bahn (hokkien: slow slow) on our highways ok? :)

Unless we become more patient and careful on the highway, i think 110kph is reasonable for us. Still, most deaths recorded during the recent Ops sikap happened at our federal trunk roads… why? Impatience…

Also, nite driving at high speeds on our highways is a death wish… lots of cars and especially motorcycles their tail lights dun work… slamming to them at 200kph is no fun, is it?

Autobahn allows such speeds because of the mentality of the ppl there and also due to the excellent build-quality and maintenance. Emergency services are top-notch too. Malaysian highways are relatively good, look at our neighbours… but things can improve… Most things malaysian are built ok but its the maintenance that we sorely lack lor… we could always hope right?

• ShaolinTiger on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:03 pm

Also consider in Europe we are VERY strict on drink driving and we have things like the M.O.T which ensure all motor vehicles are fit to be on the road (you have to have your vehicle checked every 12 months for things like brakes, lights, windscreen wipers, emissions, noise, suspension, steering, body strength and so on).

If anything fails you have 7 days to fix it, or you can no longer drive your car.

• SEE FU on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:24 pm

This topic is BORING lah, Paul pls find some new topic lah!!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! I want to TALK CAR topic!!! Like OUTLANDER!!! CAn arr??

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:27 pm

how about u compose one song about our highway see fu

• SEE FU on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:41 pm

Wei…..if I can compose SONGss, I don't need to Chat with you lah!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! *SIGH* (Very LOUD sound, especial the last word CHOR!!)

• SaDdNesZ.jc on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:43 pm

Still, afterall that's said and done, the best Highway in Malaysia is the Federal. If only all highways can be made like that… smooth, not bumpy, minimal potholes… minimal maintenance..

So why can't the other highways be made like the Federal?? The fedral was built by some French engineer or something if I'm not mistaken… Whover the guy is, he's not a Malaysian…

• Ruben on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:45 pm

See fu, u do tiger dance lar.

• my_YARIS on Nov 11, 2005 at 12:01 am

SaDdNesZ.jc said,

November 10, 2005 @ 3:43 pm

Still, afterall that’s said and done, the best Highway in Malaysia is the Federal. If only all highways can be made like that… smooth, not bumpy, minimal potholes… minimal maintenance..

> I ABSOLUTELY AGREE. I enjoyed along Fed highway but when it comes to jam due to unfortunate ppl, teruk betul!

So why can’t the other highways be made like the Federal?? The fedral was built by some French engineer or something if I’m not mistaken… Whover the guy is, he’s not a Malaysian…

> M'sia isnt too keen to ties much with them for past decade, more to Japan. (Correct me if I am wrong.)

• Handsfree on Nov 11, 2005 at 12:03 am

guys…. this is interesting…. 1 simple highway. got some many comments n pass history to tell.. also we do have commetns are far as from the EU…

Paul.. well done…. malaysia really boleh….

• thomas on Nov 11, 2005 at 12:07 am

anyone have try Thailand, Indonesia & China? u pay higher toll but the road condition is poorer.

• SEE FU on Nov 11, 2005 at 12:11 am

Tried the Thai, Indo, China, Viet, Cham, Fili,…….all types of Girls..liao…pay low but good servces!! …Sorry….Wrong topic!! Not girls…he…he

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 11, 2005 at 12:29 am

Don't afraid of STD ah sifoo?

pray ur wife didn't read ur last comment ahahaha

• I went to Bangkok last year for holiday and one of the journey was from Bangkok to Pattaya by express bus. Wow, Thailand have a good 3 lanes double decker highway. Its quite long and and the journey was enjoyable as no drama or accident occured, unlike in PLUS highway. Everytime i use PLUS highway, they must be one or two accidents, even a minor one. Thats explain the drivers mentality.

Anyway, the Federal highway should be built double decker just like Thailand, at least from KL to Subang. For one year jobs in Jalan Ipoh, almost everyday jam to the max at the Federal Road, especially infront of Nanyang Siang Pau.

Maybe the SMART tunnel system will settle this matter.

• honda_driver on Nov 11, 2005 at 1:20 am

i think we have some of the best highways in asia regardless of the apparent faults. We almost have total highway coverage, at least for west malaysia. lets not compare to the autobahn in germany. no country in the world has that.

malaysian drivers still do not have a grasp of the proper methods to driving on highways. I think its always premature to use the term "speed kills" imho. as usual, if you look at the stats for accidents in malaysia, the high majority, as high as 80% of all accidents occur on smaller/municipal/B type roads.

The idea that slowing cars down will reduce accidents is taking the easy way out. its a bigger problem than that.

driving in KL for a day is enough. you are guranteed to see motorists running the red lights, no seatbelts..etc. etc. basically everything that you can do wrong, you will see it.

• yhtan on Nov 11, 2005 at 1:35 am

Actually i tried drive at NS highway at a speed of 130km/h,

using a Ford Ranger,it really dangerous….because of the bumpy road,and also because i'm driving a 4wd car :p

1st lane is totally bumpy,worst condition

2nd lane is ok,but it still getting bad and bad

In my opinion,the road is worst because of lack of maintenance and our country weather.

How can we compare to AutoBahn?

Germany is a developed country,their technology is a way far for us.

Malaysia is considered an 3rd world country,the infrastructure that our country own is currently best in 3rd world country.We should proud of it.

Come to speeding,i think these guy seriously corrupted by those movie,they think they also can do it,but the condition not allow it,thats cause a lot of accidents happened.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 11, 2005 at 1:48 am

I've tried the highways in Iraq, they r better. Reasons:

– 4 lanes

– damn straight ( 4000km )

– no police

– no speed limit

– the uses the finest bitumen and tar ( petro based )

easily 350km/h

Btw, i've tried the M6 from Gombak to Kuantan using new hiway. At some point, i reached 305 km/h but a bit bumpy. Just took about 1/2 hour there.

Advice: its not how fast u can go, its how fast u can stop – thats the diff between a Perdana n a Ferrari………

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 11, 2005 at 1:51 am

Soori, M5 not M6…..typo error. Not mine, borrow. I drive PV6 only.

• nuggyn on Nov 11, 2005 at 2:10 am

only brainless buggers will tailgate…what can you actually achieve from tailgating? besides getting yourself in a big pile up, what do you gain?

SILLY!!!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 11, 2005 at 3:20 am

poor and foolish Hammed.. Dont be tipu lah..

Gombak to kuantan can drive above than 305KMH..?? WTH

jalan pun dah berombak2.. waving.. and there's too many police lah..

305 is as fast as F1 car..

nak tipu pun agak2 laa.. jangan la ingat orang bodo sangat. aku pun slalu juga lalu jalan tuh.. mengapa tak cakap ko speed sampai 400 kmh? ..

huh!!..

yesterday i wanna hit kancil.. stupit kancil , on lane 1, jiwang.. gf leaning agains shoulder.. wth.. seems like the jalan is bapak dia punya.. and drive slowly below 80.. huh.. tak sedar diri.

• thomas on Nov 11, 2005 at 3:30 am

My wife drive my GEN2 at speed 170km from KL to JB, reach home i found all 4 tyre spoiled. I change original SIME tyre to Bridgestone. Drive fast dangerous! Don't try it!

• Kenny on Nov 11, 2005 at 7:05 am

check this out.. Ferrari Enzo crash at 150mph/240kph
    http://www.wreckedexotics.com/newphotos/exotics/2…
    i wonder wat could happen on a proton…

• narrowband on Nov 11, 2005 at 7:22 am

Hameed Koyakuti, wow, you borrowed an M5 for a spin. It doesn't get any cooler.

I watched the documentary on autobahn (i'm sure most of you have, too), when someone comes up behind you, a couple of flashes of indicator lights (the signals) will be enough to tell the driver in front to move over.

In malaysia, sometimes high-beam flashes also won't work.

• Hmm .. y does ppl even try to brag they reach speeds they dont even know what's its like ?

305 km/h in M5 ?? BMW , Merc , Audi has all their cars limited to 250km/h la bro . Unless you are driving the SLR which is not limited to 250, better do your homework before boasting in an automotive forum . No offence .

• Prometheus on Nov 11, 2005 at 8:48 am

Wah.. thailand got double tier highway ah?

But does their highway connect the whole country like ours?

What happen if cannot pay the 300 ringgit on the spot fine? Because i don't carry so much cash around.

Iraq really got so good highway or is that fellow bluffing? I thought all kena bomb already. Can someone confirm?

305 kmh? on a BMW I think cannot go so fast la. Izzit possible ah? Anyway, Paul make topic on the BMW M6 already..

It would be really cool to make Federal Highway double decker..

Daniel:.. don't say liddat la.. If you look carefully, got things to be proud of one. Sipadan? (although fast getting destroyed) Twin Towers? (although someone else build.) ahhh… SEPANG INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT (that one still good) Sepang Airport (all frequent flyers love it).. if you sit down and think.. think positive, be happy.. sure got one lah.

Not many people and countries have things to be proud of. Eg. Singapore probably has this thing to be proud of: The Ban on Bubble Gum.. WORLD FAMOUS i think masuk to ripleys belive it or not before.

• Mivec Gti - makai le on Nov 11, 2005 at 8:52 am

aiyo my cefiro 3.0 .. sap sap sui can drive at speed 235km/h lah.. ZzzZzzz.

H22A … say right lah. the guy on 305km once hit .. kaki mana cari ?

• Lpost on Nov 11, 2005 at 9:19 am

We do not need an equivalent speed limit as germany Highway, coz we got lot of maniac ppl drive car in malaysia…dangerous…

• Kahsoon on Nov 11, 2005 at 9:45 am

Ok the AutoBahn looks attractive indeed, i've tried to speed at the road to KLIA as well, that time i was driving a Toyota Corolla GL 1983 model and was raining heavily. I drove 160km/h and the car started to tremble like mad. Guess what…my right wiper flew off and i have to stretch my head to the left side while driving. LOL

• pomen kete on Nov 11, 2005 at 9:50 am

Tah. penipu punya hameed..

put 500kmh lah another time..

then you make people wonder how great u r!..

a great driver.. hahaha..

200kmh is easy for the car above than 2.0 cc engine.

standard yamaha tzm bike oso can reach up to 220kmh ..

but above than 250kmh..just a few.. and as mentioned others. most of the controller electronic box will stuck only at 250kmh only.. because of the safety issue.. no one can control the car out of 250kmh lah.. event caused by a few jumping.. err.. i mean, terlompat, lari sikit tayar.. abiss..

aiyah.. 305kmh? hahhaha.. jokes of the year..!!.. like the highway only for you?.. so you can speed alone? bullshit.. the highway is always ada orang. even as late as 4am.. bahhhh.. kambing pun tak percaya hameed punya tipu.. huahahhahaha (Laugh at loud in front of hameed face)..

so.. remember.. no one believe out of logic fact. ;)

• aksMs on Nov 11, 2005 at 1:37 pm

Johan Artistry, deutsche volks: I missed out a few parts of Autobahn on Discovery. Is it true that drivers must sit for extra test/special course to drive on Autobahn? And there's an unwritten rules of hierarchy like a Beemers should give way to a Porsches? And I heard some more that passengers over there (rear) wears their seatbelts as if it is mandatory?

Driving in Europe sure sounds fascinating as long as you didn't stop at their R&R (or so I heard). I surely envy you guys who has driven in the 1st country. Get to experience the technology (road building) first hand. Me? I've only got to drive to Hadyaai. Their road surface is far better in most part compare to our surface.

As for who's drove the fastest on our Bolehland highways, well, what's the point of driving a 3 litres, 5 litres car if you didn't even try to reach it's full capabilities? Not to brag (there are many others who drove way faster than me) but I did try out my C5 on all highways. And damn the eletronic limiter, I got passed by a standard PV6 at 210km/h! WTH??? (I learned later that it is capable of doing over 230km/h on our highway if you remove the limiter and the consumption will burn a goddamn hole in your pocket!)

Hameed bro, you get to drive an M5? The new M5? If it's really true, I'll be very impress. Would love to hear the sound of that V10 churn out 507 of ponnies! But 305km/h? On LPT? Who are you tryin to kid? No offence. But last time I saw a 3 series E46 (WJJxxxx) spun near Temerloh at 200+km/h. The car totaled but the driver survive (a malay fella from Terengganu. He just sat on the railing smoking and watching his Ultimatly Wrecked Driving Machine). Are you forgetting the bumpy surface and the CROSS WIND?

• Pity that guy, an experience he will never forget. Maybe after that he will realise that no matter how fast, high tech gizmo and expensive car, still the road condition must be factor in to drive on the highway.

Perhaps any speed breakers should bring their ultimate driving machine to proper place such as Sepang International Circuit, so that they can trash their machine all out without endangering other people's life.

• karheng on Nov 11, 2005 at 5:48 pm

In the autobahn…what you do when you want to overtake…Signal Left. The folks in front will move right slowly…

No need autobahn..my best record for USJ tol to KLIA tol..45 minutes! WOOHOO! 70 km/h!

• The perdana cannot go 230km/h . It has only about 140hp +- . The cefiro 3.0 in the other hand has 220hp and reaching 235km/h although possible , doesnt come in a breeze . Hitting 200km/h in a cefiro i would say though is quite easy .

• narrowband on Nov 11, 2005 at 6:12 pm

The crosswinds, bumpy roads, potholes, monkeys and cows crossing the highway, road-side stalls… can all cause shit to happen in bolehland highway. Think twice before you speed. It's ok to endanger yourself, even better, kill yourself. But don't involve others. Don't forget, some tow-truck operators pour oil intentionally to see accident happen so they can cari makan. Better go Sepang lah.

• Prometheus on Nov 11, 2005 at 6:23 pm

yea but 235 kmh and 305 kmh is a big difference la. Wonder what it feels like at 305kmh.. Balls must be in the neck man, unless do it very often..

I also doubt perdana can go 230 kmh, because it has auto gear ratios. My 1.8 L 140hp Putra manual, maxed out at 200kmh, with rated Top of 205.

Perdana Spec: 148 HP. 0-100 13.8 secs, rated top speed 205 kmh

Impossible to do 230 kmh, unless gear ratios modded.

source: http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/car…

• karheng on Nov 11, 2005 at 7:26 pm

wah serious ar? no wonder my aged 1.8 can still show those perdanas a bit of the smoke which comes out from my tailpipe…hahahhaha

A perdana which has been modded can go 230 i think…not a problem esp with those eterna tt engines.

• my_YARIS on Nov 11, 2005 at 7:52 pm

Speeding at 200/235kmh isnt things to worry, can the car stop safely or comfortably at such speed? is a good ? to doubt on. I've was 1 of 4 passenger in a V6 Perdana driven by my customer rushing back to KL from Perai. He did 195-198kmh only, mayb due to engine deteoriate or too many passenger inside. His car alarmed a Civic 2.0 & a Camry 2.0. Results, civic 2.0 a gd runner estimated speed at 215kmh while Camry at 210kmh. It was quite a hectic race as all driver been hitting hard to de accerelator. Damn me in a V6, leg was shakin, sweating hope tt it wont crash. Lucky not, he claimed he has changed all tyres to Falken type(dunno wht type cost abt rm230each).

The verdict, I wont be joining his ride again.

• aksMs on Nov 11, 2005 at 9:49 pm

Err…guys…it's not the PV6 that can do 230km/h. It's the Citroen C5 without the speed limiter as they made the tachometer up to 250km/h. Some PV6 can hit 215km/h downhill. I managed to hit that in a PV6 Executive belong to my uncle at Guar Tempurung.

As for the wrecked E46, it was around 8 o'clock in the morning. I wonder if that fella is sleepy too. =)

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 11, 2005 at 10:25 pm

PV6 can reach 200 easily.. but maybe some engine can. yes.. the engine is same.. but not same at all in sme way.. ask foremenabout this. they know-lah..

most conversion old perdana use mitsu interna 2.0 engine.. that engine powerfull and surely can reach above than 200kmh.

it's really different between 1.8 putra/wira/waja vs 2.0 perdana.. putra etc weight were less than Perdana.. and that's make different.

it's also like new savvy.. small body, though engine.. of course can reach 170kmh easyly.. my friend already tested hios savvy.. but cant reach 1.7 , just 165kmh only.. not a big problem.. little bit tune gonna make it happen ;)

// still tak dapat nak bawak kereta kawan aku tuh.. kedekut nak mampos.. mungkin sebab baru dapat.. :D

• MyBoy on Nov 11, 2005 at 11:04 pm

holy_cow: U are asolutely wrong here. 320d is NOT a naturally aspirated. It is a turbo-charged diesel engine.

• try that speed at LPT .. fel the diferent..

• MyBoy on Nov 12, 2005 at 8:48 pm

ganz: I have tried it once. Its not a safe highway by any standard. How can they let the concessionaire open the highway to the public in the first place?

• n that the thing i try to prove.. gov do speed limit due to that.. I think LOL..

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 13, 2005 at 10:33 am

i drove in many models of porche on autobahn, speeding up to 300++Kmh sometimes back two years ago. Accident many time, somehow only my fingers hurt a lil bit.

Now don't do that anymore. Working all the time…

• albagmane on Nov 13, 2005 at 6:48 pm

gosh… the autobahn can omos be a race track ah?

one day i wana drive F1 there! haha~!

• aksMs on Nov 14, 2005 at 4:29 am

Just to share, I once read a while ago in the newspaper that Ralf Schumacher got fine on the Autobahn for speeding. It was reported he was doing 230km/h+ in his BMW 330d Wagon. Probably he was speeding in the speed limit section.

Now, even an F1 driver got fine for speeding. It's just that he's lucky he asked BMW to pay for it as he claimed it could be a good advert for the automaker to sell their new diesel wagon and it's fast! Heheh!

• Prometheus on Nov 14, 2005 at 6:26 am

thats funny man.. the Schumacher thing

• Icarus on Nov 14, 2005 at 8:49 pm

Hameed,

The distance between KL to Kuantan is 259km. If you are travelling at 305km/h, how can you do it in half an hour? To achieve an half and hour travelling time, you will need to maintain an AVERAGE speed of more than 518km/h and NOT considering taking off from stand still, the traffic in Gombak, overtaking cars and spending time at the tolls!

Second question, how much was your RPM reading at 305km/h?

Even if you had maintained an average speed of 305km/h, it would have taken you 1h10min.

So piss off and try conning little kids with your fairy tales! Wanker!

• Icarus on Nov 15, 2005 at 1:07 am

"Even if you had maintained an average speed of 305km/h, it would have taken you 1h10min."

Sorry, mis-calculated…. it should take you 51 minutes!

• Johan Artistry on Nov 15, 2005 at 1:14 am

hmm fellas.. to have a germany driving licence.. which cost about 1500 euros (7000 rm) u need to accomplish hours of driving..which included.. night driving..city driving and hiway driving or autobahn… but if u re a tourist in germany all u need is an intnl driving licence to get a grip on the autobahn.. i ve also have tried an audi A6 avantgarde 3.0 V6 TDI with 6 speed oto transmission.. really impressive.,. after this i ll just buy a japanese.. when i am back to malaysia… i can feel the huge gap between the road quality in germany and malaysia.. no need to drive fast in our plus or lpt or whatever hi way because they are designed for 120 kmh only… no offence.. so i ll just get an altis or civis to cruise back to kampung or going to the mall for shopping spree during the weekend… the autobahn section which is built during the hitler reign in WWII still exist.. and limited to 120kmh.. but refurbished and widened and upgraded are in progress..that s why during summer u can get caught in the massive traffic jam..ON A HIGHWAY…thanx a lot

• ".. no need to drive fast in our plus or lpt or whatever hi way because they are designed for 120 kmh only…"

now that's the answer!

• aksMs on Nov 15, 2005 at 3:36 am

Thanks Johan. Euro1500 eh? Btw, your choice of car when you get back here, does make sense. =)

• Icarus on Nov 16, 2005 at 1:07 am

Johan,

After driving a Audi A6 Avantgarde 3.0 V6 TDI with 6 speed auto transmission and you want to settle for an Altis or Civic? Wow! I would have at least mentioned a Subaru or Evo for Japanese.

• I was there in Germany for Holiday in October 2003. Experienced going along Autobahn from Frankfurt Main to Heidelberg. Even on tour coach, can say a big difference from our BolehLand highway. The lane are smooth, straight and have longitudinal strips instead of transverse expansion strips over here which make it bumpy highway.

But the cars that prowl the Autobahn mostly 1.8 litre & above – VW, Merz, BMW, Porsche, Audis – which equipped with compulsory safety requirement and good driving habit practice by em.

We need speed limit over here based on the following reasons :-

1) Not all cars have ABS/ EBD/ Air Bags.

2) Our highway was designed for max 120 km/hr. -highway engineer can confirm.

3) Our highway network cut across villages, private land & estates – very scary if suddenly u see cows and goats while doing 150 km/hr on rear wheel drive car.

4) Kapchai motorcycle on the middle lane.

5) Lot's of old trailers & lorries, worse u end at the back of backhoe doing 40 km/hr.

• Johan Artistry on Nov 16, 2005 at 7:39 am

yea lahh.. my brother caught in accident in lpt.. he just drove 100…luckily his car was nt totalled…of course i d like to have an EVO 11V or impreza wrx but my pocket is not so deep. i think altis or civic is really affordable.. i am searching fo job right now.. if anyone need a car salesman.. i d like to offer my self..

• aksMs on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:49 am

Johan: I think you should work for Audi/Porsche Malaysia la, given your experience and knowledge. Or perhaps Naza since they got a wide range of German made there. I heard the incentives is quite good.

Just suggesting…Cheers!

• Jurgen on Nov 16, 2005 at 9:40 pm

I guess car is overpriced in Malaysia due to our tax structure. I think Altis or Civic are reasonably owned for comfort and durability. To buy and maintain an European car is very difficult, unless you're rich enough.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 17, 2005 at 1:34 am

1st toll plaza to last toll plaza – 45 minutes ( i'm not sure what is the distances )

average 250km/h ( coz bumpy ), not all strecth we hentam 305km/h, only 1 straight after downhill, thats how can achieve, if flat, cannot achieve 305km/h ( btw only one attempt achieved ).

Boys n gals, dont try this at home, me n my frens are trained to do this ( driving at high speed + we got special clearence )

dudes, u have the option not to believe, but i've did it……!!!!

p/s even last time using Evo3 from KL to Jb took 1 1/2 hr….cehhhh icarus, u r such a snail, speed up man……

• kethon on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:44 am

i heard my fren said some highway in here malaysia..especially to KLIA highway…some people flash their headlight in fast-land rapidly to inform the driver for the opposite road to slow down as the road block is in front of them…i saw one car keep flashing the car's headlight…cant really see why is he/she flashing cuz was driving real fast and passed that particular 'light-flashie car' within uncountable timing.. so i went to decrease my speed..welll.. i cant see any read road by then… hehe

what do you guys think?

• Hameed Koyakuti said,

November 16, 2005 @ 5:34 pm

1st toll plaza to last toll plaza – 45 minutes ( i’m not sure what is the distances )

average 250km/h ( coz bumpy ), not all strecth we hentam 305km/h, only 1 straight after downhill, thats how can achieve, if flat, cannot achieve 305km/h ( btw only one attempt achieved ).

Boys n gals, dont try this at home, me n my frens are trained to do this ( driving at high speed + we got special clearence )

dudes, u have the option not to believe, but i’ve did it……!!!!

Lolz …dude ..BMW M5 cannot do 305km/h la . You heard of speed limiter ? Go back and play your PS2 and dream on .

It virtually cannot be rechipped . It has a very advance ECU and dont cock about doing ECU upgrades .. u can throw all your aftermarket AFC bla bla away .

• Dun like dat lar… he's a poor chap. My friend even more stupid lar… claiming his friend did KL – Penang in one hour. LOL~ I didn't joke him, just wondering how come we are friends. LOL ~

• Hmm, wonder how come such ppl can drive so call 315 km/hr on a normal Mlysian Highway from KL to Kuantan. Don't tell me they r more physically fit than Schumachers and able to cope with the stress of driving such speed on public road.

What about those trailers, bump and sheep/ goat on the road.

Somemore can say had a special clearance, by whom & what authority ?

I was told by a racing driver that used to race a Porsche GT3 in national race, that an average driver can speed more than 200+ km/hr for short time period on normal road. Any sudden movement on the excess speed of 180km/h is unpredictable.

So, don't brag about doing 300+ km/hr with so call special clearance. Maybe u r flying instead of driving.

• seancheaw (Member) on Jan 05, 2007 at 2:29 am

even though there are ppl that ate rm 2bil out of rm 3bil, but the gov oso realize the importance of road science, thats y they created MIROS malaysian institute of road safety which began its operation on 3rd jan 2007

• YellowMellow (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 10:13 am

I done 240km with E60 525i. But new OOOO RS4 potong me like i'm not moving.. Hahahaha

• I have done 280km/h with my two wheels but yet still a guy with his two wheels slowly potong me… hahaha.

• tec96248 (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 6:37 pm

i m wondering why people wanted to compare autobahn with our malaysian highways? somemore compared federal highway or mentioned built by french engineer and not malaysian. some even funny stated that we were having impatient attitudes. no wonder why certain countries doesn’t recognise our driving license but singaporean or hong kong licenses. it is really sad that a lot of us still really don’t know what is actually happening as a road users.

1. First, federal highway is not built by french. The contractors are from singapore and managed locally by malaysian. Moreover, then it was partly under plus highway and still.

2. Autobahn are mostly on flat land where as malaysian highway is difficult because of geographical and geological of malaysia land.

3. Malaysia climate is also different from EU, therefore uncomparable as the maintenance is more frequent, required. and so does the construction of the road have to be different.

4. Why so many impatient road users on malaysia roads? Should ask why so many road users can abide the law.

5. for example, how many really driving in left lane when is not overtaking? or correct to drive on the middle lane of the highway when theres no other road user on the right?

6. how many really care about the car following behind? or change to the left lane to let the behind vehicle to pass? noticed they were sped faster only.

7. I believe a lot of the road users infact don’t understand or remember how they pass the law of roads.

Some dude even only talking about top speeds and how fast they can speed and what car they are driving. really immature…..pity them. The highways are not race tracks. for example, if everyone having F430 on the highway or autobahn maintaining at a constant speed of 270km/h for an hour, what is this Mit EVO for? Anyway, doing 200, 300, 400 or 500km/h on highway, the speed is performed by the car not the driver.

Hahaha, so many dude still don’t understand the purpose of the highway or other normal roads. JPJ should reconsider to improve the driving school or drivers.

• I do strongly agree with you especially the no.5 & no.6. Though the speed limit set at 110km/h but in some few genuine cases, we might need to go faster and that ‘how many drivers’ really a trouble.

I faced 1 experience which I have to be at my destination soonest possible and I took my ZZR1200 from Changlun to Melaka in approximately 5 hours. There are few drivers acted like that. Well, just behave ourselves… hehe

• Chris on Sep 05, 2009 at 12:08 pm

What is the thickness on the road surface on the Auto Bahn?