Proton’s Design Patents with the UK Patent Office

Let’s have a look at the designs Proton has registered with the UK Patent Office. I think it will give us an indicator on the SRM’s interior looks, of which no one has been able to get a good interior shot so far.

This is a patent for a car’s interior, registered as ‘dashboard and centre console’. It was granted on 30th June 2004. Some shots of the SRM that I’ve seen have shown that the interior is indeed cream coloured like this one, but I don’t have the photos with me now so I can’t blog it for the moment. Click here for the patent details.

Next are the seats. They look pretty comfy, and they look like leather buckets. Bucket seats are important for the sporty drive that the SRM should be promising, they secure you comfortably in the seat during high-G turns. The patent for this is available here.

Proton also registered this design patent for a meter panel. I have no idea what the two dials are for below the meters. The meters themselves looks good, I like the colour scheme. I notice the fuel gauge is on the left meter gauge and not digital. Details for this patent here.

This is the design they filed for a door trim design. I personally think putting the door lock knob together with the door handle is nicer, like the current Satrias. Details for this patent here.

Now this is what I’m a bit afraid of. They patented the bling bling wheel design. Does this mean the final product will come with it? Details for the patent here.

For a full list of patents Proton has registered in the UK, click here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• well, at least we get to know how does the srm looks like now, well, disappointingly, beige color interior, looks like gen2 and sawi. why can't they have black interior all the way like the 2.0 civic. wat's wif beige color just like the new idsi. haiseh. only look good outside for ppl to see, inside so ugly, the driver have to face, sadler. p1, p1, when r u growing, stop recycling the parts use in other models ler

• Twoxer Hayzen on Dec 14, 2005 at 12:33 am

A little bird says all PROTON cars will revert to dark/black interiors following feedback from consumers.

I personally like beige/brown, its more cooling.

• ..beige/brown, leather some more…cool..

• meters are pretty similar to savvy's.. emm

• n305er on Dec 14, 2005 at 12:59 am

The Rims… I've seen a Gen 2 using it just 2 nights ago. Too bad I Couldn't take a pic as camera phone sucks during night time…

• narrowband on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:04 am

aahh! *covers eyes* The rims!!

• 4g lovers on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:05 am

brown/silver….emmmm masyuk gak!

• MyBoy on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:09 am

Look like hell, especially the wheel.

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:10 am

Aiyo… this was the same pics last year.

door opener similar to gentu, dashboard also almost the same but with glove box…

I tot only prototype… it's patented. dang!

• MutantTomato on Dec 14, 2005 at 2:43 am

The inside is so…so… UGLY…. Beige here, black there, silver in between… WTF la?!?! Couldn't they just decide on one or at max, two colours?

Next are the rims… Jesus, Mary n St Joseph! What the FUDGE were they thinking?! A more sporty ride for the younger driver?! Yah… Drive around with rims like that and you're most likely to get beaten up…

• wu ia bo!!! on Dec 14, 2005 at 3:00 am

wa sai~~~!!! proton designer haven improve ar?? will it really look like this when on the road???

wu ia bo~~~!!!

• Potongwagen on Dec 14, 2005 at 3:24 am

those fatty seats look like my old discarded sofa set!

• this car look 1 of the kind!, especially the miter , i think Yamaha 88 miter is more better then that. but what to do if u have that only a budget so just buy la…

that designer dont no where there come from, i think drop from sky from no where, also dont have mirror it there home. i think this people dont really go to collage.

• i can't stand it to look at this car! i think this potong people really 1 to go to hell really… hell … helll….!!!!!!!!!!!..

• Holy………………….that UGLY gen2 style again. Very disapointed with pronton nowadays……. :(

• Aris Tee on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:13 am

awesomeness… looks really cool… i love the dash… and the center console… and the meters, i hope they light up blue like the satria GTi… :D

but those awful rims… :(

• gegaoff on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:28 am

not my type.. damm awefool… god…

can't look at it too long… god…

cannot cheers this time…

• Sathiya on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:51 am

Ha ha ha here we go again—cheap plastics all way round. Notice the door trims, looks like detail from a lazy designer. Looks as hellish as Gen2 door panel, when u knock it off sounds worse than rotten plywood (Papk Pak! Pak!). Looks cheap, feels cheap n fake details. Nothing more than thin piece of flat plastics. Next thing sure the door knobs came off, quick double tape to fix it. Then the power window switch knob, clearly loose n came off with door handle.

All these stupid details will came out for new SRM. Just dont bang the door, otherwise the whole door panel/ trims came off. But dont bang it slowly either, the door hinges cant closely it properly with one shot. Again the door pin inside easily broke off due to thinner plastics being used (as in Waja).

Proton…the car with door to hell…!!!

• flizzardo on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:02 am

oh yehhhhhhhhhh teh bliong bling rims!

• designed…… by ALIENS … OMFG…. LMAO

• Sathiya on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:14 am

Notice the door trim–looks like a work by a lazy carpenter. Just thin cheap plastics that sounds like a rotten plywood (Pak! Pak! Pak!). All cheap plastics looks cheap, fake n gay. Gay would like it coz it soft, flat n lazy! 3-door cars r meant for gays…from 911 to Satria. Gay!!!

• E-nabill on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:17 am

atleast got glove compartment,the interior kinda easy on the eye…n strylish..i jus wish the quality is good,doesnt have to be perfect,bt good….the rims are a nightmare…the meter panel looks abit smallish to me…for gods sake get the car out to the showroom la…we r sick of thse spy shots..we want the real ting! seriously,if the quality of the interior is good,will definatly buy one…

• lookz ok 2 me

• kanasai on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:53 am

this car is doom!! "PURE UGLY" will be best put it on the cover page!! Quote from Dr M "More bad news from Proton". He is def rite about that. y is this so ugly… my best guess is there are several parts from previous Proton model. e.g. aircon vents from Proton Iswara,aircon controller from Gen-2,Door knob also from Gen-2 and etc.. is it that proton cutting cost by doing this? is it that proton do not have a good car designer? or is it that proton just want to keep the old vendor to produce the carppy product again n again for the next 20 years? New CEO of proton listen this "Kill your self if ths model ever launch in MY. Are u blind??!!! can u pls farking do survey.. just ask anyone who like the interior of Gen-2"

• ferox on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:57 am

did someone puke in the car?

• OH NOES THE RIMS! LOL

• blackhead on Dec 14, 2005 at 8:31 am

i wonder is really that hard to come out a atleast "normal" design than this horrible pattern? godness… and the rim looks like these on "HotWheels" toys…

gosh!!! i have feeling proton gotta do it again!!!!

• wafiess on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:12 am

wahhh … the rims shining so nice n the interior totally like gen-2 ..

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:16 am

well let's not forget that UK spec and local specs are different for sure, so i guess we'd have to wait until it's launched here to see if it IS like in the picture…

but commenting on the pictures, yes, i couldnt agree more with the others… the plastics looks horribly cheap and fragile. and definitely doesnt bring neither classy nor sporty feel. plastics just like savvy and gen2…

i wonder where the blind supporters are… come out and say something la… defend ur "national pride"…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:20 am

wafiess said,

December 14, 2005 @ 1:12 am

wahhh … the rims shining so nice n the interior totally like gen-2 ..

=============================================

totally? wah… bukak mata besar-besar… centre console is different. passenger side no more lobang and the glove box is back, unlike in gen2, tarak glove box.

• littlemin on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:34 am

Waja door mirror….

Waja seats….

Waja steering….

Gen-2 door handle….

Gen-2 air-con switch….

Gen-2 meter panel….

Wordless….=_="

• blackhead on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:48 am

#

littlemin said,

December 14, 2005 @ 1:34 am

Waja door mirror….

Waja seats….

Waja steering….

Gen-2 door handle….

Gen-2 air-con switch….

Gen-2 meter panel….

Wordless….=_=”

———————————————–

jiang jiang~! another brand new satria replacement has done~ lol

• KISIO on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:14 pm

kutuklah puas2… mcm selalu

tada kerja lain

• muthu on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:15 pm

plastik………. just like G2……. i like the interior, but the rim look funny….. i think better buy this car without sport rim……. ahak ahak ahak…..

• DeCosby on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:29 pm

wht can I say?? Just wait for new big 4" man done de job. SRM is still work of ex-CEO

• biggie on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:08 pm

i don't have much to say, but lighter colours do make the interior look bigger. But the stains arghh…

Its good to know that Proton is sharing parts from other models. It certainly will bring cost down, especially when the volume is low. This can be seen in other makes as well. I believe Toyota pioneering this move in the 1980's.

I can't wait til the time they start phising out Iswara and Wira.

• holankan on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:17 pm

ugly interior design, ugly wheels,ugry leather seats, ugly meter, ugly exterior look……one word decribed all 'UGLY'………….really 'ho lan kan' lol.

• Melon on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:07 pm

Orite, the seats in the pictures are NOT what it really looks like. The pictures are completely outdated. The seats will NOT be leather, it will be fabric and yes, it will be beige in colour.

What I would like to say is, dont judge it from these pictures. Maybe certain things may be finalised, but I would dare say that many are inaccurate. How can you judge if the plastic is cheap from the pictures??? I am no proton lover ( i bought a myvi), but come on now, have to be fair rite? If the actual car is really shitty, then go ahead and lambast it. But if you have not even seen it yet, dun blast it on things like shitty feeling plastic. Dat just doesn't make sense.

• nuggyn on Dec 14, 2005 at 6:29 pm

I hate those round door handle.

the seats might look comfy….but soft cushy seats doesn't mean that it's comfy when it comes to long distant driving.

beige interior….hate it. Look at the stained seats on most of the gen2 and new wajas. and what's with that big sliver panel on the dashboard? it's fugly.

anyway, it's a damn proton.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:32 pm

Melon…

have u sat inside Gen2 1.3? have u sat inside Savvy? have u really, really looked at the plastic build and material? what makes u think Proton will make it any different this time? i can assure u, it will be the same low quality and cheap plastic material. as all Proton are.

the next thing u know a few months (or even weeks) down after launch, some buyers will start to complaint about broken door handles, broken and/or misaligned glove box, water leaking in during rain and paint on the door mirror plastics falling off…

nobody here simply bash Proton cars for no reason… Proton has screwed the rakyat countless times, so whenever any "new" models coming up, the majority wont expect it to be any good. that's how deep in the mud (or sh!t if u prefer) Proton has dragged itself in, so dont blame the bashers (or the ex-buyers and "non-patriotic" rakyat).

this time, instead of the service centre mechanics who says this, it's the buyer whos says it… "Biasalah… it's a Proton… what do u expect?"

let's just wait and see.

• laytiong on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:40 pm

2nd pic:

The centre console dials, gear stick are from Gen 2

Steering wheel and handbrake fr Waja

The silver thingy is ugly

3rd pic:

Waja's seats in leather only

4th pic:

The instrument cluster looks like Gen 2 and Saga LMST

5th pic:

Looks like Gen 2's door.

and what's with the round door levers?

6th pic:

The rims dun match the car. And it's too small to have the bling bling effect.

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:41 pm

Wah Paul…

posting kena censored

lol.. ;)

• This patent thing is an old story I read a long time ago…why bring this up again???

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:39 pm

Went to lunch just now. Saw a Sawy at the road side, took a peep at the interior… dang..! Sawy's interior much better mah…. at least it has better dash design and a/c vent.

• muthu on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:40 pm

all plastic……. ? better ask P1 change to fiberglass or gold or rubber or wood or paper…… ahak ahak ahak ahak

• Dissapointment after one another. Come on Proton even a kid can tell if the colour matches or not for the interior. Yes … black would be the best colour like most people suggest. I think it's time to revamp that head of designer…..no improvement at all. Dirts can be seen easily.

Waja – the 1.6x model was a good one. But even with it's grey interior the dirts can be seen easily. What about current Waja's bright interior…even worse man.

Gen 2 – the same except for the 1.3 version which has a black interior. Looks nice though. Thumbs up.

Pls improve on the quality PROTON. Pls also do have other options of seat colours and make sure the dashboard colour is relooked into again.

I have a Gen 2 (Metropolitan Grey

)

Defects on the Gen 2 (2004 model)

1. wind sound at even low speeds (i will rectify soon)

2. door out of alignment (done, it's perfect now)

3. poor door handles….need to smoothen up (much better now)

4. no rear arm rest (what to do ?)

5. plastic materials can be improved (interior…pls maintain or else will damage sooner or later….mine is up to date…looks new always)

6. distance to empty – not accurate at all (DTE digital)….especially after travelling long distance and suddenly into traffic vows….mileage drops fast

7. aircond blower not as strong as the Wira ….just rectified….very happy now it's cold too

Dear friends…if you'll have a Gen 2…i'm sure you've undervent these problems…just an advice. There are still some good foremans at USPD service centres around who can still restify those above mentioned problems like mine. USPD Puchong behind IOI Business Park does very good job.

Believe me you will be a much hapier person than before…..but make sure you highlight the problems.

All the best

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 14, 2005 at 10:28 pm

alaa..

malaysian mahu murah : kita buat la cara murah.. kalau guna barang mahal jual murah.. itu bodoh namanya.

uk punya bayar mahal.. tak kisah punya.. jadi kita buat guna barang mahal ..

Come-on.. they also have their business mind. no matter how you dislike or not.. theey also need look into the xost laa..

but the rims Sucks.. but i dont think almost people like to use the standard rim.. as waja.. as gen2 etc..

always change to the branded like = OZ racing, bla bla bla. so rim is not really a big matter.. because if i am, sure change to the racing one rim laa… mana ada orang suka akai rim standard la bolooo.. :D

• Thorrel on Dec 14, 2005 at 11:02 pm

I don't think the color of the interior is the final one. Possibly that they used the parts from other Proton Models and used it in the SRM in their original color.

I believe the final product will be different in term of color tones.

• Melon on Dec 14, 2005 at 11:07 pm

To [Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau

Yes, i've sat on the gen-2, my cousin owns one. Yes, there were the common problems dat came with dat car. Yes, it sucked with all the problems. I just don't agree dat some ppl are saying the whole car is falling apart without even looking at the car. Dat's really exagerating matters. None of us have seen the car's build quality yet. Wait till it's launched, then if it really sucks, then go ahead and critisize.

• My wife's gen 2 1.3 have no problems……. 6,000 km already.

• Just take off the silver-colour stuffs and it will look OK, …just ok.

• thinkerr on Dec 15, 2005 at 1:14 am

The interior is horrible…pls dont repeat the same mistake like the gen 2.

Zool…wait lah longer. My previous Waja 1.8x kaputed after 2 years. Thats when the headache starts!!

• holankan on Dec 15, 2005 at 2:10 am

as wat i say…..proton, NE HO LAN KAN!!!

• zerocool on Dec 15, 2005 at 3:02 am

Can't judge the book by the cover yet,….wait till this model appears at showroom,….. I've managed to see the interior of the SRM during it's test runs at HICOM, the top part (the air cond vents) looks the same, as the beige colour too.

Jay,

macha….u mentioned USPD Puchong is a good serv center….isi the serv center only for cars bought at Proton Edar only, or EON cars also can go there?…..my Gen2 1.3 gonna reach 5000km, need to find a good serv center… Thanks man

• For those who dun like it…DONT BUY!..and DONT GO TO THE SHOWROOM either!…For me?..Heck, i want one, please!!…

• Its not whether buy or not, like or not.

It's the suppliers that are supplying Proton Designer's work of art with those materials, and of course the biggest problems comes from those Big ones in Proton who simply signed contracts with suppliers to supply them with those inferior quality parts, since these Big ones in Proton will get to earn alot from all these contracts. I believe those contracts was still in place now even that TM was ousted, hopefully after their contract ends, Proton will sourced from other suppliers, and fire their existing Purchasing Department head or whatever monky asses in Proton, which are from the Dr.M and TM era….

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 15, 2005 at 5:45 am

mitsu_galant_2000 said,

December 14, 2005 @ 2:28 pm

alaa..

malaysian mahu murah : kita buat la cara murah.. kalau guna barang mahal jual murah.. itu bodoh namanya.

uk punya bayar mahal.. tak kisah punya.. jadi kita buat guna barang mahal ..

Come-on.. they also have their business mind. no matter how you dislike or not.. theey also need look into the xost laa..

taikor… u go check, find the price of Gen2 and convert to RM. then u take a look at Qatar spec…

next u take all of above and compare it with our local Gen2… do u see wat spec is in Qatar but missing in local spec? do u notice the difference in price? Qatar cheaper somemore!!! and don forget that price includes SHIPPING FEE!!!

then this situation really supported ur argument, "guna barang mahal jual murah.. itu bodoh namanya." so it's confirmed. Proton bodoh! their business mind is very unique! no other business can do it everytime with all its product offerings. only Proton does it. Hidup Proton!!!!

• wira wan on Dec 15, 2005 at 7:14 am

Offer VSS to the designers!

• strider on Dec 15, 2005 at 7:40 am

My first word is…. aiyoooooooooo…! wat r tey up two now beige interior looks good but hate those seat colour brown like mud?? they shud put dark grey interior almost black n silver finishes somethin like mazda 6 n wah interior 2 modern…give us an interior tat looks good n functions well n quality is top priority.d door handle wif d door nob lock shud b put together n d door handle looks lke d one from gen-2…common change d design sumthing tat d paint doesnt chip of from d handle. D rims hope its not d pic above… shud fit afive spoke rim….n pls proton b strict wif ur parts suppliers

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 15, 2005 at 7:41 am

just take a look at this,

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment…

if they can keep this look, enlarge it and extend it to perdana and waja, there we have a facelifted new perdana and waja… but i guess they have other thing in mind… i wonder why Proton could never make the correct decision… always messing up…

• Pro-Tun on Dec 15, 2005 at 9:20 am

Oklah…not so bad. Except for the color. Those designers who chose the color should go back to learn color chart under Pendidikan Seni. Haizzz!! So stupid one! Beige, Silver and Black? What the hell is that? They should've concentrated on 2 tone color instead of rainbow colors like Beige/Dark Beige or Grey/Black or Grey/Silver or Black/Silver.

Whatever it is, I think the Sport Rims dealer will make a hell of field day if they launch the SRM with those patented rims. Hahahaha!

• beige Leather bucket seats… goodness (!!!)

Sporty dashboard… speechless…

Sporty alloy rims… alamak…

Put all that together by Proton? hopeless…

• DATUK-nin nin on Dec 15, 2005 at 1:34 pm

wahhh !! cannot tahan lah, very bad design

• Qatar probably is tax free thus gen 2 might be cheaper like Langkawi.

• Anyway, 2006 is sure an interesting year to wait for the launching of SRM and other car's model. At the moment can't really comment on something base on picture alone.

Need to see it in the showroom, seat in it, feel the fabrics or plastick, I want to know how much they improvise the SRM after two years of playing cat and mouse with us consumer. Perhaps some of the project's engineer or some Proton's decision maker read this blog and make positive out of the negative comments here.

• Don't forget to test drive it… just like SAVVY after test driving then you know how good the SAVVY is.

• neemo on Dec 15, 2005 at 5:07 pm

this is the latest proton's car that i died to wait for a long time..but the interior is too light..make it dark plzz..and the rims dough!!OUTDATED and not suitable for a hatchback spport car like this..I will buy it if they make the cahanges..promise!! LOL!!

• ainul on Dec 15, 2005 at 5:13 pm

i am very disappointed with the interior overall design. just look at the stifness of the gear shift, the handbrake and the aluminium panelling at the dash board….. and the rims……huh…… sakit mata and sakit hati………

• drugkill on Dec 15, 2005 at 6:06 pm

emmm … no comment … no metter what they do seldom get -ve comment … i thought the interior is 3D model only then ada yang cakap cheap lame plastic … haiyoooo …. good thinking my fellow malaysian …

• intermilan on Dec 15, 2005 at 7:17 pm

aiya,

why blog, fight, wait and want to buy this….. wasting time and money.

now, a few people already dah ter rosakkan mata sendiri some more.

better wait for something else (yg almost equivalent) like ..naza206 for example…….. surely a better package. potong jari tau.

To refresh ur mind and spirit while waiting.. cari2 lah peugeot 206 on the road (btw, not that easy to find). imagine THAT car and then .. the picture above.

the choice is CRYSTAL CLEAR.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 15, 2005 at 9:13 pm

wth u talking crappy naza206 in proton thread? this thread is to BASH PROTON (just fade-up and a little post beforea leaving this pauls bashers community forever) ..

because it's seem god damn hard to find a neutral and intelect people yet..

by paul.! :)

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 15, 2005 at 9:16 pm

am i proton fanatic?

not ,

am i myvi basher..

not ..

am i talk that im god damn rich ..

not.. i only can afford old mitsubishi.. but the speed better and good than myvi and savvy.. coz i can raech 180kmh easyly.

but the way.. i think i want to buy this SRM ..

BYE ALL!..

(as long as paul did not maintain this site as good as earlier.. sorry.. i wont post ever.. = just tired looking bashersz)

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 15, 2005 at 9:41 pm

At least it's better looking that the new Honda City

• What new Honda City? Facelift, odd shape, a hatchback paste with a booth, pasang kat Thailand….. saya tak nak.

• Laaa..lagi lagi..about those rims!…wat up?…can 'kutuk' without making jokes about those rims..bole tak?…RIMS/WHEELS can be change whenever u like to!…

• I guess most here are not KUTUKing the rims. They are KUTUKing Proton for putting those rims, so they have to spent another 1k to change those bling blings. Why put there in the first place?

Secondly, i dont agree with all here who bash it. Some got point, others are just followers who simply go :" So damn ugly, the design sucks!!"

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 16, 2005 at 7:10 am

let's just wait until launch lah ya? after 2 years of Proton talking cock about this SRM, of course there are bound to be ppl who had waited until they're fidgety… let's wait… let's wait some more…

• honda_driver on Dec 16, 2005 at 4:46 pm

i find it very weird that people keep making a reference of the SRM "that looks just like the Gen2".

Why the surprise? the SRM is meant to be the hatchback version of the Gen2.

good design or bad design, thats up to personal preference la. the only thing to me that proton has sorted out the best, is the ride and handling of their OEM spec suspension in all their models. they just need to fix up their interior finishing once and for all.

• To zarul, dun terasa sangat ler…mostly all the post about the new SRM, sure got that RIMs topic…please for once dun talk bout it?..can ahh?..Joking or not, it getting basi ler (bout the rims)..Just go to Kapar,Klang.. tukau lar…BTW, i dun follow the latest 'Apprentice 4'..anyway, whose the black couple just bought the house in 'Desperate Housewife' end season ahh?….

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 16, 2005 at 9:09 pm

Jalan Kapar? hmm… be careful.. some place might just tuduh u stealing, hit u then throw inside balai. next thing, kena bashed from police pulak…

if u dono wat i'm saying, it's something in the news some weeks back, one kid from some public uni go jalan kapar looking for spare parts and the next thing he knows, kena masuk hospital…

• Poor kid, beaten by the towkay, end up in police station, beaten again by the cops, electrocute some more and the culprit still walking among the good policemen waiting for the next victim knowing that by wearing the police uniform, he is untouchable.

Anyway, put aside SRM as more people have talk about it. Where is Wira Replacement Model-WRM, Proton should take note that the most popular car for 2005 (in term of sales) is Wira-refer to CBT 14.12 Wed. Thus, they should take advantage of basic yet affordable model like Wira.

If Proton phase out the Wira, Waja should take over its place and with lower price, 50k – 55k.

• babyester on Dec 17, 2005 at 4:14 am

WRM = gen2

• pomen_kete on Dec 18, 2005 at 7:24 pm

good point zarul ..

use very long time to read all of the post in this page.

and zarul, no wonder mitsu galent 2000 leaved this blog now.

and maybe mee too.. tired with all the kaki bash . just lookin everyday. hate so much to read comments. because i already know everything is based.

i tot i'll leaving this blog oso later..

and maybe this post will be delete by paul to.. i dun care.

because i already saw few post like this deleted by paul before.

maybe he love bashers more than posters like us.

yeah, more bashers = more money thru adsense.

Maybe.. ok paul. delete my post if you dare. let see, how many will know what u do.

i oso tired to post something better tahn this. because it make nothing. and useless

• pomen_kete: you make it sound like people bashing proton here is my fault? have i encouraged it anywhere?

and alot of you don't seem to understand that if you are a first time commenter your comment has to be approved by me first, it is not deleted, i just have not approved it yet. this is because there are alot of spambots posting spam links in the comments. i'm sure any of you who own blogs know of this problem with spambots.

other comments which i've deleted involve commenters attacking each other personally, why should i leave them here. my blog is not for you to insult each other. go back alley and settle yourself or something.

why do you think my posting has been slowing down lately? why do you think i have not posted any updates on the chancellor when it is alerady on proton's site? think about it. want to post anything about proton, sure result in this kind of thing happening. it's getting really hard to keep everybody happy here in the comments box. sometimes i want to approve those new comments also getting abit fedup. please put yourself in my shoes for a moment.

• Form 5 Student on Dec 18, 2005 at 8:47 pm

Malaysian will always be Malaysian…..

We have to realize that the fact we're living in a developing nation where technologically we're still lagging behind….

If everybody bashes Proton…where's our Malaysian virtue of a Patriotic Malaysian?

• ala……… interior too horrible

not match at all…….

• Form 5 Student on Dec 18, 2005 at 10:12 pm

Dear Adik,

Sorry la…I’m only form 5…
    this is what the school teaches us…maybe to cover up our eyes to love potong la…
    haha….me myself don’t think it’s anything about patriotic….with junks from potong..sigh..

• NitroG on Dec 18, 2005 at 10:58 pm

Really fed up when people say bashing Proton has anything to do with patriotism.

See what those politicians/ex-politicians who talk so much about Proton are driving.

• Leanne on Dec 19, 2005 at 12:38 am

Interesting blog you have here. I am doing a research regarding the automotive industry. Proton bashing? Hmmm … is it true? Why only Proton kena and not Perodua? Generally, I find the perception on Perodua cars seem to be better than Proton. I don't think it's a matter of comparison with Japanese cars. If we compare Proton to Perodua and Hyundai, Proton still seem to fall short.

• Selipar on Dec 19, 2005 at 1:02 am

my…my…those comments went off topic completely….

• To those who commented on people bashing Proton. You need to upgrade your mentality. We scold Proton for doing something bad, and you guys brand us as bashing. And then we go on to defend our ideas of bashing.

This is a free society and everyone can have their opinions. If you guys go " You dont like Proton, don't buy!" then Proton will never improve. THINK people, THINK.

How you all define bashing? If all negative comments are branded as "bashings" whats the point of giving opinions? What are constructive opinions?

And to comment on people saying "Do you know how to make a car? If you dunno dont bash!" Is actually very childish, what kind of reply was that if it ain't bashing?

What do people mean by "I bet you don't even know how to make a karipap, not to say a car!" Whats all this?

No wonder we cant improve. And don't even say that "Honda has been around for many years, Proton is still new" This is again another irresponsible comment. Why can Perodua do it while Proton is not? THINK

Being small players in the automotive industry, the most inportant thing is to know how to play alongside the big players, not to ram up against them. Perodua knew that they only need to collaborate with other players, and even involving themselves in the development of new models (Toyota Passo, Daihatsu Sirion/Boon) are more efficient and effective. In the end what did consumers get? The best car in class, attractive pricing and attractive accessories. Imagine if Perodua did it themselves and come out with something like Rusa, will we, consumers be satisfied?

Thats why, to know how to play around, and where to take and give, allows Perodua to thrive. And this is particularly why Proton fails. It is still trying to sell its cars using the cloak of patriotism, pride and national ego. This is not the way to run things around. They always give excuses, being new, bashing on Naza and Inokom that they rebrand cars and sell as National cars, they are not -national-enough. HEY, but these cars are totally local assembled, locally sourced parts, brings the same equal benefits to Proton, and not to say Inokom and Naza, why Proton did not always compare itself to Perodua? Why give excuses?

Please do not comment on people whose bashing Proton as un-patriotic. It just shows how pathetic and childish one is. Why Malaysia till now, hadn't had enough good products? Its because we ourselves are still a developing nation, most of our incomes are still from natural resources, we are not an industrialized nation. Why? partly because our education and economic system is not efficient enough, secondly our use of natural resources is somewhat un-effective and third, we are just not ready yet, mentality wise and socialogically wise. That is why when less people here manufacture end products, less competition there is. And when we have less competition, our products arent that good.

Our government should actually focus more on what is good for Malaysia, rather than following footsteps of industrialized giants, claiming on whatever they are doing, is also achievable by Malaysians.

You see, our Dr.M, he wants our country to be the hub of telecommunications, the hub of biotechnology, and also the hub of automobile manufacturing in ASEAN. He is practically dreaming, everyone knows we cant do it, but we source, trhive and suffer to achieve that, that is when, we waste our resources, we wasted too much of our resources on un-benefiting projects, Proton City, MEC City are live examples, others? nice decorated Pondoks beside main roads, roundabout clock towers, the largest courtroom in the world etc etc.

In the end, what did we achieve? Why cant we achieve? its because the goals are impracticle and unfeasible. But these goals made us pride, emptily pride of ourselves and our country. By now, some posters are readily waiting to comment on my supposingly "un-constructive" comment. I'll give something constructive.

We should focus on food industry, food and beverage industry. Make people from around the world to know that Malaysian Food products are good. We have the resources, we have many different cultures, and we are at the very center of Asia and Asia Pacific. Why not focus on delivering high quality food and beverage products? Why we Malaysians are consuming Instant Curry Noodles that Switzerlanders are making? (Or earning the final profit) — Can't figure out? Maggi!! for christ sake. Have we ever figure why industrialized nation's food and beverage products really do taste better? Its because they put an effort in making it tasty, not that they finish making the products and put a label stating " Made in XXXX product" to make their people who bought it felt patriotic. We should stop our own mindset of "Tidak Ape" and really make efforts in imroving our product manufacturing, education, social order, and social security. Hence, our products are competitive enough, and slowly we will feel the real pride of being a Malaysian. Constructive comments? Yupe, this is one.

P.S. Proton – Improve or Die. Not cosmetically.

• Form 5 Student on Dec 19, 2005 at 6:12 am

Dear Adik,

Sorry la…I'm only form 5…

this is what the school teaches us…maybe to cover up our eyes to love potong la…

haha….me myself don't think it's anything about patriotic….with junks from potong..sigh..

• ade post pasal proton, ade lah jgk bashers nih… cannot give short answer : like or hate izzit..?? in other posts bashed oledi…

that luxurious (heheh) interior, leather seat belongs to that sport car (first pic on that uk patent page) lah…

• hehehaha on Dec 20, 2005 at 3:13 am

The big G should not have any interest in our automotive industry in the first place…. Everyone wants a share of the pie… Just my two cents…

• unknownblad3 on Dec 20, 2005 at 9:26 pm

the exterior looks good..its seems sporty…but what the heck is with the interior colour?are we lacking of designer or wat?y cant just make it looks almost prefect with exterior and interior looks good?u have a turn on exteior but then a really really turn off interior…its just bullshit!!!…i dont know wat is wrong with proton sometimes…are they lack of designers ?i dont think so….

• victor on Dec 21, 2005 at 12:59 am

Enough is enough, guys.

Just move on your life. No point argue here.

You guys like to buy what car, just buy.

• nulltrix on Dec 21, 2005 at 7:54 am

err.. apesal kaler x bes.. wat cam executive outlook aje.. wat kaler sporty sket laa.. adeiii..

• afismail on Dec 22, 2005 at 2:03 pm

hi i'm new here….

see lots of fight here…

i'm kinda leaning towards proton is a big disappointment in some areas but not all…

after i've read articles from both sides "the bashers" vs "patriotic proton" (sorry giving you guys names) i can't stop my fingers from typing this comment…

from my point of view, everybody admits that our national car manufacturer have problems to fix – Fundamentals2 things quality bla bla.. design bla bla

next the bashers have good points pointed out about their discontented opinion and the proproton also defended well…..

so maybe most of you don't see it like i do… but what i see is you guys are geniuses!!!! you all go far strecth to win the debate!!!! some of you even i believe do studies and do some research in this…..

some points are very clear… very clear… some are just joining the fun like pouring more fuel to an open fire… thats an aspect our community should improve -period-

my point is we should maybe someone here with little expertise try to tackle each and every issue one by one professionally seriously professional and the most important thing is the others follow discuss and come out with some ideas and hope those protons decision makers open their eyes little bit to automotive enthusias like us…

no point gaduh2 sini sana pointing fingers here n there but the problem still there from the beginning… proton also have to admit if not openly that they have this issue to solve first rather than boasting their new model to the public…

luckily the consumers power here in m'sia is not great so they have survive their first 20 years good domesticly… talking about domestic can anyone tell me why our domestic cars are low in every aspect than the ones that we export? i always thought it is the same with the famous term JDM… but it is actually the other way around… fair huh?

i Suggest that proton should groom their product to meet the bashers std as far as it can because they have the best or should i say highest std in cars…

seriously this is my P.O.V radical or not up to you guys….

leave your difference behind start to give constructive views/comments/suggestion because i believe deep down the bashers meant well they just want to see proton becomes on of the top guns in automobile industry one day perhaps… perhaps… perhaps….

ok thanx gud nite… eh morning oledi?!!

• Well,

To those who bashed Dr. M for his Vision, *THINK* again.

All things are created twice! First in the mind and second, in the works.

If you didn't have the first creation, i.e. in the mind or vision or dreams, then forget about the second, i.e. the works, and the success!

Martin Luther King once said: "I have a dream".

Whatever happened to the execution is secondary!

• shame to be in Malaysia and Buying Malaysian Product compare to Europe ppl

• carkey on Dec 23, 2005 at 1:00 am

the SRM look ok la… look like mini gen2.this is standart car maaa… what do you aspect? even the japan and western car sometime look more ugly than this. and still some people buy it. if you want to the car look sporty, spent RM10 k and make up la lawa2. change the rim,put some spoiler.skirt, muffler, seat, dashboard, engine. convert and modifiet anything you thing it ugly. and hopefully it become ferrari ke or mitsubishi evo9 or honda.

for those who kutuk2 this proton car. i suggest don't buy la. senang cerita. buy another car. japan or western car la.

• carkey on Dec 23, 2005 at 1:17 am

watch top gear, and you will know some western car tipu kita. what they sell is their brand name that most malaysian people dream to buy it. but the quality of the car. zero. and one more thing. see how the pengacara tu critic. pedas but positive.if you want to critic. say it but give the suggestion solution to handle the problem. remember. we are malaysian. we help each other.try to help proton. i you thing new proton model is ugly, the design new one and try la sent to them. maybe they will take you design as a new model.who's know.you may get royalty for the design.for now just hope that the new man in proton can bring the new era of proton.

• CSI(u r wrg) on Dec 23, 2005 at 2:44 am

CSI ur wrg,at least we got P2 to safe our country!!!!

• Still say its a nice car.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 25, 2005 at 7:01 pm

carkey said,

December 22, 2005 @ 5:17 pm

watch top gear, and you will know some western car tipu kita. what they sell is their brand name that most malaysian people dream to buy it. but the quality of the car. zero. and one more thing. see how the pengacara tu critic. pedas but positive.if you want to critic. say it but give the suggestion solution to handle the problem. remember. we are malaysian. we help each other.try to help proton. i you thing new proton model is ugly, the design new one and try la sent to them. maybe they will take you design as a new model.who’s know.you may get royalty for the design.for now just hope that the new man in proton can bring the new era of proton.

carkey… it's not like u dono our malaysian car designers… ooopss.. "so-called "car-designers"!!! send in to them and might get royalty? the next thing u know somebody claimed it's HIS idea and wat are u gonna do about it? oh, anyway, would they even listen to u, the customers, in the first place? hmmm… tough luck!

• I'm dissapointed with proton… better buy a WAJA or Perdana V6 than the newer one…. Simply No Creativity… AT ALL! Probably the designers was so proud of the design but i'm not… Well, I'm proud to be malaysian but… I'm ashamed of Proton… The New Chancellor? A waste!

• carkey on Dec 27, 2005 at 7:22 pm

yeah, its a very tough luck. but who know that maybe one of you out there is the 'chosen one'. yo man, try first, don't be to negetive. think positif.

register your design as a 'your own intellectual properties' so no body can claim that the design is HIS idea.

• tractor on Dec 27, 2005 at 7:43 pm

i really dissapointed with some of the proton model. why selalu kotak2.you can see a few of their model like iswara,juara (shoe box), tiara, waja, savvy.same like saga. everything is square.dah la tu, they use a cheap material that really outdated one.and they ask us to buy it? if goverment are not help them with the discrimination policies to outsider car. i bet proton will bankrupt a long long time ago.don't they have any better design. come on la. are we still in the 80's. i think this car designer is an "old man" and bad taste. need to kick out this 'old man ' car designer and burn all his work. hired new one la. why they don't hired the lotus designer to design new proton model? so what the purpose they buy the share of the lotus?just to waste the money or what?

• Yeah… i'm gonna do that to be fair….

• Hehehe…. for your info tractor… Savvy is the design from Proton-Lotus…. Hehehe… still the same right… By The way… I do agree with your comment…. For quick example… Look at Honda or Toyota right? even though the car has the same name… But in this past few years… the cosmetics has been changed… engines has been upgraded… But still using a same name… Just compare it with our Wira…. it has been 20 years… and all they changed is some of the interior and add some skirtings…. Look at accord for E.g. for the past 20 years? hehehe…. That's why i said… Proton Designers needs to be more creative… you can still use the same name for the cars…. But please… make it as a creative and attractive…. Design… I'm not saying that they are not creative at all… because they did come out with new cars….. but the main thing is like tractor said before…. The attractiveness of the car… why must it all be so damned Square? All of my friends call the new saga as "Kereta Perisai" hehe… and by the way Tractor… I like it when you call Juara as ShoeBox…. Because it is… doesn't it?

• fa zhi on Dec 30, 2005 at 1:58 am

Beli kereta ikut budget korang la, ikut kemampuan, kalau tak mampu buat cara tak mampu, kalau mampu beli la, minat lain-lain..

• Richard Tan on Dec 30, 2005 at 7:59 am

Paul,

I think the two dials under meters could be for controlling the brightness of the meters but why need 2? Perhaps the other is for changing the colour of the illumination????

RT

• I just wanna say that… Malaysian nowadays has a better buying powers.. and beside…. lots of loans have been introduced nowadays and it's quite easy for us to buy a car basically….

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Jan 19, 2006 at 11:44 am

better buying power? umm.. might not be true… it has to be compared against alot of factors…

but i'd agree that it's easier to buy a car nowadays, lotsa loan options… however, what about whether u could afford it or not? someone i know earning below rm2k managed to get a 9-year full loan to buy a waja…

and he's renting a room with barely enough to scrape by… and i wonder how he managed to survive here in kl… even with a part-time job, how much could he earn?

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 6:38 am

SRM in April/May 2006.

Can't wait to see it comparing to the new Toyota Yaris/Vitz/Echo (smart Yaris) 3 door hatch.

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:20 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• hillpark05 (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 9:28 pm

Congratulation because finally you come out with your SRM Model. We are aware of the current market trend of MPV and SUV which are much well accepted by the market. Looking at the design and dtyling of this sport segement car ( i took a glance while passing by the showroom)… It's very impressive. I'm proud of it and being one of the ex- Proton staff who involved in appointing the tool and dies maker before I am happy to look at the Satria Neo in real production car. I hereby just want to say a few comments especially about the price, I don't really know about their BOM cost but I can say market are expecting a lower price which is I believed, slightly higher than their expectations. The seats don't look and feel nice. The materials used I supposed. Since the handling is designed by lotus which is well known as the world sport car maker, proton should highlight this as another good point of sales. Looking at the amount of money invested by Proton for this model, I really hope this car sales will hit the highest demand for this market segment of car. Proton has a good car now, so change peoples perception on your products. Work on that.. I wanted to have one too… 1.6 MT HL… I heard they have airbags for safety but scared of suffocation. Be proud of Malaysian products people. This car is our own breed. Not Korean or Japanese or Europe or US.

• undergh (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 7:07 pm

Hi,

I'm a first-timer. The whole reason why I bother giving a comment is because I am quite annoyed with what Bob said about Proton.

I am a proud owner and this is despite my new car giving me some minor problems. Proton is perhaps flawed in many ways but let's face it, it is heading the right direction. With Neo being introduced, I think that car is rather a bargain for the price it offers.

Why we call people bashers? Well, I've been to many websites and I personally see ppl complaining about Proton that is absolutely ridiculous. For example, why the car is designed as such to have exhaust in the middle or there are squeaky noises in the interior. While the former comment is rather pure dumb, the latter IS bad but come on, at the end of the day, these cars are MASS PRODUCED, not specialised.

Even cars that are 'specialised' like the Mercedes does have a lot of problems! The E-Class that we currently see on the road – has a lot of problems that baffles even their own engineers! Take Alfa Romeo, it has QC problem just like Proton today!

Perhaps 2 wrongs doesn't make a right but my point here is that when other manufacturers do it, it's OK because they're not local. When other manufacturers are radical, it's cool but when Proton does it, it's dumb!

Bob, also bear in mind that Proton is limited by the govt. policy to source from local vendors. I'm sure if they had their way, parts will be sourced from China. It's cheaper and better too. Another reason is that, when it comes to local vendors, they'll try to squeeze the juice out of companies like Proton or Petronas. Everything is charged at a premium when the quality is only half-baked. But, what can Proton do if these companies have political clout?

Another thing, I'm not saying what Bob said is all wrong but just remember that Proton's decision is governed by the govt. Perodua has most of the stakes owned by Daihatsu/Toyota. Naza, well the last time I heard, their cars have QC problems too. Plastic is tacky and feels cheap. Their operating costs should be much much much cheaper as they don't need to spend on R&D.

There are disappointments I'd like to highlight though. Perhaps Proton should spend more money in speeding up its variable valve system to production rather than on its R3 dept. or researching on hybrids with Lotus or funding that someone to race? What's the whole point of coming out with these if your engines have not the variable valve system – which is rather basic in today's fuel saving engines?

Finally, I'd like everyone to give Proton some time. It has so far moved in the right direction and we should give more credit. Things don't change in a year. You need years to overhaul a company and get it back on track. At least VW is coming in soon right? or perhaps GM? That is a smart move and I believe that it'll bring Proton back to the forefront of the country's automotive industry.

To Paul Tan: I hope this comment is accepted despite me being the first timer to post. I don't mean any personal attack on Bob but when I read his article, I'm sorry to see his point of views that are derived from naivety as I was once like that too…

• akbarwaja1.8x (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:45 pm

i own a Waja 1.8X from singapore,,,,the seat look like waja only tt waja is different colour,,,,,,,,the ‘X’ means its walnut interior for my waja,,,,,,,

• Miss Ring Ring on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Wow AWESOME CAR!…..