Car scrapping policy – 15 years?

I am driving a 1984 Nissan Sunny 130Y. The original engine was a single overhead cam carburetted 8 valve 1.3 litre engine called the E13. It made about 65 horsepower. It still runs very well after 2 engine transplants (now running an E15 carburetted 8 valve SOHC 1.5 litre – 67hp), albeit the NVH has gone quite horrible, which makes the ride at highway speeds pretty deafening for me due to wind noise but it sure doesn’t harm other road users.

I’ve just got back from Langkawi from the Honda Accord Media Drive event to be greeted by updates on the possible car scrap policy. Nanyang.com.my posted a piece of news on the controversial Car Scrapping Policy which is rumoured to find it’s way into the soon to be announced Budget 2007.

The report quotes industry sources saying the policy will be imposed on cars aged 15 years and older, to ensure:

1. More orderly road traffic
  2. Safety for road users
  3. A cleaner environment

There are currently 80,000 cars on the road over 15 years of age, and most of them are Protons. The scrapping rebate previously suggested is not to be given out by the government, but by national makes – thus making the rebate effective for purchasing a new national make vehicle only.

Nanyang’s report doesn’t exactly have the most solid sources or references, so we don’t really know whether it will be implemented or not until the Budget 2007 is announced. Are you ready to commit yourself to another 9 grueling years of loan repayment?

Previous post on the car scrapping issue available here.

By the way, happy Merdeka Day to all Malaysians!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:09 am

With this policy … first it will kill some of the used car dealers as most people will think twice when considering buying cars age between 5 to 8 years. Most buyers consider buying good used cars are within this age (BMW 318i year 2000 @RM120,000).

New car sales sure will go up as most people will consider it as being a longer period of ownership (and resale/financing)

Anyway, my Wira still have 4 years of life if this policy is confirmed :(

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:19 am

there got to be

HUGE incentives for scrapping to take place..like road tax waivers for few years…insurance discounts ,zero interest rates for few years and so on…to actually encourage the policy to take effect……a 15 yrs old merc e230 cost roughly rm40k…how can u scrap that n for how much…doesnt make sence…im sure tmr(budget Anouncement) wil clear alot of the questions…

looking at how the world is going now…war everywere n ppl are geting killed like nobodys bizness…we r lucky to have merdeka…we should be grateful seriously…happy merdeka to everyone n may it last forever…!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:28 am

I hate you proton!! See you in 2010!! G says they will spend RM10 Billion on public transport. I will take a car instead. Too bad you won't get my money!!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:36 am

at first it was 10 years. Then there is a public outcry. Now 15 years, I sure hope the public will make a hell a lot of nows. I want to alter my 10 years old proton satria interior to leather seats and put wood paneling dashboard and etc etc. Now looks like I will wait coz if my car scrap in 5 years I won't do it. Also if they want to implement this policy, implement it in 5-10 years. Those people whose car is 15 years old, where to suddenly find the financing, it's so sudden. Malaysia policy always sudden one.They call it in "Malay ikut hati sahaja". It is always a rash decision without proper planning and later mark my word, the decide not to scrap after an outcry, everytime a new car comes out, it takes metal, resources and labour to make a car. It's a waste on earth's resources. But I seen real junk on the road tha the beggar won't even want to sit in the car. Those should be scrapped. Every old car more than 15 years should be checked by G regarding interior, exterior whether it's road worthy. If it's real junk and the owner doesn't improve the car, then scrap lar. If after warning if the car is not road worthy and owner still doesn't improve it after next warning(old cars) then scrap. I have seen real junk, interior all gone, inside of the car cabut here and there, the floor of the car can see the road!! Only cheap brands should junk lar(old cars) especially those carburretors car.They should put that any cars before 1985 must scrap that one I agree!! If not they can keep the car but not renew road tax.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:39 am

Some old junks, I drive my satria and they always blocking me. No traffic but their car so bloody slow!!my old uncle also drive faster!! Then thick black smoke come out. Then the car is rusted all over. Those cars are eyesores.!! Those you can junk!! But not good old cars. Also collectibles, those shouldn't junk, Government should make a list what old cars should junk or not and make a list. Need proper planning.

• demio121 (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:40 am

I hope the reason given above is rumor caused its plain joke… juz like the reason for AP is for statistical data collection.

i sell my 15yr 1500cc Proton with 3 speed auto and get a Wira 1.5A now. Is it gonna be more enviromental friendly now…??? Its the same technology then and now.

More orderly traffic…??? drive around KL and you'll see car parked along the road shoulder. Chauffeur driven luxury cutting queue to get their boss to office on time… how many of these are 15yr old cars???

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:44 am

volvolover said,

August 31, 2006 @ 8:28 pm

I hate you proton!! See you in 2010!! G says they will spend RM10 Billion on public transport. I will take a car instead. Too bad you won’t get my money!!

Sorry, some correction, I mean I will take a bus instead. Of coz I may also take train :-)

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:44 am

hahahahah.. scrap all carburetor cars. Thats good. This includes that BRAND NEW carburetor powered Iswara Aeroback.

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:45 am

how will my 1971 Toyota Celica will end up, then? Do I need to scrap this lovely n sexy newly refurbished Coupe? I wont let them…

• malayman (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:49 am

but what about those collector cars? all going to be chopped also? this is nonsense…. they should scrap cars that are taking up place like all those used cars that are not selling…not good roadworthy classics..

damn….

how to drive the e21 around like this….aiayyyyaaaaaaaaaaa

:(

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:50 am

Celicazz: I say only junk cars :-) If refurbished and also collectibles then no need lar. I hope this stupid bill doesn't go through though I really hope not to see some old junks. Have you seen a real junk that the car floor no more and can see the road? Rusted all over?

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:52 am

Proton still selling carburretor. THat's ridiculous. It uses lots of petrol and not environment country. Those cars are draining earths resources. Government should ban car manufacturer selling carburretor cars!!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:57 am

Look at the quote for scrapping

The report quotes industry sources saying the policy will be imposed on cars aged 15 years and older, to ensure:

More orderly road traffic

Safety for road users

A cleaner environment

1. More orderly traffic? Depends, some old junks can't go fast at all. Must struggle to reach 80km/h. Those should junk lar or put in countryside. Countryside means Kampung

2. Safety? How unsafe is old cars? If properly maintain. Spare Parts use manufacturer ones or even different manufacture but good ones. It is safe.

How safe is proton cars? Lorry bang the car, the car hancur. I am a volvo lover and the first car I drove after my license is a manual volvo 240GL. The volvo 740 GL she drove, petrol tank bang her from behind, she still ok. If proton maybe dead already. How safe is that?

3. Environment friendly? How environment friendly is proton cars or even foreign cars? If proton cars I know export ones they have to meet certain standards, but Malaysia I think don't have lar.

It is just a trick to make you get a new car.

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:09 am

then, what the car scrapping is all about…scrapping old, rusty cars still good… let the refurbished still being use…30+ years old cars like my Celica still runs good with decent fuel economy…still has that kick, which in its time unchallange by many for years…performance still good, 0-100 in 11 secs, Neo is left behind… juz scrap those old rusty car, gives incentive to those in need to change, but still nowadays, no such problem becoz there are lo-priced cars like p2…/me like classic muscles, loves celica, rx7, 240z….

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:09 am

demio121 said,

August 31, 2006 @ 8:40 pm

I hope the reason given above is rumor caused its plain joke… juz like the reason for AP is for statistical data collection.

i sell my 15yr 1500cc Proton with 3 speed auto and get a Wira 1.5A now. Is it gonna be more enviromental friendly now…??? Its the same technology then and now.

More orderly traffic…??? drive around KL and you’ll see car parked along the road shoulder. Chauffeur driven luxury cutting queue to get their boss to office on time… how many of these are 15yr old cars???

More orderly traffic means people buy less car and then no parking problem and traffic jams if that is what they mean!!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:11 am

Aiyo friend, read my post properly, all of them, I agree with what you say, read all my posts properly lar. Anywayzz, I love toyota celica and yes your celica is still more powerful than the neo :-)

Celicazz said,

August 31, 2006 @ 9:09 pm

then, what the car scrapping is all about…scrapping old, rusty cars still good… let the refurbished still being use…30+ years old cars like my Celica still runs good with decent fuel economy…still has that kick, which in its time unchallange by many for years…performance still good, 0-100 in 11 secs, Neo is left behind… juz scrap those old rusty car, gives incentive to those in need to change, but still nowadays, no such problem becoz there are lo-priced cars like p2…/me like classic muscles, loves celica, rx7, 240z….

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:13 am

I mean proton neo :-) Anyways, I like toyota celica. hehehe

• freeze (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:14 am

Its a trick to make you get a new proton. Not worth buying 2nd hand japs.

It's like a final desperate move to protect proton.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:14 am

Celicazz: I think what they should scrap is those really junk cars. Let me show you what junk cars. Wait. I will show you a link.

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:16 am

poor the poor ppl. after this, theres gonna be more motorbikes on the road. or prolly even bicycles like china. i'd have lots of money if i ride bicycle to my office everyday… but cant stand the sweat.. lol.. if i didnt calm myself down, i would be detained by the ISA tomorrow…. im gonna enjoy driving my iswara like as if its a lambo before it gets scrapped in 2012… and then crash it just before it turns 15.. hehe.. nah, just joking.. just tryin cool down

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:17 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3xoRQd0dLk http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2bEG8BdN7g

This is the junk car I am reffering to. Feel like destroying it the way Jeremy Clarkson is doing to them. Hahaha

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:18 am

I mean junk cars that looks similar to those.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:19 am

paul tan: Don't angry ok. Jeremy Clarkson hates your nissan sunny!! He go and destroy a nissan sunny. hehehe :-) :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YTgV2Xgon6Q

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:30 am

Yeeh, pls chop my 90's Saga. And hope Proton will give me a HUGE incentive & i will give u my BLOOD to buy a Very Brand New, Same Chassis, Same Engine, Same Technology of Proton Iswara/Saga….

I'm happy with my current Saga…

Y Scrap it ?? No Rush, No Smoke, No cabut here cabut there….

I think, if this policy need to be implemented, pls plan it properly. Maybe step by step…

Otherwise, many ppl will be going to die…

All Malaysian folks cannot accept it if they make it too sudden…

• Paul Tan on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:39 am

volvolover: well, then jeremy is exactly the same as whoever formulated the car scrapping policy (if it exists) – they do not know some people cannot afford anything else.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:41 am

more orderly traffic got nothing to do with oldcars lah,is the driver,you mean a maniac can drive more orderly with new car? safty for road user? ATTITUDE lah,EDUCATION lah,if driver dun change their driving attitude,give them a more powerful new car will increase the hazard on roadsafty,enviromental friendly?,more pollutons are come out of industrialisation then cars lah,wrong accusation,all this excuse are baseless with intention to help P1 to sell more cars,and shovel us the consumer with poor quality,expensive P1 CARS,aiya,iron curtain pull on our window oredi,now we can't even keep our blood sweat and tears bought property,wonder one day they will say too many unproductive oldman like me should be scrap after 60 years,and i had few years to live before they legally erase me from my native soil.merdeka! or recolonised by P1,just had to wait for another tengku abdul rahman reincarnated to liberate us,I just lost my MERDEKA spirit on this MERDEKA day,saddddoldman with sadddd oldcars and no more cars for me to drive.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:51 am

About my earlier post on volvo, I mean the person I refer to she is my sister.

Volvo is a safe car, proton isn't.I feel so safe in my old volvo 240 GL. Of course the old volvo car was a fuel guzzler. But if you talk about safe, it is really safe with steel bar on the door and the door is very heavy. If today proton can produce solid cars like volvo, I don't mind if malaysia scrap old cars(proton for a small solid car) Example: if new models is safe and environment friendly, don't say how old the car you will scrap rather, car manufacture before XX:XX:XXXX date must be scrapped. But of course once your new car you bought now becomes old, no scrapping policy, just a scrapping policy to scrap cars produce during certain years.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:56 am

if all old things must be scrap,then we dun need to had sejarah lesson,dun need museum,dun need old folks,dun learn from your parents,today they want to sell more cars so they scrap old one,tomorrow,when all the land runs out,they demolish your house,so they can build new,not to forget,the present law maker will grow old one day so we rakyat too can replace them,next election,my votes are definately,unmistakenly,giving to the opposition,even PAS.may be one vote,but remember,I am not alone,they are many like me in rural kampung and uptown KL,you are welcome to test our rakyat power!

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:09 am

ialah,i agreed with volvolover,those new cars you sell tomorrow carry a note in your registration card,TO BE SCRAP ON YEAR 2021,THEN ONLY FAIR MAA! when we bought our car those day,you never tell us,now you just all the sudden want to scrap it,where got fair to us,even not mandatory,you know,you are killing my car 2nd hand value,down to zero.aiya is not safe to grow old lah in this country.insecure feeling arouse me all over my oldbrain tonite on merdekaday.our nation 49th birthdays.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:22 am

Ohh yahh, oranglulu, i just notify our country is 49 years old already…

I hav new Policy then..

Scrap the 49 years old G……..!!!!!!

ha..ha..

• syauqi (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:37 am

gosh, what's wrong with our country…

the car taukehs (and banks, of course) will surely be smiling if this is really going to be implemented…as for us mere consumers, we'll be doomed paying loans for the rest of our life…all thanks to proton….congratulations proton for making our life so miserable….u might as well close our door to the other car makers….

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:56 am

in one of my earlier post I had some spelling errors. What I mean by one of my earlier posts what the government is doing is like saying it in Malay "ikut hati sahaja" or rash decision. I hope my previous post didn't sound racist as I put the word in the wrong order which sounds Malay ikut hati sahaja. But what I mean is when spoken in Malay would sound "ikut hati sahaja" Anyway, this goverment always make rash decision example Singapore Bridge and then scrap it. What I fear most is now is 15 years to scrap(if implemented) then to 14 years and slowly slowly decrease a year to 10 years so people won't feel the effect and do it in a subtle way. Just ban this idea altogether. Damn you MAA for this proposal.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:57 am

lets wait for 2moro evening n see the Budget 2007.

• optimus_prime (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:38 am

Instead of scrapping they should have mandatory inspections carried out on those cars to ensure they are in good running condition and not emitting execessive pollutants. Sure everyone has experienced hour long jams in traffic due to 1 single car breaking down in the middle of the highway. This can be avoided if the above is done.

Just speculating on the motive here, if only National cars are involved, might this be a ploy to bail out Proton by selling/dumping their execessive inventory onto the public? Dont really know about that, but most ppl that have 15 year old cars may just not have to finances to get a newer vehicle. Heck thats why they drive old junks u know!!

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 8:13 am

Yea, I agree with inspections. The roadworthy ones stay on the road one and the ones not roadworthy to the scrap. Scrapping cars more than 15 years old will help the pollution and traffic problems, no doubt but that, but it's also wastage and quite a burden for the people. If cars more than 15 years old are to be scrapped, that includes classic and collection cars too, which isn't fair, since most of these cars are well-kept and might be in better condition compared to newer cars. I suspect the government is doing this so that the people will buy more Protons anyway, if they are really serious about the environmental, safety and traffic issue, perhaps they should make the JPJ work harder; keep ill-maintained vehicles off the road, not old ones that work perfectly. Then the city council and police should take care of indiscriminate parking. They are just trying to make people work their arses off paying a loan for a new car, scrap it later, then get a new car and work another loan off their arses, stupid idea, what about retirees or senior citizens? Is the government gonna make them pay loans for new cars with their meagre pension? What's wrong with their Volvos, Peugeots or even Protons? Yea, it's old, but it's fine, so leave it alone.

• viceice (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 9:06 am

2 words: political suicide.

People don;t generally notice when the govement makes stupid decisions, thats why they can get away with alot of stupidity. But hitting the public where it hurts, their wallet and rice bowl, is asking to lose the elections.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 9:37 am

where is jooe oii?cant wait to hear his voice…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 9:57 am

Another humiliation to fellow Malaysians. What is our government doing? Scrapping 15 yr old cars? Safer? Does that mean a Savvy, Satria Neo is a better car than a 1991 Mercedes Benz? How bout all those Limos in KLIA? Whats wrong with 15 yr old cars? There shouldn't be such a vague statement! My staff's Gen2 just had another exhaust tip fell off while she's driving on highway…. is that 'safe'? They should categorise using this :

Malaysian makes : 15 years.

Imported makes : 25 years.

Whoever that came up with this idea, is some stupid useless crap, with nothing better to do, doesn't know much on politics, economies etc, and hence the only KPI he could prove to his bosses is through these enforcing ways… fxxk Malaysian Government Big Time.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 9:58 am

And oh, BMW 8 Series users, sad to hear you guys will be changing your excellent rides to Proton…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 3:57 pm

Seriously dont think this will fly anyway.

Worst hit will be our 'friends' in the kampung. Good luck. The Gov't is just about to make your lives just much more miserable. I'm sure there would be significant "close one eye" policy taged to this….. you'd see.

At least most of us, can realistically still "afford" a new car, domestic or not.

The only thing stock about my 10 year old satria is the body, chassis and interior, even that, it has been checked throughly before each time it makes laps at Sepang. Eveything else has been replaced by better componenets. 5 year more of life? I'll just turn it into a track car, and buy a superbike for work (lucky work is a 15min drive, possible 10 by bike). I'm willing to bet that its better than a new WISE.

Seriously, Knowing how long they need to debate this, Proton might be already dead, so there wont be a need of such a policy in the first place.

Maybe it is a little unfair for us to single Proton out. Hey, we need a black sheep. And you're the worst of them all………

Not even sure if they even understand the implications. No one is going to buy used cars…especially local makes. They will have to bring the price of all new cars down for this to work. Which would put proton in an even worst situation as it would put your Vios and Cities at even a better price competitor. Not to mention the CKD Korean's (Naza) and CBU Chinese cars, which are already only 20% more than a Waja.

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:14 pm

mati lor, unless the price of new car in cheap .

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:20 pm

I'd bet my last dollar they won't dare implement this. The government's stupid but not that stupid.

• szw (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:37 pm

classic cars can't be driven otr d

• alan2006 (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Those who will be hit by the rumored "scrapping policy" will be the low income group. That includes the kampung people and the retirees.

If they are forced to buy newer cars and with their limited budget, chances are, they will end up with a Proton. But that will only increase their financial burden. Life can only get tougher for this group. Will the Govt pity them?

I am sure Proton will be happy if the rumor becomes a reality.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:04 pm

stanleyshyeoh said,

September 1, 2006 @ 8:20 am

I’d bet my last dollar they won’t dare implement this. The government’s stupid but not that stupid.

but guess who is voting? I dont get it…why we do need to suffer this? what we have done wrong to the G ? why the G treat the rakyat like this?

p/s take note that the RM4.4billion money saved from the 30cents per liter price increase..is not even use single cent for PT. the bulying G and bullying Proton should be stop…ANDA MAMPU MENGUBAHNYA

• pendek (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:46 pm

so what if they approve this bill??

what they gonna do to me?

i would still drive my old junk,

arrest me?

go ahead! and Oranglulu, here comes more PAS supporter!

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:57 pm

hoho… i've been driving my dad's almost 30 years old classic Honda Civic 1.3 4-door hatch since i got my driving license… does this mean im gonna drive a new modern car soon? cool…!

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 5:59 pm

dont worry,

ppl will buy kancil instead of potong if they implement the policy.

at best, potong might get little profit after all the calculations done, if not nothing. and the PR and political damage is so huge, its suicidal.

therefore, it is wise for the G not to introduce the policy alas if they want to target really-really 'real' not roadworhty cars. yang buruk2 macam nak roboh tu.. pity the owner thou.

But if this kind of car is the target, then the policy justify itself.

• motberg (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:16 pm

… looks like i will be riding a motorbike soon! my car's 11 years old now. ten again if i ride a bike would i be labelled a Mat Rempit? sigh, the Malaysian Dilema…

• shaif (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:26 pm

The Bill should consider the car at rural places which this car don't have any debt such as Datsun 120Y, Ford Escort, Volvo 240 and others. The owner happy with it and use to carry his family, sometime the farms product such as durians, rambutans…etc. But if Gov. really want to scrap this junk, they will be a financial burden for them. Their income per month will be affected and this create a change reaction in which affecting the financial structure as a whole.

Perhaps this junk should not be scraped, but rather give an incentive for them if they want to channge their car to the newer one. The junk should be use only at certain States Road and total banned on highway.

In order to support national car maker, decision on the Bill should not leave behing the majority voters at the countryside who loyal to Gov. all this while.

• Bigjoe (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:39 pm

My mother have a 11 year old Proton Saga with only 80,000km on it. It was a gift from her children and she takes care of it like one of us. Except for its high-fuel consumption in the city, it runs perfectly fine and looks brand new. If they force me to scrap it at 15, I will drive it to PutraJaya and ram it into the PM office.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:13 pm

it is very difficult when ruling party is not "that smart" but have too much power..I think the current G not qualified the "landslide victories" what happen actually landslide to rakyats…

under pak lah

1. do you still remember how many times fuels price increased?

2.not only diesel and petrol..the cooking gas also increased

3.also one time increase 30 cent during Mahathir time only 2 cent or 5 cent….sad la..

p/s remember rakyat is more powerful than all those close one eye MPs. you voted them…you also can change…too much power lead too abusive..up to you want to be bully or at least ahve a wonderful life driving a car that you dream or good public transportation.

• rexis (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:26 pm

As someone already stated above, the quotes of the mellenium on 49th merdeka:

"to ensure:

2. Safety for road users

3. A cleaner environment"

Are ridiculous jokes that people wont laugh. No other examples available, they are one of their kinds, political minds may have similar jokes but nothing can come close to this.

1. People scrap their car and buy another proton, other then continue paying car loans, there are still at least as many car as currently, if not more. They cant realised that traffic jam not caused by the cars, but it is just the road(eg, Tmn Connaught, Jln Loke Yew, notorious bkt bintang & jln pudu, wonderful confusing road signs, toll jungles, etc), thats the root of the problem.

2. Until now they failed to realised that 99% of the car accidents are caused by careless/impatient driving(which partly caused by traffic condition), it is the mentality of the driver, it is not the car fault, you cut your thumb and blame the knife?

3. With carburator cars are still offered as a brand new best @#$%ing selling car, this quoter are simple plainly treating us like monkeys. If they want to talk about environmental, why not do the following:

– deal with all the traffic bottle neck! Garentee saving 100 tons of petrol each night if Taman Connaught, Jalan Loke Yew, PJ roads no longer jam.

– seriously push the use of NGV by ACTION, not talk only. NGV is significantly cleaner then gasoline. Action = more station, subsidy, more promotion, introduce NGV models, etc.

– bring in clean diesel engine technology, give road tax encouragement, if proton want to research a diesel campro, be my guest. Clean diesel + envodiesel = double bonus.

– educate people to take care of their vehicle and go service regularily, not many people service their cars every 5000-7000km.

– build more bicycle lane. Riding bicycle on car road = suicide.

• rexis (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:41 pm

Really hope that they will have a more proper way to determine our car is road worthy or not.

Like: "3. A cleaner environment"

Cant they implement a more scientific way to check the car emmission? I really wont mind spend some bucks to replace my cat converter and even engine. Also, compare to those 5 year old heavily weathered saga, my 13 year old Wira is just like brand new, even the engine sound good and no smoke.

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:47 pm

hmmm… another way to bully & exploit the rakyat. Pity malaysian…

• ckengyo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:48 pm

dont worry 2 much. my place still alot of old cars from 60 -70 especially from kampung people. they can afford kancil but they cant carry all family members. unless malaysia willing 2 break the world record again, i think 15 victims died in accident last raya, & only 2 kancil involved; not bus or van. imaging average 7.5 passenger in a kancil, the brake can function properlly as what it was design 4?

if car scrap really pass, then kl is going 2 bcome like what happen in the movie: Land of dead. instead full of zombie, it will b crowded will all angry kampong people.

• ckengyo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:56 pm

dont b as stupid as the american people. they dont even know what cos 911 happened. please traced back who make this policy. dont put all ur anger in2 current g. cos when this policy made is not decided & executed by current g. know ur enermy well b4 u decided who 2 blame & revenge on. use ur brain.

• ckengyo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:58 pm

this shit is 2 hot & serious 2 handle. either p1 fail or carry on will spark anger.

• layman (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 8:17 pm

Dear government,

If you want to push new car sales up. First step is, stop the oversea recon. cars from coming into Malaysia.

Is Malaysia a junkyard for Japan's scrap car?

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 8:25 pm

if they really implement this policy, i should say GOOD LUCK Barang Naik Party for our parliament election 2008!!!

• avanza (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 8:47 pm

Those who own 12 yo cars will not be able to sell them as no one will buy them to be used for only 3 years. That will further erode the used car business. Though you can get rebates from local makes, I seriously doubt it will much. Besides what about those whose want to get foreign makes? So everyone will be compelled to buy protons! This is just another stint by the govt to help proton at the rakyat's expense!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 8:53 pm

With NAP around?.. scrap policy IS NOT RELEVAN! nonsense… even still many high developed countries still have no scrap policy.. malaysia is goin to be the 1st 3rd world country to have scrap policy, in order to cut it's people throat, for the sake of it's auto industry!!!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 9:16 pm

Hi I am New here! Selamat merdeka.

Paultan Nice to meet you! You have done a great job. Keep it on….Just love it..superb.

Regarding this topic, I think this plan will not works!

Scapping the old cars will cause more problems than benefits to RAKYAT.

Siapa Sokong?

Ada orang selalu kata "Saya Sokong"

Sokong Apa? …Sokong Sokong lah…tak da apa.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 9:20 pm

Hey Paul, I am new here nice blog!

I think Scrapping the old cars will cause more problems than benefits RAKYAT!

Siapa Sokong?

Mesti ada orang kata SAYA Sokong.

Sokong apa?….Tak tahulah….Sokong sokong aja lah! Who cares?

• dawgHause (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 9:55 pm

The only liable excuse is the second one. I agree with that old cars don't comply with the modern safety regulations.

But the first excuse? what the heck? Orderly traffic? how on earth is scrapping old cars goin to encourage orderly behaviour? scrap the dyed-hair-i-bought-my-license people, not the old cars. Its always new cars with loud exhaust pipes driven by some punks that are the major cause of irritants on the road. Get rid of them.

Environmental protection? hah? dun make me laugh. Protons are using engine technology that was used to power Charles Heston Chariot in Ben-Hur. It is as environmentally friendly as Chernobyl. Since when did Malaysian government care about air quality, unless of course those treachreous primitive land burning peasants, the indonesians intervene.

This is just excuses to push the plan forward, they are political smokescreens. This is when I wish for motorized anarchy.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 10:19 pm

if they really implement this policy, i should say GOOD LUCK Barang Naik Party for our parliament election 2008!!!

they compare us with Singapore and Japan to implement this policy…errr Hello..we have Proton the Japs or Sings dont have one…Japanese carmakers not desperate one.it is different situation…Aishah Ahmad you one stupid la…why suddenly want to compare with Sings and Japs..as you yourself approve the sale of SAGA A 1.3LITRE CARUBURETTOR CAR…not to mentiona Public Transport…japanese have their Shinkansen…SINGAPOREAN mrt COVER THEIR WHOLE NATION..

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 10:31 pm

bring down car price, then government can talk about scrap or burn cars.

• assimo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 10:36 pm

GOOOOOODDDD…!!!So rich people become more rich and poor people more poor after that…nice!..good formula!Merdeka..!

• assimo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 10:49 pm

sorry paul if i spoil your blog,but i cannot stand already about this policy,really stupid,unpractical and kill rakyat dream…hopeless…so sad….gonna to scrap my 1992 4WS prelude…huuuuu….

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 10:58 pm

Msia = Spore?… if dei ever use this comparison, dei r very stupid beyond words.. I can travel all over spore within few hours only… even Brunei got car scrap policy ka? Anyone from or live near Brunei here? Pollution??.. the gov can't even maintain our precious rivers.. JAS can't do their work oredi.. don't talk la about pollution…. sampah pun tak tau kutip…

ps: they r playing stupid to cut our throat!!!

• assimo (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 11:10 pm

If about pollution,yes agree with you motorhead. How about truck,bus,factory etc? I live near Juru, everyday meet this kind of junk on road. Yes,current problem still cannot handle or solve it, they try to do some 'short cut' like this??? WTF!

• dav.kk (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 11:46 pm

Hummm

If goverment force this policy thru,

first we need to boycott proton, if i buy i will order myvi. Proton need to scarp thier proton saga ,iswara and wira first and perdana, all those engine so damn old 20 year plus and still sell at price higher then 20 year ago…

They should at least learn from P2, got dvvt, dohc, efi, cataylic converter n air bag …

If you read the lastest from motortrader.com.my EVO 9 only cost RM 90K – 100K in japan, all lastest technology. In Bolehland , the best you can get is Perdana, which i think it only cost 30K or less since is so old design in Japan,

If they want to have scarping policy then 1st should lower the car price for all make n model and start introducing new model like japan or even singapore

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:14 am

Hummm

first we need to boycott proton, if i buy i will order myvi

yes not for any reason..just dont buy Proton..no need if..just make up your mind DONT BUY PROTON.

no matter how desperate,or no matter how difficult your life without car..but still dont buy PROTON..because believe me..dont have car is million times better than owning a PROTON.

come on la..you go to school not to see yourself have to open door everytime pay tolls or collects parking tickets…power window failure is an insult for all drivers and their money.

• rexis (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:15 am

Merdeka! Riches get richer poors get poorer! MERDEKA! MERDEKA! MERDEKA!

Are the SUPREME GOVERMENT going to implement this?! We shall know the answer real soon!

And then i shall know i can stick with my Wira or my LERUN…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:22 am

Yessssssss,

first we need to boycott proton, if i buy i will order myvi.

Or i just stick with my 1993 Proton Wira for another 2 years and then switch to my 2002 Lerun Challenger and buy another one to my gf, LOL.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 2:22 am

Hahaha, the budget didn't mention scrap car. Datuk Aishah You lose!!

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 2:51 am

Damn u Datuk Aishah…u & ur whole family, for bringing this idea… For our leaders, pls don't u ever think of it (I will train my family and my whole generations to vote against the gov)… NAP hurts like hell oredi.. many of us now can be car admirers only.. there r so many issues need to tackle 1st.. & car scrap policy is the last…..

ps: Nuclear reactor for power idea is cool.. kasi bikin ini dulu la… later we can have nuke weapons….. hehehe

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 4:40 am

Today is a victory against Datuk Aishah, No car scrapping policy. Instead her idea has been SCRAPPED. She should be SCRAPPED from her position cause she is also getting old. You said it Datuk Aishah, old things must scrap to make room for new. So you should be scrapped first as the saying goes to lead by example!!

• kevyeoh (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 5:25 am

one of the most stupid, brainless idea ever heard… whoever said this, he/she will be remembered for this…

at least la do homework first and publish out a proper report and say out why do this and do that? let everyone understand ma…

even if really wanna implement scrapping policy… at least let the affected users know what is the benefit etc…

and please…don't ask people to scrap and get rebate only with purchase for national car… i guess nearly 100% of us would rather continue using our old junk…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 7:47 am

hehe. celebrate independence from wat?

this is a plot to save proton…….make those people even richer.

just avoid proton at all cost now.

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 7:51 am

just would like to comment on motorhead's comment about datuk aishah…

WOMAN + CAR = ????

figure it out yourself… no offense :-) datuk aishah is a she, isn't it?

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:29 am

Yes, the Datuk Aishah is a she.She is a bitch!! That's for sure!! :-)

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 5:32 pm

xg9..

women + car = money / cost.. right?? hehehe…

volvolover,

"She is a bitch!!" ?? Wow, that was awesomely a dahsyat one.. but I like it!!.. hahaha…

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 12:49 am

A good article on why scrapping is done. Proton admits it. Must read!!

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BT/Saturday…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 11:59 pm

This is quotes from btimes –

1. Wan Ahmad Sepwan said Peda had worked with various parties including vehicle inspection outfit Puspakom on the scrapping mechanism.

2. "Based on a British model, it will allow for the scrapping of old vehicles in return for vouchers that can be used by consumers to buy new cars.

3. "We had been told that an announcement on this can be expected in the Budget. This idea was first mooted about 10 years ago, but the situation in the industry makes its implementation more urgent now," Wan Ahmad Sepwan told Business Times.

1. What he mean by working with various parties, – P1, MAA, New car dealers, AP holders, MPs, Minister, etc, etc, but kick consumers view one side, including comments in this blog?

2. "Scrapping of old vehicles in return for vouchers that can be used by consumers to buy new cars"? What he mean by this, British model at most implement it on voluntarily basis without capping the year for scrapping! Mr. Bean still can drive Mini Cooper with over 30 years?

Then another question is who benefit and who will abuse it just like AP to make more money? Who issue to who and what kind of mecahanism they employ to ensure it is mamipulated by seller as well as consumers alike. But the clear sign that the voucher can be abuse are likely on 2 scenario: –

a. This is another "scam" devise by G to force conmsumers scrap old car and purchase new car. P1 can issue voucher, but they also silent in pricing, then P1 can built in this voucher value (RM 5K) by later mark-up all models car prices by RM 5K but give excuse price increase due to oil price increase? So eventually consumers got nut from surrender his car to be scrap for nothing!

b. How to establish "old car" for scrap. Later many kereta potong can come in and declare for scrapping to get RM 5K voucher, tonne of money will be make on this abuse. Also, there may double, triple, "fourth-ble", "five-ble", sixth-ble", etc claims for voucher as there are ring setup to take out the car from scrapping yard and claim-and-cliam-and-claim again for the RM 5K voucher? This is just the tip of iceberb on the probable abuse in voucher system.

2. What he mean by "but the situation in the industry makes its implementation more urgent now," Is he mean to force consumer to purchase and stimulate demand for P1 cars in order to save it from making loss as currently happening? What is it so urgent? If so urgent, scrapp the crappy NAP first but not the cars, and for sure there is tremendous surge in demand for new cars! The consumers already burden by NAP yet still want to introduce additional measure so the "poor and ugly" dig deeper into pocket to enrich the "rich and famous".

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 12:09 am

2. Safety for road users

3. A cleaner environment

1. Educate motorist to be careful and considerate with duty of care when on the road.

2. Ban sell of P1 stoneage models new cars but low quality car selling at high price yet unsafe that make Malaysian motorist live "dirt cheap" on the road!

3. Ban all P1 old technology car that does not meet Euro environment regulation!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 1:47 am

Good comments Joe Ooi!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 6:23 pm

OMG… How i can survive this world… I have a WV super beetle 1974 1302cc.. New paint, engine still good and the body is still strong.. Even a proton wira hit me his bumber down first… How can i let my beetle being scrap… Nooo… My classic beauty.. I would not let u kill by our G! I will fight for u and all those classic cars freedom!!!

Even my kancil and wira already 10 years old… How can i surive.. My father already 52,how can he buy a new car and he is already going to retired.. While i still love driving my fathers old car..

The G must have a policies that is to let those people who take good care of their cars to keep. While those junk that are really worst should be scrap… I think if this happen those kereta potong factories will be happy.. coz can get more seondhand parts to sell… haha.. And those kampung guys will be sorrow…

What i heard last night is that old cars will have to go in to jpj or puspakom for inspection every year if have to drive over 15 years.. Damn G! Just about money and Poton… Hope the damn Proton bankrup! And hurray to Perodua! I like Kancil more then wira!

• karl.shamel (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:09 am

The idea simply silliest idea by the dumbest person. NEVER compare with Singapore or Japan, the former Honda Odyssey 2nd generation merely S$10000 (RM23000) if you want to trade your current car COE. The car also around that or even cheaper in Japan. Not only cheaper but their SALARY also much much much HIGHER.

Their transportation are super efficient, and the best thing, percentage of transportation cost to their income are not substantial, so they can afford to use rapid train unlike us, our salary like 1985s when the car cost like a hell.

Compare in 1985 a Proton merely M$18000 and salary for a government servant around RM1060 now after 22 years a same Proton with front end facelift ONLY Rm26,999 (prior to this dearer at RM30k++) when government servant salary just paltry RM1400. Corolla then around M$21,000 now RM113,000, among world highest car prices. A record we should PROUD with and we can drive our so-called national brand-Proton Saga 1.3 BUT what different compare to Hindustani Ambassador (new car but very old technology of British's Morris Oxford)?

We have no sense of guilty whatsoever when we persistently try to please stupid, manja not creative and productive businesspersons at the expense of poor and pretty stupid rakyats.

If we now can purchase laptop every month if we wish thanks to right business policy (that's why DELL have their facility in Prai) why not we just extend the policy inclusive automotive? We can afford to be a PARIAH state like Myanmar and cheat near stupid rakyats with stupid policies.

If government concern with rakyats they should allow fair and competitive business environment, like neighboring Thai and Indonesia. In Indonesia, their Nissan Grand Livina 1.5i/1.8i merely Rp138.5 m (RM52k approx)-Rp203m (RM80k) and their Toyota Avanza under Rp100m (less than RM40k for 1.3).

So, who's stupid?

• Lol.. talking about VOLVO 240 my grandpa bought a 240GL in 1984 ie before even i was born. that old workhorse has 500000+ kms on the clock now and still going strong. Not a single overhaul or major problem ever encountered. the car was so used till the seats also kaput already and got new ones installed recently. But engine still going strong. Compare that to my 7 yr old Wira (only 130000 kms so far) already overhaul 2 times because consuming oil and smoking like crazy! Proton always power window spoil. That Volvo power window motors 25 yrs old never change even once still works. Now my bro gotta Savvy. Sucks big time. Flimsy and cheap feel. Till today I feel so safe and secure in that old 240. Even when you close those massively thick solid steel doors, you feel impregnable enough :-). The ride is also still nice considering its age. Whatta car that is. Not surprisingly my grandpa, although has the means to buy a better car, has an attachment to it and says he don't wanna change car. (Other 240 owners will understand) Now tell me who can say same thing about any dumb Proton? I wanna hear. Even Perdana sucks big time our own Ministers also don't want.

• @karl – even Indians no longer buy Hindustan Ambassador anymore. Their TATA and MAHINDRA cars all come with EFIs. Even the latest Tata Nano cheapest car around (US$7000+ only) also comes with a Bosch FI!!