Toyota’s new hatch to be named Toyota Auris

newauris.jpg

The next Toyota Corolla-based hatchback that will be sold in the European market will be called the Toyota Auris – a Latin word which means ‘good taste’. Toyota had trademarked the Auris name way back in April 2005, more than a year ago! The sedan models will continue to be called the Toyota Corolla though, but Toyota is of the opinion that the modern refresh of the hatch needs a new name.

The Toyota Auris takes on similiar design cues to the Toyota Yaris hatch, with a pronounced bulgy bonnet, a familiar front grille and bold headlamps. The bumper looks similiar to the design of the facelifted Toyota Vios. Engine options will feature Toyota’s new flagship 1.8 litre unit, as well as a 2.2 litre D4-D turbodiesel.

More next-gen Toyota Corolla previews
JDM 2007 Toyota Corolla magazine scan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 9:59 pm

Another good and affordable car from Toyota. But if available in our market, become "luxury" car.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:07 pm

Got sick and tired of UMW malaysia for it's slow response in bringing in good cars from toyota to supplement the broad varieties malaysian consumers should be able to get hold of. Just take a look at Harrier, Estima and Wish, which was available in Malaysian markets through grey importers for more than 3 years before UMW finally took the decision to import Wish… anyway, i dont think Auris would make it to our market. However Aygo is a very promising one, if toyota were able to make Perodua manufacture Aygo in Malaysia, it will be one hot cake ! In fact, Perodua shouldn't be taking in the new Cuore (KRM) in fact that should just produced Aygo and market it as Perodua Aygo, to replace Kancil.

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:22 pm

Nice! Although I find this a bit too similar to the Yaris. I think people will only go for this one for a larger engine capacity maybe?

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:23 pm

Don't la be sick with UMW toyota.. in Taxboleland, its not that easy.. kasi suka2 bawa masuk, nak bw masuk pun kena AP.. furthermore, tengok la our tax structure.. kasi masuk suda jadi luxury cars (hundred of thousands).. and then get stuck at stock yard..siapa susah?? itu kira kos juga.. so toyota & honda also, u tengok aa… dia orang just sell models that really can sell.. like vios & city.. & keep selling them like hot cakes.. so they focus to sell best selling models saja…, play safe la brother, dia org pun nak hidup juga.. if not bcoz of NAP, u wouldn't be sick with UMW toyota.. bcoz they sure will give u any models u want..

ps: I am still sick of NAP….

• rexis (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 11:20 pm

Wait… Auris have 2.2 D4D option?! Drools….

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 11:28 pm

hmm.. i'm just wondering, what will be the closest rival for this model in our market? coz it comes with flagship 1.8 (petrol) & 2.2 D4-D turbodiesel.. should be powerful.. for sure Optra5 will not.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 11:29 pm

I guess Toyota boss wanna to Standardise the Petname now instead of calling Corolla for many years. Therefore, maybe their had a Secret Code for Petname as XXXX-ris. If you see any Petname end with XXXX-ris, that shows it's a Low class model or CHEAP car. For example: the First one call Yaris, now is Auris Next……What else-ris. Soris….Loris……Moris…….Goris…….Maris…….Reris……Baris…….etc…what a joke.

Actually, this Auris looks very much like Honda Jazz nothing special at all. For me I prefer Honda Jazz more than this AURIS. Anyway both are Low Class model in Japan and other countries but not in Bolehland.

Lucky I don't have to buy one of these………

• drM (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 11:52 pm

bring on the Auris..looks sporty and with that 2.4L engine, it should be one of the great hot hatchbacks around..

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 11:55 pm

Any indication of when UMW Toyota will be bring in or assembling this Auris, especially the 2.2 liter D4-D turbodiesel unit ?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 12:23 am

y wd umw bring this car here…its clearly stated above thats its made for the european markets ONLY

• renyeo (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 1:54 am

I guess European Auris will differ from the JDM looks which is disappointingly mediocre-looking and I think will flop hopelessly in that market region if Toyota goes ahead with it.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:16 am

as ugly as it looks….it will sell simply coz its a corolla. unless this one is not the new corolla.

• AMG (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:13 am

huh!! Baby Yaris ahr?

• szw (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:14 am

looks like a yaris, hahaha !

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 12:44 pm

I think I can see what is the new 2008 toyota corolla looks like, it probably has at least 50 to 60% similarity to this toyota corolla hatch back.

I found a site that shows the interior of this car.

http://www.leftlanenews.com/2006/09/05/is-this-th…

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:00 pm

this car seems on heavy steroids.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:32 pm

not bad at all…

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:49 pm

I hop UMW will bring this model in. If not , i will prefer Honda Civic rather than a new toyota corolla.

• owaief (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:06 pm

as ugly as a toyota can be..

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 7:19 am

yea, at least the interior is good for an entry level car. the seats are a big improvement. as is th gear lever

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 8:15 pm

toyota has never brought in the hatchback corolla here for who knows how long.. i dont think this will make it to our shores as well.

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:27 pm

Good Taste car indeed, nice of Toyota to include a turbodiesel option too!