Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Mitsubishi Galant Fortis for JDM market

Galant Fortis

Mitsubishi has introduced the latest Mitsubishi Lancer into the Japanese JDM market, however it will not be called a Lancer. Instead, most likely because of the Lancer’s increase in size and Japan’s regulations with car dimensions, it will be known as the Mitsubishi Galant Fortis. As you all know, the Galant is a class larger than the Lancer, and a version has made it’s way into Proton stables as the Perdana.

This is probably the same reason as why there is a smaller Toyota Corolla Axio in the Japanese market, and another larger Corolla Altis which is wider and longer than the Axio, otherwise tax brackets would change or something like that.

However, the same Lancer in it’s high performance 4WD form will still be called the Lancer, the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X to be exact. The standard gearbox for this car will be a 6-speed automated manual transmission - it would be interesting to see how this automated manual transmissions performs compared to other automated manual technology leaders like Volkswagen DSG.

Galant Fortis

37 Comments »

1. digiman said,

April 27, 2007 @ 4:59 pm

hei… sexy.. hm.. looks like Mitsu is on the way to cost cutting for the car design section… off topic.. can someone confirm me if i am wrong.. but is magna an aussie breed Mitsu?

2. azrai said,

April 27, 2007 @ 5:00 pm

No wonder this new Lancer look so much like Galant VR4 if the JDM market call it Galant Fortis. Just look at that signature shark nose.

3. BrakeFader said,

April 27, 2007 @ 5:18 pm

Bigger size so call it like its bigger model. Japanese regulation sure is weird. So if the colt one day becomes bigger, they might just upgrade it to Lancer status.

Digiman: Magna is another name for Galant. Just like how they call Cefiro as Maxima.

4. Din said,

April 27, 2007 @ 5:21 pm

Dear Mitsubishi,

I have been a good boy all year. If you bring this car in after July and price it under 95k, I promise to buy it.

Sincerely,
    Din.

5. carisacar said,

April 27, 2007 @ 5:42 pm

Not too shabby, Mitsu, but what’s up with the “dropped-jaw” front grill that’s almost a complete plagiarim from Audi? Hello, some originality pls.

6. carisacar said,

April 27, 2007 @ 5:43 pm

Not too shabby, Mitsu, but what’s up with the “dropped-jaw” front grill that’s almost a complete plagiarim from Audi? Hello, some originality pls. Mitsu has done such a fantabulous job on the new Outlander, they shd stop the copy cat thing on the Lancer.

7. aksMs said,

April 27, 2007 @ 6:28 pm

The front bonnet slope like a Volvo. I guess it has something to do with pedestrian safety. A bit S40-ish to me though. It is in different level than the Volvo S40, but I’d prefer the Volvo look though.

8. 707 said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:06 pm

my oh my….im in love all over again….

9. avanza said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:07 pm

Mitsubishi is really screwed up. Calling the Lancer a Galant. That’s about the lamest thing a car company can do. I thought they are supposed to come up with a new Galant??? Or is it the Lancer!

10. trustgtr said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:21 pm

looks like the right directional tires are wrongly placed..better looking than the previous model..evo..i can’t wait..

11. LittleFire85 said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:24 pm

Well lancer in Japan are categorize as mid-budget car, their cc are usually from 1.3L-1.8L. If this car is placed at 2.0L i think is under the Accord, Camry, Mazda 6 category.. So i think they have to change the name to suit the Japan automobile rules and regulation. I think it will be good, coz there will be new Lancer to come out for Asian countries. I will love to have this car compare to the new Subaru..

12. transformer said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:43 pm

yeah! this had shades of the old GALLANT! Macho indeed!

13. mystvearn said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:48 pm

THis is going to be a good buy:) Like the looks. Nice to put turbo in that thing:D

14. gtmaniac said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:57 pm

avanza,

Mitsubishi did not screwed up, and it is not a new thing for a manufacturer to shuffle model names in their stable. Some previous examples:

1.Nissan - in certain market (especially Japan) they badged their N16 sentra as bluebird; but in Malaysia both are different class of car.
    (and in older case, a Sunny 130Y known as nissan Laurel);

2.Honda case, the SO4 civic also marketed as an Integra SJ in Japan/Africa, even though we knew they as a different car here.

15. civ96110 said,

April 27, 2007 @ 8:07 pm

I’ve been reading this blog for almost, but there’s still some abbrev. that I don’t know. Pray tell, what does JDM stand for?

16. jzkzlz said,

April 27, 2007 @ 8:16 pm

wow…wat a nice car..
    don’t know when this JDM (Japanese Domestic Market) car can bring in to our country..

17. indigo said,

April 27, 2007 @ 8:17 pm

JDM = Japan Domestic Market, Americans like to call that.

18. mitlanevo said,

April 27, 2007 @ 8:22 pm

versus Subaru Legacy? hmmm……

btw, still cant let go my Evo IX….

19. albagmane said,

April 27, 2007 @ 9:23 pm

hmm… well i was expecting it to have LED rear lights since many new cars recently uses LED technology… but still not this lancer…

20. L said,

April 27, 2007 @ 9:34 pm

This is surely nice from Mitsu..

21. ab said,

April 27, 2007 @ 10:04 pm

Great design, finally owning a standard lancer (non-evo) is cool!

22. motherker said,

April 27, 2007 @ 10:15 pm

omg!! the front sucks..

and why is the front longer than the rear? side view is terrible!! long nose with jaw dropping look, short and stunted rear.. wat happened to the sense of style which previous evos possessed?

23. cosmohybrid said,

April 27, 2007 @ 10:18 pm

the six speed automated manual gearbox will most likely be engineered with a joint-ventured with magneti marreli.. the current automated manual clutch used by the evo on team mitsubishi is also by magneti marreli…

24. mits27 said,

April 27, 2007 @ 10:36 pm

In US called lancer, in Japan called galant…because of size, but it is not that big compare to civic…

25. cracktech said,

April 27, 2007 @ 11:12 pm

I thought the lines represent a PROTON design center WIRA replacement. seen about 2/3 years back.
    Delayed or Screwed due to politicians playing “Boleh Sepak” with the PROTON management and organisation line-up.
    Correct me.

26. aesthari said,

April 28, 2007 @ 9:11 am

Ooooh! It’s evil in black! It’s even got a protruding butt! I think renaming the Lancer and calling it a Galant is a lame move by Mitsubishi, since those are cars of different classes to begin with, they should have came up with a new Galant.

27. Tommy Peters said,

April 28, 2007 @ 11:09 am

Note the ‘aggression’ when the grill is flush with the fender - Audi led the way followed by BMW’s 6 series. I believe, as seen in Paul’s earlier post, this ‘in your face’ aggression will be seen in the new 3 series. The minimalist rear lights are typically ‘Italian’ as opposed to the Germans and Swedes who are maximising theirs.

28. AmSouth said,

April 30, 2007 @ 9:34 am

Wow…. I am in love again!…. Really hope MMM will sell this gorgeous car by this year … If yes, say goodbye to Civic….Lancer/Galant (whatever the name is, doesn’t matter) will be my next baby….

29. flrsjl said,

April 30, 2007 @ 11:27 am

front: S40
    rear: Alfa
    side: Mazda 3

My Personal view only……

30. Tracks said,

April 30, 2007 @ 12:49 pm

I noted that the directional treads tyres are installed differrently on the left and right. The orientation on the left side of the car is the current normal practice for such a tyre tread. I wonder is this a new format for installation of such tyres???

31. kei9 said,

April 30, 2007 @ 9:18 pm

ahh! i9m scared! the front looks fierce! but still i liked the previous model more…anyone agree?

32. acbc said,

May 2, 2007 @ 10:32 am

Nice. I’m aiming for new car late this year or early next year… either Evo X or Galant Fortis or something smaller such as Colt Turbo or “i” depending on budget. My current Galant VR4 will be for weekend use only. Once I’ve reached my intended upgrade to 300WHP, it will retire.

33. kody said,

May 2, 2007 @ 1:39 pm

wahlaueh…

Excellent… stylish. Imagine if white in colour.

34. kaiza said,

May 4, 2007 @ 3:26 pm

so nice compared with the current lancer.

35. 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer in Malaysia Q3 2007? said,

July 7, 2007 @ 5:14 pm

[...] of this blog sent in e-mails informing me that they spotted the 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer (called the Galant Fortis in Japan) at the Customs office in Putrajaya. No spyshots of the car on the road just yet, but MTM [...]

36. razor_clawzz said,

July 10, 2007 @ 9:04 am

Alfa 159/Brera rear……aiyoooohhhhhh

37. 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer spotted on LDP said,

July 28, 2007 @ 6:27 am

[...] Related Posts: 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer in Malaysia - Q3 2007? New 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer specs and photos revealed Mitsubishi Galant Fortis for JDM market [...]

previous post: Proton headed for US market… in 1988
next post: Cheapest Cars In The World

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!