Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Mercedes-Benz CLS gets a facelift

CLS Facelift

Mercedes-Benz has updated the original 4-door coupe that started it all - this new trend of calling 4-door vehicles “coupes”. Some may argue that the CLS is nothing more than 4 seater E-Class, it does have its fans and thus justifies its inclusion in the line-up.

The new facelifted 2008 model year CLS features a new grille, a new rear bumper, LED tail lamps, trapezoidal tailpipes, new side mirrors with LED indicator lights, restyled alloy wheels, and a new entry level model.

The entry level model will now be the Mercedes-Benz CLS 280 featuring a 3.0 liter V6 engine putting out 231 horsepower and 300Nm of torque. Other models include the turbodiesel V6 CLS 320 CDI, the direct injection CLS 350 CGI, the V8-powered CLS 500, and the top of the range CLS 63 AMG.

The interior gets a new three spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel, and the instrument cluster now has a white-faced dials. The interior features the new NTG 2.5 telematics generation interface to control the in-vehicle entertainment. There are a few “grades” to chose from: Audio 20, Audio 20 CD with CD changer, Audio 50 and Audio 50 APS with DVD changer and LINGUATRONIC voice control. All have 5-inch colour screens, and the COMAND APS has a 6.5 inch colour display.

When the facelift is launched in Malaysia, the baseline model will continue to be the Mercedes Benz CLS 350 as the CLS 280 is only available in left hand drive configuration.

More photos after the jump.

CLS Facelift

This is how the pre-facelift CLS looks like:

Old CLS

19 Comments »

1. nanashisan said,

January 24, 2008 @ 4:39 pm

Paul, can you provide the pre-facelift version of CLS so that we can visually compared with the new one.

2. nanashisan said,

January 24, 2008 @ 4:40 pm

i mean the pre-facelift version of CLS pictures.

3. raptorclans said,

January 24, 2008 @ 4:48 pm

yups, wud help a but… but anyways it’s already so nice they didn’t need to change much… :D

4. agentHunt said,

January 24, 2008 @ 4:57 pm

CLS rocks!

5. hidz7 said,

January 24, 2008 @ 5:26 pm

the CLS is really cun la….

6. szw said,

January 24, 2008 @ 7:14 pm

it starts to look boring d in pix…

7. torishimeyakuin said,

January 24, 2008 @ 7:17 pm

Now this is a kind of car that every malaysian should be driving and crave…hehe
    You can opt for its BLM as well…the CLS 350. Magnificent isn’t it ?

8. LittleFire85 said,

January 24, 2008 @ 7:22 pm

Well, i think less then 1% of Malaysian can drive this car in here… So it just for looks, the road tax + insurance alone can already kill a lot of ppl in Malaysia already…

9. luqmanrohaizat said,

January 24, 2008 @ 7:49 pm

Those seats look very comfortable ma. And the steering wheel is so finely designed…

10. nmh said,

January 24, 2008 @ 8:18 pm

err what..facelift? where? izzit the rims..yeah i notice different steering wheel which is not so good lookin

11. mitlanevo said,

January 24, 2008 @ 10:34 pm

ya, totally agree with raptorclans, the whole concept and design of the CLS is very unique and won’t be outdated forever……

but anyway, i dont like 3-spoke steering wheel fitted on luxury sedan…..

until now, I’ve only seen about 5 CLS on the road……

CLS63 AMG !!!! (only in my midnight dreams)

12. tpl said,

January 24, 2008 @ 11:19 pm

one word. Sexy!

13. chap_de_x said,

January 25, 2008 @ 12:05 am

i dun like the exterior so much…kinda weird design actually…but i like the black interior…so cool…the steering wheel can be consider unique but as usual to many button at the center console….the white interior is not so match with the wood trim at the panel…it just wut i think…Beemer is more cool then this merc

14. cecibo said,

January 25, 2008 @ 12:27 am

i always like this CLS, sadly it’s 4 seats. suits for a rich man who plan to have only 2 kids

15. corolla_KE70 said,

January 25, 2008 @ 12:58 am

is it just me or the design started to look more BMW-ish??

16. mystvearn said,

January 25, 2008 @ 1:44 am

trapezoidal tail pipes? Looks more like oval to me

17. abtm said,

January 25, 2008 @ 8:08 am

what facelift?

18. mohdjiman said,

January 25, 2008 @ 11:59 am

Its for the people who are very lucky in their life.

19. lol xD said,

January 25, 2008 @ 3:48 pm

RM2million+ man!!! + road tax + insurance = 1 big bungalow.

previous post: New European Honda Accord pre-Geneva teaser
next post: The M102/M106 in the BMW 745i Turbo

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!