Mercedes-Benz CLS gets a facelift

CLS Facelift

Mercedes-Benz has updated the original 4-door coupe that started it all – this new trend of calling 4-door vehicles “coupes”. Some may argue that the CLS is nothing more than 4 seater E-Class, it does have its fans and thus justifies its inclusion in the line-up.

The new facelifted 2008 model year CLS features a new grille, a new rear bumper, LED tail lamps, trapezoidal tailpipes, new side mirrors with LED indicator lights, restyled alloy wheels, and a new entry level model.

The entry level model will now be the Mercedes-Benz CLS 280 featuring a 3.0 litre V6 engine putting out 231 horsepower and 300Nm of torque. Other models include the turbodiesel V6 CLS 320 CDI, the direct injection CLS 350 CGI, the V8-powered CLS 500, and the top of the range CLS 63 AMG.

The interior gets a new three spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel, and the instrument cluster now has a white-faced dials. The interior features the new NTG 2.5 telematics generation interface to control the in-vehicle entertainment. There are a few “grades” to chose from: Audio 20, Audio 20 CD with CD changer, Audio 50 and Audio 50 APS with DVD changer and LINGUATRONIC voice control. All have 5-inch colour screens, and the COMAND APS has a 6.5 inch colour display.

When the facelift is launched in Malaysia, the baseline model will continue to be the Mercedes Benz CLS 350 as the CLS 280 is only available in left hand drive configuration.

More photos after the jump.

CLS Facelift

This is how the pre-facelift CLS looks like:

Old CLS

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Paul, can you provide the pre-facelift version of CLS so that we can visually compared with the new one.

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:40 pm

i mean the pre-facelift version of CLS pictures.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:48 pm

yups, wud help a but… but anyways it’s already so nice they didn’t need to change much… :D

• agentHunt (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:57 pm

CLS rocks!

• hidz7 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 5:26 pm

the CLS is really cun la….

• szw (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:14 pm

it starts to look boring d in pix…

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:17 pm

Now this is a kind of car that every malaysian should be driving and crave…hehe
    You can opt for its BLM as well…the CLS 350. Magnificent isn’t it ?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Well, i think less then 1% of Malaysian can drive this car in here… So it just for looks, the road tax + insurance alone can already kill a lot of ppl in Malaysia already…

• luqmanrohaizat (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:49 pm

Those seats look very comfortable ma. And the steering wheel is so finely designed…

• nmh (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 8:18 pm

err what..facelift? where? izzit the rims..yeah i notice different steering wheel which is not so good lookin

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:34 pm

ya, totally agree with raptorclans, the whole concept and design of the CLS is very unique and won’t be outdated forever……

but anyway, i dont like 3-spoke steering wheel fitted on luxury sedan…..

until now, I’ve only seen about 5 CLS on the road……

CLS63 AMG !!!! (only in my midnight dreams)

• tpl (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:19 pm

one word. Sexy!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:05 am

i dun like the exterior so much…kinda weird design actually…but i like the black interior…so cool…the steering wheel can be consider unique but as usual to many button at the center console….the white interior is not so match with the wood trim at the panel…it just wut i think…Beemer is more cool then this merc

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:27 am

i always like this CLS, sadly it’s 4 seats. suits for a rich man who plan to have only 2 kids

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:58 am

is it just me or the design started to look more BMW-ish??

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 1:44 am

trapezoidal tail pipes? Looks more like oval to me

• abtm (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:08 am

what facelift?

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:59 am

Its for the people who are very lucky in their life.

• lol xD (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:48 pm

RM2million+ man!!! + road tax + insurance = 1 big bungalow.

• kuku stim on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:32 pm

The 3-spoke steering wheel is actually…quite horrendous

• The CLS is not meant for everyone. So, it’s just natural having those kind of mixed remarks. CLS is, above all, …about style, and being looked at. Mercedes had succesfully created another evergreen icon. The 4 door coupe. Which had been quickly “followed” by jaguar & volkswagen.

Salute to Mercedes designers. Sad to say that the out going W210, W211(pre 2006), W220, W202, W203 had significantly tarnished the quality & lasting image of Mercedes Benz of the old days.

I’ve owned 220s (’67Ponton), 250s (’70 w108), 280se(“76 w116), 230e (’83 W123), 190e (’89 W201) 300se(’89 W126), e240(’02, w210) …and driven the CLS 55 amg,

I word could describe all ….FABULOUS !!!