Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Toyota Aygo Crazy Concept

Never before has a concept car been so aptly named. The Toyota Aygo Crazy concept will be displayed at the 2008 British International Motor Show this month.

The Toyota Aygo Crazy has been converted from a front engined front wheel drive configuration to a rear engine rear wheel drive setup. The car’s body has been modified to accomodate its 17 inch wheels. Installed in the rear is a 1.8 liter VVT-i engine from the Toyota MR-S together with the rear suspension from the MR-S. Tein dampers have been fitted all-around.

The engine has been turbocharged with a Toyota Motorsport turbo kit resulting in 200 PS at 6,700rpm and 240Nm of torque at 3,400rpm in the 1,050kg car, giving it a 0 to 100km/h sprint time of 5.7 seconds. A huge aluminium radiator can be found installed up front.

It cost £100k to build, so unless you’re crazy you’ll be better off getting something else to match the Aygo Crazy’s performance. More images after the jump.

18 Comments »

1. Capt Shopalot said,

July 7, 2008 @ 7:37 am

When can we get this little cili padi in Malaysia?
    It’s so CUTE!!

2. Poxxue said,

July 7, 2008 @ 8:09 am

hahaha…totally hideous!!…I`ll go crazy (Aygo Crazy)!!.jz simply lookin at it..wats wit the jinjang spoiler?…mmm

3. BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

July 7, 2008 @ 8:51 am

“When can we get this little cili padi in Malaysia?
    It’s so CUTE!!”

are you nuts?? it costs 100,000 british pounds to build, not including the cost of the car!!

4. muhammad najmi el-halim said,

July 7, 2008 @ 10:02 am

what a nice car…cutey

5. szw said,

July 7, 2008 @ 10:39 am

toyota i go crazy concept, hahaha !!!

6. Roti Naan said,

July 7, 2008 @ 11:04 am

with money, anything (crazy) can do.

7. 4G63T DSM said,

July 7, 2008 @ 11:54 am

Should be mid engined, not rear (a’la 911).

Miss the Crazy Clio V6? hehe… one can see where toyota got its idea from….

8. abtm said,

July 7, 2008 @ 12:08 pm

i don’t believe it cost 100000 quid to make, its not that hard to make a mid transverse engine layout from a front drive car, just think of it as a hatchback MR2

9. albagmane said,

July 7, 2008 @ 12:48 pm

i will use this to play soccer like May did…

10. JULIANLEE2 said,

July 7, 2008 @ 2:56 pm

THE SOCCER PLAYER FROM CZECH

11. avanza said,

July 7, 2008 @ 4:00 pm

Looks like one of these remote control toy cars.

12. osh_kosh said,

July 7, 2008 @ 5:13 pm

not that crazy… come to malaysia, here got so many crazy Wiralution XIVIIXXIXX on the road… plus crazy taxi driver hahahaha.. sorry guys..

13. mokkf82 said,

July 7, 2008 @ 6:18 pm

walau leh!
    Cute car with crazy engine. I just hope it will not be another Yaris like price tag….

14. twom said,

July 7, 2008 @ 6:25 pm

Last time when I was still studying in Ireland, the car was launched to cater for the students and also young people. The car is among the cheapest new car you can buy and IMHO, it is cuter than YARIS

15. mystvearn said,

July 7, 2008 @ 8:06 pm

I can see lots of Ah Beng’s taking the body part and place on their Aygo’s

16. mitlanevo said,

July 7, 2008 @ 9:49 pm

crazy price, lol~

saw this car yesterday on Top Gear…..

17. azrai said,

July 8, 2008 @ 6:41 am

When will Savvy Gila concept will be produced?

18. jamsbong said,

July 13, 2008 @ 8:12 pm

I hope Toyota brings back the MR2. To me it is like a gift because any mid engine layout cost soo much to purchase and Toyota manage to sell it cheap.

previous post: 5 Things We Know About Gordon Murray’s T25
next post: New Toyota Vios 1.5 J Official Photos

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!