Toyota Aygo Crazy Concept

Never before has a concept car been so aptly named. The Toyota Aygo Crazy concept will be displayed at the 2008 British International Motor Show this month.

The Toyota Aygo Crazy has been converted from a front engined front wheel drive configuration to a rear engine rear wheel drive setup. The car’s body has been modified to accomodate its 17 inch wheels. Installed in the rear is a 1.8 litre VVT-i engine from the Toyota MR-S together with the rear suspension from the MR-S. Tein dampers have been fitted all-around.

The engine has been turbocharged with a Toyota Motorsport turbo kit resulting in 200 PS at 6,700rpm and 240Nm of torque at 3,400rpm in the 1,050kg car, giving it a 0 to 100km/h sprint time of 5.7 seconds. A huge aluminium radiator can be found installed up front.

It cost £100k to build, so unless you’re crazy you’ll be better off getting something else to match the Aygo Crazy’s performance. More images after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 7:37 am

When can we get this little cili padi in Malaysia?
    It’s so CUTE!!

• Poxxue (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 8:09 am

hahaha…totally hideous!!…I`ll go crazy (Aygo Crazy)!!.jz simply lookin at it..wats wit the jinjang spoiler?…mmm

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 8:51 am

“When can we get this little cili padi in Malaysia?
    It’s so CUTE!!”

are you nuts?? it costs 100,000 british pounds to build, not including the cost of the car!!

• muhammad najmi el-halim (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 10:02 am

what a nice car…cutey

• szw (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 10:39 am

toyota i go crazy concept, hahaha !!!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 11:04 am

with money, anything (crazy) can do.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 11:54 am

Should be mid engined, not rear (a’la 911).

Miss the Crazy Clio V6? hehe… one can see where toyota got its idea from….

• abtm (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 12:08 pm

i don’t believe it cost 100000 quid to make, its not that hard to make a mid transverse engine layout from a front drive car, just think of it as a hatchback MR2

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 12:48 pm

i will use this to play soccer like May did…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 2:56 pm

THE SOCCER PLAYER FROM CZECH

• avanza (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 4:00 pm

Looks like one of these remote control toy cars.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 5:13 pm

not that crazy… come to malaysia, here got so many crazy Wiralution XIVIIXXIXX on the road… plus crazy taxi driver hahahaha.. sorry guys..

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 6:18 pm

walau leh!
    Cute car with crazy engine. I just hope it will not be another Yaris like price tag….

• twom (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 6:25 pm

Last time when I was still studying in Ireland, the car was launched to cater for the students and also young people. The car is among the cheapest new car you can buy and IMHO, it is cuter than YARIS

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 8:06 pm

I can see lots of Ah Beng’s taking the body part and place on their Aygo’s

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 07, 2008 at 9:49 pm

crazy price, lol~

saw this car yesterday on Top Gear…..

• azrai (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 6:41 am

When will Savvy Gila concept will be produced?

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 8:12 pm

I hope Toyota brings back the MR2. To me it is like a gift because any mid engine layout cost soo much to purchase and Toyota manage to sell it cheap.