How AP Holders Cheat The Government

The AP list has been unveiled but we are still in the dark in relation to the original context of how the AP Saga came to be. It all started when Proton accused these AP holders of importing cars and declaring prices way way below the market value.

So now we have the list, how exactly did they cheat with the value of the cars?

An anonymous sourced associated with a foreign car manufacturer tells the story.

This is how it is done: The importer will send a purchase order for, say, 20 cars, to the exporter or foreign car manufacturer and will include payment for a sum equivalent to only half the price of the cars concerned.

Once the cars are ready to be shipped out, he then makes the balance of the payment.

The source said the exporter would then invoice the importer and the paperwork for Customs declaration would be based on the second payment. In other words, payment is split.

This means that the so-called selling price to be declared to the Customs would be based on only half of the actual price of the cars,” she said.

The invoice used for the Customs declaration would also include fictitious payments purported to have been made by the importer running to several thousands of ringgit per car as the manufacturer is supposed to send personnel to Malaysia to oversee the technical aspects of the after-sales service of the vehicles, the source said.

“Government taxes will thus be based on the discounted price and not on the actual value of the cars and hence the government gets shortchanged through such under-declaration,” she explained.

Read the full story here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• thquah on Jul 21, 2005 at 3:54 am

Thanks for the info.This make real sense why ppl are all disgusted over the AP saga.

• Finally……I understand. Thx.

• narrowband on Jul 21, 2005 at 5:23 am

*strokes chin*

Oh I see….!.

• patrick on Jul 21, 2005 at 5:33 am

Do you really think the Customs are so dumb? Have you tried importing something for your personal self and try to underdeclare the value? I beleive it's a case of you scratch my back and I'll scracth yours.

• akari on Jul 21, 2005 at 6:39 am

i believe customs also got *ahem* la

if not only half of price so cheap who believe?

• If you read the source I quoted, there is even mention of German marques declared at having RM3000 value only.

• patrick on Jul 21, 2005 at 7:46 am

Yes, but Customs don't have to believe your valuation and they can always add an "uplift". You obviously have not dealt with them yet.

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 21, 2005 at 11:12 am

well waht akari say is right… got r(toot) lah

• well… it is all politically link again, the "importer" had probably had "tea tarik" with the custom "head" so that he do not see this problem.

Paul, u are right "German marques declared at having RM3000 value only !" any custom officer will know this, but Malaysia "BOLEH".

Just have a tea tarik and wah-la….. done.

• To get a low price ,there declare low speck of the car n the year of made so there is low price car n sale it back like a height speck when there b rebuilt.

• bila dah diketahui ikrar selama ini tipu… than lepas nih siaplah keta import.. price up-up on the way….

• sad malaysian driver on Jul 22, 2005 at 9:57 pm

so main point is the PM proragative to stop corruption is a bunch of b***?!! Who would have imagine??? Next time a ferrari comes in, be sure to declare a value of say, RM3001???

• sad malaysian driver on Jul 22, 2005 at 9:58 pm

btw, the title of the article should change to how government covering their as*** by cheating the people….