National Automotive Policy draft tomorrow

There are a lot of people who feel that we just shouldn’t have had an automotive industry in the first place. Since Proton’s birth in 1983, the normal rakyat with average income have been forced to buy Protons. This is because of government protection in the form of high taxes on foreign makes.

Proton cars are perceived to be of inferior quality compared to foreign competitors. Many people say that when you buy a Proton, you need Lady Luck by your side. Sometimes you get a really good car, sometimes you get a lemon which spends more time in the service centre than being driven by you on the road.

Despite government protection, Proton’s market share has gone down from 57% in 1993 to 30% in June 2005.

On Monday, our ex-PM, the man whose Proton is his brainchild, made a somewhat sarcastic remark on these people who suggest that Proton should be closed down. Standard issue from Dr. M to make this type of statement. A quote from him:

If some feel one way to overcome the many problems we hear today is that we don’t have the automotive industry in Malaysia, we just close down.

Minister in the PM department, Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz said that this is definitely not the solution. Closing down Proton would make 300,000 workers jobless. He says that it also affects the country’s dignity, and that Proton has also made many contributions to Malaysia’s automotive industry in the past 20 years since it’s inception.

However AFTA is coming soon, and Proton cannot be protected forever. We have already postponed the new tax structures in compliance with AFTA before. We cannot postpone forever.

Malaysians are sick of inferior cars at ridiculous prices. Some have suggested that one solution would be to source components from overseas so that Proton would be more competitive. This suggests that our local components are more expensive than what we could get overseas. How true this is, I don’t know.

But I wonder, the amount purchased by Proton would be the same as what they are currently getting from local manufacturers. Business is business. Even though the overseas component suppliers have the necessary economies of scale to be competitive in component prices, what reason do they have to offer Proton the same lower prices? The order amount is still much less compared to other huge auto manufacturers who sell many more cars than Proton per year. This is why a partnership has been suggested, such as the possible Volkwagen-Proton stake exchange currently being discussed.

These decisions are all made by the big boys up there, and what most of us care about is just getting a decent vehicle to drive around.

The Cabinet will discuss the draft National Automotive Policy tomorrow at it’s weekly Wednesday meeting. We all eagerly anticipate what’s in store for us car purchasers after AFTA is implemented.

But lately, all that has resulted from the noise about APs that directly affect us as car purchasers are Korean cars being made more expensive now because of the PGE tax.

Sources: Bernama, BusinessWeek, Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• FiveElements on Oct 19, 2005 at 6:13 am

Another JOKE!!!….If you think anything will change at all…keep dreaming…..sigh…..i mean WHATEVER……what can we do????

• We should see the death of Proton as a 'small fall, big leap' for the Malaysian Auto Market. Otherwise, how to become a Detroit of Asia? 300,000 workers jobless? Cannot go over to Toyota, Honda, Nissan meh? Cannot get a job there too? Under qualified? Incompetent? What has Proton done?

• If those 300 000 people are those responsible for producing crappy cars and causing buyers to suffer, they should have been fired in the first place without having to wait for proton to close for them to lose their job!.

I know it doesn't sound nice, but if you can't deliver, then you have to go.

• No need to know on Oct 19, 2005 at 6:34 am

when your not in the shoes of others, its very easy to write here, 300,000 people is a lot of family, some maybe with children and babies…

Its just a passing phrase, when someone is agitated, sarcastic remarks will appear real. Who can we blame? Pity la if they lose their jobs, my proton had serve me well, touch wood over the 6 years i had it. No major give ways all good. If they going to close down, what about proton srm and proton ultimate?

• michael lee on Oct 19, 2005 at 6:37 am

… Come on Guys … there are many people involved in making a car … let us not let a few bad apples cloud our judgement of our fellow countryman and friends who most probably did not have any say in the matter. Like us, many of them must also have families to love and to feed.

In any case, the govt. has said that Proton will stay ( Nazri in Bernama ) – let us all hope that ultimately, good sense and the good guys will prevail at the end of the day.

• E-Nabill on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:04 am

ok,we can only be positive for now..tonight we pray for sting good for everybody..!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:10 am

Michael : Agreed. We should never generalize.

Just that Proton really need to show its worth , or it will be destroyed. It's just a matter of time when this happens.

Why source local parts if foreign parts can be cheaper? They need to hold meetings on this.

• habis laa like this…..you guys just sound like the type of people proton feeds upon for the past 20 years. I'm sure some of those 300 k people are really good. Those people need not to be worried, i'm sure with their capabilities, they'll find better jobs. Maybe at other better car manufacturers like what 8555 suggested.

The ones you guys are worried about are the ones i'm saying they should be fired. You guys are worried that if they lose this job, they are never gonna find better jobs right?. That is sad! sounds like you don't have faith in these people after all. Wait a minute…you guys are like me…!!!!!

Maybe i should use TheDevilsAdvocate for my nick from now on.

• kanasai on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:51 am

300 000 people working on proton project for 20 over years with 100 % Malaysian public support, and i mean the whole f**king country support it, they are all Malaysian people for god sake, how can this end like this!! yet proton is no where to be seen as a world standard car producer. China is joining the auto industries with the population of 1.3 billion compare with us oni with about 24 million. where will china be in 20 years time. i bet they have sent a man on the moon by then!!! it's a shame that proton fail us. proton should take full responsibilities…

• Ihateproton on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:52 am

one more thing i'd like to add:

I think Proton is a Health Hazzard. I put it up there with smoking.. I dont know how many people die in Protons every year, but I'd take a bet that that number is high.

One of the major issues on manufacturers minds these days is improving safety ratings on their vehicles. (the other issue possibly being hybrid vehicles) But if proton keeps spitting out old school Wira, Iswara, Perdana, and even the Waja ain't too hot…. then all i can say is that people are going to die at a much higher rate on our beautiful malaysian roads in the event of a crash.

Maybe the ministry of health should step in…

• Andrew on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:57 am

well… if u guys have the time to read, i'd suggest u all try and read about Free trade, Protectionism, Tariff, Quota and its effect, especially the one promoted by 19th-century economist Ricardo.

just because to jaga mangkuk nasi of 300k workers, we the rest 2.5million malaysian must korek our wallet to pay them their salary by paying income tax and buying lousy and overpriced car la? Then who will jaga our mangkuk nasi?

these 300k workers will surely find another job, dont worry… just bcoz we have to jaga the minority, our majority have to suffer la?

• Ihateproton on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:01 am

Andrew,

Malaysia's population is 24million…

which only makes your point stronger by 10 times…keke

cheers

• Andrew on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:15 am

woops… typing mistake… by the way we still have to filter the percentage number of population to how many are working adults who contributes to the tax and how many percentage of us are buying proton cars… so i gues it should roughly be around 10million at least…

• blackhead on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:18 am

non ask them just shut down proton, they could sell stake to someone else…

why are whole country people gotta suffer or why not just 300k worker? 20 years already given to them, car is the second or most expensive thing to buy in a normal people's life, why are we should spend it in half charity way to get a lower quality thing than what we should get? so we gotta pay few hundred bucks installment payment every months plus suffer for the low quality, anytime repair fees for their salary? which who not keen to produce better thing for own country people, but for other country?

• Andrew on Oct 19, 2005 at 9:03 am

the funny thing is that, why can proton produce cars with more features (airbag, abs, better power window and aircond…) for export market and yet sell cheaper than what they sell to us, fellow countrymen??

and then proton sell to us basic car without any feature and overprice it for us?

answer:

so that we can finance their R&D and the loss from selling overseas…

• Proton has no worth as far as im concerned :-(

• POTTYlitical SUNDRYw on Oct 19, 2005 at 10:07 am

Political Sandiwara.. if there was no proton there would be no AP, there would be no problems at all.. and all of us can have longer lives…instead of driving a proton aka 20-year old "new car" without safety features.

• babybio on Oct 19, 2005 at 10:10 am

well guys, Proton already made a loss, as recently shown, because public already made up their mind. The increase PGE for imported cars is a reaction to supposedly get back what Govt lost through 'underdeclare' which I beleive, really don't exist. This is purely an excuse, as the tax paid wwas based on Custom (or MITI/ Govt la) list of prices (docket!!). As say Kia is produced in volume, therefore cheaper (the price really is RM11K and no, the Golf cannot be decalaed at that value – no one can be that stupid!!) then it is definitely cheaper than Proton 9simple economic).

Still if we are still buying Proton cars now, this issues wuill never stop.

I'll buy/support when they start producing hybrid or maybe fuel cell cars.. hybrid production is still within reach of Proton.. its the fuel cell that's expensive, TunM got it wrong (hybrid in 5 years.. we'll be jurassic, he shouldn't ADVISE pProton anymore!!)

• Jonathan on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:11 am

Minister in the PM department, Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz said that this is definitely not the solution. Closing down Proton would make 300,000 workers jobless. He says that it also affects the country’s dignity, and that Proton has also made many contributions to Malaysia’s automotive industry in the past 20 years since it’s inception.

What dignity ??

Proton cars has already a reputation as unreliable with its parts falling apart here and there. Honestly, this protection thingy is the cause of Proton's failure to grab hold of the Malaysian market nevermind in foreign countries. Its bcos of this protection thing, they rest on their laurels. As it is said above, Malaysians are forced to buy Proton cars, based on their capacity, as cars from Honda, Toyota and now Hyundai are out of their reach. Btw, the news of prices of " underdeclared" cars being hiked up makes me think twice. Another move for protection ??

• who was the man who introduced Proton?

yup, the man today with his brainchild told that proton should close.

what the hell?

is this a symbol of 'bapa moden malaysia' ?

certainly not. all his crap ideas are now worthless if proton just close.

think of a sollution dude. not just give ur brainchild ideas.

• rkaru on Oct 19, 2005 at 2:36 pm

"If some feel one way to overcome the many problems we hear today is that we don’t have the automotive industry in Malaysia, we just close down." – Tun Dr. M.

Was I the only one who caught his sarcasm in the interview? It was obvious from his facial expressions and tone. Even the press are reporting it like he was serious.

• SEE FU on Oct 19, 2005 at 2:36 pm

THERE IS ONLY ONE SOLUTION!! in order POTONG to Survive!

Specially to POTONG to consider, we rakyat want to have guarantee quality cars and we will continued to support it if the following conditions implemented by POTONG:

1) POTONG cars parts broken or failures due to cheap products materials or all components design and it should be replaced by POTONG for Free and forever for the first owner only. Peace our mind of paying EXTRA money and TROUBLESOME.

2) Service of cars: Customers should be getting compensation in terms of Free service or cash back fund if the problems due to the cars not Customers request.

3) Airbag system and safety features no longer is OPTION must be a standard without price up. SInce AUTO maker make too much profit from the past until now, they to pay back to RAKYAT NOW.

4) Customer FIRST!! Complains and Proposals from Customers must be listen and take note….then action no more TAK APALAH excuses or blame the price is low…….

POTONG must gain the trusth from RAKYAT Malaysia now.

YAU MO KAU……CHOU!! This is a basic of BUSINESS rules!!! SSS OOO!!

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 19, 2005 at 3:06 pm

I think POTONG's play-play and happy time is over now.

They should really study CUStomer needs and keep the price as competitive as possible. I means look at the environment in other countries, especially in JAPAN. Only The best service and products maker will be survived. The profit margine of the car is not that much. Because I knew the car price in JAPAN had been maintain for 10 years but the products design had been changed a lot. For example: Engine fuel consumption, Safety from 2 stars…to 5 star level, Noise reduction, handling, styling…….etc.

The customers pay the same amount of money For example RM40k they can get RM60k value products in JAPAN. This is something that POTONG should understand and It is normal …..like SEE FU said it is a Basic rules of BUSINESS.

A protection business is not for long terms and it is not a business I say.

NO competition means NO improvement and cost down…..at the end Bad products quality and High cost!!

• kereta_lumba on Oct 19, 2005 at 3:51 pm

the problem with proton is that they don't want to hear want rakyat say…

they left their product problems to the appointed dealers… no countermeasure parts and thats why you have to go again and again to proton sc whenever your power window and door handle jammed/broken.. and the mechanic at the service centre using only WD40 as the measure to handle this problem…. heh heh heh…

and making cars based on one's dream not because of the market research…. remember "it reminds me of my first Lotus"? what the …..

• aksMs on Oct 19, 2005 at 4:00 pm

POTTYlitical SUNDRYwara: APs are not just for cars. If you want to import other things also needs AP because it means Approved Permit NOT Auto Permit.

SEE FU: Make that 4 solutions. Hehe. Anyhow, i agree with the you 100%. That's what Proton should take care of to win back the rakyat.

PAUL: Why don't you run a poll so that everybody who's been your loyal readers here can vote. It's either Proton stay, or go for good. Then maybe you can extend this to other bloggers. We probably have the idea already of the result. But hey, who knows, maybe one of the Penasihat Menteri or the donkeys running the Proton might read the polls. Wouldn't it be interesting?

Anyway, just a suggestion. Cheers! :)

• keniji on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:16 pm

APs (ADA proton- PROFIT)

mana boleh

CHANGE…

• Wilfred on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:32 pm

jz wonder….when afta coming…

honda car from thai is much cheaper…

should i switch then…..

• Deodorant on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:35 pm

"… get back what Govt lost through ‘underdeclare’ which I beleive, really don’t exist."

Not sure how true, but there's this random dude somewhere over at autoworld who posted that the photocopy of the AP for his Swift declared his car value at RM12,000.

In any case I think it's grossly unfair to blame all 300,000 workers for Proton's incompetence. Of that number, probably 95% of them just turn up to work, do what they're told, go home eat dinner put the kids to bed and f*ck the wife.

The sad part if Proton closes shop is that these workers, basically innocent victims, are the ones who will suffer the most. The ones really responsible for this fiasco (upper management, governement people, etc) will get off relatively injury-free.

• Joshua on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:58 pm

i hope the proton bonanza celebration that they have been airing on radio stations is a big farewell celebration to proton. i dun understand why the government wanna save their faces and retain proton, its just earning money from Malaysians instead of foreign countries.

I really do pity the 300k workers, but if proton gives us an excuse that they will cause them to lose their jobs if they close down. then doesn't that means that proton only exist to feed these 300k ppl ??? using the employees as a shield to protect themselves. @!*^!#!)

• albagmane on Oct 19, 2005 at 6:18 pm

CLOSE DOWN PROTON?

this is wat i would like to hear..

i think its just a waste to produce proton cars.. besides malaysia has much potential in other fields BUT NOT automotive industries.. its very far far far far……………way to go if malaysia wana catch up if those giant automobile companies.. i don think there is potential for malaysia to produce cars.. proton should never exist 20 years ago.. not now and not in the future too!

PROTON = CITIZEN BURDEN + COUNTRY WASTE

• Dadi supporter on Oct 19, 2005 at 6:32 pm

Ppl in Proton are corrupted. The cars are expensive because too many ppl making money inbetween before the parts reach the manufacturer. End up, the price is the same and we get inferior parts. Just close down Proton laa…

We pay RM1500 for the sport rims, where we can get better sport rims at RM500 outside. We all know that. And the list of parts go on…. We must stop the corruption first before thinking about rebuilding Proton… What do you guys say??

• baloi on Oct 19, 2005 at 6:50 pm

After hearing all these, I'll bet that no one will turn up for the CEO interview…

• Handsfree on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:11 pm

guys….

look like we got alot of potential CEO of proton here… hehe

ok,, closed it down.. NO NO.. lot of people needs basic foods n shelter…

how to make proton bette… is open up the vendor to ALL company from all over the world… and make the spart parts tender transparents..yet with qaulity product..

from here , we can pick good n suitable product for Proton car….

but been said so much…. 1 day the managment term n style never changed… use a rolls royce parts also no use…..

WE need new managment team………

Malaysia really BOLEH…

• kalen_XI on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:30 pm

to close proton is not option…period…

many of us..can complain..and critises proton..in fact i m one of them..but sometimes u shud put urself in their shoes and ask urself..how wud u have done it instead?wud u have done it any better than them?its easy to critises….

however…the gov biggest mistake was protecting proton…if the gov have done wut china is doing this wudnt happen..open market…if proton cant survive..then up come another national car..like china they have tonnes of cars…YES..i agree their quality is worst than proton..but bear in mind..they have onli been in the industry under 10 years…soo..they cud stilll improve..whereas proton has been in the industry fer 20 years…no comparison shud be made….on that level..

i think….proton n the gov shud take is…suck it up…take these remarks as suggestions….and do not response to these critism with a knee jerk reaction…n the next step proton shud take..is..to cut their loses…find new suppliers..cheaper..and better quality…sack the managers that arent performin fer the past 10 years….if possible sell off lotus…becoz..u dont need sport car handling when ur car's interior looks like a basket made out of paper rite?….tis is decrease cost…get a new QC department head…becoz he is sleeping on the job…change the management structure…however..such steps will increase cost…but..we are looking at a long term period..soo..eventually cost will go down…and AFTA is coming soon..so..the coming years will be tough fer proton…if proton can weather the storm…i think proton's future is quite bright…

conclusion..proton shud jst bear with the critism…and dont give a knee jerk response

• rafreez on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:37 pm

200% agree with SEE FU and if what SEE FU suggested were carried out by proton, I think not only the rakyat will buy it but I think we will be detroit of Asia in a few years to come…Please P1, you have Augusta, Lotus…dont tell me we purchased that for nothing. Implement all the tech into P1 cars lah…

If Savvy truely mark as 4 out of 5 in the crash test, why cant Gen2 n Waja have it. Just introduce upgrade model for it, and for sure People start rushing to buy it…Simple market survey, I think kindergarden kids also can pull this out…

anyway, I dont want P1 to close down cos,

P1 is the place where our fellow Msian can learn more about auto industries…do u guys think if the 300k goes to Honda or Toyota they can touch, access or bring back what they learn…dont think so.

How can we achieve Develop nation without our own Auto Industries…

If let say we decided 1day to send people to the moon, P1 r&d facilities should be the perfect place of course joint to gether with Petronas n others…

the main reason of all…I really want some day P1 will come up with a new car n new tech ahead from everyone else maybe an ANTI GRAVITY CARS…imagine the whole world will recognise and know MALAYSIA as the birth place of FLY CARS…

Proton have to start NOW……..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:04 pm

i tot it's a big propaganda already..

Better SELL in open market than closed it down..

because i believe that's Proton still have very big value inside.. at least it's the parent of lotus etc etc..

So.. do we think that Proton will end just by close it? no. it never happen..

The fact is, The Mahathir said :

"Kalau susah-susah , kita tutup saja proton"..

That's the big psycho to everybody how serious he is.. this issue actually related to the many story, AP, Mahalel etc etc.. It's not our level to being in.. just can do is BASHING WITHOUT THINKING..

and YOUR BUSINESS is ONLY A SMALL BUSINESS. their busines is A COUNTRY that's Thousand times BIGGER THAN YOU CAN THINK .. Take that See Fu.

So.. Do you believe that the proton can be close down as easy as that?.. I repeat.. NEVER! NEVER!..

So let we see later.. who's the next CEO those gonna lead Proton To the next successfull era..

Every Succeed Story Has their Own BAD story.. so long live proton or just say godbye and leave a memorable memori in here..

• proton crap on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:13 pm

sell off proton and solution solve.

• proton crap on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:14 pm

let foreigners take iot and turn it around so we all dont have to suffer high car price and lousy cars

• 1.create proton

2.close proton

3. ????

4. profit!

• we can develop without the auto industry, and even if we close down proton we still have perodua :)

now lets concentrate on something that we're good at like electronics.i so damn malu when in australia i see proton dealer next to subaru one, and they sell at almost the same price : subaru wrx or waja? u think leh…if diff also few K only zzz

if anyone want to know its in perth if u take bus 72 from curtin uni to city u will see it, lol.

making loss? cannot improve? until now still selling saga ah… shut down lar

sorry lar 300,000 employees, the 20 million other cannot stand liao :(

ccb knn govt dare cheat our $$$ for 20 yrs

• SaDdNesZ.jc on Oct 19, 2005 at 8:58 pm

The products speak for themselves. There's no need to argue about who's better and who's right or wrong.

A proton is a proton, and it doesn't hide the fact that a Proton Saga is no match for a Vios or City. All three are the lowest sedan range models of their respective manufacturers, and the Vios & City beats the Saga/Iswara by MILES!!!

In this world, if you're not good enough, then sorry, you'll have to pack your bags and go somewhere else. Afterall, that's only fair.

• drmuzi on Oct 19, 2005 at 9:04 pm

Shahrir samad provocation supposed to hit Tun M hard, but at the ned of the day…Tun M always pull though unscatch…to the extent that all newspaper today are fighting for Prootn right to continue to survive.

Seems that Shahriri too realised, to the extent that he need to backtrack and make a clarification that he never intended to ask Proton to close shop in the first place.

Pity Shahrir……..hope at least you get cabinet post if there is a reshuffle.

• Proton ??? what is t on Oct 19, 2005 at 9:04 pm

guys…i dunno whether you guys remember or encounter this statement before from proton guys whenever we have complain abt our car…. they will usually says…." biasa lah" now…i guess is the time we say to them, if proton close down, we should tell them, biasa lah…. kan proton.

this statement may not goes well with everyone, but i guess, they will know know how is it feel like to be told that way. to all proton guys, wish you all the best, and if everything doesnt goes well….just remember this," BIASA LAH, KAN PROTON".. you will get over it.

• sekot on Oct 19, 2005 at 9:14 pm

300,000 is directly involved la… theier kids, their wifes, parents everyone depends on the salary? man, this is serius issue. the whole country could collapse. Why? This industry (automotive) is the one that generate job to the rakyat. You still need serviceman, dealer, logistic transporter, operator, engineer, maintenance everything. In other industry like electronic, you can even use minimum worker (tooling is most important).. and the volume is very2 big. to produce (infact, not produce, its assemble) 70000 cars per year you already need 4000 staff working directly (with massive overtime).. indirectly is abt tripple that value. likewise in Proton, the engineers (the brains in Proton) would be the worst waste in Malaysian history where no other co in Malaysia would do what they did in Proton. The only way they can put good use to their knowledge is by going to oversea (like the Proton designer who got an offer with Ford, BMW and Hyundai) or work with NAZA shit where being a family bussiness would mean doing hanky panky things. When you go to other co, what you'll be doing is either following the instruction from the parent co (DC, TMC, HM, Ford etc) and you are not allowed to use your own creativity. Hmm, these co for the past 20 years have been producing skilled workers and main man in this industry. They have been helping university, putting biggest grant in research in malaysia for the past few years and helping people like me doing my research for one of the discovery in the university (with the help of Dr Ghaffar the dynamics expert, of course). Pity, putting it to waste…

• Just Askin on Oct 19, 2005 at 9:42 pm

Hey i'm a novice. So i wanna ask a question. since in malaysia, cars like honda and toyota are so expensive, and in thailand they're sellin it comparatively cheaper, would it be wise to travel to thailand den buy the car there den bringin it to msia. I'm prepared to travel to thailand every year to pay for its tax. How ??

• biggie on Oct 19, 2005 at 10:07 pm

Err… apart from Proton what kind of industry we can think that we are good at?

Electronics – we are sweatshop for chap labour only.

Software (ICT) – we are vendors and agent only

BioTech – any products????

Metal Industry – Remember Perwaja? The rest of the player still survive because we have import quotas

Oil – Only benefit few ppl, as this is not labour intensive industry and much of the players are from overseas.

Perodua/Naza/DRB – they are assemblers aka sweatshop as soon as there is a cheaper option they pack their bags and go away.

Construction – ???

-biggie-

• KISIO on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:31 pm

tak payah travel la, u terus pindah duduk sana sama thaksin…

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:31 pm

Just Askin,

Your idea is very brilliant. I'm proud of you. Congratulations.

• that's the use of AP.you need an AP to bring back car into Malaysia.not easy as that.added up all the taxes…the price is more or lessl the same.

• Deodorant on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:53 pm

"… if we close down proton we still have perodua …"

Where do people get the idea that only Proton benefits from government protection? If the Gov't removes protection entirely, in its current state the local auto industry WILL close shop, and YES, that includes Perodua.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 20, 2005 at 12:05 am

300,000 workers…

i think all of them got a SPM cerificate only….

but…SPM never taught us to build a vehicle…

That's why the proton car is so lousy….

• dear reader

"Closing down Proton would make 300,000 workers jobless."

what stupid comment is this, just put the whole factory on sales, the new car manufacturer will take over the plant and the staff…. I believe Toyota will be interest in the plant and manufacturing facility, looking at the long waiting list for Avanza and Innova.

So, some people will have to go in this process, example the advisor.

• newspaper update on Oct 20, 2005 at 12:27 am

THE Government cannot just shut down Proton without considering various factors, including its huge investment.

Apart from being a national pride, 300,000 people were dependent on the national car industry for work, said Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz.

“It is not so easy to just shut Proton down,” he said in reply to a supplementary question by Datuk Raja Ahmad Zainuddin Raja Omar (BN – Larut).

We all have this feeling all the time,

you like your girlfriend, but she make you feel miserable, but if you brake up with her now, you will feel miserable too… so how will you choose.

just go ahead with life, breakup and find another new love thats all.

• neurra on Oct 20, 2005 at 12:29 am

best of luck to proton.. hopefully they'll realize NOW how much they need to improve.. 200% effort is not enough.. give it a 300% extra effort to strive..

paul, any words on SRM launch date?

• Come on. Give Proton a break. Their cars may not be perfect but please show some patriotisme. Dont suggest and support that we close down proton.

They are not that bad afterall. Look even the chinese car company that are copycats also survive. The chinese government still protect them from being sued. Why should we not support and protect our nasional car. We should be proud about what we have and not what we hope to have. If you are not happy with our local car then go and buy overseas car. Nobody is stoping you.

And by the way all 3 proton that i own ( 1 wira 1.5 (A) year 2002 and 2 waja 1.6 (A) year 2003 ) have no problems until now.

• well yes Perodua will not have protection, but unlike Proton they are much comparatively better and their products are not tin cans.

Since daihatsu and toyota effectively hold a stake they could hold a deal that they do not introduce p2 models in the msian market. in that way p2 will still survive, since where else would ppl buy kancil etc? :)

not like everyone got money to afford honda accord.

if perodua shut down then too bad loh :P

• neurra on Oct 20, 2005 at 1:02 am

swee, you're speaking like it's 4-5 years ago.. proton tin cans.. look at the current products la

• hhkonghh on Oct 20, 2005 at 1:13 am

We Malaysian tax payers had already sunk too much money into Proton to see it fail. We wanted a return on our investment or at least, try to save some back. So let’s first consider whether Proton could be saved before saying to shut it down. Let’s talk logic.

1. Get a better CEO regardless of nationality or race as long as he or she is the best person for the job. Hope that Hishamuddin fellow doesn’t shot off his mouth saying it must be a Malaysian or more specifically, a bumi. It's no time or place for racial myopia or pride. If the even more sensitive and full of pride Japanese can allow a foreigner to take over Nissan, why can we? And don’t’ forget, Nissan was revived extremely successfully. That’s what counts.

2. The parts vendors. If they cannot come up with quality parts at reasonable price, change to another. Establish more then one source of parts. The fiasco of the power window should be a loud enough lesson to any Dick, Tom & Harry. Any Proton man who cannot see that should be sack on the spot. But first, make sure it isn’t the same thing that happened to MAS under Tajuddin where a Nasi Lemak lunch costs a bomb. In other word, let’s not blame the vendors blindly for the reason for expensive parts may be due to unnecessary middleman with connection.

3. Instill into those 300K workers that their job is truly on the line. Instill some moral into the workforce and have some pride in their work.

A tax paying Malaysian.

• blackhead on Oct 20, 2005 at 1:17 am

if u guys can read chinese, here is what hong kong ppl's word about proton
    http://www.merdekareview.com/news_view.asp?id=398

• neurra on Oct 20, 2005 at 1:21 am

mind translating it to us fellows who can't?

• To close? Suffer. To on Oct 20, 2005 at 1:41 am

Dear Proton & supporters,

We Msian n govt. try our best to support n help u.

But u need to HELP URSELF as well.

If u can produce a QUALITY car, we are more than happy to support u.

U can earn more PROFITS, so much mayb u can run ur own PROTON F1 team or revive PROTON RALLY team so as Karamjit Singh is not wasted. Now Karamjit gonna forever KARAM sunken.

But dont worry if u wanna close down. Let see if Nanjing Automobile Corp from China can takeover…become Proton nAnjing. Definately sucks n worse to badder with zero star safety rating…Msian roads gonna flooded with junk cars.

To close or not to close, we Msian drivers will always suffer. Proton gone, a zillion China cars come in. Proton to stay even making loss, dont worry as well. There are enuff stupid buyers cant decide which car to buy.

Why u guys suffer urself to think abt it? Got money, buy better car. Wanna buy Ferrari, bang a sugardaddy. Not enuff money, buss comuter always there 2 serve. How much u can komplen, u guys never become AP king.

• Better close asap.

We've been suffer for paying more with low quality Proton car.

Why Proton cannot as competitive as Perodua ?

What have been Proton done this 20 years ?

Still proud being protect by government policy ?

• proton this n that , who have to blame ? , proton it self!!!! cause of good to there own minority that what gone happen just like now s we can see now, so same s AP only good for their minority at the end it gone b the same story like proton now , now s u can see. dam stupid only know how to makan orang kind of concept. if like that how can do will if only know how to makan orang type of!!!

• blackhead on Oct 20, 2005 at 2:19 am

arrr mind to try this translator, cause my poor english not good enough to do the job

or someone else free to translate it to share =)

http://www.google.com.my/language_tools?hl=en
    *this translator also turn paragraphs into freaky

• eat n eat, give n give how long it can stand even big mountain height to protect proton also gone finish just like that if if still this type of minority manage the thing all gone b finish . this type not doing nature of business but only know how to eat people only. see how long there gone eat , 1 day see how there gone vomit at the end. if not vomit , we s Malaysians gone burden only pay a TEX n this money gone used for them to do a stupid thing to play off.

• SEE FU on Oct 20, 2005 at 3:38 am

Edw arr!! you again lah!

edw said,

October 19, 2005 @ 4:09 pm

Yes the company and the plant can be sold to TOYOTA but what happen if the ppls are all fired or only 20% are hire, SO what to do?

YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!

• Selvenz on Oct 20, 2005 at 4:45 am

I really wish that PROTON will be allowed to compete in an open market, that is the only way PROTON is going to buck up and deliver a proud national car. If not they will keep making excuses for themselves and we the beloved rakyat will have to suffer for this. The malaysian ppl have in generally paid for the "NATIONAL AUTOMOTIVE PROJECT" with our hard earned money for twenty years. the time has come for this to end.

I find it hard to beleive that with the purchase of LOTUS we are still unable to improve the quality of our cars.

Proton should give up half their models and concentrate on a few models and making them execellent. I gurantee if a PROTON had half the build quolity of german cars or other makes it would be a national bestseller even if it was expensive.

I strongly believe in a NATIONAL CAR because without that we are unable to call ourselves a developed nation. But not at the expense of the RAKYAT. Even a low end proton model is out of reach for most people this tells you that PROTON has failed as a national car.

By the way most of these politicians who voiced out that proton sholud be protected and blah blah . Check their garage I am sure none of them own a PROTON or an ASEAN CAR.

I have to give my outmost respect to our Prime Minister for driving around in a WAJA. At least he is being a true malaysian

• gegaoff on Oct 20, 2005 at 4:46 am

sigh… i also felt up to say anything liao…

turn round and round, we talk so much, those G's ppl talk so much… all come around to zero. APA PUN TAK DA.

tml start, we wil come back here and talk and talk again, those G's ppl will talk and talk again. but nothing will change. that stupid POTONG still wil be out there to 'protect' those 300K workers, against 2.1million citizen… y? becoz in their mind, 300K is bigger than 2.1million. PROTECTION is a MUST. hell they talking…

the new NAP? i doubt anyone of u here really believe it will really make a change to our Auto industry… of coz, in possitive way, what they did now, is a small step towards better future… but, how many years we have? as a citizen? conclusion? we still need to sit here, typing on screen and TALK…

NAP is just a direction guideline, the basic thing here is: POTONG have to do something to solved what they facing now… not just to say, PROTECT, PROTECT, 300K ppl here, PROTECT, PROTECT, we national car, we weak, still very weak, PROTECT, PROTECT, POTONG is our pride, who deny this, who the f**ker, so must PROTECT, PROTECT. get what i mean?

sigh… cheers to all…

• shuddap on Oct 20, 2005 at 4:59 am

u ppl tok crapp alot lah..

IF u were one of those 300 000 ppl….then we see wut u tok bout lah…

IF u were mahathir..n when he announced that he wants to have a national car…and the AUSTRLIA PRIME MINISTER..said..IF holden cannot survive..proton also kenot survive…btw:holden sold to GM….as a MALAYSIAN..can u stand such an insult or not?!…if it was me…i will DIE trying to keep it afloat..if still kenot..DIE with the project…

IF u were the engineer of proton..and they gave u a smallbudget to design..u tell me wut can u do i ask u?

IF the CEO makan duit..and contract to lousy suppliers..wut can those subordinates do ?i ask u lah..thats why they sacked him lorr…

haih..u guys..jst shoot out things at the top of ur head..without thinking wna..close the shop..forget bout the 300 000 ppl…earn money…buy foreign car…bunch of herd mentalities…

• yes …actually ACTIONS speaks louder than words , thats why i had my deepest respect for our current PM . He drives a Waja , he's a humble man , and his current bid to rid of corruption does speaks for itself . eg .. Isa removal…ACA getting their hands on IGP's son … so to say , the big-shots no longer can get away with anything

with Pak Lah on the throne , there would be less " un-touchables " .

• Lpost on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:58 am

dont close proton lah, just sell it to VW, ok mah…i think, proton's plants can be changed to be VW asia pacific/central region main manufacturing center.

• how can proton can buy a lotus, lotus is a British sport car trade mark manufacturing in car industry, what the funny thing to tough. my b our Malaysia money to invest to lotus is for lotus to make a test ground sin have a stupid people think 1 to invest there!.

300 000 ppl to concern o probably it can bring down our national pride in any affect o just late it just like this for ever act like nothing happen !, o proton have to do something heavily to prove it out.

this only talk. but now is the time it speaks by it self , is a time to come on n see how there own dig a big hold to them self to jump on to what there dit to a pass.

• traitor on Oct 20, 2005 at 11:19 pm

Err… apart from Proton what kind of industry we can think that we are good at?

Well, I will say…..no…used to be the no 1 rubber and palm oil in the world, however, we want to be so call "develop country" cut all the plantation and build factory, national car and etc…success??

Rice, shampoo, fruits and etc…all from thailand……

We are going backward instead of going to WAWASAN 2020..

doctor no enough, police not enough, every house also start using water filter, top scorer cannot further education (but can free for indonesian tsunami victim), Capital city of malaysia lack of public transport…..

Basic needs: transportation, education, safety, health also cannot provide…pls don't think big project……

300,000 unemployed so what, malaysia so rich, can donate USD1 million…I guess "charity should not begin at home"

Malaysia Boleh tetapi langsung tidak boleh….ingat sahaja….

• fauzi on Oct 21, 2005 at 12:12 am

bloody hell, still selling their 20 year old best selling car, Proton should be closed down or be forced to compete with others. enuff is enuff. 20 yrs and still producing crap cars.

Just got back checking out Ford Focus.it's quality is amazing. the diff btwwn proton and others.

• darkfree on Oct 21, 2005 at 2:14 am

Pd aku, The ideal person to lead proton is Tan Sri Syed Bukhari….

• closing down proton would not be a good solution instead selling it to a bigger player would be a ideal choice. where it can contribute to country's income. pleeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaseeeeee do it fast DR M!!!!

• macam macam ada on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:50 am

Just close down the Potong lah……

made us- rakyat of Malaysia suffered almost 20 years; sucking our blood and potong our leher more than 20 years and yet still want to get protection from gov ah?

Grow up lah kid…….

even your younger brother(p2) car quality is much much more better than you…..

much more mature than you lah………

• POTTYlical SUNDRYwar on Oct 21, 2005 at 9:11 am

The Savvy test is considered invalid. It was tested with a AIRBAGGED SAVVY…while the Savvy in Malaysia is AIRBAGLESS (cannot be tested).

Proton is the only car manufacturer that has the so-called capability to sell 20++ year old design cars (with outdated 4G13) as far as I know. Other companies change the design here and there and have so many VTEC (and similar) versions already.. and we're still using 4G13!!

• (HUKUM KARMA)

What goes up must go down, that is what happen to proton. Last time(back 1995-1997) before economic crisis, we have to pay extra to buy a new proton(with all overpriced accessories),some ppl i heard they had to pay under table to get their new proton cars (with bad quality), if not they have to wait for a long time to get one. becoz they donot have any choice.

• albagmane on Oct 21, 2005 at 10:07 pm

i think even if proton business is sold to other car companies, none of them will have interest on it.. coz the company too sucks!

hmm… maybe they will just get the shares of Lotus i think.. proton? dispose it!

• Initial D on Oct 23, 2005 at 1:45 am

i think the management team of proton must be changed. It is those ppl that proton doesn't change………………If an astute….more up-to-date ppl in there, maybe proton will be better. Those ppl that know how to sell a good car to rakyat.What do ya think?