NAZA to sell Chinese mini cars

The NAZA Group, controlled by tycoon Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin SM Amin has set up a company called N-2 Sdn Bhd. N-2 is believed to focus on assembling and distributing Chinese-made mini cars, competing with Perodua in the K-car market, like the Kancil and Kelisa.

A Chinese auto company will be involved in a joint-venture to set up an assembly plant in northern Malaysia. Little is known of which Chinese auto company this is, but from past rumours it might be the Hafei Lobo. Just a little speculation on my part though.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Naza again? come on……………..the govt. approved this? come on…………………….Quality wise……..u guys should know about the Naza service. A no no buy for monopoly-company.

• mitsu_galant_2000_tu on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:18 pm

I wish that's not a scrap yet into our market.

Naza for me is a blind making profit company. rebadge / resell bla bla.. Just the way one of the AP KING..

It's not contribute any for malaysia.

Naza motor also. rebadge, resell, flooding local market with junk!.

"That's also maybe / why he did not got the DRB Hicom shares agains Syed Mohtar albukhory" . maybe paklah know he's kind of this person.

However, naza have their own plan , stolen all tech before they make their own brand car.

MAYBE!.. (but i dont see yet any way into it. ) ..

Aku bantah kereta nih dijual kat malaysia. Scrap and rubish!.

• S-Kay on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:33 pm

Heard of this a few weeks ago..the only problem is, it's only at the proposal stage. Whether it would be approved, no one knows..you know how Daddy Proton is. Their car seats look really comfortable and neat. If I'm not mistaken, they're produced by one of Tan Chong's company. The plant is somewhere at Teluk Gadong. If approval is given for NAZA to distribute these cute small lil cars in Malaysia…Proton will really suffer a lot of losses.

• December on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:34 pm

Naza seem to venture on everything exotic. Lets seee how this mini chinese cars turns out.

• muthu on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:35 pm

it will reduce P1 market…… so this car will get national car status? what about it safety…….? JC should make a test with this car…… another facelift car(FIAT) will be on the road soon…….

• E-Nabill on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:36 pm

way to go naza,flood our market with cow dung products….i cant believe the government giving him liscence to do that…its gonna kill off p2 cars….

• if can do side parking like smart for2 it'll be a hit

• the unknown on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:44 pm

just like old malay saying " lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama"

they do that with kia, hell they do that with the chinese

• mitsu_galant_2000_tu on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:54 pm

[quote]

The car is light at 850kg, and it’s 1.1 liter engine makes 46kW at 5700rpm and 85Nm of torque at 3000rpm. Top speed is 130km/h.

[/quote]

Supposed to be UNDERPOWER car. High Risk to drive. Nanti jadi macam kancil 660, mati katak sebab memotong tak lepas.

So avoid / or boicot this car. I dun want to see anyone get killed by underpower-car .

P1 Savvy is better twice than this car.

can anyone tell me what's the meaning of = Hafei Lobo .

sounds jerk for me :D , tak sedap langsung..

perhaps.. naza maybe change it to : Naza Lobo, or Lobang. haha

• Hang NAZA on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:56 pm

Yea yea yea naza did it again…Just called NAZA Hang Lobo..for sure the car will roll off few minutes n all the tyres,screws, steering semua tercabut all over hahaha.

Another Chapalang china cars…the mobile coffins hehehehe

• How about assembling cars from the Moon, Mars, Venus and Pluto.

• MyBoy on Dec 23, 2005 at 9:17 pm

Another very low quality car from china. Damn.

• Wilfred on Dec 23, 2005 at 10:02 pm

can we hav a better car from europe and cheaper price….????

hell…..just burn off the NAP..

• outspoken on Dec 23, 2005 at 10:30 pm

another lame attempt to dump low quality – cheap cars in malaysia. I have not seen cherry alado nywhere in malaysia yet. Did NAZA had done any research at all? The likes of Nitro, Demak and even Naza bikes have suffered from the effect of "MADE IN CHINA " or "Design in China" syndrom. My first impression is that it will fail miserably, but i think we have to wait for the announcement of the whole package deal….

• Marmitecrab on Dec 23, 2005 at 10:54 pm

Finally, cars designed and built specifically for Ah Bengs!

• revver on Dec 23, 2005 at 10:58 pm

the dawn of the domino theory .

• muthu on Dec 23, 2005 at 11:43 pm

today STAR

there is alado advertisement on star ……

• blackhead on Dec 23, 2005 at 11:46 pm

Naza again… another way to earn black money.

Hafei lobo look sux big time, dont make me sick.

• auyongtc on Dec 24, 2005 at 12:07 am

Sooner or later (God forbid!) all cars in Malaysia (other than P1 and P2 ones) are assembled by Naza… they'll dominate the market. And they don't have the pressure of national identity like P1 and P2.

Then if you wanna buy a car, it'll be buying from Naza. If you wanna buy imported car, also buy from Naza…

It's a Naza world… mark my words…

• Homer Simpson on Dec 24, 2005 at 12:56 am

oh no! more small crap to road-hog our highways!

• hm betulla tue..hafei lobo…patik pun sudah lama mendengar berita ini.cuma snapshotnye xpernah dilihat lagi :(

• Gstringz on Dec 24, 2005 at 3:38 am

Speaking of Naza.. My mate has one of those naza-bikes. It sucks big time. Just after 3 weeks it started mis-firing & very difficult to start. Sometimes cannot start at all. My advice is please, please stay away from naza-bike, dah-bomb, whateva la.

• HumBarang on Dec 24, 2005 at 4:02 am

#Marmitecrab said,

December 23, 2005 @ 2:54 pm

Finally, cars designed and built specifically for Ah Bengs!

+++++++++++++++++++++++

u mean all the owners of PROTON car ~ah?

foreigners also laughing at out PROTON cars, so now we're try to look at other weakness car and laughing for balanceable psychology. :D

• keniji on Dec 24, 2005 at 4:35 am

thanks to china cars,

that will sell below kancil and potong prices!

work well to us!

• Pentan Sakua.... on Dec 24, 2005 at 6:16 am

Woi you all…next pilihanraya vote for me…If I jadi PM, all cars no tax…..Then you guys no need to curse and shit…..

Bole ka…………..

• TeBaBo on Dec 24, 2005 at 10:10 am

haha..why always NAZA?is there no other car co can do same kind of action?and,why the china made?everybody knows a main purpose of business is making a profit.but if u sell a car which the safety features same as kapcai,better you dont la..if same thing goes to you,haiyoo..and why orang atas dont complain bout this?kena suap kot?harhar!

• armandd on Dec 24, 2005 at 12:51 pm

if everything no tax then how u get the money to run the country?

• aksMs on Dec 24, 2005 at 11:14 pm

doii…. Bloody Rafidah Aziz and Syed Nasimuddin. Curse 'em! They are making money on the expense of our live and money! Screw 'em! I hate those pigs!

• keniji on Dec 24, 2005 at 11:44 pm

folks,

mahathir faults!

what potong shxxxxxx…

raykat pay PRICe and LIFEs,

for some!!!

• Apai_Mau on Dec 25, 2005 at 12:07 am

If like this then how Naza can call itself a national car maker? Play copy & paste to other brands' cars.

Apart from that I dont have any bantahan to it's plan. As long as they jaga the safety of the rakyat (QC, safety aspect, etc.). If not, then no need to buy from them.

• HumBarang on Dec 25, 2005 at 1:25 am

Apai_Mau said,

December 24, 2005 @ 4:07 pm

If like this then how Naza can call itself a national car maker? Play copy & paste to other brands’ cars.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

sound like blames Perodua.

so Proton Gen2 design by Malaysian, do u pround of it or do u own one?

• auyongtc on Dec 25, 2005 at 1:43 am

Ask gahment to open up the market, and then charge people COE to buy car, like Singapore lor… anyone can bring in car from anywhere… as long as got pay COE, then can own car… rather pay the money up into gahment's coffers then to hands like Rafidah and Naza…

• dont buy MADE IN CHINA.Dia punya barang semua loya punya.No quality control.macam dia punya spanar semua besi lembut.

• pendek on Dec 25, 2005 at 6:41 pm

seem's like everyones is hating NAZA's product….

i'm in the other hand is out of the NAZA's range of products, except those bike which of course can't compete with my modenas KRISS i'm using now.

SM nasimuddin wanted us to be just like thailand maybe….. great assembler, great pirates product and rich President!

• merry x'mas noob. thanks for coming to the party

• I WAS SOBER WTF WTF

• suanie on Dec 25, 2005 at 9:09 pm

but you kissed some chicks :D

evidence : http://www.suanie.net/2005/12/25/xmas-eve-party-k…

• Habib on Dec 25, 2005 at 9:16 pm

Another great contribution by the Chinese by flooding junks into the highway of Malaysia just like protons. Guess in todays world as long as its cheap, quality don't matter any more.

• Apai_Mau on Dec 25, 2005 at 9:57 pm

HumBarang said,

December 24, 2005 @ 5:25 pm

sound like blames Perodua.

so Proton Gen2 design by Malaysian, do u pround of it or do u own one?

————————————————————

Sorry if i made you think that I blame p2. Just want to reflect how Naza has come up with some badge engineering stuff (like the Peugeot 206 to Naza 206). Dun get me wrong & keep cool man.

Btw i own a datsun 120Y. still in good condition. Recently changed to SR20 engine (NA). Interested to buy, anyone?

• HumBarang on Dec 26, 2005 at 2:28 am

by the way, the P2 also just rebadged the Daihatsu (antique model before MYVI) ! I don't see anything different between P2, Naza, Inokom status!

• Quest on Dec 26, 2005 at 7:24 am

Actually, any competition is good fpr consumers like us. If Naza's N2 makes cheap and quality car to compete with P2 and Proton can bring about good but cheaper cars, then consumers like you and me will benefit.

Afterall, we all know Proton's records. Without competition, how much will we be paying for a car. On the other hand, if the Naza made chinese car is CRAP, we can see for ourselves, and maybe that'll help Proton. Seriously, we as consumers shouldn't care if Proton survives or fold. We should care that our hard earned money's buying us well deserved quality and safety.

• Spyder on Dec 26, 2005 at 7:41 am

China requires foreign companies to have local partners,

why cant NAZA (or anyone) do the same with chinese companies here?

• Chineseman on Dec 26, 2005 at 7:09 pm

You guys only know how to condemn and always be so negative and will always remain so…. You condemn Proton, blame the government, complain about high prices, and now,…. when a cheaper car come to the market, you complain and condemn again…. There is no easy way out in this world…. You have not tested the car, how do you know its crap? I would suggest that you guys know your facts before condemning. Just don't shoot for the sake of showing your superiority and ego with NO subtances.

Not ALL chinese cars are crap. But I am not saying this car is not either. Because I don't know the facts. But I do know that certain brands in China do have ECE certification which is the highest quality in the world standards. If you don't know what is ECE, go find out… instead of just condemning but don't know anything…

Paul, I think you website has become a site for people to let go steam… No constructive criticism. 1 person start to do it, the rest all follow… but don't know the facts…

• Well… at least Naza doesn't dissapointed us like Proton….

• Maverick SM on Dec 27, 2005 at 12:22 am

Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year to you

• Apai_Mau on Dec 27, 2005 at 4:29 am

Just found out this link from the Net. It's a forum in Motortrader.com about the rumour.

http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp…

It's an old post, but worth reading. But sorry, only in Chinese :(

• pilote on Dec 27, 2005 at 7:20 am

hey mr. tan,

i know this is off-topic, but do we ever have a Lexus dealer, or perhaps importer here in malaysia? again, sorry for going off topic and thank you.

nice page, btw.

• 4G63T on Dec 27, 2005 at 4:06 pm

Chineseman wrote;

"Paul, I think you website has become a site for people to let go steam… No constructive criticism. 1 person start to do it, the rest all follow… but don’t know the facts… "

Which is unfortunately true. Dissapointing to see sorry the state of the Malaysian Public opinion (or the lack thereoff). We only know how to bash and critisize.

On one hand there is the Local (if not Proton) supporters, on the other extreme, the Proton haters.

I clicked on this thread because the title made me think, "hey, new car…this is interesting.." but then find only a coule of bash posts with nothing contructive.

• I think there should be a law saying that if you want to assemble foreign cars here, a certain percentage must be for export like we are doing for other manufactured goods.

• muthu on Dec 27, 2005 at 5:29 pm

4G63T said,

December 27, 2005 @ 8:06 am

relax la brader….. they all cakap2 kosong aje….. cam lepak2 kat kedai kopi…. at the N of the day nothing happen……

• 4G93-SC on Dec 27, 2005 at 7:36 pm

I think P1 doing good in automotive industry which they keep improving on their products for the sake of peoples….Look guys! Nw we can have the national car with TUV certified….with their own design….we should proud of it guys… Btw, P2 also just a rebadged car or cloning car from the Daihatsu…Y they called 'passion'?? nah for me they just passion in doing the assembler the car only…y should we proud of P2..? Once again, P2 is hold by the Japanese and these Nippon peoples can't stand to see our Malaysian were good in automotive industry..For example, P1 doesn't like those Nippon (Mitsubishi) becos they're very2 stingy in technology transfer but these Nippon like to copy on our design….

For Naza…… i dunno wat to say…. I think you guys can't judge on them….

To bring the chinese made car into our market is really a disappointment result from the Naza mgt….What the hell they think…?? R there wanted to kill all Malaysian. I think Naza should assembly their next model called "Coffin MPV" in Malaysian mkt….hahhaaaHaaaahaaaa….. what a crap!!! See hw they made their Naza Ria and Citra….. they didn't aware on consumer needs..petrol consumption very high……low value upon trade-in……so ppl out there be careful when u wanted to buy those cars….

last but not least…..P1 is the origin of national car manufacturer with original blended of passion in doing car to peoples. For example, P1 has doing a great job with giving us the much variety of car technology and also teach us on the motorsport division. Look, P1 brings us the GTi and R3 technology and y you guys still condemed P1….. Without P1, Malaysia maybe not in the F1 calendar…. Please do not condemed P1 if you dunno anyway bout the passion of automotive……..

P2…you guys really suck!! Naza you can become a national car manufacturer if you guys concentrate on the quality and long-term investment…. Noted!! To make a car it doesn't need 1 or 2 days plan but it need more than a year planning….. May the 2006 brings new hope to all the national car players!

We as a Malaysian, we should support our govt. and local car manufacturer to make our car better….We should be better than the Nippon and Italians…..

I believe that one day Malaysia will become the hot spot for car lovers……

• biothing on Dec 27, 2005 at 10:08 pm

agreed with muthu.. ha ha ha very funny one lah.

so much cakap kosong. I remember we all argue over AP issue last time, now all gone… what the !!

Anyway, it seems Naza AP King had started to rebadge CRAPPY cars. Why? Because they cannot get to rebadge GOOD cars!!

I much prefer Mitsuoka rebadge Nissan, Impul rebadge Nissan, Wald rebadge VW, rebadge Toyota, whatever else cheaper tuner cars anytime.

and all othet tuner companies rebadging stuff, at least they are CBU and guaranteed. So whoever started this AP issue (apart from those in UMNO bolehland camp whpo did it for political reason) must be laughing all the way to the bank now, as they can start to bring in CRAPS and sell it to the already frightened Bolehland citizens..

• biggie on Dec 27, 2005 at 11:09 pm

ECE certification is not that high lah. Anyway products from China do have cases of fake ECE certification. Because unless one from EC then to check whether its genuine or not is not a known procedure. They even sell item with fake SIRIM certification.

everytime i go there they give their cars as my transport, even the VW is different from what I've driven before.

• Xoomie on Dec 27, 2005 at 11:56 pm

P1 = P2 = Naza = no passion assembler

JC is the man!

Wake up malaysian…

• rafidah on Dec 28, 2005 at 1:02 am

naza is not a national car, it doesn't fulfill the percentage of local content. so dont compare NZ wif P1 or P2

• It is good to have more choices of vehicles selling in Malaysia.

Let the buyers themselves shoulder all the worries…

• nache on Dec 28, 2005 at 1:43 am

Paul, blog on Toyota bB….

• MyBoy on Dec 28, 2005 at 1:53 am

EC,

More choices of vehicles or more choice of crap?

Just kidding. :)

• pendek on Dec 28, 2005 at 3:22 am

muthu said,

December 27, 2005 @ 9:29 am

4G63T said,

December 27, 2005 @ 8:06 am

relax la brader….. they all cakap2 kosong aje….. cam lepak2 kat kedai kopi…. at the N of the day nothing happen……

—————————————————————

all in all i agree with muthu!

bleh…..

• Jelly on Dec 28, 2005 at 4:57 am

aiyo… dun say like that la…

China also got good quality one…

did you all noticed that 80% of your computer chips, boards and other acessories (even branded one) are made in china?

China make their own jets since 1960s. Did Malaysia did that?

China help many country (including USA) to launch their satelite with low cost, can Malaysia do that?

China launch no human space capsule (shen zhou 1 to 4) and Space capsule with human (shen zhou 5 and 6) to space, returned successfully and become the 3rd country with space technology after Russia and USA, when will Malaysia do that?

Lets say a spanner, china can product a same size spanner with different quality due to your money, the question is, how much you're able to pay? Peoples keep looking for cheaper and cheaper thing, so that, low cost thing with low quality appeared. Whos fault is that? it's consumer, not producer.

PLEASE Stop blamming China or other countries for the low quality stuff. please, study all the thing before start the comment.

• crash on Dec 28, 2005 at 3:57 pm

LATEST NEWS FOR SRM….!!!!! The car tested by JPJ to get approval.. and the result from technical dept of JPJ… ITS SUPERB… even with 1.3 power unit.. and much better with 1.6 power unit… ITS DIFFERENT with any proton model.. so for young people… its your choice…! Paul.. you must get someone to tell bout the test drive…

• Xoomie on Dec 28, 2005 at 10:11 pm

rafidah,

to me, the only national car in Malaysia is P1.

P2, Naza, Inokom, are merely assemblers.

Copy & paste = money

• Nothing but the trut on Dec 29, 2005 at 12:46 am

In fact, P1 is only half a national car! P1 is not fully govt. owned. It's listed remember? If sold to VW, effective ownership is even less than 50%. We actually protect it for VW and its other shareholders. Weird? you and me subsidy those rich shareholders and VW in the name of National Project?

Again, from conceptualise, design, prototyping, engineering, engines, Fabricating, QC, production, all involved foreign expertise. Someone rightly pointed it out in other comments. They only mass-pro like any other assemblers. Local content? Who cares about local content? You can source from wherever you find reliable and cheap, or else you cant stay competitive.

Ever wonder why foreign makes still able to sell at a price range so close to proton even after tax?

Btw, they do copy and paste too, but with more input. That is not saying copy and paste is not good. In fact, it is.

So shall we say P1 is just half a national car?

• 4G93-SC on Dec 29, 2005 at 7:38 am

For me P1 is still a national car manufacturer

Actually P1 has done everythin for the Malysian but they didn't notice.

For example, when P1 buys the stake in Lotus UK, most of Malysian didn't support or proud of the success of P1. Ppl can't expect sumthin happened quickly from the Lotus UK owning in 1 years times but since the take over period, P1 doing a lots of research to produce a quality car for us… But Malaysian ppl still wanted to buy Toyota, Honda, KIA and Hyundai. Can u notice that hw many years those Koreans been manufactured their car? They even younger than P1 in the industry. and because the $$$ was cheaper than our national car, ppl bought it but they didn't notice that the fuel consumption is very high. The cars was cheap because, the dealer simply declared the duty as low as they can and sell the car competitive with our national car.

Remembered that P1 also have to paid the tax to gov and that why the $$$ slightly higher compared to other country. Well if you guys enough mature, you can think and have your owned solution in comparing P1 (built with passion) and rebadge car (P2 & Naza) that built for $$$. P2 is slightly ok and better than Naza because they focus on the after sales & service and customer cares but Naza is totally different from P1 & P2.

To Muthu, if you don't knw nothin bout the industry pls do not give any of ur crap comments.

U should learned more!

• habib on Dec 29, 2005 at 8:33 am

How can locals afford owning a car when half of Malaysia are still living in poverty!!

There is still significant poverty in Malaysia

In its article titled “The Mahathir Mystique”, Newsweek, (23 November 2003) terms Malaysia as an Asian success story where “the percentage of Malaysian households that fall below the poverty line has plunged from nearly 50 per cent to an estimated 6 per cent in 2000.” The figures quoted by Newsweek are lifted from Mahathir’s 2004 budget speech in Parliament on 12 September 2003. From the horses’ mouth as they say — but unfortunately some horses have learnt to bluff!

The poverty line

Generally speaking, the poverty rate can be lowered by two methods. The first is by raising the income of the poorer families to above the poverty line. The second method, and undoubtedly the easier option, is to lower the poverty line itself!

Can a family of five survive on an income of RM550 per month, given the cost of living in Malaysia today? Where would they live? And can their children go to school?

Malaysian household income distribution as quoted in the Eighth Malaysia Plan is pictured in Table 1 — with 75 per cent of Malaysian households earning below RM3,000 per month and 25 per cent of households earning below RM1,000 monthly. The same document (8MP) also specifies the poverty line for Semenanjung Malaysia as RM540 per month for a family of five individuals. Is this a realistic figure?

A living wage?

Table 1 – Household Income (RM/month)

More than RM5,000 9.8%

RM4,001 – RM5,000 5.5%

RM3,001 – RM4,000 9.6%

RM2,001 – RM3,000 17.4%

RM1,001 – RM2,000 32.7%

RM501 – RM1,001 20.0%

Less than RM500 5.0%

Source: Eighth Malaysia Plan.

Can a family of five survive on an income of RM550 per month, given the cost of living in Malaysia today? Where would they live? And can their children go to school? Yet given the government’s definition, they would not be classified as being poor.

At a meeting with 60 factory workers in Sg Siput recently, we asked them to suggest a reasonable household budget, and the outcome of that exercise is summarized in Table 2. The participants felt that the cost of buying a house and a small allocation for savings must be part of a balanced family budget. In their opinion, any family with a household budget of below RM1,750 would be facing economic hardship;

A realistic poverty line

Table 2 – Household Expenditure (per month)

House Loan 400

Marketing 300

Groceries 300

School expenses 200

Motorbike 150

Medical/Clothes 100

Festivals/Trips 100

Light/Water/Phone 100

Insurance/savings 100

Total RM1,750

In Britain and in several other countries in the European Union, the poverty line is defined as one half the average household income. In Malaysia, the average household income is RM3,200 per month. Half this figure would be RM1,600. In other words if we used the definition used in Britain, households earning less than RM1,600 per month would be considered as poor! If RM1,600 per month is taken as the realistic poverty line, then around 50 per cent of Malaysians are poor — see the Income Pyramid overleaf — and this is the level of poverty as quoted by Mahathir for 1970!

No one is denying that there has been significant growth in the national economy. Per capita income (Per capita income = total income of the nation for that year divided by the population) has soared from RM1,132 in 1970 to RM13,683 presently! (Incidently, this would work out to an average household income of RM5,534 per month.) However as the income distribution pyramid depicts, the distribution of income in Malaysia is skewed towards the rich, and there is still significant poverty in Malaysia.

Perhaps the most incredulous aspect of Malaysia’s poverty statistics is that it hasn’t been challenged by the mainstream media nor by the academicians. Big Brother’s doublespeak (term used by Orwell in his book 1984) apparently rules supreme in Malaysia today!

• 4G93-SC on Dec 29, 2005 at 11:48 pm

Another prominent marque by Naza after Ferrari, Maserati, Bentley, Porche, Jaguar, Brabus and Ducati….The Hafei Lobo….

Y this company with their passion in exotic cars wanna brings this crap inside our mkt??? y dun they look at the europe mkt for the similiar product and bring it to Malaysia….? because china made is cheap and they can gained much profit or easy for them to assemble and mkt to Malaysian. This car will be another failure project for Naza…after their china motorcycles..Hw bout the after sales & service?? As we know that most of malaysian already hv their second car and who's Naza target group?? The student? or for young exec.? or for housewives? or for Low income group…. for me rather than buying these Hafei Lobo product they'll confident in buying P2 (Kancil or Kelisa) or P1 (Savvy)…..

As we know P2 is developing a KRM (Kancil Replacement Model) soon, which much cheaper than this Naza ****** 1.1 , i bet that this car will not sell rapidly likes savvy or myvi….. The price of This Naza ****** 1.1 will start at RM 35k

launching soon!!

• Pal Negyesi on Dec 30, 2005 at 10:56 pm

I see that you hooked up Naza with Hafei. However I read on a Malaysian website that Naza's partner will be a company from Chongqing region.

Now, Chongqing Changan recently announced that they will assemble their CM8 in Malaysia.

If you add the two separate news stories together, I'd say there's a fair chance that N2 will assemble the Changan CM8:
    http://www.globalautoindex.com/model.plt?no=4253&…

Regards,

Pal

• Malaysia Sucks on Dec 31, 2005 at 1:27 am

4G93-SC said,

December 27, 2005 @ 11:36 am

I think P1 doing good in automotive industry which they keep improving on their products for the sake of peoples….Look guys! Nw we can have the national car with TUV certified….with their own design….

are u brainless?? or still at breast feeding age?? asking us to be proud of our national scrap piece of rubbish??asking us to donate our blood to that endless blood sucking P1??

• 4G93-SC on Jan 01, 2006 at 6:00 pm

Does Naza comes with technology????? We've the old same engine….DOHC

• 4G93-SC on Jan 01, 2006 at 6:02 pm

Pal Negyesi said,

December 30, 2005 @ 2:56 pm

I see that you hooked up Naza with Hafei. However I read on a Malaysian website that Naza’s partner will be a company from Chongqing region.

Now, Chongqing Changan recently announced that they will assemble their CM8 in Malaysia.

If you add the two separate news stories together, I’d say there’s a fair chance that N2 will assemble the Changan CM8:
    http://www.globalautoindex.com/model.plt?no=4253&…

Regards,

Pal

—> the models was Hafei LOBO….

its really stated thats dis car was design by Pininfarina with 1.1L engine (frm JApan)

HAfei Lobo body frame will be Naza Compact car…

• Jelly on Jan 03, 2006 at 2:09 am

Stop that, test the car before judging ppl. as a consumer, we have right to test the car then make decision to buy it or not. 4G93-SC, dun say that naza din't come with technology. We can't judge ppl coz we dun even know how to build and design a car. by the way, there are reasons that why they use DOHC (Double Over Head Cam or some call it twin cam). Beside, All china mini cars are installed with MPI engine (Multi Point Injection = A fuel delivery system that utilizes a fuel injector for each cylinder.) which provide more powerful energy compare to our carburetor engine (carburetor = A device used in internal-combustion engines to produce an explosive mixture of vaporized fuel and air.) which is still use in our new P1 Iswara.

If you wish too much for the best car, why dun you buy BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, AR…… compare to these low price car you talking about?

Did you notice that malaysia is earning own ppl's money by selling national car in higher price compare to our exported national car? what different with exported car? (exported car quality is better than own use one).

I say give comment about P1 and P2 cars because i drive b4. But china's car, not yet test it, i'm waiting for my uncle to get his china car, then i'll test it.

• shaymen on Jan 04, 2006 at 7:14 pm

NAZA????NAZA????NAZA?????ahhahahahahahah…the name iyself is from the husband n wife…hehheheheeheheh…very convincing company.

• shaymen on Jan 05, 2006 at 11:45 pm

mitsu_galant_2000_turbo said,

December 23, 2005 @ 11:54 am

[quote]

The car is light at 850kg, and it’s 1.1 liter engine makes 46kW at 5700rpm and 85Nm of torque at 3000rpm. Top speed is 130km/h.

[/quote]

Supposed to be UNDERPOWER car. High Risk to drive. Nanti jadi macam kancil 660, mati katak sebab memotong tak lepas.

So avoid / or boicot this car. I dun want to see anyone get killed by underpower-car .

P1 Savvy is better twice than this car.

can anyone tell me what’s the meaning of = Hafei Lobo .

sounds jerk for me , tak sedap langsung..

perhaps.. naza maybe change it to : Naza Lobo, or Lobang. haha

betul apa yg mitsu galantvr4 turbo besar dgn wastegate cakap….kereta ni tak pass pun crash test.nak bunuh rakyat malaysia n buat duit jer diaorang tau…kereta cina buta ni masa test,semua cabin dia collapse…kalau accident sure mati frog punye rakyat malaysia…kalau ye pun nak buat duit,biarlah kereta tu selamat skit..

• shaymen on Jan 05, 2006 at 11:48 pm

Spyder said,

December 25, 2005 @ 11:41 pm

China requires foreign companies to have local partners,

why cant NAZA (or anyone) do the same with chinese companies here?

bcoz our new gov r stupid la…all other countries have protection for their own goods.not like msia,jual sayur to japan and let japan sell their cars without tax here…huhuhuhuhuhu.what a story.

• paramsingwalia on Jan 06, 2006 at 1:22 am

hafei lobo…hahahahahahahah

last time i thought myvi will follow daihatsu boon…same car

then name perodua boontut ka…

• Captain Grind on Jan 06, 2006 at 1:34 am

Why not wait and see. From some net research it seems the car is a Pininfarina design, with Lotus NVH & suspension. Pininfarina is not just a sketching & art kind of 'design' company. If you check their website they mention that they offer the following automotive services:

– Management of complete turn-key programs, with development of dedicated platforms, complete management of supply services, management of specific programs.

– Styling with research models and prototypes, CAS (Computer Aided Styling), modelling with virtual mathematical models, virtual prototypes, scale models, CAM (Computer Aided Manufacturing), 1:1 models, verification models, Master Models.

– Product engineering with feasibility studies, mathematical definition of surfaces, CAD (Computer Aided Design), CAE (Computer Aided Engineering), Digital Mock-up, testing, validation and homologation.

– Prototypes and testing, aerodynamic and aeroacoustic analysis and research, manufacturing of special cars (show cars and one-offs).

– Process engineering with simultaneous engineering, tooling development, assembly lines development.

– Niche manufacturing with body in white, painting, trimming, final assembly lines and testing activities.

In May 1996 Pininfarina became the first Italian company providing styling, engineering and development services in the automotive field to reach an agreement with Chinese industry. The initial fruit of that agreement was the Hafei Zhongyi minivan, to which Pininfarina contributed its know-how in terms of styling, design, production of masters and prototypes, and engineering. The Zhongyi, which made its debut in China in '99 at the Beijing Motor Show and was later exhibited on the Pininfarina stand at the Geneva Motor Show, was manufactured and marketed in China in a total of around 100,000 units a year.

On the wave of the great success of this minivan in the Chinese market, Hafei awarded Pininfarina a second contract, signed in early 2001, for the styling and design of a city car, the Lobo, on show at the June 2002 Beijing Motor Show.

The technical-stylistic relationship and agreement with an independent company like Pininfarina has, on the one hand, left Hafei in the favourable position of being able to manufacture motor cars under its own brand name without necessarily having to link up with one of the major European, Japanese or American companies. And on the other, it has given Pininfarina the chance to create the image of the new brand, in complete freedom and without any constraints, given that there was no link with the themes of the past.

Now from news reports we know that key Perodua Manufacturing, Design & R&D people have moved to Naza. A smart idea, to bring in experienced people who have cut their teeth on Japanese methodology. If you ask around, you will also learn that key R&D people from Proton, and sales & service staff from Honda have also defected to Naza.

Lotus on the other hand, are experts in NVH, ride & handling. Not just for sports cars but also in line with the intended usage of the car. In this case, an urban commuter. Engine might be a Mitsubishi unit as Hafei has some tie-up to produce Mitsubishi stuff under licence.

Hafei itself is a subsidiary of Harbin Aviation. Doing stuff with Eurocopter, etc. Has dealings with Mitsubishi and produces Mitsubishi Mirage Dingo under licence. http://www.carenthusiast.com/shows/tokyo99/mitsub…

Bottom line: Let the car wars begin. In the end the customer will benefit, because competition improves the breed.

• paramsingwalia on Jan 06, 2006 at 1:48 am

Bottom line: Let the car wars begin. In the end the customer will benefit, because competition improves the breed.

——————————————————————————————————————–

maybe customer will die cos of stupid chinese car…..

ya la…puji la pininfarina 2 just becos chinese ambik italian…but when proton took mv..italian,,even lotus..kutuk…

still malaysian are stoooopid

• shaymen on Jan 06, 2006 at 3:18 am

Captain Grind said,

January 5, 2006 @ 5:34 pm

i think this person is a salesman for these chinese car laa mr param…..

thats why la malaysia kena jajah dulu,because we have a traitor like this salesman in our country laa……when noh omar make a statement marah pulak…stupid idiots.

• Captain Grind on Jan 06, 2006 at 4:40 am

Call me a salesman if you want to paint me as being pro-N2, but all I see here is negative comments but without proper research, information or basis. Let me offer a counterpoint. What I posted earlier was through quick research on the net, then cut and pasted. :) Interesting to read right?

Agreed China is a big risk. However, to choose to ignore China may be a bigger risk. Choose the wrong partner, wrong product, wrong timing and you'll be screwed.

It's predicted that small car production in China will grow by 70% in the next 7-8 years. What is the impact? Production may actually overtake demand! So, China is an important, and I daresay dangerous factor for the global auto industry. The choice for the present is to stay in China or to leave it altogether.

My message in the earlier picture is this. Everyone here seems to lump in this N2 undertaking with Alado by terming it 'China Car', but that statement oversimplifies things a bit too much. If you do more research you might see a bigger picture. What they are doing is different.

Koreans are new to the scene but have made big strides. Still not there yet, but who would have thought they would be selling as much as they are now. The Japanese aim to catch up with Europeans on the pecking order of things. Logical thought and planning from Volkswagen has seen it turning around Skoda, which was once laughed at as a brand not worth even considering. But now the Japanese have to look over their shoulder at the advancing Koreans. So right now the sandwich is National/Korean/Japanese/European in terms of pricing.

Could Chinese automobiles be an additional, new layer between National and Korean makes? Comments please!

• Jelly on Jan 06, 2006 at 6:42 am

I agree with you Captain Grind…

China will be the big market in the next few years… follow by india..

China already have automobile industry since year 1953.

Why don't you all give it a try 1st?

come on… no need to pay for car test ma….

then only can prove the truth for what you've said… if not, just like empty talking, which mean talk without prove. But i'm sure that China's technology is very much higher than our's. Well, i'm not lying, you can check it online.

And my comment to Captain Grind's question:

Could Chinese automobiles be an additional, new layer between National and Korean makes?

Answer:

My answer will be yes. because china have own technology to do so.

beside, China help Pakistan, Sweden, Philipine, USA, Australia and others country to launch their satelite using "Chang Zheng" rocket since 1992. Can this use for China technology's prove?

• paramsingwalia on Jan 06, 2006 at 2:09 pm

at least their govt policy is what keeping them alive..and our govt that bringing them here…let p1 venture in china..then we can be equal..pls read other paul's post to understand

• gogochaiyo on Jan 06, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Let's cut the talking

Now..

Who got any pics of this 'new car'?

anything other than the one paul have posted

(with a girl standing beside it)

I mean real one lar.. not hafei lobo pics

anything? the one which heavily covered like the srm?

anybody spotted anything?

or it might be rumours only

or might turn out to be a motorcycle… haha

• S-Kay on Jan 06, 2006 at 10:23 pm

I agree with Captain also..the one thing that Proton cannot do and Naza CAN do is that, they're able to look far and plan ahead. Remember how everyone looked down on Japan when they first started making their own automobiles? Look at where they are at now? China is doing exactly the same now and looks like what happened to Japan ages ago is repeating itself on China.

The car industry in Malaysia needs more competition. Due to our set mentality that we buy cars as long as it's cheap, it would serve as a challenge to other companies to provide a safe but yet affordable car (and at the same time change the M'sians mentality and make them look for not only cheap cars but safe ones as well). The car industry has been way too comfortable, which caused their quality control to go out of hand (Proton to be exact) because where's the need in maintaining quality when people would still buy your car no matter what.

Gogochaiyo : The car is definitely not a rumour as they are already making the car seats here at a factory owned by one of Tan Chong's people in Teluk Gong. The review of the seats have been good but other than that…it's no news yet.

• shaymen on Jan 08, 2006 at 1:23 am

iagree with mr param….cannot judge p1 because p1 must help local vendors,if not surely p1 had open their factory in china and let malaysian ppl here without any jobs…

• KuSesat (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 9:05 pm

Chinese suf gives us headache. This lanciao Hufei Lobo or NAZA Lobo will surely be a soreeye in Malaysian roads. Falling apart and things like that is a sign of Naza partnership with any car makers. Pls stop this shit-hole car from introducing to this country!!

• Rynne (Member) on Mar 07, 2006 at 1:00 am

well, a lot of comment about china car. yes, i agree that some of china product are crap but don't compare car with toys. i'm sure Naza has made a lot of research before they brought in the china technology in Malaysia. Of course for 1st time production sure got defect here and there. From the customer complaint, then they will improve the production. The good example is the Naza Ria and also Kia Spectra. We heard a lot of complaint when the MPV first launch in 2004 but after that a lot of improvement. I dont see any problem with my Naza Ria which i bought last year. GIVE THEM A CHANCE. Naza have give a lot of career opportunity to Malaysian. When they open new plant in Bertam, that would be a lot of openings especially for northern. Ok friends, think positively, i think Naza have give a lot of contribution to Malaysia.