Hafei Lobo 1.1

There are rumours going around that the Hafei Lobo will be coming to Malaysia soon.

Check out the signal lights just below the windscreen. Reminds me of the Fiat Multipla styling.

Lobo means “treasure on the road” in Chinese and it’s a 4-door, 4-seater mini car with a 1075cc four-cylinder engine. The car is supposed to have been designed by Italian design hour Pininfarina and has “Japanese quality”.

Hmm. What exactly is Japanese quality?

Pininfarina was also the design house that styled the Chevrolet Optra.

The car is light at 850kg, and it’s 1.1 litre engine makes 46kW at 5700rpm and 85Nm of torque at 3000rpm. Top speed is 130km/h.

Sources say that Naza will be the one bringing this in to reduce dependency on Kia in it’s plans to diversify the group. A new plant based in Penang is in the works for assembly of the Naza-branded Hafei Lobo.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HumanSannz on Aug 15, 2005 at 2:47 am

WAT THE…….. 130km/h is the top speed for this car ar???? Better buy Savvy lor.

Malaysianz police traffic sure hate this car coz .Hehe

• teslarage on Aug 15, 2005 at 2:49 am

i dont know about everyone else, but center meter dashboard just dont work for me…

• Buhyui on Aug 15, 2005 at 3:10 am

I found it few day ago at:
    http://spaces.msn.com/members/sumweb/Blog/cns!1pl…

quick unique car! below RM35000, wat u gonna want? BMW ah?

• retrofuturism on Aug 15, 2005 at 3:20 am

one of the ugliest car in the world, it is totally a rubbish..wat a eyesore on the road, HumanSannz, i agree with you, i rather pay my money for a national car..by the way,if im not mistaken previously they had a concept coupe which has a signal light located in the A-pillar, penned by pininfarina too..that one looks nice though…LOL

• Looks like a girly car. I'm sure girls don't mind the center console. But the steering wheel looks weird with the white wheel and off-white center: looks really cheap and mismatched.

• Buhyui on Aug 15, 2005 at 3:40 am

no car ugly than Kenari & juara~

• sinleong on Aug 15, 2005 at 3:40 am

It looks poor! I can see that Perodua even looked better than it.

• akari on Aug 15, 2005 at 5:18 am

izzit this car have triangle rear light? saw at other forum few days b4, honestly, it look sucks

• Wiraone on Aug 15, 2005 at 7:32 am

Perodua produces a lot better car than this one .. Honestly, if they can sell it much less than those cars produced by Perodua, people will buy it .. but will moan about the quality later on .. looks a lot of plastic to me.

• Louis on Aug 15, 2005 at 8:02 am

Cool! shd support!

• Ambayah on Aug 15, 2005 at 11:17 am

When we build it, they will come :D

• akari: yup this is the car with triangle brake lights. all the hafei cars have triangle brake lights.

• napps on Aug 15, 2005 at 3:47 pm

i will not be caught dead in this pathetic excuse for a car!

• Thats cute~~~~

….er i mean the gal :p

• Paul said,

August 15, 2005 @ 4:16 am

akari: yup this is the car with triangle brake lights. all the hafei cars have triangle brake lights.

Mr. Paul, where got all of the hafei cars have triangle brake lights??

pls go to refer hafei website!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 15, 2005 at 6:54 pm

If this car price is only RM5000, I will buy one for my little baby as a toy car at home. Kuakk kuak kuak…..

• Angry on Aug 15, 2005 at 7:42 pm

Paul said,

August 15, 2005 @ 4:16 am

akari: yup this is the car with triangle brake lights. all the hafei cars have triangle brake lights.

why u want to delete my previous post?

I only said not all Hafei cars come with triangle brake lights and pls go to refer to Hafei website!

• AlexC on Aug 15, 2005 at 8:03 pm

When I first look at our national cars, it doesnt look too well off either… but comparing the price, if the quality is as good as it claims, i see no problem for this product to get our attention… only concern is, its a china stuff, notorious for its copycat stuffs and lowergrade products too…

• SEE FU on Aug 15, 2005 at 8:04 pm

I hate the shape and the name of this car. Really call like "Agriculture Management" means in cantonese "TIU LE RO MO HAI" really "SAT PAI Choong ge SAT PAI".

Mo gan Tai kuai le. (No eye see it)

• SEE FU on Aug 15, 2005 at 8:15 pm

I agreed with ALEXC too.

I would suggest you all to check the car Specifications first. I cannot judge the car which has no proven driven records or quality standards.

Normally, Japanese design specification is based on 5 years warranty, europeans 6 to 8 years, Koreans maybe only 3 to 4 years. Chinese copy??? 2 to 3 years if you are lucky leh.

That is why the car price vary so many. Kuak…Kuak….kuak.

• napps on Aug 15, 2005 at 8:18 pm

CHINESE R&D: Receive and Duplicate!

• MrB/Angry: I did not delete your post ler… it's the comment moderation system. If you post comment for the first time, I have to approve it first. From then on, it appears immediately.

The new generation of Hafei all comes with triangle back lights. The new ones designed by Pininfarina.

• stupid rafidah on Aug 15, 2005 at 9:36 pm

needs a facelift ;) too flower horn matrix style

• Wiraone on Aug 15, 2005 at 10:59 pm

Napps,

Haa .. haa, I guess that what Naza is trying to do with it's RM500K investment on this car :) Trying to learn how to R&D the China's way :) But if I could get a better value for money, I don't mind driving Naza rebadged car .. Nah, I'll stick with my good old C200 :)

• Louis on Aug 16, 2005 at 7:52 am

Comment deleted. I don't see how forking anyone's mother has to do with this car.

• Chinese Canned Food on Aug 16, 2005 at 8:07 pm

Another junk-car dumping to Malaysia…??? Our Perodua Kancil MUCHHHHH better. Anything made-in China only canned food, thats already make me SICK. Chinese car??? NAZA even DARE TO FOOL US than proton?????

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:47 pm

As I said before this car is a Toys car. Only suitable to drive at GENTING park or private garden area. Becareful I guess the wheels will fly off when you drive too fast (over 130km/j).

Don't understand how Malaysian Government or JPJ approved it? (->O

• SEE FU on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:55 pm

Special comment to "Chinese canned food make me sick friend".

What is the relationship between FOOD and CAR?

I still like Chinese canned/Tin food, please list down which one cause you sick. If you can't list down just go to see DOCTOR lah.

Everybody know Chinese FOOD cheap and nice to eat man…SOO LOW!

• Naza is developing their 'own' car with only a half mil ringgit investment, and

with just 16 ex p1 and p2 engineers?

cheh!

does it come with peddles?

anyway if they want to compete, they should target proton coz perodua is at least making decent cars at affordable prices… cant say the same for the former.

• SEE FU on Aug 17, 2005 at 7:33 pm

If you all read the car name carefully " HA FEI LO BO" actually means "HA" HAA the wheel "FEI" liao at "LO" road side, someone will get the "BO" yo.

KUAK…KUAK…kUak

• Pepper on Aug 17, 2005 at 10:58 pm

i hate center meter dashboard………..

• Cheeli on Aug 18, 2005 at 5:24 am

I love center meter dashboard… so trendy!

• babadaniel on Aug 18, 2005 at 9:55 am

NAZA getting richer at the expense of rakyat that they think are a dumb fool. China car makers are damn bullish and will sell their car even in Antartica if they can. Anyway, the problem with them are the copy cat thingy. (that explains pirated CD in Msia)

I remember a company Geely copycat the Honda CRV and named it SRV which cause a court battle that Honda, unfortunately loose. Like the pirated VCD being sold in Msia…….NAZA…. please don't be selling one here in Msia and named it your national car. Dah cukup kaya dah lah.

• Michael Lee on Aug 18, 2005 at 5:11 pm

… they should take this one and knock it together with a Savvy to see which is stronger – and while they sweep the pieces of the road, I will take the girl for a teh tarik … heh, heh, heh. … abu is invited to join.

• Captain Grind on Aug 18, 2005 at 10:00 pm

Try and see lah. At least it's good someone is trying some alternative small car. If its Pininfarina design, Japanese engine, etc. why not?

If they at least have some engineering people there, then hopefully the car can tahan our roads. Maybe the same team who created the Myvi using Passo/Boon base?

Most important is specs & price?

• gogochaiyo on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:56 pm

Anyway, does this car have a name yet?

Or they'll just call it NAZA Lobo…

Kind of remembering me to a nice cowboy movie about a sheriff..

• razin on Sep 03, 2005 at 12:13 am

forkin' ugly car!!!! burok!!!

• razin on Sep 03, 2005 at 12:13 am

it looks like a slut!!!

• arar djamel on Oct 17, 2005 at 4:38 am

je constate que la voiture est fragile dans son concept générale

la puissance du motor est trop faible par rapport au voiture européenne

cette voiture est trés bas par rapport à la terre en même tempts son tableau de bord est défallant défois l'éguit de vétesse s'arréte et défois celle de température et même le tour minute.

parlons des bougés qui sont introuvable dans le marché

• DoNNyC on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:50 pm

Kelisa, Savvy, watch out, you have an enemy soon.

• virus on Dec 25, 2005 at 12:57 am

ini model tiru jugak kaaaa…

• Wooi!! on Dec 28, 2005 at 5:40 pm

OK! lets say about COPY.

Proton Waja's design is copy from EVO.

Wira also copy from EVO.

Even the the engine is worst than another country one.

Waja and GEN2 got the Fxxx up power windows which always brake down.

waja's door handle always torn.

Savvy? even worst.. buy lar! after 2 years then you'll know what happen. Just becoz it's modified from Tiara, see either you can find the spare part or not

• Jelly on Dec 28, 2005 at 6:15 pm

again… study ppl's technology 1st before scold ppl. China build car earlier than malaysia. China even build VW. i work in a automobil company. that's y i know. All cars that build in malaysia sure got problem. Esspecially proton. For Perodua, well done. even the Mercedes and BMW which recombign in malaysia also sure got problem. If it is completely imported from the car's own country, the problem will be less.. Beside, our country export national car to other country and sell it really cheap there. But, sell really expensive here (Potong orang sendiri?). If the car is just below RM35000, why don't give it a try? You always can test drive before drive. Beside china (Below RM35000) car is using Multi-Point-Injection (MPI) compare to our Carbulator Proton Iswara (over RM33000). So, choose..

• Jelly on Dec 28, 2005 at 6:18 pm

correction, you can always test drive before buy :P

• gogochaiyo on Dec 29, 2005 at 5:01 pm

i think i'm blind

but wait till i see this car

i think i'm deaf

but wait till i hear what people say about this car

bila nak launch ni?

• BW (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:40 pm

If me i rather buy a local made car rather than this shitty sutera… Its sooo damn ugly yet so many problem with the car… Its the ugliest car ever!!! Of coz not as ugly as Juara la…

• nouhad nahas (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 8:45 pm

good

• Leslie on Aug 13, 2009 at 4:57 am

I can not understand that any one can commit on a car that they have only see a photo of it. First test drive and then commit. I think it is a funny looking car and will be perfect as a mommy's car

• dragin on May 25, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Hafei although located in the rust belt, where building war machines was a well-honed tradition (hence the “Japanese quality” mentioned above), once showed a lot of promise. With the help of Pininfarina and Mitsubishi it was looking better than a typical auto SOE early on, but without party backed capital it weakened and was finally sucked up by an SOE that dwarfed it in size.

• saddah sidahmed on May 29, 2013 at 9:33 pm

I have lobo car model 2006,it have problem with hot,always the engine to hot and did every thin but still hot,i changed the engine face but still

• Dilanka on Apr 01, 2018 at 3:29 am

I have this car with 1.1l engine which was assembled in Sri lanka and marketed as Micro Trend. This mini car performs good comparing to the price in local market and if you drive good, it can run around 20 km per liter.
    Maximum speed i tried was 150kmph and it had a good quality stability and air flow was not much under the car, which uplift the car.